CTNF 18/600,931 CTNF 87259 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-13, 16-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (hereinafter Tang, US 2012/0038175) in view of Osao et al. (hereinafter Osao, JP 2005300059) . In regards to independent claim 1, Tang teaches a package structure, comprising: a high-power package (110-1) attached to a substrate (105) (Tang, Fig. 1A); a first low-power package (110-2) attached to the substrate (105); a first heat dissipation device (137) attached to the first low-power package (110-2); a thermoelectric system (120) sandwiched between the high-power package (110-1) and the cooling system (124), wherein the thermoelectric system (120) is electrically connected (126) to the first heat dissipation device (137), Tang fails to explicitly teach: a liquid cooling system attached to the high-power package; and a thermoelectric system sandwiched between the high-power package and the liquid cooling system, wherein the thermoelectric system is electrically connected to the first heat dissipation device, wherein the thermoelectric system provides the first heat dissipation device with electrical power during operation of the high-power package. Osao teaches: a liquid cooling system (12) attached to the high-power package (13) (“the fluid circuit in which the cooling fluid circulates includes cooling plates 14, 15, and 16 through which cooling fluid flows”, Osao, [0031-0032], Fig. 1); and a thermoelectric system (20) sandwiched between the high-power package (13) and the liquid cooling system (16), wherein the thermoelectric system is electrically connected to the first heat dissipation device (17), wherein the thermoelectric system provides the first heat dissipation device with electrical power during operation of the high-power package (“The electrical output of the thermoelectric power generation device 20 is connected to the electrical inputs of the thermoelectric cooling device 19, the pump 18, and the fan 21, respectively,” Osao, [0033], Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include a liquid cooling loop of Osao in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that powers a liquid cooling loop. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it increases amount cooling possible with the recycled power by using a liquid cooling system vs an ambient air system. In regards to dependent claim 2, Tang teaches a vapor chamber sandwiched between the high-power package and the thermoelectric system (Tang, 122, [0014]). In regards to dependent claim 3, Tang teaches wherein the first heat dissipation device is a cooling fan (Tang, [0034]). In regards to dependent claim 4, Tang teaches the package structure of claim 1. Tang fails to explicitly teach a power generator, wherein the power generator provides the first heat dissipation device with electrical power during operation of the liquid cooling system. Osao teaches a power generator, wherein the power generator provides the first heat dissipation device with electrical power during operation of the liquid cooling system (“The electrical output of the thermoelectric power generation device 20 is connected to the electrical inputs of the thermoelectric cooling device 19, the pump 18, and the fan 21, respectively,” Osao, [0033], Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include a liquid cooling loop of Osao in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that powers a liquid cooling loop. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it increases amount cooling possible with the recycled power by using a liquid cooling system vs an ambient air system. In regards to dependent claim 5, Tang teaches the package structure of claim 1. Tang fails to explicitly teach a second heat dissipation device attached to a second low-power package, wherein the thermoelectric system is electrically connected to the second heat dissipation device, wherein the thermoelectric system provides the second heat dissipation device with electrical power during operation of the high-power package. Osao teaches a second heat dissipation device attached to a second low-power package, wherein the thermoelectric system is electrically connected to the second heat dissipation device, wherein the thermoelectric system provides the second heat dissipation device with electrical power during operation of the high-power package (Osao, Fig. 1, 11, and 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include a liquid cooling loop of Osao in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that powers a liquid cooling loop. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it increases amount cooling possible with the recycled power by using a liquid cooling system vs an ambient air system. In regards to dependent claim 6, Tang teaches wherein the thermoelectric system comprises plurality of thermoelectric generators (Tang, Fig. 1, 120, 135). In regards to dependent claim 7, Tang teaches wherein the thermoelectric generators are electrically connected in a plurality of parallel connections, wherein each parallel connection comprises a set of thermoelectric generators connected in a series (Tang, Fig. 1, 120, 135). In regards to dependent claim 8, Tang teaches the package structure of claim 1. Tang fails to explicitly teach wherein each set of serially-connected thermoelectric generators is arranged along a direction of liquid flow within the liquid cooling system. Osao teaches wherein each set of serially-connected thermoelectric generators is arranged along a direction of liquid flow within the liquid cooling system (Osao, Fig. 1, 11, and 12 and 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include a liquid cooling loop of Osao in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that powers a liquid cooling loop. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it increases amount cooling possible with the recycled power by using a liquid cooling system vs an ambient air system. In regards to independent claim 9, Tang teaches a device, comprising: a first semiconductor die (110-1) (Tang, Fig. 1A); a first thermal management structure (120) attached to the first semiconductor die (110-1), wherein the first thermal management structure comprises: a heat distribution structure (122); and a thermoelectric generator on the heat distribution structure (120); a second semiconductor die (110-2); and a second thermal management structure (137) attached to the second semiconductor die (110-2), wherein the second thermal management structure comprises a heat dissipation component (137) connected to the thermoelectric generator (126), Tang fails to explicitly teach wherein the heat dissipation component is configured to receive electrical power from the thermoelectric generator. Osao teaches: wherein the heat dissipation component is configured to receive electrical power from the thermoelectric generator (“The electrical output of the thermoelectric power generation device 20 is connected to the electrical inputs of the thermoelectric cooling device 19, the pump 18, and the fan 21, respectively,” Osao, [0033], Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include a liquid cooling loop of Osao in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that powers a liquid cooling loop. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it increases amount cooling possible with the recycled power by using a liquid cooling system vs an ambient air system. In regards to dependent claim 10, Tang teaches the package structure of claim 9. Tang fails to explicitly teach wherein power consumption of the first semiconductor die during operation is greater than 1000 Watts. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well- known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the power consumption are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed power consumption is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, which are criteria that have been held to be necessary for material limitations to be prima facie unobvious. The claimed power consumption is considered to be a "preferred" or "optimum" material out of a plurality of well known power consumptions that a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found obvious to provide to the invention of the cited prior art reference, using routine experimentation and optimization of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). In regards to dependent claim 11, Tang teaches wherein the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die are attached to the same package substrate (Tang, 105). In regards to dependent claim 12, Tang teaches the package structure of claim 9. Tang fails to explicitly teach wherein the first thermal management structure further comprises a liquid cooling system on the thermoelectric generator. Osao teaches wherein the first thermal management structure further comprises a liquid cooling system on the thermoelectric generator (“the fluid circuit in which the cooling fluid circulates includes cooling plates 14, 15, and 16 through which cooling fluid flows”, Osao, [0031-0032], Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include a liquid cooling loop of Osao in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that powers a liquid cooling loop. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it increases amount cooling possible with the recycled power by using a liquid cooling system vs an ambient air system. In regards to dependent claim 13, Tang teaches wherein the heat distribution structure comprises a heat pipe (Tang, [0014]). In regards to dependent claim 16, Tang teaches wherein the second thermal management structure further comprises a heat sink (Tang, 124, [0025]). In regards to independent claim 17, Tang teaches a method comprising: operating a first semiconductor package (110-1), wherein the first semiconductor package generates heat (CPU) (Tang, Fig. 1A, [0012]); generating electrical power using a thermoelectric generator (120) attached to the first semiconductor package (110-1), wherein the thermoelectric generator generates the electrical power based on the heat generated by the first semiconductor package (Tang, [0015]); transmitting the electrical power (126) generated by the thermoelectric generator (120) to a heat dissipation device (137) attached to a second semiconductor package (137) (“In one embodiment, electricity generated by thermoelectric device 120 is electrically coupled, via electrical bus 126, to a component 150 of electrical appliance 100A,” Tang, [0016]); and Tang fails to explicitly teach cooling the second semiconductor package using the heat dissipation device. Osao teaches cooling the second semiconductor package using the heat dissipation device (“The electrical output of the thermoelectric power generation device 20 is connected to the electrical inputs of the thermoelectric cooling device 19, the pump 18, and the fan 21, respectively,” Osao, [0033], Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include a liquid cooling loop of Osao in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that powers a liquid cooling loop. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it increases amount cooling possible with the recycled power by using a liquid cooling system vs an ambient air system. In regards to dependent claim 18, Tang teaches the package structure of claim 17. Tang fails to explicitly teach controlling the electrical power generated by the thermoelectric generator by controlling a liquid flow speed of a liquid cooling system that is attached to the thermoelectric generator. Osao teaches controlling the electrical power generated by the thermoelectric generator by controlling a liquid flow speed of a liquid cooling system that is attached to the thermoelectric generator (“the fluid circuit in which the cooling fluid circulates includes cooling plates 14, 15, and 16 through which cooling fluid flows”, Osao, [0031-0032], Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include a liquid cooling loop of Osao in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that powers a liquid cooling loop. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it increases amount cooling possible with the recycled power by using a liquid cooling system vs an ambient air system. In regards to dependent claim 20, Tang teaches the package structure of claim 17. Tang fails to explicitly teach transmitting electrical power from an external power source to the heat dissipation device. Osao teaches transmitting electrical power from an external power source to the heat dissipation device (Osao, “ With this configuration, external power for operating the pump can be…reduced”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include a liquid cooling loop of Osao in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that powers a liquid cooling loop. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it increases amount cooling possible with the recycled power by using a liquid cooling system vs an ambient air system . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Osao and Bawa et al. (hereinafter Bawa, US 2023/0337406) In regards to dependent claim 14, Tang in view of Osao teaches the device of claim 9. Tang in view of Osao fail to explicitly teach a lid between the first semiconductor die and the heat distribution structure. Bawa teaches a lid between the first semiconductor die and the heat distribution structure (Bawa, Fig. 1B 130). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao and Bawa before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include semiconductor die lid of Bawa in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that has a semiconductor die lid. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it increases the heat transfer from the die to the thermoelectric device. In regards to dependent claim 15, Tang in view of Osao and Bawa teaches the device of claim 14. Tang in view of Osao fail to explicitly teach wherein the area of the heat distribution structure is greater than the area of the lid. Bawa teaches wherein the area of the heat distribution structure is greater than the area of the lid (Bawa, Fig. 1B 130 vs 120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao and Bawa before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include semiconductor die lid of Bawa in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that has a semiconductor die lid. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it increases the heat transfer from the die to the thermoelectric device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Osao and Oh et al. (hereinafter Oh, US 2023/0354708) In regards to dependent claim 19, Tang in view of Osao teaches the device of claim 17. Tang in view of Osao fail to explicitly teach controlling the electrical power generated by the thermoelectric generator by controlling a resistance of a variable resistor that is electrically coupled to the thermoelectric generator. Oh teaches controlling the electrical power generated by the thermoelectric generator by controlling a resistance of a variable resistor that is electrically coupled to the thermoelectric generator (Oh, [0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tang and Osao and Oh before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric power system taught by Tang to include variable resistor control of Oh in order to obtain a thermoelectric power system that is controlled by a variable resistor. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it maximum power transfer based on the temperature difference in the thermoelectric device. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WILLIAM C TRAPANESE whose telephone number is (571)270-3304. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7am-12pm & 8pm-10pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davienne Monbleau can be reached at (571)272-1945. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WILLIAM C TRAPANESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/600,931 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/600,931 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/600,931 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/600,931 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/600,931 Page 6 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/600,931 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/600,931 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/600,931 Page 9 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/600,931 Page 10 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/600,931 Page 11 Art Unit: 2812