33Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shanmugam et al. (hereinafter Karthik, US 2022/0157680).
In regards to independent claim 1, Karthik teaches a package structure, comprising:
a first molded structure having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 110), and comprising:
at least one semiconductor device (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 102);
at least one inactive element disposed around the at least one semiconductor device, and including a main portion and at least one through via extending through the main portion (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 142, 140); and
an encapsulant encapsulating the at least one semiconductor device and the at least one inactive element (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 110);
a first redistribution structure disposed on the first surface of the first molded structure (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 120); and
a second redistribution structure disposed on the second surface of the first molded structure, and electrically connected to the first redistribution structure through the at least one through via of the at least one inactive element (Karthik, Fig. 6, 300).
In regards to dependent claim 2, Karthik teaches wherein a first surface of the encapsulant of the first molded structure is substantially coplanar with a first surface of the at least one inactive element of the first molded structure and a first surface of the at least one semiconductor device of the first molded structure, and a second surface of the encapsulant of the first molded structure is substantially coplanar with a second surface of the at least one inactive element of the first molded structure and a second surface of the at least one semiconductor device of the first molded structure (Karthik, Fig. 3-5, 120, 110, 142, 102).
In regards to dependent claim 3, Karthik teaches wherein the at least one semiconductor device of the first molded structure include a main portion and an active circuit structure disposed on the main portion, wherein a thickness of the main portion of the at least one semiconductor device of the first molded structure is less than a thickness of the main portion of the at least one inactive element of the first molded structure (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 106, 120, 142, 140).
In regards to dependent claim 4, Karthik teaches wherein a material of the main portion of the at least one semiconductor device of the first molded structure is same as a material of the main portion of the at least one inactive element of the first molded structure (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 142, 102, copper).
In regards to dependent claim 5, Karthik teaches wherein the active circuit structure of the at least one semiconductor device of the first molded structure includes at least one pad exposed from the first surface of the at least one semiconductor device of the first molded structure (Karthik, Fig. 3E,120, 106, 102).
In regards to dependent claim 6, Karthik teaches wherein the at least one semiconductor device of the first molded structure does not include a vertical conduction path in the main portion of the at least one semiconductor device of the first molded structure (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 120,102,106).
In regards to dependent claim 7, Karthik teaches wherein the at least one inactive element of the first molded structure does not include a horizontal conduction path on the main portion of the at least one inactive element of the first molded structure (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 142, 140).
In regards to dependent claim 8, Karthik teaches wherein a first surface of the at least one through via of the at least one inactive element of the first molded structure is exposed from the first surface of the at least one inactive element of the first molded structure, and a second surface of the at least one through via of the at least one inactive element is exposed from the second surface of the at least one inactive element of the first molded structure (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 120, 142, 140).
In regards to dependent claim 9, Karthik teaches wherein the at least one semiconductor device of the first molded structure includes a first semiconductor device and a second semiconductor device disposed side by side, and the at least one inactive element of the first molded structure includes a first inactive element and a second inactive element disposed around the first semiconductor device and the second semiconductor device (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 120, 102).
In regards to dependent claim 10, Karthik teaches wherein the encapsulant of the first molded structure is disposed in a space between the first semiconductor device and the first inactive element, in a space between the first semiconductor device and the second semiconductor device, and in a space between the second semiconductor device and the second inactive element (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 102, 142).
In regards to dependent claim 11, Karthik teaches the package structure of claim 1, further comprising:
a second molded structure disposed under the first molded structure, and comprising:
at least one semiconductor device; at least one inactive element disposed around the at least one semiconductor device, and including a main portion and at least one through via extending through the main portion; and an encapsulant encapsulating the at least one semiconductor device and the at least one inactive element; and a third redistribution structure disposed between the first molded structure and the second molded structure (Karthik, Fig. 3E, Fig. 7, 110, 142, 102).
In regards to dependent claim 12, Karthik teaches the package structure of claim 11, wherein a first surface of the encapsulant of the second molded structure is substantially coplanar with a first surface of the at least one inactive element of the second molded structure and a first surface of the at least one semiconductor device of the second molded structure, and a second surface of the encapsulant of the second molded structure is substantially coplanar with a second surface of the at least one inactive element of the second molded structure and a second surface of the at least one semiconductor device of the second molded structure (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 110, 142, 102).
In regards to dependent claim 13, Karthik teaches the package structure of package structure of claim 1, further comprising:
an upper electronic device disposed over and electrically connected to the first redistribution structure (Karthik, Fig. 3E, 120, 400, 402).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM C TRAPANESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812