DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 5/14/26 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/11/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jo (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0012211) (“Jo”).
Regarding Claim 1, Jo teaches a metal-insulator-metal (MIM) capacitor structure with a non-conformal insulating layer, comprising: a substrate (Figure 1, item 10); a trench (Figure 1, items 30a+30b) disposed in the substrate; an MIM capacitor (Figure 1, items 60+70+80, ¶0048) disposed in the trench; and an insulating layer (Figure 1, item 200) non-conformally covering the trench (see non-conformal portion depicted with air-spaces 202), wherein the insulating layer contacts the MIM capacitor (see Figure 1), the insulating layer has two overhangs formed at an opening of the trench, and the overhangs seal the opening (see Figure 1, note portions of 200 overhang each side of each trench and seal in the middle to form air-spaces 202).
Regarding Claim 2, Jo further teaches a silicon oxide layer covering and contacting the insulating layer (Figure 13, item 300, ¶0013).
Regarding Claim 5, Jo further teaches a thickness of the insulating layer disposed at the opening is greater than a thickness of the insulating layer disposed at a sidewall of the trench (see shape of 200 around air-space 202).
Regarding Claim 6, Jo further teaches a silicon oxide liner (Figure 1, item 50a) covering and contacting the trench, and the MIM capacitor contacting the silicon oxide liner (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Jo further teaches an air gap (Figure 1, item 202) is disposed in the insulating layer.
Regarding Claim 8, Jo further teaches the insulating layer comprises silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, silicon carbon nitride or silicon oxide (¶0013).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Han et al. (US Patent No. 12,628,359) (“Han”).
Regarding Claim 3, Jo teaches Claim 1 as indicated above. Jo further teaches the trench comprises a bottom and a sidewall, the bottom and the sidewall form an inner corner, the inner corner faces the MIM capacitor (see Figure 1). Jo does not specifically teach an angle of the inner corner is between 85 and 90 degrees, however Jo does depict the angle to be approximately 90 degrees (see Figure 1). Han teaches trenches with different angles to the sidewalls (see Figure 2) and corresponding changes in thickness of the layers added within the trench (see Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to optimize the angle of the trench to the sidewalls to control future deposited layer properties, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 4, Jo as modified by Han further teaches a thickness of the insulating layer at the inner corner is greater than a thickness of the insulating layer on the sidewall of the trench (note the middle section of Han Figure 2 would be filled with the insulating layer of Jo, leading to the claimed structure and relative thicknesses).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0130949)
Lin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0074349)
Su et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0047513)
MARK W. TORNOW
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/MARK W TORNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891