Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fung (20170345933)
Regarding claim 1, Fung teaches a method, comprising:
forming a source/drain (S/D) epitaxial region in a front side of a substrate (par. 25 and 26 teaches form source drain epitaxy 306, 306A and 306B);
forming a back side epitaxial layer atop the S/D epitaxial region, wherein the back side epitaxial layer is formed within a contact via of a back side of the substrate (par. 30-33 teaches forming back side holes to 306,306A an 306B and then forming a second epitaxial source drain layer over the source/drain structures 306, 306A, 306B, for example, prior to any PAI);
amorphizing the back side epitaxial layer by delivering a pre-amorphization implant into the contact via (as mentioned above, and taught in par. 30, after forming second epitaxial source drain, perform PAI);
implanting a dopant into the back side epitaxial layer after the back side epitaxial layer is amorphized (par. 30-33 teaches inserting metal material into the surface of the second epitaxial source drain and then performing an anneal); and
performing a thermal treatment to the back side epitaxial layer following the dopant implant (par. 33 teaches performing an anneal after inserting metal into the second epitaxial source drain),
wherein the thermal treatment is performed at a temperature less than 650° C (par. 30-33 teaches the mixing the metal into the second epitaxial source drain, this process occurring between 400-600 degrees Celsius).
Regarding claim 5, Fung teaches a method of claim 1, wherein implanting the dopant into the back side epitaxial layer comprises delivering a p-channel metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS) dopant into a top surface of the back side epitaxial layer (par. 32 teaches P type dopants being added).
Regarding claim 8, Fung teaches a method of claim 1, further comprising forming an area of regrowth along a top surface of the back side epitaxial layer as a result of the thermal treatment (par. 32 teaches silicidation which has a growth phase after annealing).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 3.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-15 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: claim 9 teaches a method of manufacturing novel in the art, such as the temporal ordering of steps, such as implanting a dopant into the back side epitaxial layer after the back side epitaxial layer is amorphized; performing a thermal treatment to the back side epitaxial layer following the dopant implant, wherein the thermal treatment is performed at a temperature less than 650° C.; and forming a back side contact within the contact via by siliciding the back side epitaxial layer and forming a metal fill within the contact via.
Claims 16-20 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: claim 9 teaches a method of manufacturing novel in the art, such as the temporal ordering of steps, such amorphizing the back side epitaxial layer by delivering a pre-amorphization implant into a top surface of the back side epitaxial layer, wherein the pre-amorphization implant is performed at a temperature less than 0° C.; implanting a dopant into the back side epitaxial layer after the back side epitaxial layer is amorphized; performing a thermal treatment to the back side epitaxial layer following the dopant implant, wherein the thermal treatment is performed at a temperature less than 650° C.; and forming a back side contact within the contact via.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818