DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/25/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220075411 (Lee et al) in view of US 20200008328 (Hiroi et al) and US 20180016449 (Bovero et al).
Concerning claim 1, Lee discloses an electronic device comprising (Fig. 7): a display panel (10) comprising: a first area (30a shows the first area/display area of the device); and a second area (30b shows the second area/non-display area of the device) adjacent to the first area (Fig. 7); an electronic module (40a, 40b, and 40c) overlapping the first area and disposed below the display panel; and a protective layer (50a, 50b, and 50c) overlapping the second area (50c) and disposed below the display panel (Fig. 7), the protective layer comprising: . . . a plurality of magnetic particles . . ..
Lee does not disclose a base resin and a plurality of magnetic particles dispersed in the base resin, wherein a ratio of a weight of the plurality of magnetic particles to a total weight of the protective layer gradually increases from a bottom surface of the protective layer to a top surface of the protective layer. Lee discloses that the protective layer is an electromagnetic wave absorber layer that is formed in a foldable display device. Similarly, Hiroi discloses an electromagnetic wave absorbing layer that is formed in a base resin and a plurality of magnetic particles being dispersed in the resin ([0027], [0050], and [0155]-[0159]). Hiroi discloses that the present disclosure aims to realize an electromagnetic-wave absorbing sheet that can favorably absorb electromagnetic waves having high frequencies in and above the millimeter-wave band, and that has sufficient flexibility ([0012]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protective layer/electromagnetic wave absorber layer of Lee in view of Hiroi in order to form a protective layer that has flexibility for use in a foldable device.
Additionally, Bovero discloses a layer formed of resin and magnetic particles (similar to that of the electromagnetic wave absorber layers of Lee and Hiroi) in which magnetic particles 100 may be dispersed in the polymer matrix 240 in a homogenous or a non-homogenous distribution. The magnetic particles may form a concentration gradient or tiered concentrations across the thickness of the polymer matrix 240. For example, the magnetic particles may be at a first concentration proximal one surface of the polymer matrix 240 and have a relative concentration of 75%, 50%, 25%, 10%, or 5% proximal an opposing surface of the polymer matrix 240 with the reduction in a step-wise or gradient fashion across the thickness of the polymer matric 240 ([0004] and [0037]). Bovero discloses that the layer formed in such a way as to provide a corrosion resistant coating with strong adhesion to metal and long-term water repulsion properties ([0005]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the concentration gradient of the magnetic particles in the resin in view of Bovero in order to arrive at a corrosion resistant coating.
Continuing to claim 3, Lee in view of Hiroi and Bovero disclose wherein the protective layer has a thickness of about 100 micrometers to about 500 micrometers (Hiroi [0158]).
Considering claim 4, Lee in view of Hiroi and Bovero disclose wherein the base resin comprises a curable resin (Hiroi [0158]).
Referring to claim 5, Lee in view of Hiroi and Bovero disclose wherein each of the plurality of magnetic particles comprises at least one of a heat dissipation material, a support material, or a shielding material (Hiroi [0027]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Hiroi and Bovero disclose wherein the plurality of magnetic particles have an average diameter of about 5 micrometers to about 100 micrometers (Hiroi [0050]).
Pertaining to claim 7, Lee in view of Hiroi and Bovero disclose wherein a hole overlapping the first area is defined in the protective layer, wherein at least a portion of the electronic module (Lee 40c) is disposed inside the hole (Lee Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220091632 (Hong et al) in view of US 20200008328 (Hiroi et al) and US 20180016449 (Bovero et al).
As to claim 1, Hong discloses an electronic device comprising (Fig. 2): a display panel (DP) comprising ([0071]-[0072]): a first area (PA); and a second area (DA) adjacent to the first area (Fig. 2); an electronic module (DT) overlapping the first area and disposed below the display panel; and a protective layer (ML) overlapping the second area and disposed below the display panel (Fig. 2), the protective layer comprising: . . . a plurality of magnetic particles . . ..
Hong does not disclose a base resin and a plurality of magnetic particles dispersed in the base resin, wherein a ratio of a weight of the plurality of magnetic particles to a total weight of the protective layer gradually increases from a bottom surface of the protective layer to a top surface of the protective layer. Hong discloses that the protective layer is an electromagnetic wave absorber layer that is formed in a foldable display device. Similarly, Hiroi discloses an electromagnetic wave absorbing layer that is formed in a base resin and a plurality of magnetic particles being dispersed in the resin ([0027], [0050], and [0155]-[0159]). Hiroi discloses that the present disclosure aims to realize an electromagnetic-wave absorbing sheet that can favorably absorb electromagnetic waves having high frequencies in and above the millimeter-wave band, and that has sufficient flexibility ([0012]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protective layer/electromagnetic wave absorber layer of Hong in view of Hiroi in order to form a protective layer that has flexibility for use in a foldable device.
Additionally, Bovero discloses a layer formed of resin and magnetic particles (similar to that of the electromagnetic wave absorber layers of Lee and Hiroi) in which magnetic particles 100 may be dispersed in the polymer matrix 240 in a homogenous or a non-homogenous distribution. The magnetic particles may form a concentration gradient or tiered concentrations across the thickness of the polymer matrix 240. For example, the magnetic particles may be at a first concentration proximal one surface of the polymer matrix 240 and have a relative concentration of 75%, 50%, 25%, 10%, or 5% proximal an opposing surface of the polymer matrix 240 with the reduction in a step-wise or gradient fashion across the thickness of the polymer matric 240 ([0004] and [0037]). Bovero discloses that the layer formed in such a way as to provide a corrosion resistant coating with strong adhesion to metal and long-term water repulsion properties ([0005]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the concentration gradient of the magnetic particles in the resin in view of Bovero in order to arrive at a corrosion resistant coating.
Concerning claim 2, Hong in view of Hiroi and Bovero disclose wherein the protective layer is disposed directly on a bottom surface of the display panel (Hong Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220075411 (Lee et al) in view of US 20200008328 (Hiroi et al) and US 20180016449 (Bovero et al) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5081455 (Inui et al).
Continuing to claim 8, Lee in view of Hiroi and Bovero disclose forming a protective layer/electromagnetic wave absorber layer.
Lee in view of Hiroi and Bovero does not disclose wherein the protective layer comprises a first portion disposed below the display panel, and a second portion disposed below the first portion, wherein the first portion comprises a first base resin and a plurality of first magnetic particles dispersed in the first base resin, the second portion comprises a second base resin and a plurality of second magnetic particles dispersed in the second base resin, and a ratio of a weight of the plurality of first magnetic particles to a total weight of the first portion is higher than a ratio of a weight of the plurality of second magnetic particles to a total weight of the second portion. However, Inui discloses an electromagnetic wave absorber layer configuration (Fig. 29) in which the protective layer comprises a first portion (77) disposed below the display panel, and a second portion (78) disposed below the first portion, wherein the first portion comprises a first base resin and a plurality of first magnetic particles dispersed in the first base resin, the second portion comprises a second base resin and a plurality of second magnetic particles dispersed in the second base resin, and a ratio of a weight of the plurality of first magnetic particles to a total weight of the first portion is higher than a ratio of a weight of the plurality of second magnetic particles to a total weight of the second portion (col.12 lines 29-66 and col. 13 lines 8-24). Inui discloses that such configuration allows for the manufacture of an electromagnetic wave absorber which occupies a relatively small space without sacrifice of the responsible broad bandwidth (col. 2 lines 51-53).Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the configuration of the electromagnetic wave absorber layer of Lee in view of Hiroi and Bovero in view of the configuration of Inui in order form an electromagnetic wave absorber which occupies a relatively small space without the sacrifice of the responsible broad bandwidth.
Considering claim 9, Lee in view of Hiroi, Bovero, and Inui disclose wherein the first base resin comprises a same material as a material of the second base resin (Inui col.12 lines 29-66 and col. 13 lines 8-24).
Referring to claim 10, Lee in view of Hiroi, Bovero, and Inui disclose wherein a density of the plurality of first magnetic particles is higher than a density of the plurality of second magnetic particles (Inui col. 13 lines 8-24).
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Hiroi, Bovero, and Inui disclose wherein the protective layer further comprises a third portion (Inui 79) disposed below the second portion, wherein the third portion comprises a third base resin and covers the plurality of second magnetic particles (Inui Fig. 29, col.12 lines 29-66, and col. 13 lines 8-24).
Pertaining to claim 12, Lee in view of Hiroi, Bovero, and Inui disclose wherein the third base resin comprises a same material as a material of the first base resin and the second base resin (Inui col.12 lines 29-66 and col. 13 lines 8-24).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220075411 (Lee et al) in view of US 20200008328 (Hiroi et al), and US 5081455 (Inui et al).
As to claim 13, Lee discloses an electronic device comprising (Fig. 7): a display panel (10) comprising: a first area (30a shows the first area/display area of the device); and a second area (30b shows the second area/non-display area of the device) adjacent to the first area (Fig. 7); and a protective layer (50a, 50b, and 50c) overlapping the second area (50c) and disposed below the display panel (Fig. 7), the protective layer comprising: . . . a plurality of magnetic particles . . ..
Lee does not disclose a first portion disposed below the display panel, the first portion comprising a first base resin and a plurality of first magnetic particles dispersed in the first base resin; a second portion disposed below the first portion, the second portion comprising a second base resin and a plurality of second magnetic particles dispersed in the second base resin, wherein a ratio of a weight of the plurality of first magnetic particles to a total weight of the first portion is higher than a ratio of a weight of the plurality of second magnetic particles to a total weight of the second portion. Lee discloses that the protective layer is an electromagnetic wave absorber layer that is formed in a foldable display device. Similarly, Hiroi discloses an electromagnetic wave absorbing layer that is formed in a base resin and a plurality of magnetic particles being dispersed in the resin ([0027], [0050], and [0155]-[0159]). Hiroi discloses that the present disclosure aims to realize an electromagnetic-wave absorbing sheet that can favorably absorb electromagnetic waves having high frequencies in and above the millimeter-wave band, and that has sufficient flexibility ([0012]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protective layer/electromagnetic wave absorber layer of Lee in view of Hiroi in order to form a protective layer that has flexibility for use in a foldable device.
Additionally, Inui discloses an electromagnetic wave absorber layer configuration (Fig. 29) in which the protective layer comprises a first portion (77) disposed below the display panel, and a second portion (78) disposed below the first portion, wherein the first portion comprises a first base resin and a plurality of first magnetic particles dispersed in the first base resin, the second portion comprises a second base resin and a plurality of second magnetic particles dispersed in the second base resin, and a ratio of a weight of the plurality of first magnetic particles to a total weight of the first portion is higher than a ratio of a weight of the plurality of second magnetic particles to a total weight of the second portion (col.12 lines 29-66 and col. 13 lines 8-24). Inui discloses that such configuration allows for the manufacture of an electromagnetic wave absorber which occupies a relatively small space without sacrifice of the responsible broad bandwidth (col. 2 lines 51-53).Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the configuration of the electromagnetic wave absorber layer of Lee in view of the configuration of Inui in order form an electromagnetic wave absorber which occupies a relatively small space without the sacrifice of the responsible broad bandwidth.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20160359131 discloses a display device with protective layers that contain magnetic particles ([0048]-[0051]).
/VALERIE N NEWTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2897 08/28/26
/CHAD M DICKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897