Detailed Correspondence
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention group I in the reply filed on 08/06/2026 is acknowledged.
The examiner made a typo in group I in requirement for restriction/election (05/07/2026), which should be claims 1-8 and 20, as claim 9 is clearly the independent claim of the method claim group.
Claims 9-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/06/2026.
Claim Interpretation
The “A system for semiconductor processing” of claim 1 is an intended use of the apparatus, an apparatus that is capable of processing semiconductor is considered read into the claim.
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2111.02). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “comprising at least one seal located between the first end of the gas hub and the gas distribution nozzle” which raises antecedent issue with “at least one seal arranged between a first end of the gas hub and the first surface of the lid portion” of claim 1.
Claim 4 will be examined “comprising at least one second seal located between the first end of the gas hub and the gas distribution nozzle”.
Claim 20 recites “A spring-loaded sealing mechanism” and “for a chamber lid of a semiconductor processing chamber comprising” is an intended use of the apparatus. However, claim 20 further recites numerous components “a source assembly of the process chamber”, “a fixture of the source assembly” and “a gas hub of the chamber lid to compress a dimension of at least one seal between the gas hub and the chamber lid by at least 15%”, it is not clear whether these chamber components is part of the required structure of claim 20.
Claim 20 will be examined inclusive either with or without the chamber components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 20110114261, hereafter ‘261), in view of Peuse et al. (US 20100151694, hereafter ‘694), HOHENWARTER (US 20130008602, hereafter ‘602), and Kalsekar (US 20210335635, hereafter ‘635).
‘261 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: Semiconductor devices, such as LSI (large scale integrated circuit), are manufactured by performing a plurality of processes, such as etching or CVD (chemical vapor deposition) ([0002]), As shown in FIG. 1, a plasma processing apparatus 11 includes a processing container 12 in which a plasma processing is performed on a substrate to be processed W … a disk-like holding stage 14 which holds thereon the substrate to be processed W (Fig. 1, [0098], 3rd sentence, includes the claimed “A system for semiconductor processing, the system comprising: a chamber body comprising a plurality of walls for enclosing a processing region; a first substrate support within the chamber body and configured to retain a substrate in the processing region of the chamber body”);
The top of the processing container 12 is opened, and the processing container 12 may be sealed by the dielectric plate 16, which is arranged on top of the processing container 12 ([0099], last sentence, includes the claimed “a chamber lid arranged with respect to the plurality of walls of the chamber body to enclose the processing region and comprising: a lid portion”), As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the reactive gas supply unit 13 includes an injector base 61, which is arranged at a location more recessed inside the dielectric plate 16 than the bottom surface 63 of the dielectric plate 16, which becomes a wall surface facing the holding stage 14. A base housing portion 64, which penetrates the central region of the diametric direction of the dielectric is plate 16 in the plate thickness direction and houses the injector base 61, is provided in the dielectric plate 16. The injector base 61 is provided to be housed in the base housing portion 64. An O-ring 65 is interposed between the injector base 61 and the base housing portion 64 to secure the air-tightness inside the processing container 12 ([0107], 3rd sentence, the opening of the dielectric plate 16 accommodating the injector base 61 is the claimed “comprising an aperture from a first surface of the lid portion to a second surface of the lid portion”, note the inner top surface of the base housing portion 64 of the dielectric plate that seats the injector base 61 is the claimed “a first surface”. See also Fig. 4, 15 or 16);
A supply hole 66, which supplies a reactive gas for a plasma processing into the processing container 12, is formed in the injector base 61 ([0109], includes the claimed “ a gas distribution nozzle disposed within the aperture of the lid portion”; the injector base 61 reads into the claimed “and a gas hub arranged on the first surface of the lid portion”);
An O-ring 65 is interposed between the injector base 61 and the base housing portion 64 to secure the air-tightness inside the processing container 12 ([0107], last sentence, includes the claimed “at least one seal arranged between a first end of the gas hub and the first surface of the lid portion”);
a microwave generator 15 which generates a microwave for exciting plasma, a dielectric plate 16 which is arranged at a location facing the holding stage 14 and transmits the microwave generated by the microwave generator 15 into the processing container 12 ([0098], 3rd sentence, includes the claimed “and a source assembly comprising: a plasma source configured to direct energy into the chamber body”).
‘261 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) (a source assembly comprising: a plasma source configured to direct) RF (energy into the chamber body);
(1B) an adjustable support frame configurable to position the source assembly from a first, open position to a second, closed position with respect to the chamber lid;
(1C) a plate affixed to the source assembly; and
a set of springs affixed to a first surface of the plate and oriented orthogonally with respect to a plane of the plate,
wherein the plate is arranged with respect to the source assembly to contact a second end of the gas hub with a second surface of the plate when the source assembly is in a second, closed position, such that the set of springs apply a compressive force to compress the at least one seal located between the first end of the gas hub and the first surface of the lid portion.
‘694 is an analogous art in the field of Plasma assisted low temperature radical oxidation (abstract), for selectively or non-selectively oxidizing silicon, poly-silicon or other semiconductor materials on semiconductor wafers ([0006]). ‘694 teaches that Other means of producing the radical species can be used … A plasma source may be employed, that uses an electron cyclotron resonance, microwaves, inductive coupling ([0035]), Plasma is ignited and maintained by an inductively coupled plasma source (ICP) 125 employing an electrostatic shield 165 to reduce capacitive coupling between antenna and plasma. The source load is connected to automatic matching network 150 with an RF power generator 155 (Fig. 1, [0023], see also Fig. 3, the inductive coil 325 is in a box above the ceiling of gas injector), A gas panel containing a set of mass flow controllers, regulators and valves, provides the prescribed mixtures of gases to the ICP source gas injector as well as providing purge gases ([0033], 3rd sentence).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have replaced microwave plasma of ‘261 with ICP RF plasma including inductive coil 325 above the ceiling of gas injector (the limitation of 1A), as taught by ‘694, for its suitability as plasma source with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘602 is an analogous art in the field of An apparatus for processing wafer-shaped articles comprises a closed process chamber, a chuck located within the closed process chamber, and at least one process liquid dispensing device disposed within the chamber (abstract), Semiconductor wafers are subjected to various surface treatment processes such as etching, cleaning, polishing and material deposition ([0004]). ‘602 teaches that Lid 100 is secured to lid arm 22, which moves the lid 100 from the closed position shown in FIG. 1 to the open position shown in FIG. 2, and which is in turn positioned on lid support shaft 26. A gas feed line 24 supplies gas to the lid 100 ([0049]), In FIG. 3, the underside of the lid 100 includes a central gas nozzle 23 ([0054]), to permit loading a wafer to be processed therein ([0079]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added lid opening and closing mechanism, including the gas nozzle in the lid, of ‘602 to the apparatus of ‘261 (the limitation of 1B), for the purpose of loading a wafer to be processed therein, as taught by ‘602 ([0079]).
‘635 is an analogous art in the field of COMPLIANCE COMPONENTS FOR SEMICONDUCTOR PROCESSING SYSTEM (title), Lid 155 may be a separate component for each processing region, or may include one or more common aspects. Lid 155 may be one of two separate lid plates of the system in some embodiments … lid 155 may be a second lid plate, and may be a single component defining multiple apertures 160 for fluid delivery to individual processing regions. For example, lid 155 may define a first aperture 160a for fluid delivery to processing region 108a, and lid 155 may define a second aperture 160b for fluid delivery to processing region 108b … one or more remote plasma units 165 for delivering plasma effluents into the processing chamber (Fig. 1B, [0035], apertures 160 corresponds to the claimed gas distribution nozzle), Extending over the lid stacks 310 may be a second lid plate 320. Second lid plate 320 may extend fully over each lid stack of the processing system, and may provide access to the individual processing regions via a plurality of apertures 321 defined through the second lid plate 320 (Fig. 3, [0049]), The lid stacks may include any number of components in embodiments, and may include any of the components described above. For example, the lid stack components may include a liner plate 312, a pumping liner 314, a faceplate 316, and a blocker plate 318. Faceplate 316 and blocker plate 318 may define a number of apertures for distributing process precursors into a processing region defined from above by faceplate 316 ([0048]), elastomeric element or o-ring 330 may be seated or positioned between the gasbox 325 and the second lid plate 320 ([0053], 3rd sentence, all of the above establish close similarity to ‘261). ‘635 teaches that Turning to FIG. 6 is shown a schematic cross-sectional partial view of a component assembly 600, such as including a gasbox assembly, in some embodiments of the present technology … The component 605 of the assembly may be or include any component that may be engaged with another component of a system, including a second lid plate 610, which may include any aspect of a second lid plate as previously described. It is to be understood that the figure is not to be limited to any particular components, and may encompass any two components that may be coupled together with an engagement apparatus. The component 605 may be a gasbox or other lid stack component ([0061], therefore, applying force to the O-rings 330 between gasbox 325 and manifold 322 of Fig. 3), engagement apparatus 620 may include bolt 625. Bolt 625 may extend through recess 615 and aperture 617 to engage second lid plate 610 as illustrated ([0063], 2nd last sentence), The engagement apparatus may also include a spring 635 or compressible device, which may engage the washer 630 at a first end of the spring as well as the component 605 at a second end of the spring as illustrated, and may at least partially extend about the bolt ([0066]), By utilizing engagement apparatuses according to embodiments of the present technology, tolerance gaps caused by manufacturing may be controlled to limit or prevent sealing issues during operation of the systems ([0072], last sentence).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added the engagement apparatus of ‘635, including the bolt 625, spring 635, washer 630, and interleaving component 605, to the O-ring 65 of ‘261 (the limitation of 1C), for the purpose of prevent sealing issues during operation of the systems, as taught by ‘635 ([0072], last sentence).
‘635 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 2: By utilizing springs as described and configured, the engagement on the o-ring, such as o-ring 330 described above, may be increased to provide a compression of greater than or about 15%, and may provide compression of greater than or about 18%, greater than or about 20%, greater than or about 22%, greater than or about 24%, greater than or about 26%, greater than or about 28%, or higher ([0068], includes the claimed “wherein the set of springs apply the compressive force to compress the at least one seal by at least 15% when the source assembly is in the second, closed position”).
Claim 5: engagement apparatus 620 may include bolt 625. Bolt 625 may extend through recess 615 and aperture 617 to engage second lid plate 610 as illustrated ([0063], 2nd last sentence, Figs. 6-7 show the claimed “wherein the plate further comprises a set of guide rods, each guide rod corresponding to a respective spring of the set of the springs, and wherein each of the set of springs is aligned along a respective guide rod of the set of guide rods”).
Claim 6: By utilizing springs as described and configured, the engagement on the o-ring, such as o-ring 330 described above, may be increased to provide a compression of greater than or about 15%, and may provide compression of greater than or about 18%, greater than or about 20%, greater than or about 22%, greater than or about 24%, greater than or about 26%, greater than or about 28%, or higher ([0068], includes the claimed “wherein the at least one seal comprises an O-ring, and wherein the at least 15% compression of the O-ring”),
in some embodiments the total force exerted by the plurality of engagement apparatuses may be less than or about 5,000 N ([0067], 3rd sentence, i.e. 1120 pounds of force, includes the claimed “at least 40 pounds of compressive force applied to the O-ring”).
Claim 8: The engagement apparatus may also include a spring 635 or compressible device, which may engage the washer 630 at a first end of the spring as well as the component 605 at a second end of the spring as illustrated, and may at least partially extend about the bolt ([0066]), includes the claimed “further comprising:
at least one spacer located between a first end of at least one spring of the set of springs and the first surface of the plate, wherein the at least one spacer increases a compressive force applied by the at least one spring on the plate”).
Claim 3: An aperture 512 may extend from the recess 510 through a first surface, and may be sized or shaped to accommodate a bolt or coupling component used to join the component 500 with a second lid plate as illustrated previously ([0059], Fig. 5 of ‘635 shows eight recesses 510, therefore, eight springs. It would have been obvious to omit the number of recesses 510 and springs 535 to four in symmetric arrangement, includes the claimed “wherein the set of springs comprises at least four springs arranged with respect to the plate to generate a uniform compression of the at least one seal when the source assembly is in the second, closed position”, similar to Applicants’ four springs are applying force to multiple seals).
It has been held that omission of an element with a corresponding omission of function is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Wilson 153 USPQ 740 (CCPA 1967); In re Portz 145 USPQ 397 (CCPA 1965); In re Larson 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965); In re Karlson 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963); In re Listen 58 USPQ 481 (CCPA 1943); In re Porter 20 USPQ 298 (CCPA 1934).
Claim 20 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 2 rejection above.
Alternatively, claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘261, ‘694, ‘602, and ‘635, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of MOMMSEN (US 3318641, hereafter ‘641).
In case Applicants argue that omission of parts is not obvious and/or the omission may not necessarily results in uniform compression of claim 3.
‘641 teaches that A spring 67 is positioned between the washer 64 and the top of the plate 51 and biases the plate 51 in a downward direction toward the bottom plate 47. The four springs 67 establish a uniform biasing force on the top plate 51 and thereby uniformly clamp the disc 54 between the hard rubber members 49 and 52 (Fig. 3, col. 3, lines 52-58), therefore it is solving similar problem of applying spring force.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted four springs to apply uniform force, as taught by ‘641, to the spring set up of ‘635, and then combined with ‘261, ‘694, and ‘602, for the purpose of applying uniform biasing force, as taught by ‘641 (col. 3, lines 52-58).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘261, ‘694, ‘602, and ‘635, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of NANGOY et al. (US 20130284700, hereafter ‘700).
‘635 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 4: The engagement apparatus may also include a spring 635 or compressible device, which may engage the washer 630 at a first end of the spring as well as the component 605 at a second end of the spring as illustrated, and may at least partially extend about the bolt ([0066], includes the claimed “wherein the set of springs apply the compressive force when the source assembly is in the second, closed position”).
The combination of ‘261, ‘694, ‘602, and ‘635 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 4: further comprising at least one seal located between the first end of the gas hub and the gas distribution nozzle,
(wherein the set of springs apply the compressive force) to compress the at least one seal located between the first end of the gas hub and the gas distribution nozzle (when the source assembly is in the second, closed position).
‘700 is an analogous art in the field of PROPORTIONAL AND UNIFORM CONTROLLED GAS FLOW DELIVERY FOR DRY PLASMA ETCH APPARATUS (title). ‘700 teaches that As shown in FIG. 2A, the gas injection assembly 120 includes an inlet hub 210, a nozzle 230 and a distribution insert 250. When assembled, the nozzle 230 is disposed through in the opening 116 of the chamber lid 106 ([0032]), The seal 278 is pressed between the distribution insert 250 and the nozzle 230 to apply a springing force against the inlet hub 210 … the seal 278 may be compressed to reduce about 10% to about 20% of its original size ([0037], 5th and last sentences), A gland 226 surrounding the opening 220 of the inner volume 218 may be formed in the bottom surface 213 of the inlet hub 210 to receive a seal 276. When assembled, the gland 226 and the seal 276 also surround the opening 116 of the chamber lid 106 and the seal 276 contacts the chamber lid 106 to form an air tight seal between the processing volume 104 and the exterior environment ([0034], 3rd sentence), During operation, the nozzle and the inlet hub may be pressed against each other by difference in pressure between inside and outside the processing chamber to create air tight structure ([0024], 2nd sentence).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added a second seal 278 between the inlet hub and the nozzle, as taught by ‘700, to the injector 62 of ‘261 (or to have replaced the injector 62 with the gas injection assembly in Fig. 2A of ‘700), for the purpose of air tight structure during operation, as taught by ‘700.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘261, ‘694, ‘602, and ‘635, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Halpin et al. (US 20090052498, hereafter ‘498).
The combination of ‘261, ‘694, ‘602, and ‘635 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 7: wherein the set of springs comprise brass.
‘498 is an analogous art in the field of Semiconductor processing chambers are used for depositing various material layers onto a substrate surface ([0002]), a chemical vapor deposition reactor (Fig. 1, [0012]). ‘498 teaches that the spring 66 is formed of brass … any other metal sufficient to withstand the cyclical temperatures to which the thermocouple 42 is exposed without a significant decrease in the compression rate of the spring 66 (Figs. 4 and 19-20, [0057], last sentence).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted brass as the material for the spring 635 of ‘635, and then combined with ‘261, ‘694, and ‘602, for the purpose of withstanding the cyclical temperatures, as taught by ‘498 ([0057], last sentence).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20050016321 is cited for apparatus for opening and closing cover (title, Figs. 1-4). US 20040237897 is cited for microwave or RF inductively coupled sources ([0004]) and nozzle at top port 71 (Fig. 1). TW 202126850 is cited for pivoting lid system 161 including microwave generator 171 and gas input pipeline (Fig. 3).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716