CTNF 18/603,999 CTNF 88248 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Detailed Action This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 03/13/24. Claims 1-7 are pending in this application. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement filed on 03/13/24 has been received and is being considered. Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Shin (US 20220018806 A1). Regarding claim 1, Shin discloses an ion sensor comprising: an ion detection element (see ISFET); a reference electrode configured to provide a reference point of potential (see para [0032], element 110, fig 6.); a solution in which an ion concentration is variable in a sensing area of the ion detection element; and a container receiving the solution (see para [00116] disclosing active solution), wherein the sensing area of the ion detection element is disposed in the solution (see fig 6, disclosing sensing area is surrounded by active solution), at least a part of the reference electrode is disposed in the solution(see fig 6, disclosing sensing area is surrounded by active solution), the solution contains an ion necessary for a redox reaction of the reference electrode (see figs 1, 2, and para [0033] disclosing ion redox reaction solution), and the container has an opening to introduce a target substance bound to a label having a function of changing an amount of ions detectable by the ion detection element into the solution (see fig 3a disclosing opening). Regarding claim 2, Shin, discloses the ion sensor according to claim 1, further comprising: a resin in contact with a surface of the ion detection element (see par a[0029] disclosing insulation layer on ion detection electrode), which is a contact portion of the ion detection element located away from the sensing area; and a step provided on the surface of the ion detection element at location between the sensing area and the contact portion (see para [0029] and fig 4d disclosing insulation layer on electrode). Regarding claim 3, Shin discloses the ion sensor according to claim 1, further comprising: a base material on which the ion detection element is attached by an adhesive (see para [0028] disclosing patterned on and formed on substrate); an electrode portion provided on a surface of the base material to be electrically connected to the ion detection element (see fig 6 disclosing electrical connection); and a step provided on the surface of the base material at location between the ion detection element and the electrode portion (see fig 3a disclosing step). Regarding claim 4, Shin discloses the ion sensor according to claim 3, wherein the reference electrode is provided on a surface of the base material (see fig2 disclosing electrode on surface), the ion detection element is positioned between the reference electrode and the electrode portion (see material in between electrodes), and the reference electrode is larger than the electrode portion (see figs 4 disclosing different sizes). Regarding claim 5, Shin discloses the ion sensor according to claim 1, further comprising: a container receiving the solution, wherein the container is sealed (see para [0033] disclosing containers). Regarding claim 6, Shin discloses the ion sensor according to claim 5, further comprising an inert gas in the container (see para [0033] disclosing buffered). Regarding claim 7, Shin discloses a method for detecting a target substance using an ion sensor including: an ion detection element (see fig 3, disclosing sensing element); a reference electrode configured to provide a reference point of potential (see fig 3, disclosing reference electrode); and a solution in which an ion concentration is variable in a sensing area of the ion detection element (see fig 3, disclosing solution), wherein the method comprising: disposing the sensing area of the ion detection element in the solution (see fig 3, disclosing electrodes in solutions); introducing the target substance bound to a label having a function of changing an amount of ions detectable by the ion sensor into the solution after the disposing (see para [0033] disclosing detecting materials in target solution); and detecting a change in the amount of ions according to a concentration of the label using the ion sensor (see para [0046 and fig 9 disclosing detecting changes]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EDWARD CHIN whose telephone number is (571)270-1827. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Britt Hanley can be reached at (571) 270-3042 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/603,999 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/603,999 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/603,999 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/603,999 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893