DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 16, and 17 recite the limitation “so that the user can perform correction work on the data set representing the temporal change in the feature in the first image group selected in the first input before the second input was accepted”. The limitation is directed towards intended use of the reselection of the first image. It is noted that limitations directed towards intended use must result in a structural difference between the prior art and the claimed invention in order to patentably distinguish from the prior art. Examiner notes that the prior art must merely teach accepting input to reselect the first image group such that a user would be capable of performing correction work on the data set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the user input to select one image group includes a first input from the user to select a first image group of the plurality of image groups and a second input from the user to select a second image group of the plurality of image groups after accepting the first input”. The limitation is unclear as to whether the second input refers to one of the inputs from repeatedly executing operations (i) to (iv) in a time series or if the limitation intends to mean that a first image group and a second image group are selected in each iteration/repetition of (i). at least fig. 5 of the originally filed specification appears to provide sufficient support for the former (i.e. selection of a first image group in step (i) performing steps (ii-iv) for the first image group and then repeating steps (i-iv) for a second image group), however, the claim is written in a way which makes the limitation unclear even in light of the originally filed specification. Examiner recommends amending the claim to more clearly set forth how the steps are performed with respect to the first image group and second group as well as pointing to corresponding support for the amendments. For examination purposes, it has been interpreted that the steps are performed first for a first image group and repeated for a second image group accordingly.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the one image group”. It is unclear which one image group the limitation is referring to as claim 1 recites selecting one image group (and repetition thereof leading to a plurality of one image groups selected) and further the user input to select one image group includes a first input to select a first image group…. And a second input from the user to select a second image group. For examination purposes, it has been interpreted to mean any of the previously recited image group.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein when an image group selected by the user among the plurality of image groups is a newly selected image group”. It is unclear if the image group is the same as any of the previously recited groups or if this is a different image group. For examination purposes, it has been interpreted to mean any image group, however, clarification is required.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein when an image group selected by the user among the plurality of image groups is a newly selected image group”. It is unclear if the image group is the same as any of the previously recited groups or if this is a different image group. For examination purposes, it has been interpreted to mean any image group, however, clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the data set”. It is unclear which data set the limitation is referring to since claim 1 sets forth a plurality of data sets through repetition of steps (i-iv). For examination purposes, it has been interpreted to mean any of the plurality of data sets, however, clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “updates the corrected analysis information”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the corrected analysis information”. It is therefore unclear if the limitation intends to refer to the analysis information previously recited or if this is different (i.e. corrected) analysis information which has not been previously defined. For examination purposes, it ahs been interpreted to mean the analysis information, however, clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Foreign (Ando JP 2012005788 A), hereinafter Ando or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ando in view of Wiemker et al. (US 20120093390 A1), hereinafter Wiemker. Examiner notes that citations to Ando are with respect to the translated copy provided herein.
Regarding claims 1, 16, and 17,
Ando teaches an ultrasonic diagnostic device (at least fig. 1 (200) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0010]) comprising:
a user interface (at least fig. 1 (52) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0032]);
a processor (at least fig. 1 (32 and 40) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0011]);
a storage device (at least fig. 1 (42) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0022]) configured to store a plurality of image groups, each image group including a plurality of ultrasound images arranged in a time series;
and a display (at least fig. 1 (45) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0031]), wherein the processor is configured to:
(i) accept, through the user interface, an input from a user selecting one image group from among the plurality of image groups In this manner, it is possible to display, on the display unit 45, the tabs created by the input of the freeze operation over a plurality of examinations. As a result, the image data identified by the designated tab can be displayed on the display unit 45 by a simple operation of designating the tab by the input from the operation unit 52),
(ii) responsive to the input selecting an image group, display the ultrasound images included in the selected image group on the display ([0042] which discloses When an input for designating one tab output from the retrieval unit 43 among the plurality of tabs displayed in the tab display area 81 of the display unit 45 is performed from the operation unit 52, the retrieval unit 43 retrieves image data identified by the designated tab from the data storage unit 42),
(iii) accept, through the user interface, an input for assigning a region of interest to an ultrasound image displayed on the display ([0054] which discloses then, an input for setting a region of interest of the B-mode image data displayed on the display unit 45 and an input of a timer time for acquiring TIC data by measuring the B-mode image data are performed from the operation unit 52),
(iv) responsive to the input assigning the region of interest, create a data set representing a temporal change in a feature in the region of interest based on the ultrasonic images included in the selected image group ([0054] which discloses next, when an input for operating the timer switch is performed after the contrast agent is administered to the subject P, the image processing unit 32 generates the TIC data of the region of interest set on the B-mode image data output from the imaging unit 20 based on the information of the timer time supplied from the system control unit 70) ,
and (v) arrange and integrate a plurality of data sets obtained by repeatedly executing operations (i) to (iv) in a time series, then create a data series representing a temporal change in a feature in the region of interest in the plurality of data sets ([0032] which discloses further, by a drag-and-drop operation of selecting one tab from among a plurality of tabs displayed on the display unit 45 of the image display unit 40 using, for example, a mouse, moving the selected tab onto another tab, and releasing the moved tab on the other tab, an input for associating the two tabs with each other is performed and [0075] which discloses when an input for associating the tab 845 and the tab 846 displayed on the display unit 45 is performed from the operation unit 52 in order to combine the TIC data 86 and the TIC data 88, the search unit 43 searches for the supplementary information including the tab 845,846 from the image information stored in the data storage unit 42 and outputs the supplementary information to the switching unit 60),
wherein the user input to select one image group includes a first input from the user to select a first image group of the plurality of image groups and a second input from the user to select a second image group of the plurality of image groups after accepting the first input ([0029] which discloses when an input for designating the tab displayed on the display unit 45 is performed from the operation unit 52, the retrieval unit 43 retrieves the image data identified by the designated tab from the data storage unit 42, thereby outputting the image data output from the retrieval unit 43 to the display unit 45, [0041] which discloses the B-mode image data 83 can be displayed on the display unit 45 in real time, and the tab 841 and the tab stored in the data storage unit 42 can be displayed. [0042]When an input for designating one tab output from the retrieval unit 43 among the plurality of tabs displayed in the tab display area 81 of the display unit 45 is performed from the operation unit 52, the retrieval unit 43 retrieves image data identified by the designated tab from the data storage unit 42, and outputs the retrieved image data to the display data generation unit 44. The display data generation unit 44 arranges the plurality of tabs in the tab area, arranges the image data output from the search unit 43 in the image area, and outputs the image data to the display unit 45. The display unit 45 displays a plurality of tabs and an image identified by a designated tab [0043] which discloses by designating the tab 842 displayed in the tab display area 81, the B-mode image data 83 displayed in the image display area 82 of the screen 80 in FIG. 3 can be switched to the B-mode image data 85 identified by the designated tab 842. Accordingly, it is possible to easily select an imaging condition that enables generation of image data clearer than the B-mode image data 83 displayed on the screen 80 illustrated in FIG. 3),
and wherein the user interface is configured to accept user input in order to reselect the first image group after the second input has been accepted (Examiner notes that in such a tab configuration as disclosed by Ando, that the user interface is configured to accept a user input to select or reselect any of the tabs, thus is configured to accept a user input to reselect the first image group after the second input has been accepted), so that the user can perform correction work on the data set representing the temporal change in the feature in the first image group selected by the first input that was accepted before the second input (As noted in the claim interpretation section, the limitation is directed towards intended use. Examiner notes that reselection of the first image group (i.e. selection of the first tab after selection of the second tab) would necessarily be capable of being used for the user to perform correction work on the data set representing the temporal change in the feature in the first image group selected by the first input. Additionally/alternatively [0032] which discloses further, by a drag-and-drop operation of selecting one tab from among a plurality of tabs displayed on the display unit 45 of the image display unit 40 using, for example, a mouse, moving the selected tab onto another tab, and releasing the moved tab on the other tab, an input for associating the two tabs with each other is performed and [0075] which discloses when an input for associating the tab 845 and the tab 846 displayed on the display unit 45 is performed from the operation unit 52 in order to combine the TIC data 86 and the TIC data 88, the search unit 43 searches for the supplementary information including the tab 845,846 from the image information stored in the data storage unit 42 and outputs the supplementary information to the switching unit 60. Examiner notes that such a selection of the first group and moving the first group to the second group and generating the combined/synthesized TIC data is considered to be a “correction work” on the data set representing the temporal change in the feature).
Alternatively, Ando fails to explicitly teach the processor configured to perform correction work on the data set representing the temporal change in the feature of the first image group selected by the first input that was accepted before the second input in response to user input.
Nonetheless, Wiemker, in a similar field of endeavor involving TIC analysis, teaches wherein a processor allows display of image data so that the user can perform correction work on a data set representing a temporal change of a feature in the image data ([0060] which discloses the user may be enabled to change the ROI or intensity-value range after or before the computations and display of the results. Whenever the user changes the ROI or intensity-value range, the displayed results may be interactively updated. The user may be enabled to interactively change the partitioning into core- and rim-region of the tumor by adjusting one degree of freedom (e.g. mouse wheel, mouse move in the spatial core-to-rim-curve), and the user may be provided with immediate visual feedback in the color-overlay of the tumor. Moreover, the displayed time curves for core- and rim-region may be interactively updated whenever the user changes the core and rim partitioning).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ando to include allowing a user to perform correction work as taught by Wiemker in order to allow of interactive updating of the ROI, thereby providing enhanced TIC data in instances where a user initially misplaces the ROI or the ROI needs updating due to incorrect tracking. Such a modification would provide improved accuracy of the ROI as needed.
Regarding claim 14,
Ando further teaches wherein the display displays a time-intensity curve obtained by connecting data adjacent to each other in the time axis direction in the data included in the data set with a line (see at least figs. 6-9 (92, 881, 901-903, and/or 921-924)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando in view of Miyasa (US 20210042924 A1), hereinafter Miyasa or in the alternative Ando and Wiemker, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyasa.
Regarding claim 2,
Ando teaches the elements of claim 1 as previously stated. Ando further teaches wherein the processor determines that it has accepted input to reselect the first image group and reads and restores the analysis information mapped to the first image group from the storage device if not a newly selected group ([0041] which discloses the image acquisition unit identifies the first selection image to be processed. When the first selection image has not been selected, the image information acquisition unit waits until the instruction to select the first selection image is acquired. IN contrast, in the case where the first selection image has already been selected, if a new selection instruction of the first selection image is acquired, the image information acquisition unit 102 identifies the newly selected medical image as the first selection image).
Ando fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the one image group selected by a user is a newly selected image group.
Miyasa, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound image processing, teaches wherein a processor is configured to determine whether one image group selected by a user is a newly selected image group ([0042] which discloses the image acquisition unit identifies the first selection image to be processed. When the first selection image has not been selected, the image information acquisition unit waits until the instruction to select the first selection image is acquired. IN contrast, in the case where the first selection image has already been selected, if a new selection instruction of the first selection image is acquired, the image information acquisition unit 102 identifies the newly selected medical image as the first selection image and [0048] which discloses as a specific process of this step, the already-processed state determination unit 105 searches the history information list by using the identification information of the first selection image acquired in step S2030 as a key. The processing is described below with reference to an example in which the identification information (the series ID) of the first selection image in FIG. 4 is “0000010”. And [0060] which discloses Thereafter, for each of the candidate images of the second selection image, the already-processed state determination unit 105 determines whether the identification information of the image is included in the history information item extracted in step S2040).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ando, or Ando as modified, to include determining whether one image group selected by a user is a newly selected image group in order to display information about the medical image group processed in combination with the selected image group so as to be distinguished from an unprocessed medical image. Such a modification would reduce the probability of regenerating an image processing result that has already been generated when it is not desired to be regenerated by a user (Miyasa [0095]).
Regarding claim 3,
Ando, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 2 as previously stated. Ando further teaches wherein when an image group selected by the user among the plurality of image groups is a newly selected image group, the processor is further configured to assign an identifier to the image group selected by the user ([0011] which discloses The ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus 200 further includes an image display unit 40 that creates tabs for identifying the image data generated by the imaging unit 20 and the processed data generated by the image processing unit 32, stores the tabs, the image data, and the processed data, and displays the tabs, the image data, and the processed data, and an application unit 51 that stores various application software for processing the image data by the image processing unit 32 and tabs for identifying operation keys for executing the software. See also [0055] which discloses the tab creating unit 41 creates a tab for identifying the TIC data output from the image processing unit 32, and adds the created tab to the TIC data.).
Miyasa also teaches wherein when an image group selected by the user among the plurality of image groups is a newly selected image group the processor is further configured to assign an identifier to the image group selected by the user ([0089] which discloses In step S2120, the history information management unit 104 newly generates history information that associates the acquired identification information of the first selection image and the acquired second selection image with the identification information of the resultant image of the image processing. For example, suppose that the history information list in FIG. 4 is already managed. In addition, the identification information (the series IDs) of the first selection image and second selection image that newly underwent image processing and the resultant image of the image processing are “0000010”, “0000030”, and “1000006”, respectively. At this time, the history ID “006” is newly issued, and these pieces of identification information are associated with the history ID and are stored. Examiner notes that such identification/history ID generation is assigned to any newly selected image group)
Regarding claim 4,
Ando, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 3 as previously stated. Ando further teaches wherein the identifier comprises the elapsed time from the start of administration of a contrast agent to the start of data acquisition ([0032] which discloses a touch panel that operates a timer for measuring an elapsed time after a contrast agent is administered to the subject P and [0054] which discloses when an input for operating the timer switch is performed after the contrast agent is administered to the subject P generates the TIC data of the region of interest set on the B-mode image data output from the imaging unit 20 based on the information of the timer time supplied from the system control unit 70 and further discloses the generated TIC data, the examination information including the timer time, the examination time, the position information indicating the region of interest, and the subject information, and the imaging conditions are output to the tab generation unit 41)
Miyasa, as applied to claim 3 above further teaches wherein the identifier comprises an image number (see at least fig. 4 in which any of the History ID or Series IDs are considered an image number).
Regarding claim 5,
Ando, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 4 as previously stated. Miyasa, as applied to claim 4 above further teaches wherein when an image group selected by the user among the plurality of image groups is a newly selected image group, the processor is further configured to interconnect a parameter indicating the image number of the newly selected image group (see at least fig. 4 in which a parameter (i.e. History ID and/or series ID) is interconnected indicating the image number of the newly selected image group).
Regarding claim 6,
Wherein the user interface comprises a touch panel ([0032] which discloses the operation unit 52 includes an input device such as a timer switch, a button, a keyboard, a trackball, a mouse, or a touch panel that operates a timer for measuring an elapsed time after a contrast agent is administered to the subject P, and inputs imaging conditions for generating image data in the imaging unit 20 using the input device),
the touch panel configured to display a button for reselecting a selected image group ([0030] which discloses the image data identified by the designated tab can be displayed on the display unit 45 by a simple operation of designating the tab by the input from the operation unit 52) and
When the user touches the button, the touch panel configured to accept input from the user to reselect the image group corresponding to the image number ([0030] which discloses the image data identified by the designated tab can be displayed on the display unit 45 by a simple operation of designating the tab by the input from the operation unit 52).
Ando, as currently modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the button comprises the image number.
Nonetheless, Miyasa, further teaches wherein the button includes the image number ([0040] which discloses a character string of identification information (a series ID) of each medical image may be displayed in the examination list, and the user may select the medical image by designating the character string).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ando, as currently modified, to include a button including the image number as taught by Miyasa in order to allow a user to easily select or reselect the desired image group accordingly. Such a modification would provide an objective character string associated with the image group allowing a user to select the desired image group.
Regarding claim 7,
Ando, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 4 as previously stated. Ando further teaches wherein the user interface comprises an operation panel ([0032] which discloses operation unit 52 includes an input device such as a timer switch, a button, a keyboard, a trackball, a mouse, or a touch panel),
A button for reselecting a selected image group is displayed on the display ([0030] which discloses the image data identified by the designated tab can be displayed on the display unit 45 by a simple operation of designating the tab by the input from the operation unit 52), and
When the user operates the operation panel and inputs a command to select, the operation panel accepts the user input to reselect the image group corresponding to the image number ([0030] which discloses the image data identified by the designated tab can be displayed on the display unit 45 by a simple operation of designating the tab by the input from the operation unit 52).
Ando, as currently modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the button comprises the image number.
Nonetheless, Miyasa, further teaches wherein the button includes the image number ([0040] which discloses a character string of identification information (a series ID) of each medical image may be displayed in the examination list, and the user may select the medical image by designating the character string).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ando, as currently modified, to include a button including the image number as taught by Miyasa in order to allow a user to easily select or reselect the desired image group accordingly. Such a modification would provide an objective character string associated with the image group allowing a user to select the desired image group.
Regarding claim 8,
Ando teaches the elements of claim 4 as previously stated.
Ando further teaches wherein the user interface comprises a touch panel ([0032] which discloses the operation unit 52 includes an input device such as a timer switch, a button, a keyboard, a trackball, a mouse, or a touch panel that operates a timer for measuring an elapsed time after a contrast agent is administered to the subject P, and inputs imaging conditions for generating image data in the imaging unit 20 using the input device),
the touch panel configured to display a button for reselecting a selected image group ([0030] which discloses the image data identified by the designated tab can be displayed on the display unit 45 by a simple operation of designating the tab by the input from the operation unit 52) and
When the user touches the button, the touch panel configured to accept input from the user to reselect the image group corresponding to the elapsed time ([0030] which discloses the image data identified by the designated tab can be displayed on the display unit 45 by a simple operation of designating the tab by the input from the operation unit 52).
Ando, as currently modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the button comprises the elapsed time.
Nonetheless, Miyasa, further teaches wherein the button includes the identifier ([0040] which discloses a character string of identification information (a series ID) of each medical image may be displayed in the examination list, and the user may select the medical image by designating the character string).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ando, as currently modified, to include a button including the identifier as taught by Miyasa in order to allow a user to easily select or reselect the desired image group accordingly. Such a modification would provide an objective character string associated with the image group allowing a user to select the desired image group.
Examiner notes that although Miyasa is directed to identification information such as a series ID, it is noted that the timer time of Ando is considered an identifier assigned to the image group, thus in the modified system, it would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ando, as currently modified, to include the button including the elapsed time of Ando in order for a user to readily reselect image data according to its elapsed time.
Regarding claim 9,
Ando, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 4 as previously stated. Ando further teaches wherein the user interface comprises an operation panel ([0032] which discloses operation unit 52 includes an input device such as a timer switch, a button, a keyboard, a trackball, a mouse, or a touch panel),
A button for reselecting a selected image group is displayed on the display ([0030] which discloses the image data identified by the designated tab can be displayed on the display unit 45 by a simple operation of designating the tab by the input from the operation unit 52), and
When the user operates the operation panel and inputs a command to select, the operation panel accepts the user input to reselect the image group corresponding to the image number ([0030] which discloses the image data identified by the designated tab can be displayed on the display unit 45 by a simple operation of designating the tab by the input from the operation unit 52).
Ando, as currently modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the button comprises the elapsed time.
Nonetheless, Miyasa, further teaches wherein the button includes the image number ([0040] which discloses a character string of identification information (a series ID) of each medical image may be displayed in the examination list, and the user may select the medical image by designating the character string).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ando, as currently modified, to include a button including identification information as taught by Miyasa in order to allow a user to easily select or reselect the desired image group accordingly. Such a modification would provide an objective character string associated with the image group allowing a user to select the desired image group.
Examiner notes that although Miyasa is directed to identification information such as a series ID, it is noted that the timer time of Ando is considered an identifier assigned to the image group, thus in the modified system, it would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ando, as currently modified, to include the button including the elapsed time of Ando in order for a user to readily reselect image data according to its elapsed time.
Regarding claim 10,
Ando further teaches herein the user interface accepts input from the user to newly select an image group ([0030] which discloses the image data identified by the designated tab can be displayed on the display unit 45 by a simple operation of designating the tab by the input from the operation unit 52).
Regarding claim 11,
Ando teaches the elements of claim 1 as previously stated. Ando fails to explicitly teach wherein the display displays a thumbnail corresponding to each of the plurality of groups.
Nonetheless, Miyasa, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound image processing teaches a display displays a thumbnail corresponding to each of a plurality of image groups ([0038] which discloses the display control unit generates thumbnail images from the image data of the plurality of medical images).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ando, or Ando, as currently modified, to include displaying a thumbnail as taught by Miyasa in order to allow a user to readily recognize the ultrasound image(s) associated with each group for enhancing the ease of selection amongst the plurality of groups accordingly.
Regarding claim 12,
Ando, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 2 as previously stated.
Ando further teaches wherein analysis information for analyzing the first image group is mapped to the first image group and stored in the storage device ([0054]-[0055] which discloses the generated TIC data, the examination information including the timer time, etc. are output to the tab generation unit. The tab creating unit creates a tab for identifying the TIC data output form the image processing unit and adds the created tab to the TIC data. Then the image information including the TIC data and the supplementary information included int the tab etc. is output to the display data generating unit and [0060] which discloses When an instruction to store the TIC-data 86 displayed on the screen 80c shown in FIG. 6 is inputted from the operation unit 52, the data-storage unit 42 stores the image information composed of the TIC-data 86 and the accompanying information including the tab 845), and when the user interface accepts input from the user to reselect the first image group , the processor reads and restores the analysis information mapped to the first image group from the storage device ([0042]When an input for designating one tab output from the retrieval unit 43 among the plurality of tabs displayed in the tab display area 81 of the display unit 45 is performed from the operation unit 52, the retrieval unit 43 retrieves image data identified by the designated tab from the data storage unit 42, and outputs the retrieved image data to the display data generation unit 44. See also see at least fig. 7 and corresponding disclosure in at least [0063]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 13,
Ando further teaches wherein the analysis information includes at least one of the position, size, shape of a region of interest (see at least fig. 7 and disclosure in at least [0063]-[0065] depicting the region of interest 891 including the position, size, and shape thereof).
Regarding claim 15,
Ando teaches the elements of claim 12 as previously stated. Ando, as modified by Wiemker, further teaches wherein the processor updates the corrected analysis information when correction work has been performed by the user operating the user interface, and the correction work includes at least one of assigning a new region of interest, changing the position, size, shape, or color of the region of interest (Wiemker [0060] which discloses the user may be enabled to change the ROI or intensity-value range after or before the computations and display of the results. Whenever the user changes the ROI or intensity-value range, the displayed results may be interactively updated. The user may be enabled to interactively change the partitioning into core- and rim-region of the tumor by adjusting one degree of freedom (e.g. mouse wheel, mouse move in the spatial core-to-rim-curve), and the user may be provided with immediate visual feedback in the color-overlay of the tumor. Moreover, the displayed time curves for core- and rim-region may be interactively updated whenever the user changes the core and rim partitioning)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ando to include updating the analysis information when correction work has been performed by the user operating the user interface as taught by Wiemker in order to allow of interactive updating of the ROI, thereby providing enhanced TIC data in instances where a user initially misplaces the ROI or the ROI needs updating due to incorrect tracking. Such a modification would provide improved accuracy of the ROI as needed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Foreign Fujiwara (JP2006014779A) teaches user input to select image groups, user input to select a region of interest ([0055]) and generating a combined time-intensity curve from the plurality of selected imaging groups ([0059]).
/BROOKE LYN KLEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797