DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4, 10, 16 and 18 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/18/2026.
Claim 4 is also being withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions and species. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 05/07/2024.
Claim 4 states “the vertical connection structure and the further vertical connection structure comprise a different width”. Note that claim 4 pertains to an embodiment requiring different widths, which is not shown in Fig 5, but rather is shown in non-elected Fig 1 (p. 26 [0087] “the vertical connection structures 150 respectively comprise a larger (or smaller) width than the vertical through connection 155”), which would not be applicable to the elected species shown in Figure 5. Therefore claim 4 is also withdrawn as it relates to an unelected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 11 – 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shipley (US 4,902,610).
Regarding Claim 1, Shipley (US 4,902,610) discloses a component carrier (Fig 13-17), comprising: a stack (41,43,46) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (layer below callout 53; see differing hashmarks showing structure under callout 53 is conductive as it matches hashmarks at 42) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (41,43,46); wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure comprises a vertical connection structure (42,44) continuously (structure shown is similar to Applicant’s; Column 11, line 13-Column 12, line 19; copper is electroplated at each layer to form a continuous plated structure of copper) extending vertically through at least two of the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (41,43).
Regarding Claim 2, Shipley further discloses the component carrier (Fig 13-17) according to claim 1, wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure comprises at least one further vertical connection structure (47,48 above 42,44) continuously extending (see Fig 13-17) vertically through at least two of said plurality of electrically conductive layer structures (conductor layer atop Fig 15 and conductive layer atop Fig 17).
Regarding Claim 3, Shipley further discloses the component carrier (Fig 13-17) according to claim 2, wherein the vertical connection structure (42,44) and the further vertical connection structure (47,48) are electrically connected (Column 11, lines 15-65) with each other.
Regarding Claim 11, Shipley further discloses the component carrier (Fig 13-17) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (42,44) is formed in a coreless stack (see Fig 13-17 showing a stack without a core).
Regarding Claim 12, Shipley further discloses the component carrier (Fig 13-17) according to claim 1, wherein a free end (lower end of 42 as seen in Fig 17) of the vertical connection structure (42,44) is exposed with respect to one of the stack surfaces (lowermost surface of stack in Fig 17).
Regarding Claim 13, Shipley further discloses the component carrier (Fig 13-17) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (42,44) is connected to a horizontal trace (at 48; see Fig 15 showing 48 extending side-to-side interfacing with 44) of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure.
Regarding Claim 15, Shipley further discloses the component carrier (Fig 13-17) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (42,44) is composed of at least two stacked sub-portions (42 and 44) with an interface (interface of 42 onto 44) in between.
Claim(s) 1, 11 – 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stahr (US 2017/0094795 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Stahr (US 2017/0094795 A1) discloses a component carrier (Fig 4), comprising: a stack (100) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (104,106) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (404,404); wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure comprises a vertical connection structure (106) continuously (structure shown in Fig 4 is shown continuous; [0032,0064] “conductor path 104 and the contact structure 106 may be formed homogeneously from copper material also in the region of the connection point 108”) extending vertically through at least two of the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (404,404).
Regarding Claim 11, Stahr further discloses the component carrier (Fig 4) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (106) is formed in a coreless stack (see Fig 4 showing a stack without a core).
Regarding Claim 12, Stahr further discloses the component carrier (Fig 4) according to claim 1, wherein a free end (lower end of 106 as seen in Fig 4) of the vertical connection structure (106) is exposed with respect to one of the stack surfaces (412).
Regarding Claim 13, Stahr further discloses the component carrier (Fig 4) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (106) is connected to a horizontal trace (104,402) of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure.
Regarding Claim 14, Stahr further discloses the component carrier (Fig 4) according to claim 13, wherein said trace (402) is arranged at a vertical level in between vertical levels of opposing vertical ends of said vertical connection structure (106) and/or said further vertical connection structure.
Regarding Claim 17, Stahr further discloses the component carrier (Fig 4) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (106) is made of a homogeneous material ([0064]).
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 7, 9, 11, 13, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobuke (US 2019/0089044 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kobuke (US 2019/0089044 A1) discloses a component carrier (Fig 1B), comprising: a stack (10a,2,3) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (5,4,6) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (2a-2e); wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure comprises a vertical connection structure (6,4b) continuously ([0026-0029,0117,0118,0137] “an integrally-sintered sintered metal, realizing an intermetallic bond”) extending vertically through at least two of the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (3b,2e).
Regarding Claim 2, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 1, wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure comprises at least one further vertical connection structure (6 in 2c,2d) continuously ([0026-0029,0117,0118,0137]) extending (see Fig 1B) vertically through at least two of said plurality of electrically conductive layer structures (conductor layer between 2e,2d, conductive layer between 2c,2d).
Regarding Claim 3, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 2, wherein the vertical connection structure (6,4b) and the further vertical connection structure (6 in 2c,2d) are electrically connected ([0026-0029,0117,0118,0137]) with each other.
Regarding Claim 5, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 2, wherein the vertical connection structure (6,4b) and the further vertical connection structure (6 in 2c,2d) are offset (see Fig 1B showing centrally located 4b,6 and interfacing 6 in 2d are offset) one to each other along the stack thickness direction.
Regarding Claim 6, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 5, wherein the vertical connection structure (6,4b), the further vertical connection structure (6 in2c,2d) and at least one further element (centrally located 5 connecting two 4b) of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure form a bifurcated electrically conductive network structure (centrally located 5 connecting two 4b,4b,6).
Regarding Claim 7, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 6, wherein the bifurcated electrically conductive network structure (centrally located 5 connecting two 4b,4b,6) comprises at least two extremities (4b,4b) on one side and one extremity (6 in 2d) at another, opposed, side.
Regarding Claim 9, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 5, wherein at least two of the vertical connection structure (4b,6), the further vertical connection structure (6), and the at least one further element (5) are connected by one or more rectangular forms (see Fig 1B showing rectangular shapes for 4,5,6).
Regarding Claim 11, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (4b,6) is formed in a coreless stack (see Fig 1B showing a stack without a core).
Regarding Claim 13, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (4b,6) is connected to a horizontal trace (5; [0033,0034,0062,0117] signal is transmitted) of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure.
Regarding Claim 14, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 13, wherein said trace (5) is arranged at a vertical level (at interface of 2e,2d) in between vertical levels of opposing vertical ends of said vertical connection structure (4b,6) and/or said further vertical connection structure (6 in 2d).
Regarding Claim 17, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure is made of a homogeneous material ([0026-0029,0117,0118,0137] “an integrally-sintered sintered metal, realizing an intermetallic bond”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobuke (US 2019/0089044 A1) as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding Claim 8, Kobuke discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Kobuke does not explicitly disclose the component carrier according to claim 7, wherein the bifurcated electrically conductive network structure comprises at least three extremities on one side and one extremity at another, opposed, side.
However Kobuke further teaches (in anther portion of Fig 1B, 4a,5,6) wherein a bifurcated electrically conductive network structure (lower 4a,4a interfacing with 7c1,4a interfacing with 7c2,lowermost 5 and 6 in 2a) comprises at least three extremities (4a) on one side and one extremity (6) at another, opposed, side.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carrier as disclosed by Kobuke, wherein the bifurcated electrically conductive network structure comprises at least three extremities on one side and one extremity at another, opposed, side as taught by Kobuke, as both limitations are presented by the same publication and further in order to provide an interconnection to components, suppress signal loss, suppress reduction characteristics, and provide better signal transmission (Kobuke, [0028-0033,0121-0122,0135]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yamamoto (US 2012/0103677 A1) teaches (in Fig 2B) of a wiring line (32) passing between two vertical conductors (31). This could be used in a 103 Rejection.
Tani (US 2013/0026636 A1) teaches (in Fig 1) of a carrier, comprising: a stack comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (12-15) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures ([0023]); wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure comprises a vertical connection structure (15) continuously extending vertically through at least two of the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures ([0023]). This could be used in a 103 Rejection.
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896