DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on how any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on pages 13 - 14 of the REMARKS, “Kobuke, however, distinguishes among internal conductor layers 5, intermediate via conductors 6, and outer-side via conductors 4a and 4b. Kobuke describes the intermediate via conductor 6 as connecting internal conductor layers 5 to each other, while the outer-side via conductors 4a and 4b penetrate surface insulating layers 3a and 3b and connect external components, such as capacitor 7c1, IC element 7c2, and antenna element 7d, to the substrate. Kobuke further explains that, in the Figure 1B embodiment, the shapes and dispositions of the internal conductor layer 5 and intermediate via conductor 6 differ from the earlier embodiment”. The Office respectfully disagrees. The different elements being called out are still part of the same structure. This is similar to how the Applicant references elements 150 and elements 151, though both are part of the same structure. Therefore Kobuke meets the claimed structure.
Applicant argues on pages 14 - 15 of the REMARKS, “The Office Action further states, in connection with former claim 5, that the mapped Kobuke structures are offset "along the stack thickness direction." Office Action, Detailed Action 12. Amended claim 1, however, requires the vertical connection structure and the further vertical connection structure to be offset "in a direction perpendicular to a stack thickness direction." The cited Kobuke mapping therefore does not disclose the amended spatial relationship required by claim 1. Thus, the rejection does not identify a single coherent structure in Kobuke that satisfies all of the amended claim 1 limitations simultaneously. At most, the rejection selects different conductive portions of Kobuke's multilayer interconnection substrate-outer-side via conductor 4b, intermediate via conductor 6, and internal conductor layer 5-and treats them collectively as the claimed vertical connection structure, further vertical connection structure, and associated dependent-claim network features.” The Office respectfully disagrees. As seen by Kobuke Fig 1B, Kobuke shows vertical conductive structures at callouts 4b,6 as well as horizontally extending portions at callout 5, which are integrally formed ([0026-0029,0117,0118,0137] “an integrally-sintered sintered metal, realizing an intermetallic bond”) as part of the laminate. The structures at 4b,6 are offset to one another in the left-right direction, as seen in the annotated figure 1B below. Internal conductor 5, vertical via conductor 6 and vertical via conductors 4a,4b are formed form the same material ([0068]). As seen by the specification of Kobuke, [0026-0029,0117,0118,0137], the material is sintered together to form a continuous and integral conductive structure within the laminate. Kobuke shows two vertically extending conductive structures at 4b and 6 in layers 2e and 3b, offset from a horizontally extending conductive structure at 5 in layer 2e, which then interfaces with another vertically extending conductive structure at 6 in layer2d. Therefore Kobuke meets the claimed structure.
Annotated Figure 1B from Kobuke (US 2019/0089044 A1)
Applicant argues on pages 14 - 15 of the REMARKS, “But claim 1 requires the two vertical connection structures themselves to each continuously extend vertically through at least two electrically insulating layer structures, to be arranged on top of each other, and to be offset relative to each other in a direction perpendicular to the stack thickness direction. Kobuke's cited disclosure does not disclose that particular relationship between two such vertical connection structures. Nor do the dependent-claim mappings cure this deficiency. The Office Action's reliance on internal conductor layer 5 as an alleged trace or further element for claims 6, 7, 9, 13, and 14 does not establish that Kobuke first discloses the amended claim 1 pair of vertical connection structures arranged and offset as claimed.” The Office respectfully disagrees. As seen by the annotated figure above, Kobuke teaches of two vertical connection structures, one at 4b,6 extending through 2e,3b and one at 6 in layer 2d. They are arranged on top, above, each other, as one is on layer 2d and the other in an above layer 2e,3b. As seen by [0026-0029,0117,0118,0137], the conductive structures are formed of the same material and integral, and are drawn continuous as also seen in Fig 1B. As seen by the annotated markings above, the two structures are offset to each other in the left-right direction, which is the direction perpendicular to the stacking direction. Therefore Kobuke meets the claimed structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobuke (US 2019/0089044 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kobuke (US 2019/0089044 A1) discloses a component carrier (Fig 1B), comprising: a stack (10a,2,3) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (5,4,6; structure shown extends vertically through the laminate and is conductive; [0068,0072,0118]) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (2a-2e); wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure comprises a vertical connection structure (structure at 6,4b in 2e,3b) and a further vertical connection structure (structure at 6 in 2d) arranged on top of each other (one structure is on 2d and the other structure is in 2e,3b which is above 2d), each continuously ([0026-0029,0068,0117,0118,0137] “an integrally-sintered sintered metal, realizing an intermetallic bond”) extending vertically through at least two (2d,2e,3b) of the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (3b,2d,2e), and wherein the vertical connection structure (structure at 6,4b in 2e,3b) and the further vertical connection structure (structure at 6 in 2d) are offset (see Fig 1B showing structures are not aligned vertically with one another) one to each other in a direction (the two structures are offset to each other in the left-right direction, which is the direction perpendicular to the stacking direction) perpendicular to a stack thickness direction.
Annotated Figure 1B from Kobuke (US 2019/0089044 A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (6,4b) and the further vertical connection structure (6 in 2d) are electrically connected ([0026-0029,0068,0117,0118,0137]) with each other.
Regarding Claim 6, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 5, wherein the vertical connection structure (6,4b), the further vertical connection structure (6 in 2d) and at least one further element (centrally located 5 between 2d,2e and connecting 4b, 4b) of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure form a bifurcated (see Fig 1B showing a structure that splits or separates into two electrical paths) electrically conductive network structure (centrally located 5 connecting two 4b,4b,6,6 to 6 in 2d).
Regarding Claim 7, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 6, wherein the bifurcated electrically conductive network structure (centrally located 5 connecting two 4b,4b,6) comprises at least two extremities (extreme ends at 4b,4b) on one side and one extremity (extreme end at 6 in 2d) at another, opposed, side.
Regarding Claim 9, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 6, wherein at least two of the vertical connection structure (4b,6), the further vertical connection structure (6 in 2d), and the at least one further element (5) are connected by one or more rectangular forms (see Fig 1B showing rectangular shapes for 4,5,6 in the cross-sectional view).
Regarding Claim 11, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (4b,6) is formed in a coreless stack (see Fig 1B showing a stack without a core).
Regarding Claim 13, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (4b,6) is connected to a horizontal trace (5; [0033,0034,0062,0117] signal is transmitted) of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure.
Regarding Claim 14, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 13, wherein said trace (5) is arranged at a vertical level (at interface of 2e,2d) in between vertical levels of opposing vertical ends of said vertical connection structure (4b,6) and/or said further vertical connection structure (6 in 2d).
Regarding Claim 15, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (structure at 6,4b in 2e,3b) is composed of at least two stacked sub-portions (center-left structure at 6,4b in 2e,3b and center-right structure at 6,4b in 2e,3b) with an interface (interface of 5 onto 4b,4b) in between.
Regarding Claim 17, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 1, wherein the vertical connection structure (structure at 6,4b in 2e,3b) is made of a homogeneous material ([0026-0029,0068,0117,0118,0137] “an integrally-sintered sintered metal, realizing an intermetallic bond”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobuke (US 2019/0089044 A1) as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding Claim 8, Kobuke discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Kobuke does not explicitly disclose the component carrier according to claim 7, wherein the bifurcated electrically conductive network structure comprises at least three extremities on one side and one extremity at another, opposed, side.
However Kobuke further teaches (in anther portion of Fig 1B, 4a,5,6) wherein a bifurcated electrically conductive network structure (lower 4a,4a interfacing with 7c1,4a interfacing with 7c2,lowermost 5 and 6 in 2a) comprises at least three extremities (4a) on one side and one extremity (6) at another, opposed, side.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carrier as disclosed by Kobuke, wherein the bifurcated electrically conductive network structure comprises at least three extremities on one side and one extremity at another, opposed, side as taught by Kobuke, as both limitations are presented by the same publication and further in order to provide an interconnection to components, suppress signal loss, suppress reduction characteristics, and provide better signal transmission (Kobuke, [0028-0033,0121-0122,0135]).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobuke (US 2019/0089044 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Sumi (US 2017/0135205 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Kobuke further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1B) according to claim 1, wherein a free end (upper end of 4b as seen in Fig 1B) of the vertical connection structure (structure at 6,4b in 2e,3b) is exposed ([0013,0159] “a surface of the surface insulating layers 3a, 3b may be ground to expose a portion of the outer-side via conductors 4a, 4b to the surface of the surface insulating layers 3a, 3b”; upper surface of 4b is exposed to 7d; upper surface of 4b is exposed to 7d; Applicant has not clarified to what the surface is exposed) with respect to one of the surfaces (uppermost surface of stack in Fig 1B) of the stack.
Kobuke does not explicitly disclose the vertical connection structure is exposed to air.
Sumi (US 2017/0135205 A1) teaches of a further discloses the component carrier (Fig 1-6), wherein a free end (upper end of 2 as seen in Fig 6) of a vertical connection structure (structure at 2) is exposed ([0041,0042,0065,0134,0135] “exposed”) with respect to one surface (uppermost surface of stack in Fig 6) of the stack.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carrier as disclosed by Kobuke, wherein the vertical connection structure is exposed to air as taught by Sumi, in order to provide a connection to another electronic component (Sumi, [0003-0015,0041-0047,0065,0081,0134,0135]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Matsubara (US 2008/0164053 A1) discloses a component carrier (Fig 1, 3C; [0042]), comprising: a stack (see Fig 1A showing a stack) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (15A,15B,12C,13,16A,16B) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (11A; [0034]); wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure (15A,15B,12C,13,16A,16B) comprises a vertical connection structure (12C) and a further vertical connection structure (16A,16B) arranged on top of each other, each continuously ([0015,0038,0043,0044,0048-0052]) extending vertically through at least two of the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (11A), and wherein the vertical connection structure (12C) and the further vertical connection structure (16A,16B) are offset one to each other (see Fig 3C) in a direction (left-right direction in Fig 1A) perpendicular to a stack thickness direction (up-down direction in Fig 1A). This reference could be used in a future rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847