FINAL REJECTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended the claims 1, 8, 9 and 16 and argues that amendments overcomes the rejection (See remarks page 7). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20220399193 A1 by Cui et al (Cui).
Referring to claim 1, Cui Fig 1A- 8 teaches: A plasma processing method (Fig 8A-C paragraph [0113] –[0124]) implementable with a plasma processing apparatus including circuitry, the method comprising:
applying a voltage to a lower electrode (Fig 1A item 104 and paragraph [0032]) in a substrate support (item 105) with a gas (item 119) being supplied into a chamber (item 100) in the plasma processing apparatus (See paragraph [0035]), the substrate support being located in the chamber (item 100 and paragraph [0032]); and
generating plasma by providing a radio-frequency wave (item 118 RF Source) after application of the voltage to the lower electrode is started (paragraph [0032]), wherein the generating the plasma includes igniting plasma by providing the radio-frequency wave with a noble gas being supplied into the chamber (See paragraph [0124]), and
generating plasma from a mixture gas of the noble gas and a cleaning gas by providing the radio-frequency wave with the plasma generated from the noble gas being maintained (See paragraphs [0011] discusses gasses and plasma ignition, paragraph [0035], [0043], [0045] and [0057] discusses rest of the gases of this limitation).
wherein the applying the voltage to the lower electrode and the generating the plasma are performed without an object on a substrate support surface of the substrate support (See Fig 1A paragraph [0032] and also creating plasma without an object is known skill in the art) ; and
applying the voltage to the lower electrode is stopped after the igniting of the plasma and before the generating of the plasma from the mixture gas of the noble gas and the cleaning gas (See paragraphs [0035] and [0057] suggests using different gases including cleaning gases in other embodiments).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to incorporate all the embodiments in to the same equipment for addressing a particular plasma processing (see paragraph [0031]).
Referring to claim 4, Cui teaches the plasma processing method according to claim 1, Cui further teaches wherein the generating the plasma further includes stopping a supply of the noble gas after the generating of the plasma from the mixture gas of the noble gas and the cleaning gas, and generating plasma from the cleaning gas (See paragraphs [0122] and [0125]-[0126]).
Referring to claim 5, Cui teaches the plasma processing method according to claim 1, wherein the lower electrode (Fig 1 item 104) is a bias electrode, and applying the voltage to the lower electrode includes providing radio-frequency bias power to the lower electrode or cyclically applying a pulse of the voltage to the lower electrode. (See Paragraphs [028], [0039] and [0127] where Cui teaches using RF bias voltage in a CCP system.). Hence, it is within the scope of an person with ordinary skill.
Referring to claim 6, Cui teaches the plasma processing method according to claim 1, wherein the substrate support further includes an electrostatic chuck, the electrostatic chuck includes a chuck electrode, and applying the voltage to the lower electrode includes applying a direct current voltage to the chuck electrode. (See Paragraphs [028], [0039] and [0127] where Cui teaches using RF bias voltage in a CCP system.). Hence, it is within the scope of an person with ordinary skill.
Referring to claim 9, Cui teaches: A plasma processing apparatus (Fig 1A-C item 10A paragraph [0032]), comprising:
a chamber (Fig 1A item 100)
a gas supply (item 119) configured to supply a gas into the chamber (paragraph [0035]);
a substrate support (item 105) in the chamber (item 100), the substrate support including a lower electrode (item 104 and paragraph [0039]);
a radio-frequency source (item 118) configured to generate a radio-frequency wave to generate plasma from the gas in the chamber (see paragraphs [0032]-[0039]); and
a power supply electrically coupled to the lower electrode, wherein the power supply applies a voltage to the lower electrode without an object on a substrate support surface of the substrate support and with the gas being supplied from the gas supply into the chamber (see paragraphs [0032]- [0039] [0124]) and
the radio-frequency source provides the radio-frequency wave to generate plasma after application of the voltage to the lower electrode is started without an object on the substrate support surface, (See paragraphs [0011] discusses gasses and plasma ignition, paragraph [0035], [0043], [0045] and [0057] discusses rest of the gases. See Fig 1A paragraph [0032] and also creating plasma without an object is known skill in the art).
the radio-frequency source ignites plasma by providing the radio-frequency wave with a noble gas being supplied into the chamber from the gas supply, (See paragraph [0039])
the radio-frequency source generates plasma from a mixture gas of the noble as and a cleaning gas supplied from the gas supply by providing the radio-frequency wave with the plasma generated from the noble gas being maintained (See paragraphs, and
the power supply stops applying the voltage to the lower electrode after the plasma generated from the noble gas is ignited and before plasma is generated from the mixture gas of the noble-gas and the cleaning gas. (See paragraphs [0035] and [0057] suggests using different gases including cleaning gases in other embodiments).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to incorporate all the embodiments in to the same equipment for addressing a particular plasma processing (see paragraph [0031]).
Referring to claim 12, Cui teaches the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the gas supply stops supplying the noble gas after the plasma is generated from the mixture gas, and the radio-frequency source generates plasma from the cleaning gas by providing the radio-frequency wave after a supply of the noble gas is stopped. (See paragraphs [0122] and [0125]-[0126]).
Referring to claim 13, Cui teaches the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the lower electrode is a bias electrode, and the power supply applies the voltage to the lower electrode by providing radio- frequency bias power to the lower electrode or cyclically applying a pulse of the voltage to the lower electrode. (See Paragraphs [028], [0039] and [0127] where Cui teaches using RF bias voltage in a CCP system.). Hence, it is within the scope of an person with ordinary skill.
Referring to claim 14, Cui teaches the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 9, where in the substrate support further includes an electrostatic chuck, the electrostatic chuck includes a chuck electrode, and the power supply applies the voltage to the lower electrode by applying a direct current voltage to the chuck electrode. (See Paragraphs [028], [0039] and [0127] where Cui teaches using RF bias voltage in a CCP system.). Hence, it is within the scope of an person with ordinary skill.
Claims 7, 8 , 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to claim 1, 9 above, and further in view of US20170229332 A1 by Miyama et al (Miyama).
Referring to claim 7, Cui teaches the plasma processing method according to claim 1, but silent on wherein the radio-frequency wave is a microwave or radio-frequency power in a high- frequency band.
However, Miyama teaches Fig 1 a microwave generator 43 at 2.45 GHz (See paragraphs [0036] and [0037]).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to incorporate the teachings of Miyama and replace the RF generator of Cui Fig 1A with a microwave generator (see paragraph [0036] [0337]) for sending microwaves for plasma processing.
Referring to claim 8, Cui teaches the plasma processing method according to claim 1, but silent on wherein the radio-frequency wave is a microwave introduced into the chamber through a radial line slot antenna, wherein the radial line slot antenna includes a dielectric plate, a slot plate, and a dielectric window and the slot late has slot pairs with each slot pair having two slots extending through the slot _plate in a_ thickness direction.
However, Miyama teaches a microwave generator and dielectric plate ( wherein the radio-frequency wave is a microwave introduced into the chamber through a radial line slot antenna, wherein the radial line slot antenna includes a dielectric plate, a slot plate, and a dielectric window and the slot late has slot pairs with each slot pair having two slots extending through the slot _plate in a_ thickness direction. (See Fig 1paragraphs [025] and [0035]-[0037] teaches these limitations).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to incorporate the teachings of Miyama and replace the RF generator of Cui Fig 1A with a microwave generator or introduce microwaves from the top plate by modifying the structure and treat the substrates according to user’s requirement (See paragraph [0036] of Miyama).
Referring to claim 15, Cui teaches the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 9, Cui is silent on wherein the radio-frequency source generates the radio-frequency wave being a microwave or radio-frequency power in a high-frequency band.
However, Miyama teaches Fig 1 a microwave generator 43 at 2.45 GHz (See paragraphs [0036] and [0037]).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to incorporate the teachings of Miyama and replace the RF generator of Cui Fig 1A with a microwave generator (see paragraph [0036] [0337]) for sending microwaves for plasma processing.
Referring to claim 16, Cui teaches the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 9, Cui is silent on wherein the radio-frequency source generates the radio-frequency wave being a microwave, the plasma processing apparatus further includes a radial line slot antenna to introduce the microwave into the chamber, and the radial line slot antenna includes a dielectric a slot plate _and a dielectric window, and the slot plate has slot pairs with each slot pair having two slots extending through the slot plate in a thickness direction.
However, Miyama teaches a microwave generator and dielectric plate ( wherein the radio-frequency wave is a microwave introduced into the chamber through a radial line slot antenna, wherein the radial line slot antenna includes a dielectric plate, a slot plate, and a dielectric window and the slot late has slot pairs with each slot pair having two slots extending through the slot _plate in a_ thickness direction. (See Fig 1paragraphs [025] and [0035]-[0037] teaches these limitations).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to incorporate the teachings of Miyama and replace the RF generator of Cui Fig 1A with a microwave generator or introduce microwaves from the top plate by modifying the structure and treat the substrates according to user’s requirement (See paragraph [0036] of Miyama).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claims 1, 4-9, 12-16 are rejected.
Claims 2, 3, 10, 11, 17-20 are cancelled by applicant.
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
\Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/Examiner, Art Unit 2844 02/18/2026