DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claim 1 is amended. Claims 1-20 are present for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed August 07, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of June 08, 2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed August 07, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Su/Huang discloses wherein in the 1-1 edge area and the 1-2 edge area at least partially intersect a first imaginary axis (Huang, 1-1 edge area 12/11 and 1-2 edge area 13/11 are located on opposite sides of the first display area 11 and at least partially intersect a first imaginary axis, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 are located on opposite sides of the first display area AA1 and at least partially intersect a first imaginary axis (i.e. z-axis), [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) and the 2-1 edge area and 2-2 edge area at least partially intersect a second imaginary axis perpendicular to the first imaginary axis (Huang, 2-2 edge area 13/2-2 is located on opposite sides of the second display area 14/15 from 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 and at least partially intersect a second imaginary axis perpendicular to the first imaginary axis, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 and 2-2 edge area 40/2-2 are located on opposite sides of the second display area AA2 and at least partially intersect a second imaginary axis (i.e. y-axis) perpendicular to the first imaginary axis (i.e. z-axis), [0070], Figs. 8 and 9). It is further noted by the Examiner that there are two imaginary axis which may be perpendicular to any individual imaginary axis, wherein either first and second imaginary axis may also extend into/out-of-the-page (i.e. X-direction is perpendicular to both the Y-direction and Z-direction, etc.).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner suggests the Applicant more clearly define (I) the geometry of the assembled multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (e.g. wherein in an assembled state, the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus comprises a right rectangular prism further including six planar faces) and/or (II) the geometry of the third imaginary axis with respect to the first and second imaginary axes (e.g. wherein a third imaginary axis is perpendicular to the first imaginary axis and the second imaginary axis, wherein the width of the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus is parallel to the third imaginary axis).
The Examiner is available at the number below for an interview to discuss ideas at the Applicant’s convenience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 2020/0103942 A1) in view of Huang (US 2020/0359513 A1).
Claim 1, Su discloses a multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (display panel is a multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, hereinafter, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) comprising:
a first display panel comprising a first display area (first display area AA1 is a first display panel comprising a first display area, hereinafter, first display area AA1, [0072], Figs. 8 and 9), and a 1-1 edge area (bending area 20 is shared between the first display area AA1 and second display area AA2, wherein the bending area 20 of the first display area AA1 is a 1-1 edge area of the first display area AA1, hereinafter, 1-1 edge area 20/1-1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) and a 1-2 edge area (stepped area 40 of first display area AA1 is a 1-2 edge area of the first display area AA1, hereinafter, 1-2 edge area 40/1-2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) located on opposite sides of the first display area AA1 (1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 are located on opposite sides of the first display area AA1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9); and
a second display panel comprising a second display area (second display area AA2 is a second display panel comprising a second display area, hereinafter, second display area AA2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) parallel to the first display area AA1 (second display area AA2 is parallel to the first display area AA1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9), and a 2-1 edge area (bending area 20 is shared between the first display area AA1 and second display area AA2, wherein the bending area 20 of the second display area AA2 is a 2-1 edge area of the second display area AA2, hereinafter, 2-1 edge area 20/2-1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) and a 2-2 edge area (stepped area 40 of second display area AA2 is a 2-2 edge area of the second display area AA2, hereinafter, 2-2 edge area 40/2-2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) located on opposite sides of the second display area AA2 (2-1 edge area 20/2-1 and 2-2 edge area 40/2-2 are located on opposite sides of the second display area AA2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9), the second display panel being assembled with the first display panel (second display panel being assembled with the first display panel, [0057], Figs. 8 and 9),
wherein the 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and the 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 are bent toward the second display area AA2 (1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and the 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 are bent toward the second display area AA2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Su does not explicitly disclose wherein the 2-1 edge area and the 2-2 edge area are bent toward the first display area.
However, Huang discloses the following limitations;
a first display panel comprising a first display area (Huang, main display area 11 is a first display panel comprising a first display area, hereinafter, first display area 11, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, first display area AA1, [0072], Figs. 8 and 9), and a 1-1 edge area (Huang, first display area 11 includes a portion of the first side display area 12 which is a 1-1 edge area, hereinafter, 1-1 edge area 12/11, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 1-1 edge area 20/1-1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) and a 1-2 edge area (Huang, first display area 11 includes a portion of the second side display area 13 which is a 1-2 edge area, hereinafter, 1-2 edge area 13/11, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 1-2 edge area 40/1-2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) located on opposite sides of the first display area (Huang, 1-1 edge area 12/11 and 1-2 edge area 13/11 are located on opposite sides of the first display area 11, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 are located on opposite sides of the first display area AA1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9); and
a second display panel comprising a second display area (Huang, first rear display area 14 and second rear display area 15 are a second display panel comprising a second display area, hereinafter, second display area 14/15, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, second display area AA2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) parallel to the first display area (Huang, second display area 14/15 is parallel to the first display area 11, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, second display area AA2 is parallel to the first display area AA1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9), and a 2-1 edge area (Huang, second display area 14/15 includes a portion of the first side display area 12 which is a 2-1 edge area, hereinafter, 2-1 edge area 14/2-1, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 2-1 edge area 20/2-1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) and a 2-2 edge area (Huang, second display area 14/15 includes a portion of the second side display area 13 which is a 2-2 edge area, hereinafter, 2-2 edge area 13/2-2, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 2-2 edge area 40/2-2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) located on opposite sides of the second display area (Huang, 2-2 edge area 13/2-2 is located on opposite sides of the second display area 14/15 from 2-1 edge area 14/2-1, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 and 2-2 edge area 40/2-2 are located on opposite sides of the second display area AA2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9), and
wherein the 2-1 edge area and the 2-2 edge area are bent toward the first display area (Huang, 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 and the 2-2 edge area 13/2-2 are bent toward the first display area 11, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 is bent toward the first display area AA1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9). The combination to utilize a flexible display device with a plurality of display surfaces allows for the manufacture of a frameless display device (Huang, [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a flexible display device with a plurality of display surfaces to allow for a frameless display device (Huang, [0005]).
Su/Huang discloses wherein in the 1-1 edge area and the 1-2 edge area at least partially intersect a first imaginary axis (Huang, 1-1 edge area 12/11 and 1-2 edge area 13/11 are located on opposite sides of the first display area 11 and at least partially intersect a first imaginary axis, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 are located on opposite sides of the first display area AA1 and at least partially intersect a first imaginary axis (i.e. z-axis), [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) and the 2-1 edge area and 2-2 edge area at least partially intersect a second imaginary axis perpendicular to the first imaginary axis (Huang, 2-2 edge area 13/2-2 is located on opposite sides of the second display area 14/15 from 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 and at least partially intersect a second imaginary axis perpendicular to the first imaginary axis, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 and 2-2 edge area 40/2-2 are located on opposite sides of the second display area AA2 and at least partially intersect a second imaginary axis (i.e. y-axis) perpendicular to the first imaginary axis (i.e. z-axis), [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Annotated Figs. 9 and 10 (Su) – Illustrates a first display area AA1 comprising a 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 located on opposite sides of the first display area AA1 and parallel to the first display area AA1, a second display area AA2 comprising the 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 and 2-2 edge area 40/2-2 located on opposite sides of the second display area AA2, the second display panel being assembled with the first display panel, and wherein the 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and the 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 are bent toward the second display area AA2.
Annotated Figs. 4 and 5 (Huang) – Illustrates a first display area 11 comprising a 1-1 edge area 12/11 and a 1-2 edge area 13/11 located on opposite sides of the first display area 11, a second display panel comprising a second display area 14/15 parallel to the first display area 11, wherein the 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 and 2-2 edge area 13/2-2 are located on opposite sides of the second display area 14/15, and the 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 and the 2-2 edge area 13/2-2 are bent toward the first display area 11.
Claim 2, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, flexible display device is a multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, hereinafter, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 1.
Su/Huang discloses wherein the 1-1 edge area and the 1-2 edge area are parallel to each other (Huang, 1-1 edge area 12/11 and 1-2 edge area 13/11 are parallel to each other, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 are parallel to each other, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9), and the 2-1 edge area and the 2-2 edge area are parallel to each other (Huang, 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 and 2-2 edge area 13/2-2 are parallel to each other, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 and 2-2 edge area 40/2-2 are parallel to each other, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 3, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 1.
Su/Huang discloses wherein the edge areas constitute a side display area of the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Huang, 1-1 edge area 12/11, 1-2 edge area 13/11, 2-1 edge area 14/2-1, and 2-2 edge area 13/2-2 are edge areas and constitute a side display area of the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 1-1 edge area 20/1-1, 1-2 edge area 40/1-2, 2-1 edge area 20/2-1, and 2-2 edge area 40/2-2 are edge areas and constitute a side display area of the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9), and the first display area and the second display area constitute a front display area and a rear display area of the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Huang, first display area 11 and the second display area 14/15 constitute a front display area 11 and a rear display area 14/15 of the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, first display area AA1 and second display area AA2 constitute a front display area AA1 and a rear display area AA2 of the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 4, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 1.
Su/Huang discloses wherein a distance between the 1-1 edge area and the 1-2 edge area in a bent state is equal to a short width of the second display area (Huang, a distance between the 1-1 edge area 12/11 and the 1-2 edge area 13/11 in a bent state is equal to a short width of the second display area 14/15, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, a distance between the 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and the 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 in a bent state is equal to a short width of the second display area AA2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 5, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 4.
Su/Huang discloses wherein the distance between the 1-1 edge area and the 1-2 edge area in the bent state is equal to a long width of the 2-1 edge area (Huang, the distance between the 1-1 edge area 12/11 and the 1-2 edge area 13/11 in a bent state is equal to a long width of the 2-1 edge area 14/2-1, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, the distance between the 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and the 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 in a bent state is equal to a long width of the 2-1 edge area 20/2-1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 6, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 4.
Su/Huang discloses wherein the distance between the 1-1 edge area and the 1-2 edge area in the bent state is equal to a long width of the 2-2 edge area (Huang, the distance between the 1-1 edge area 12/11 and the 1-2 edge area 13/11 in a bent state is equal to a long width of the 2-2 edge area 13/2-2, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, the distance between the 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and the 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 in a bent state is equal to a long width of the 2-2 edge area 40/2-2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 7, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 1.
Su/Huang discloses wherein a long width of the 1-1 edge area is equal to a long width of the first display area (Huang, a long width of the 1-1 edge area 12/11 is equal to a long width of the first display area 11, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, a long width of the 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 is equal to a long width of the first display area AA1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 8, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 7.
Su/Huang discloses wherein a long width of the 2-1 edge area is equal to a short width of the second display area (Huang, a long width of the 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 is equal to a short width of the second display area 14/15, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, a long width of the 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 is equal to a short width of the second display area AA2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 9, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 1.
Su/Huang discloses wherein the first display area, the 1-1 edge area, and the 1-2 edge area in a bent state cover side surfaces of the 2-1 edge area (Huang, first display area 11, the 1-1 edge area 12/11, and the 1-2 edge area 13/11 in a bent state cover side surfaces of the 2-1 edge area 14/2-1, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, first display area AA1, the 1-1 edge area 20/1-1, and the 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 in a bent state cover side surfaces of the 2-1 edge area 20/2-1, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 10, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 9.
Su/Huang discloses wherein the 1-1 edge area and the 1-2 edge area in the bent state cover both side surfaces of the second display area (Huang, the 1-1 edge area 12/11 and the 1-2 edge area 13/11 in the bent state covers both side surfaces of the second display area 14/15 (i.e. 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 and 2-2 edge area 13/2-2 are both side surfaces of the second display area 14/15), [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, the 1-1 edge area 20/1-1 and the 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 in a bent state cover both side surfaces of the second display area (i.e. 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 and 2-2 edge area 40/2-2 are both side surfaces of the second display area AA2), [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 11, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 10.
Su/Huang discloses wherein the first display area, the 1-1 edge area, and the 1-2 edge area in the bent state cover side surfaces of the 2-2 edge area (Huang, first display area 11, the 1-1 edge area 12/11, and the 1-2 edge area 13/11 in a bent state cover side surfaces of the 2-2 edge area 13/2-2, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, first display area AA1, the 1-1 edge area 20/1-1, and the 1-2 edge area 40/1-2 in a bent state cover side surfaces of the 2-2 edge area 40/2-2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 12, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 1.
Su/Huang discloses further comprising:
a first driving circuit unit for driving the first display panel (Huang, integrated circuit 23 is a first driving circuit unit for driving the first display area 11, hereinafter, first driving circuit unit 23-11, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, bonding area 41 includes a plurality of conductive pads 42 to transmit electric signals and is a first driving circuit unit for driving the first display area AA1, hereinafter, first driving circuit unit 42-AA1, [0072], Figs. 8 and 9); and
a second driving circuit unit for driving the second display panel (Huang, integrated circuit 23 is a second driving circuit unit for driving the second display area 14/15, , hereinafter, second driving circuit unit 23-14/15, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, bonding area 41 includes a plurality of conductive pads 42 to transmit electric signals and is second driving circuit unit for driving the second display area AA2, hereinafter, second driving circuit unit 42-AA2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 13, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 12.
Su/Huang discloses wherein at least one of the first driving circuit unit and the second driving circuit unit is located in an inner space of the first display panel and the second display panel in an assembled state (Huang, at least one of the first driving circuit unit 23-11 and the second driving circuit unit 23-14/15 is located in an inner space of the first display panel 11 and the second display panel 14/15 in an assembled state, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, at least one of the first driving circuit unit 42-AA1 and the second driving circuit unit 42-AA2 is located in an inner space of the first display panel AA1 and the second display panel AA2 in an assembled state, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Huang, further in view of Bok (US 2021/0367020 A1).
Claim 14, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 12.
Su/Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the 2-1 edge area comprises a first through-hole for connecting an inner space and an outer space of the first display panel and the second display in the assembled state.
However, Bok discloses wherein the 2-1 edge area comprises a first through-hole for connecting an inner space and an outer space of the first display panel and the second display in the assembled state (Bok, first component area CA1 is a first through-hole, hereinafter, first through-hole CA1, [0301], Fig. 15B; Huang, 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 comprises a first through-hole for connecting an inner space and an outer space of the first display area 11 and the second display area 14/15 in the assembled state, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 comprises a first through-hole for connecting an inner space and an outer space of the first display panel AA1 and the second display AA2 in the assembled state, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9). The combination to utilize a through hole in combination with a plurality of displays in the assembled state allows for conductive wiring between stacked and folded layers and increase functionality and display area of the resultant device (Bok, [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a through hole in combination with a plurality of displays in the assembled state to allow for conductive wiring between stacked and folded layers and increase functionality and display area of the resultant device (Bok, [0004]).
Claim 15, Su/Huang/Bok discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5; Bok, Fig. 15B) of claim 14.
Su/Huang/Bok discloses wherein the second driving unit is connected to an end of the 2-2 edge area (Huang, second driving circuit unit 23-14/15 is connected to an end of the 2-2 edge area 13/2-2, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, second driving circuit unit 42-AA2 is connected to an end of the 2-2 edge area 40/2-2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Bok, Fig. 15B).
Claim 16, Su/Huang discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5) of claim 12.
Su/Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the second display area comprises a second through-hole for connecting the inner space and the outer space of the first display panel and the second display panel in the assembled state.
However, Bok discloses wherein the second display area comprises a second through-hole (Bok, first component area CA1 is a first through-hole, hereinafter, first through-hole CA1, and second component area CA2 is a second through-hole, hereinafter, second through-hole CA2, [0301], Fig. 15B; Huang, 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 comprises a first through-hole for connecting an inner space and an outer space of the first display area 11 and the second display area 14/15 in the assembled state, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 comprises a first through-hole for connecting an inner space and an outer space of the first display panel AA1 and the second display AA2 in the assembled state, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9) for connecting the inner space and the outer space of the first display panel and the second display panel in the assembled state (Bok, second through-hole CA2 is for connecting the inner space and the outer space of the first display panel and the second display panel in the assembled state, [0301], Fig. 15B; Huang, first display area 11 and the second display area 14/15 in the assembled state, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, first display panel AA1 and the second display AA2 in the assembled state, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9). The combination to utilize a through hole in combination with a plurality of displays in the assembled state allows for conductive wiring between stacked and folded layers and increase functionality and display area of the resultant device (Bok, [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a through hole in combination with a plurality of displays in the assembled state to allow for conductive wiring between stacked and folded layers and increase functionality and display area of the resultant device (Bok, [0004]).
Claim 17, Su/Huang/Bok discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5; Bok, Fig. 15B) of claim 16.
Su/Huang/Bok discloses further comprising a camera device in the inner space adjacent to the second through-hole (Su, camera component 200 is a camera device, hereinafter, camera device 200 is in the inner space adjacent to the first notch 30, [0107], Figs. 8 and 9; Bok, second through-hole CA2 is for connecting the inner space and the outer space of the first display panel and the second display panel in the assembled state, [0301], Fig. 15B; Huang, first display area 11 and the second display area 14/15 in the assembled state, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5).
Claim 18, Su/Huang/Bok discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5; Bok, Fig. 15B) of claim 16.
Su/Huang/Bok discloses wherein the second driving unit is connected to one side surface of the second display area (Su, second driving unit 42-AA2 is connected to one side surface of the second display area AA2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Bok, second through-hole CA2 is for connecting the inner space and the outer space of the first display panel and the second display panel in the assembled state, [0301], Fig. 15B; Huang, second driving unit 23-14/15 is connected to one side surface of the second display area the second display area 14/15, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5).
Claim 19, Su/Huang/Bok discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5; Bok, Fig. 15B) of claim 18.
Su/Huang/Bok discloses wherein the second through-hole is located closer to the 2-1 edge area than the 2-2 edge area (Bok, second through-hole CA2 is located closer to the 2-1 edge area than the 2-2 edge area, [0301], Fig. 15B; Huang, second through-hole CA2 is located closer to the 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 than the 2-2 edge area 13/2-2, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, through-hole is located closer to the 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 than the 2-2 edge area 40/2-2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Claim 20, Su/Huang/Bok discloses the multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus (Su, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9; Huang, multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus, [0032], Figs. 4 and 5; Bok, Fig. 15B) of claim 19.
Su/Huang/Bok discloses wherein the second driving unit is located closer to the 2-2 edge area than the 2-1 edge area (Bok, second through-hole CA2 is located closer to the 2-1 edge area than the 2-2 edge area, [0301], Fig. 15B; Huang, second driving unit 23-14/15 is located closer to the 2-1 edge area 14/2-1 than the 2-2 edge area 13/2-2, [0040], Figs. 4 and 5; Su, second driving unit 42-AA2 is located closer to the 2-1 edge area 20/2-1 than the 2-2 edge area 40/2-2, [0070], Figs. 8 and 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu (US 2023/0147678 A1) discloses a flexible electronic device 10 which may be a multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus when formed into a desired 3D shape.
Yim (US 2024/0194096 A1) discloses display device 1 which is a multi-sided light-emitting display apparatus that may be formed into a desired 3D shape – however, it is noted that this Yim (US 2024/0194096 A1) is disqualified as prior art due to publication date and shared assignee.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812