DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: flow control device (e.g. a valve) in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mochrie (US 20240077020).
Regarding claim 1,
Referring to Fig. 3, Mochrie teaches a propulsion system (e.g. a gas turbine engine, see par. 2) comprising: a thermal management system 300 defining a thermal management system flowpath 340 and operable to provide a flow of a fluid 342 to an electric machine 330 (see par. 442) and a power electronics assembly 370 through the thermal management system flowpath (see pars. 441-442), the thermal management system flowpath defining a first flowpath loop (e.g. the flowpath loop defined by the flow through pump 344, heat exchanger 410, and electric machine 330 but not assembly 370) and a second flowpath loop (e.g. the flowpath loop defined by the flow through pump 344 and assembly 370 but not heat exchanger 410), the power electronics assembly electrically connected to the electric machine (see par. 442), the thermal management system comprising: a first heat exchanger 351 thermally connected to the thermal management system flowpath and to the electric machine (see Fig. 3) along the first flowpath loop; and a second heat exchanger (e.g. the heat exchanger of power electronics assembly 370 whereby heat from assembly 370 is transferred to fluid 342, not labeled, see pars. 441-442, 444) thermally connected to the thermal management system flowpath downstream of the first heat exchanger (see pars. 441-442), the second heat exchanger thermally connected to the power electronics assembly (see pars. 441-442, 444) along the second flowpath loop.
Regarding claim 2,
Mochrie teaches wherein the thermal management system flowpath comprises a flow splitter 348 downstream of the first heat exchanger, the flow splitter separating the flow of the fluid into a first portion of the flow of the fluid (e.g. the portion flowing to bypass valve 349) and a second portion of the flow of the fluid (e.g. the portion flowing to heat exchanger 410), the flow splitter diverting the first portion of the flow of the fluid to the second heat exchanger (e.g. via bypass valve 349), and wherein at least the second portion of the flow of the fluid flows to the electric machine (e.g. via heat exchanger 410).
Regarding claim 3,
Mochrie teaches wherein the first portion is equal to or less than the second portion (e.g. when all outlets of flow splitter 348 are completely open).
Regarding claim 4,
Mochrie teaches wherein the thermal management system flowpath comprises a flow joiner (see annotated Fig. 3) positioned downstream of the power electronics assembly, the flow joiner combining the first portion of the flow of the fluid with the second portion of the flow of the fluid.
Regarding claim 5,
Mochrie teaches wherein the thermal management system flowpath comprises a flow control device 349 regulating the flow of the fluid to the second heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 7,
Mochrie teaches wherein the first heat exchanger 351 comprises an air-cooled heat exchanger (see par. 418).
Regarding claim 9,
Mochrie tehacs wherein the fluid comprises at least one of oil, carbon dioxide, nitrogen, helium, or xenon (see par. 390).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochrie.
Regarding claim 8,
Mochrie does not teach wherein the second heat exchanger comprises a fuel-cooled heat exchanger. However, Mochrie teaches a fuel-cooled heat exchanger (see pars. 420, 449, wherein fuel is used to cool a fluid heat exchanger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Mochrie such that the second heat exchanger comprises a fuel-cooled heat exchanger with the motivation of effectively dissipating heat to a fuel flow prior to being combusted in a gas turbine engine 100 wherein it may be difficult to efficiently transfer heat to an air flow (see par. 449).
Regarding claim 10,
Mochrie teaches wherein the fluid comprises oil (see par. 390), and wherein the first heat exchanger comprises an air-cooled oil cooler (see par. 418), and wherein the second heat exchanger comprises a fuel-cooled oil cooler (see the rejection of claim 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Mochrie does not teach a first and second flowpath loop. However, referring to Fig. 3, Mochrie teaches a first and second flowpath loop (see the rejection of claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Smith, Hon, Snyder, Munevar and Lui teach thermal management systems for aircraft.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763