DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/25 have been fully considered.
Applicant has argued that the cited references do not disclose supplying an oxidative aqueous solution to a peripheral portion of a substrate to etch the peripheral portion first, and then supplying the oxidative aqueous solution to an entire rear surface of the substrate to etch the rear surface, as recited in amended Claim 1. The argument is persuasive to overcome the rejections of the previous Office Action. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US Publication 2019/0096730 to Morita et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2015/0357197 to Peethala in view of US Publication 2018/0269076 to Nanba et al. and US Publication 2019/0096730 to Morita et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Peethala et al. teaches a substrate processing method (Figure 4), comprising: holding a substrate on which a boron-containing silicon film is formed (Figure 1); supplying an oxidative aqueous solution including hydrofluoric acid and nitric acid (HNA) to the held substrate peripheral portion (Paragraph 28); and etching the boron-containing silicon film of the substrate with the oxidative aqueous solution.
Regarding Claim 1, Peethala et al. teaches applying the chemical solution through a spray nozzle or other solution outlet port wherein other solution spraying or applying mechanism may be used as well (Paragraph 21), but does not expressly teach wherein in the supplying of the oxidative aqueous solution, the oxidative aqueous solution is supplied by an upper nozzle toward a front surface of a peripheral portion of the substrate, and the oxidative aqueous solution is supplied by a lower nozzle toward a rear surface of a peripheral portion of the substrate. However, Nanba et al. teaches supplying an oxidative aqueous solution including hydrofluoric acid and nitric acid (HNA) to a held substrate wherein in the supplying of the oxidative aqueous solution, the oxidative aqueous solution is supplied by an upper nozzle toward a front surface of a peripheral portion of the substrate, and the oxidative aqueous solution is supplied by a lower nozzle toward a rear surface of a peripheral portion of the substrate (See Figure 6, and related discussion) in order to etch a peripheral area. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to provide the etching method of Peethla et al. with the nozzle arrangement of Nanba et al. in order to etch the peripheral area of a substrate with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 1, Peethla in view on Nanba et al. does not expressly teach supplying an oxidative aqueous solution to a peripheral portion of a substrate to etch the peripheral portion first, and then supplying the oxidative aqueous solution to an entire rear surface of the substrate to etch the rear surface. However, Morita et al. teaches supplying an oxidative aqueous solution to a peripheral portion of a substrate (Fig. 3) to etch the peripheral portion first (Paragraphs 50, 55-63), and then (See Fig 17, 20 and 21 for process flow) supplying the oxidative aqueous solution to an entire rear surface of the substrate (Fig. 4) to etch the rear surface (Paragraphs 68-77). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to provide the etching method of Peethla et al. in view of Nanba et al. with the sequential processing steps of Morita et al. in order to etch peripheral and rear surfaces of a substrate with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, Peethala et al. teaches (Paragraph 27) a mixing ratio between the hydrofluoric acid and the nitric acid in the oxidative aqueous solution is ina range from 1:1 to 1:10, with higher and lower amounts fully contemplated (Paragraph 28)
Regarding Claims 4 and 6, Peethala et al. teaches the oxidative aqueous solution further includes acetic acid.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0357197 to Peethala et al. in view of US Publication 2018/0269076 to Nanba et al., US Publication 2019/0096730 to Morita et al. and JP 11-195637 to Hasegawa et al.
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, as applied above to Claim 1, Peethala et al. in view of Nanba et al. and Morita et al. teaches the method of the invention substantially as claimed, but does not expressly teach a temperature of the oxidative aqueous solution is in a range from 20°C to 80°C. However, the usable temperature range for silicon etching using acid mixtures is well known in the Prior Art. For example, Hasegawa et al. teaches etching silicon with HNA at a temperature of 20-80°C (Paragraph 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to provide a temperature of the oxidative aqueous solution of Peethala et al. in view of Nanba et al. and Morita et al. in a range from 40°C to 80°C in order to provide effective etching rates with predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Publication 2019/0091736 to Okutani et al. teaches a processing liquid film forming step including a step of forming the processing liquid film that spreads to a peripheral edge of the pattern forming surface, and the film thinning step including a film removing thinning step of thinning the processing liquid film by removing a portion of the processing liquid, constituting the processing liquid film, from the pattern forming surface after the supply of the processing liquid is stopped
/ROBERTS P CULBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716