DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) December 31,2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Does non-compound mean the constituents do not form a compound having a different crystal structure than that of the individual constituents
Does it mean the metals are not alloys or are they trying to state the first metal and the second metal do not alloy or form intermetallics at the interface?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The written description does not define what “non-compound” is. Applicant does not have a “non-compound” option in the list of metal choices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US-11322410-B2; Cheng).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng discloses a method comprising: depositing a work-function layer comprising one of titanium and aluminum (Fig. 2F/2G,146; Column 13) forming a titanium nitride layer (Fig. 2I, 172; column 15) over the work-function layer; in a first deposition process, depositing a first metal layer (Fig. 2J, 180 , W, Al, Ta, Ti, Ni, Cu, Co; column 15) over the titanium nitride layer; in a second deposition process separated from the first deposition process, depositing a second metal layer (Fig. 2K, 184, TiN; column 16) over the first metal layer; and in a third deposition process, depositing a metal filling layer (Fig. 2k, 182 Al.W,Cu; column 16) ) over the first metal layer, wherein the metal filling layer comprises a same metal as the first metal layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, which paraphrases and summarizes the claimed invention without intending to be limiting, wherein the legally defined scope of the claimed invention is defined by the allowed claims themselves in view of the written description under 35 USC 112. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
Regarding claim 19, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " wherein the first metal layer and the second metal layer are deposited using precursors free from chlorine, and the metal filling layer is deposited using precursors comprising fluorine. ”, as recited in Claim 19, with the remaining features.
Regarding claim 20, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " before the second metal layer is deposited, removing the first metal layer.”, as recited in Claim 20, with the remaining features.
Claims 11-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, which paraphrases and summarizes the claimed invention without intending to be limiting, wherein the legally defined scope of the claimed invention is defined by the allowed claims themselves in view of the written description under 35 USC 112. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
The most relevant prior art (US 20170117190 A1, 94963671 B1, US 20190273145 A1, US 2017/0194209 A1) discloses a method a first (or second) work function layer is removed leaving a second (or first) WF layer, forming tungsten layer over a first and second work function layer, and etching back both tungsten layers (or Fluorine blocking layers) where both remain. The art is silent on the limitations cited below in combination with the rest of claimed imitations of the independent claims.
Regarding claim 11, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " forming a second fluorine-blocking layer over the second capping layer, wherein the first fluorine-blocking layer is thicker than the second fluorine-blocking layer; and forming a second metal filling layer over the second fluorine-blocking layer,”, as recited in Claim --11, with the remaining features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE C TYNES JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2899