DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berios, (US 20080145483 A1), hereinafter D1 in view of US 20100151099 A1 to Kasemzadeh, hereinafter D2.
Regarding claims 1 and 15 D1 teaches a method for making a crunchy food (para 71), said method comprising the steps of: (i) homogenization of dry feed powders, including textured pulse protein powder; (ii) mixing and hydration of dry feed powders with water and fat to form a dough; (iii) forming of said dough into a form factor; (iv) drying and expansion; and (v) cooling into a crunchy aerated matrix (Para 52-54, 56, 57-58, 63-64 and 67-68 where D1 method steps and mixing etc., to form a dough or extrusion ready mix (claims 1-2 and 4). D1 also teaches legume flour, sugar, and fats and oils as recited in claims (see para 55 where fat, sugar and legume flour, protein etc., and para 22 where peanut as the source of legume mass is taught). D1 also teaches fiber (para 51 and 55). The method of claim 1 and 15 further comprising the step of: (vi) application of topical seasonings Para 58 where spices and examples where salt is taught).
D1 teaches a method of claim 1 wherein the dry feed powders also include chemical leavening agents (para 107-109).
Regarding the milled product as recited in claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, which are directed to a milled product and specifically hammer milled product, applicant is referred to para 79 where milling and specifically hammer milling is taught.
Further regarding the particle sizes and sieve sizes as recited in claims 11 and 12, para 79 of D1 further teaches obtaining different particle sizes. D1 further teaches means of reducing particle size to a desired value at least based on the type of flour or product desired. Further, hammer milled as taught by D1 is further processed using an extruder to achieve particle sizes in the claimed range (see para 79-80 and table f 1 for detailed sizes)
Regarding the specific step of creating a dough, D2 teaches dough creation prior to extrusion (D2 abstract). Both the limitations, .e., creating dough before extrusion and creating the crisp product was known at the time of the effective filing date of the invention (as taught by D2 abstract and specifically para 72). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify D1 and create a crisp snack product from the mix of claims 1, 4, or 7 as taught by D1 to form the dough preform before making the crisp snack at least on the available equipment and the intended finished product.
Conclusion
/JYOTI CHAWLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791