Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on the applications filed in the Republic of Korea on March 24, 2023 and May 18, 2023, and receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. It should be noted that in order to effectively benefit from the foreign priority date, an English translation of the certified copies (of the foreign applications as filed) filed together with statements that the translations of the certified copies are accurate must be presented.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 18, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested:
--Display Apparatus Including Three Different Colored Sub-Pixels Arranged Obliquely--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Long et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0359640), hereinafter Long.
Regarding Claim 1, Long teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) comprising:
-a power line ((Vdd) and vias (Vn), e.g. second from right of Fig. 3A as well as (rst1); Fig. 3A, Paragraphs [0087] and [0095]) extending in a first direction (e.g. the lateral of Fig. 3A, hereinafter ‘X-Direction’), and in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (e.g. the vertical of Fig. 3A, hereinafter ‘Y-Direction’); and
-a first sub-pixel having a first pixel electrode ((AD4) of (SP4); Figs. 3A, Paragraph [0105]), a second sub-pixel having a second pixel electrode ((AD3) of (SP3); Figs. 3A, Paragraph [0105]), and a third sub-pixel having a third pixel electrode ((AD2) of (SP2); Figs. 3A, Paragraph [0105]), which display different colors from each other (Paragraphs [0091] and [0105] – in this case the Examiner is taking the embodiment wherein all are different colors), and which are arranged in a third direction crossing both the first direction and the second direction (e.g. a diagonal direction between the vertical and the lateral of Fig. 3A, hereinafter ‘Diagonal’), in a plan view.
Examiner notes that the limitation “arranged” may be broadly interpreted such that the arrangement is as seen in Long. Examiner also brings Applicant’s attention to Fig. 5B.
Regarding Claim 2, Long teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-second pixel electrode (AD3) overlaps a portion of a first capacitor electrode of the first sub-pixel ((Ce1) of (SP4); Figs. 3A and 3D, Paragraph [0089]).
Regarding Claim 3, Long teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 2, wherein:
-the first capacitor electrode (Ce1) is electrically connected to a driving gate electrode of the first sub-pixel (‘gate electrode’ of (Td) of (SP4); Fig. 2A, Paragraphs [0089] and [0090]).
Regarding Claim 5, Long teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-the second pixel electrode (AD3) overlaps a portion of an active layer of the first sub-pixel ((ACTd) of (SP4); Figs. 3A and 3C, Paragraph [0094]).
Regarding Claim 10, Long teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 1, further comprising:
-a capacitor-blocking line ((IPB) of, e.g. (SP4); Figs. 3A and 3E, Paragraph [0097]) between a first capacitor electrode of the first sub-pixel ((Ce1) of (SP4); Figs. 3A and 3D, Paragraph [0089]) and a first capacitor electrode of the second sub-pixel ((Ce1) of (SP3).
Notably the left side (IPB) of (SP4) (e.g. Figs. 3A and 3E) extends beyond the left side of (Ce1) of (SP4) and is therefore laterally (X-direction) between the two first capacitor electrodes).
Regarding Claim 11, Long teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 10, wherein:
-the capacitor-blocking line (IPB) is electrically connected to the power line (e.g. specifically (Vdd)) (Paragraph [0097], see also structure in Fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 12, Long teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 10, wherein:
- the capacitor-blocking line (IPB) is at a same layer (consisting of sublayers (IN) and (ILD); Fig. 4B, Paragraph [0093]) as gate electrodes of the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel ((GL) of (SP4), (SP3), and (SP2), respectively; Figs. 3A and 4B, Paragraph [0095]).
Regarding Claim 13, Long teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 12, wherein:
-the power line (Vdd) comprises: a horizontal power line extending in the first direction (portion of (Vdd) expanding in the positive X-Direction, e.g. middle right-shifted segment, including via (v3), see Figs. 3A, 3F, and 4B); and
-a vertical power line extending in the second direction (portion of (rst1) in the Y-Direction, e.g. second ‘expanded’ portion shifted in negative Y-Direction, See Figs. 3A, 3E, and 4C), and at a layer under the horizontal power line (specifically (IN) and under the labelled (Vdd) portions, See Figs. 4B and 4C), and wherein the capacitor-blocking line (IPB) is at a same layer as the horizontal power line (specifically (v3), within (ILD)).
Examiner notes that reasonable broad interpretations of what constitutes the “powerline” is being utilized in this rejection. This matches the broadness utilized by the Applicant, for example, in that some claim limitations referring to the powerline are directed to Applicant’s (EDLp) (e.g. “the capacitor-blocking line (IPB) is electrically connected to the power line” seems to be directed to Paragraph [0090]) while others towards (ESLh) (e.g. “capacitor-blocking line is at a same layer as the horizontal power line” seems to be directed to Paragraph [0100] and Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 19, Long teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 1, further comprising:
-a data line ((DL), e.g. center (DL) of Fig. 3A; Figs. 3A and 3G, Paragraph [0098]) extending in the second direction (Y-Direction), wherein
- the third pixel electrode (AD2) overlaps a portion of the data line (Center (DL)) (See Fig. 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Lee (U.S. Pub. 2020/0144349), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding Claim 4, Long teaches the display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
-the first capacitor electrode is at a layer under the driving gate electrode of the first sub-pixel.
Lee teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-10, Paragraphs [0002] and [0017]), wherein:
-the first capacitor electrode ((Cst1); Fig. 9, Paragraph [0066]) is at a layer (within (Gl1); Fig. 9, Paragraph [0097]) under the driving gate electrode of the first sub-pixel ((G1) of driving transistor (T1); Fig. 9, Paragraph [0066])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the device of Long such that the first capacitor electrode is at a layer under the driving gate electrode of the first sub-pixel. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the expected result of incorporating an applicable layer structure of a sub-pixel with similar circuit functionality (e.g. the first capacitor electrode electrically connects to the driving gate electrode).
Regarding Claim 6, Long teaches the display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-the first active layer of the first sub-pixel (ACTd) of (SP4) is electrically connected to the first pixel electrode (AD4) (See Fig. 2A, wherein (LE) is the anode of the pixel (Paragraph [0089]).
Long does not explicitly teach:
-a first active layer of the first sub-pixel partially overlapping a driving gate electrode of the first sub-pixel
Lee teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-10, Paragraphs [0002] and [0017]), wherein:
-a first active layer of the first sub-pixel ((A1) of driving transistor (T1); Fig. 9, Paragraph [0086])) partially overlapping a driving gate electrode of the first sub-pixel ((120), e.g. (120R); Figs. 6 and 9, Paragraph [0080] and [0110])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the device of Long such that it includes a first active layer of the first sub-pixel partially overlapping a driving gate electrode of the first sub-pixel. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the expected result of incorporating an applicable layer structure of a sub-pixel with similar circuit functionality (e.g. the first active layer of the first sub-pixel is electrically connected to the first pixel electrode).
Regarding Claim 14, Long teaches the display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-a first active layer of the second sub-pixel ((ACTd) of (SP3), specifically the right side of the layer; Figs. 3A and 3C, Paragraph [0094]) is between a first capacitor electrode of the second sub-pixel ((Ce1) of (SP3); Figs. 3A and 3D, Paragraph [0089]) and a first capacitor electrode of the third sub-pixel ((Ce1) of (SP4)).
Long does not explicitly teach:
-a first active layer of the second sub-pixel partially overlapping a driving gate electrode of the second sub-pixel
Lee teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-10, Paragraphs [0002] and [0017]), wherein:
-a first active layer of the second sub-pixel ((A1) of driving transistor (T1); Fig. 9, Paragraph [0086])) partially overlapping a driving gate electrode of the second sub-pixel ((120), e.g. (120R); Figs. 6 and 9, Paragraph [0080] and [0110])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the device of Long such that it includes a first active layer of the second sub-pixel partially overlapping a driving gate electrode of the second sub-pixel. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the expected result of incorporating an applicable layer structure of a sub-pixel with similar circuit functionality (e.g. the first active layer of the second sub-pixel is electrically connected to the first pixel electrode, as set by the sub-pixel circuits). Note: this structural incorporation would be applied to all sub-pixels in Long.
Regarding Claim 15, Long as modified by Lee teaches the display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 14, wherein:
the first active layer of the second sub-pixel (Lee, (A1) which includes (S1) and (D1); Fig. 7 , Paragraph [0086]- as incorporated into (SP3) of Long) comprises a protruding portion extending in the first direction (Lee, e.g. the portion corresponding to (S1) which expands in Y direction, Fig. 7), and wherein the protruding portion extends to a switching gate electrode of the second sub-pixel (Lee, e.g. to (G2) of switching transistor (T2); Fig. 7, Paragraph [0067]).
Regarding Claim 16, Long as modified by Lee teaches the display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 14, wherein:
the third sub-pixel (Modified Long, (SP4)) comprises a first active layer of the third sub-pixel (Lee, (A1) of Modified Long (SP4)) partially overlapping a driving gate electrode of the third sub-pixel (Lee, (G1) of Modified Long (SP4)), and wherein the first active layer of the third sub-pixel ((A1) of (SP4)) is integrally formed with the first active layer of the second sub-pixel ((A1) of (SP3)) (See Paragraphs [0065] and [0095] of Lee, as well as Fig. 3C and Paragraph [0094] of Long).
Examiner notes that the limitation “integrally formed” in a device claim is rather broadly interpreted and only has patentable weight in that it distinguishes the structure. In this case, Examiner understands it to mean ‘formed of the same material’, which is true for the active layers in both Long and Lee.
Regarding Claim 17, Long as modified by Lee teaches the display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 16, wherein:
-the driving gate electrode of the second sub-pixel (Lee, (G1) of Modified Long (SP3), Figs. 6 and 7) and the driving gate electrode of the third sub-pixel (Lee, (G1) of Modified Long (SP4), Figs. 6 and 7) face each other (e.g. on the vertical faces, i.e. laterally facing each other, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 18, Long as modified by Lee teaches the display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 14, wherein:
-the first active layer of the second sub-pixel (Lee, (A1) which includes (S1) and (D1); Fig. 7 , Paragraph [0086]- as incorporated into (SP3) of Long) is electrically connected to the power line (Lee, (7); Figs. 5-7, Paragraph [0066]. See also Long, Figs. 2A and 3A).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Mou et al. (U.S. 2021/0376026), hereinafter Mou.
Regarding Claim 8, Long teaches the display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
-the second pixel electrode overlaps a portion of an active layer of the third sub-pixel.
Mou teaches a display apparatus (comprising an array substrate (100), Figs. 1A-10C and 12, Paragraphs [0054]), wherein:
-the second pixel electrode (electrode (1131) of (110); Fig. 12, Paragraphs [0227]) overlaps a portion of an active layer ((310); Figs. 9A, Paragraph [0171]) of the third sub-pixel (e.g. (130)) (Compare to structural schematic of Figs. 10A and 12, in this case electrode (1131) overlaps a portion of active layers for all three sub-pixels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mou into the device of Long such that the second pixel electrode overlaps a portion of an active layer of the third sub-pixel. Futhermore, the incorporation would be done such that B. This would be due to the fact that doing so would improve brightness and better ensure right arrangement of pixels (Mou, Paragraphs [0052] and [0056]).
Regarding Claim 9, Long as modified by Mou teaches the display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 8, wherein:
-a portion of the active layer of the third sub-pixel (Long, (ACTd) of (SP4); Figs. 2A, 3A, 3C) is electrically connected to the third pixel electrode (AD4) (See Fig. 2A, wherein (LE) is the anode of the pixel (Paragraph [0089]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2021/0376026), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 20, Long teaches the display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
- a first color conversion unit in the first pixel electrode, and overlapping the first pixel electrode;
-a second color conversion unit in the second pixel electrode, and overlapping the second pixel electrode; and
-a third color conversion unit in the third pixel electrode, and overlapping the third pixel electrode.
Kim teaches a display apparatus ((1), Figs. 1-13, Paragraph [0056]), wherein:
-a first color conversion unit ((TPL); Fig. 3, Paragraph [0058]) in the first pixel electrode, and overlapping the first pixel electrode ((PXE) of leftmost emission area (EMA); Fig. 3, Paragraph [0063]); (corresponding to blue)
-a second color conversion unit ((WCL1); Fig. 3, Paragraph [0058]) in the second pixel electrode, and overlapping the second pixel electrode ((PXE) of the center emission area (EMA)); (corresponding to green) and
-a third color conversion unit ((WCL2); Fig. 3) in the third pixel electrode, and overlapping the third pixel electrode ((PXE) of the rightmost emission area (EMA); Fig. 3). (corresponding to red)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the device of Long such that it further comprises a first color conversion unit in the first pixel electrode, and overlapping the first pixel electrode; a second color conversion unit in the second pixel electrode, and overlapping the second pixel electrode; and a third color conversion unit in the third pixel electrode, and overlapping the third pixel electrode. This would be due to the fact that doing so would allow multiple colors to be displayed from a common emission wavelength of sub-pixel electrodes (Kim, Paragraph [0072]) and improving display quality (Kim, Paragraph [0167]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Lee, and in further view of Shim et al. (U.S. 2019/0172884), hereinafter Shim.
Regarding Claim 7, Long as modified by Lee teaches the display apparatus (comprising an array substrate, Figs. 1-5B, Paragraphs [0033] and [0182]) of Claim 6, comprising:
-a first capacitor electrode of the first sub-pixel (e.g. Lee, (Cst1); Fig. 9, Paragraph [0066])
Neither explicitly teaches:
-a first capacitor electrode of the first sub-pixel is at a lower layer under the first active layer of the first sub-pixel to overlap the first active layer of the first sub-pixel.
Shim teaches a display apparatus ((100); Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0045]) comprising sub-pixels ((SP), Fig. 1, Paragraph [0045]) wherein:
-a first capacitor electrode of the first sub-pixel ((131) Figs. 2 and 3, Paragraph [0066]) is at a lower layer under the first active layer of the first sub-pixel ((121b); Figs. 2 and 3, Paragraph [0068]) to overlap (Figs. 2 and 3, Paragraph [0070]) the first active layer of the first sub-pixel (121b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shim into the device of Long as modified by Lee such that a first capacitor electrode of the first sub-pixel is at a lower layer under the first active layer of the first sub-pixel to overlap the first active layer of the first sub-pixel. This would be due to the fact that doing so would increase reliability by allowing the first capacitor electrode to act as a light shielding layer (Shim, Paragraph [0068]).
/DMITRI MIHALIOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812