DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al. (WO 2013/175747) (“Ikeda”) (English translation from PatentScope used for citation).
With regard to claim 1, Ikeda discloses an organic light-emitting device comprising: a first electrode (“ITO transparent electrode”, par [0072]); a second electrode (“80nm-thick metal Al were sequentially laminated to form the cathode,”, par [0072]) facing the first electrode (“ITO transparent electrode”, par [0072]); a first layer (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) between the first electrode (“transparent electrode”, par [0072]) and the second electrode (“cathode”, par [0072]), the first layer (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) comprising a first compound (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]); a second layer (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]) between the first layer (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) and the second electrode (“cathode”, par [0072]), the second layer (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]) comprising a second compound (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]); and a third layer (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]) between the second layer (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]) and the second electrode (“cathode”, par [0072]), the third layer (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]) comprising a third compound (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]); wherein the first compound (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) does not comprise a nitrogen-containing heterocyclic group comprising *=N-*' as a ring forming moiety, wherein the first compound (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) and the second compound (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]) each independently comprise at least one group selected from groups represented by Formulae A to C: (“compound (HT-1)”, “compound (BD)”, par [0072]); and wherein the third compound (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]) selected from compounds represented by Formulae 2D-1, 2D-2, 3-1 and 3-2: Formula 2D-1 (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]).
With regard to claim 4, Ikeda disclose wherein ring A1 (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]), ring A11, and ring A12 are each independently selected from a benzene group (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]), a naphthalene group, a fluorene group, a benzofluorene group, a pyridine group, a pyrimidine group, a carbazole group, a benzocarbazole group, and a dibenzothiophene group.
With regard to claim 5, Ikeda discloses wherein, in Formulae A to C (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]).
With regard to claim 7, Ikeda discloses wherein the first compound (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) is selected from compounds represented by Formulae 1-1 (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) to 1-3, and the second compound (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]) is selected from compounds represented by Formulae 2H-1, 2D-1 (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]), and 2D-2, and the third compound (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]) comprises a nitrogen-containing heterocyclic group comprising *=N-*' as a ring forming moiety, and in Formula 3-1, at least one selected from Ar41 to Ar43 is a group selected from groups represented by Formulae A to C, in Formula 3-2, one selected from Ar41 and Ar42 is a group selected from groups represented by Formulae A to C, and the other one selected from Ar41 and Ar42 is a nitrogen-containing heterocyclic group comprising *=N-*' as a ring-forming moiety.
With regard to claim 11, Ikeda discloses wherein the first compound (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) is selected from compounds represented by Formulae 1-1 (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]), 1-2, and 1-3, the second compound (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]) is selected from compounds represented by Formulae 2D-1 (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]) and 2D-2, and the third compound (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]) is selected from compounds represented by Formulae 3-1 and 3-2 (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]).
With regard to claim 14, Ikeda discloses wherein the first compound (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) and the second compound (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]) are each independently selected from compounds represented by Formulae 1-1 (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]), 1-2, and 1-3, the first compound (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) being different from the second compound (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]), and the third compound (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]) is selected from compounds represented by Formulae 2D-1, 2D-2, 3-1, and 3-2 (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]).
With regard to claim 15, Ikeda discloses wherein the first compound (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) and the second compound (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]) are each independently selected from compounds represented by Formulae 1-1(1) to 1-1(4) (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]), 1-2(1) (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]), and 1-3(1), and the third compound (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]) is selected from compounds represented by Formulae 2D-1(1) to 2D-1(4), 2D-2(1), 2D-2(2), 3-1(1), 3-1(2), and 3-2(1) (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]).
With regard to claim 16, Ikeda discloses wherein the first compound (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]) and the second compound (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]) are each independently selected from compounds represented by Formulae 1-1 (“compound (HT-1)”, par [0072]), 1-2 (“compound (BD)”, par [0072]), and 1-3, the first compound being different from the second compound, and the third compound (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]) is selected from compounds represented by Formulae 3-1 and 3-2 (“compound (ET-1)”, par [0072]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6, 8-10, 12-13, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893