DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Arguments with respect the species restriction requirement are persuasive. Claims 1-20 are examined herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (2024/029263).
Re claim 1, Wang discloses (Fig. 6) a substrate (101); a pixel-circuit layer (102) on the substrate (101) and comprising a pixel circuit; a via insulating layer (insulating layer over the transistor M) on the pixel-circuit layer; a first electrode (201) on the via insulating layer; a pixel-defining layer (301) on the first electrode (201) and exposing a portion of the first electrode, the pixel-defining layer comprising: a plurality of first pixel-defining layers (301) extending in a first direction and adjacent to each other in a second direction crossing the first direction; and a plurality of second pixel-defining layers (302) respectively between adjacent ones of the first pixel-defining layers (Fig. 1A); and a second electrode (302) on the first electrode, wherein the second pixel-defining layers (302) are spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1A), and wherein the via insulating layer has a groove (groove where 201 is deposited and contacts the transistor M in Fig. 6) in at least a portion of a region at where the first pixel-defining layers (301) overlaps the via insulating layer (Fig. 6).
Re claim 3, Wang discloses wherein the first electrode (201) is provided in plurality, wherein each of the first pixel-defining layers (301) has a first portion between the first electrodes and a second portion outside the first portion and between adjacent ones of the second pixel-defining layers (302) (Fig. 1A), and wherein the groove in the via insulating layer overlaps the second portion of each of the first pixel-defining layers (301) (Fig. 1A).
Re claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the groove in the via insulating layer extends in the first direction and overlaps the first portion and the second portion of each of the first pixel-defining layers (301).
Re claim 5, Wang discloses wherein at least a portion of the second portion of each of the first pixel-defining layers (301) does not overlap the second pixel-defining layers (302) (Fig. 1A).
Re claim 9, Wang discloses wherein the first electrode (201) is provided in plurality, and wherein the pixel-defining layer (301) and the first electrodes (201) cover an entire upper surface of the via insulating layer (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, 10, 11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 1, 3-5 and 9 above, and further in view of the following comments.
Re claims 6-8, Wang does not clearly disclose wherein a thickness of each of the first pixel-defining layers is greater than a thickness of each of the second pixel-defining layers; wherein a width of the first pixel-defining layer in the second direction between an adjacent pair of the second pixel-defining layers from among the first pixel-defining layers is equal to a distance between the adjacent pair of second pixel-defining layers; wherein a width of the first pixel-defining layer in the second direction between an adjacent pair of the second pixel-defining layers from among the first pixel-defining layers is greater than a distance between the adjacent pair of second pixel-defining layers.
Re claim 11, Wang discloses (Fig. 6) a substrate (101); a pixel-circuit layer (102) on the substrate (101) and comprising a pixel circuit; a via insulating layer (insulating layer over the transistor M) on the pixel-circuit layer; a first electrode (201) on the via insulating layer; a pixel-defining layer (301) on the first electrode (201) and exposing a portion of the first electrode, the pixel-defining layer comprising: a plurality of first pixel-defining layers (301) extending in a first direction and adjacent to each other in a second direction crossing the first direction; and a plurality of second pixel-defining layers (302) respectively between adjacent ones of the first pixel-defining layers (Fig. 1A); and a second electrode (302) on the first electrode, wherein the second pixel-defining layers (302) are spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1A).
Wang does not clearly disclose wherein a width of the first pixel-defining layer in the second direction between an adjacent pair of second pixel-defining layers from among the first pixel-defining layers is equal to or greater than a distance between the adjacent pair of second pixel-defining layers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited width and distance through routine experimentation to achieve a desired device dimension, device associated and device density on the finished wafer.
In addition, the selection of width and distance, it's obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process conditions by routine experimentation with a limited number of species of result effective variables. These claims are prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996)(claimed ranges or a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill or art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1995) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed width and distance or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen width and distance or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen width and distance are critical. In re Woodruf, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Re claims 10 and 18, Wang does not clearly disclose wherein the groove in the via insulating layer does not overlap the first electrode.
Notwithstanding, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the groove to overlap or not overlap the first electrode depending on the dimensions choose for adjacent layers and features of the device, and also desired expected functions of the resultant structure.
Re claim 13, Wang discloses wherein the first pixel-defining layers (301) each has a uniform thickness in the first direction (Fig. 6).
Re claim 14, Wang discloses wherein the first electrode (201) is provided in plurality, wherein each of the first pixel-defining layers (301) has a first portion between adjacent ones of the first electrodes (201) and a second portion outside the first portion and between adjacent ones of the second pixel-defining layers (302).
Wang does not clearly disclose wherein a thickness of the second portion of each of the first pixel-defining layers is greater than a thickness of the first portion.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thickness through routine experimentation to achieve a desired device dimension, device associated and device density on the finished wafer.
In addition, the selection of thickness, it's obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process conditions by routine experimentation with a limited number of species of result effective variables. These claims are prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996)(claimed ranges or a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill or art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1995) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed thickness or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen thickness or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen thickness is critical. In re Woodruf, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Re claim 15, Wang discloses further comprising a via insulating layer (groove where 201 is deposited and contacts the transistor M in Fig. 6) between the pixel-circuit layer and the first electrode, wherein the via insulating layer has grooves in at least a portion of a region overlapping the first pixel-defining layers (301) (Fig. 6).
Re claim 16, Wang discloses wherein the grooves extend in the first direction and are adjacent to each other in the second direction (Fig. 6).
Re claim 17, Wang discloses wherein the first electrode (201) is provided in plurality, wherein each of the first pixel-defining layers (301) has a first portion arranged between adjacent ones of the first electrodes (201) and a second portion arranged outside the first portion and arranged between adjacent ones of the second pixel-defining layers (302) (Fig. 1A), and wherein the grooves overlap the second portion of the second pixel-defining layers (302).
Re claim 19, One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thickness through routine experimentation to achieve a desired device dimension, device associated and device density on the finished wafer.
In addition, the selection of thickness, it's obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process conditions by routine experimentation with a limited number of species of result effective variables. These claims are prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996)(claimed ranges or a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill or art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1995) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed thickness or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen thickness or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen thickness is critical. In re Woodruf, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Re claim 20, Wang discloses wherein the first electrode (201) is provided in plurality, wherein each of the first pixel-defining layers (301) has a first portion between adjacent ones of the first electrodes (201) and a second portion outside the first portion and between adjacent ones of the second pixel-defining layers (302), and wherein at least a portion of the second portion of each of the first pixel-defining layers (301) does not overlap the second pixel-defining layers (302) (Fig. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pending the correction of issues outlined in the rejection above, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or fairly suggest the following in combination the remaining limitations called for in each claim:
wherein the first pixel-defining layers have a repellent characteristic, and the second pixel-defining layers have a hydrophilic characteristic, as recited in claim 2;
wherein the first pixel-defining layers comprises a repellent material, and the second pixel-defining layers comprises a hydrophilic material, as recited in claim 12.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2022/0392947 A1, US 2023/0361261 A1, US 2024/0065037 A1 and US 2021/0408183 A1 disclose a similar configuration for a display apparatus with dual pixel definition layers.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 August 13, 2026