CTNF 18/611,527 CTNF 99395 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites the limitation "the reacting" in the final section of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, Examiner interprets “the reacting” as “a reaction”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spurlin et al. (US 2014/0256127 A1, hereinafter Spurlin ‘127) in view of Derderian (US 2004/0259375 A1, hereinafter Derderian ‘375), in view of the following arguments . With respect to Claim 1 Spurlin ‘127 discloses a method for making a semiconductor device (Fig 1-11) , the method comprising: providing a substrate (109, Fig 1B, Para [0028]) having a metal layer therein (119, Fig 1C, Para [0030]) , wherein an exposed surface (upper surfaces of 119) of the metal layer (119) includes a surface layer (surface layer of MO x ) of oxidized metal (MO x , Para [0032-0034] disclose surface of 119 is an oxidized metal) ; flowing (Step 310) carbon monoxide (CO, Para [0042]) into a chamber (610, Fig 6, Para [0075] discloses chamber and Para [0042] discloses the use of carbon monoxide as reducing gas) containing the substrate (109) and onto the surface layer (surface layer of MO x , Para [0042] discloses surface layer exposed to carbon monoxide) ; and reacting (Step 320, Fig 3, Para [0044]) the carbon monoxide (CO) with the oxidized metal (MO x ) of the surface layer (surface layer of MO x ) and non-oxidized metal (Para [0045] discloses process converts metal oxide to metal) at the surface layer (surface layer of MO x ) , Spurlin ‘127 does not directly disclose wherein a temperature in the chamber (chamber) during the reacting is less than 40 degrees Celsius. However, Spurlin ‘127 does teach wherein a temperature (temperature of chamber) in the chamber (610) during the reacting (Step 320) is less than 10-500 degrees Celsius (Para [0046] discloses chamber temperature between 10°C-500°C) . MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” However, Spurlin ‘127 fails to explicitly disclose reacting the carbon monoxide with the oxidized metal of the surface layer to form carbon dioxide by removing oxygen from the oxidized metal of the surface layer. Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-8 of Derderian ‘375) Derderian ‘375 teaches reacting the carbon monoxide with the oxidized metal of the surface layer to form carbon dioxide by removing oxygen from the oxidized metal of the surface layer (Step 3, Fig 2, Para [0020] of Derderian ‘375 teaches reacting carbon monoxide with the oxidized metal to reduce the metal to an oxide free metal and a carbon dioxide by-product and equation therein shows oxygen is removed from oxidized metal) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Derderian ‘375’s teaching of reacting the carbon monoxide with the oxidized metal of the surface layer to form carbon dioxide by removing oxygen from the oxidized metal of the surface layer into Spurlin ‘127’s method. Spurlin ‘127 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced. Derderian ‘375 also teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced and provides details of the reaction. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Spurlin ‘127 in the manner set forth above, at least, because the teaching of Derderian ‘375 clarifies the resulting compounds of the reduction reaction which would enable the person of ordinary skill in the art to have knowledge helpful to manage those resulting compounds in their process. As incorporated, the teaching of the resulting compounds of the reduction reaction as taught by Derderian ‘375 would be used in the method of Spurlin ‘127. With respect to Claim 8 Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, but Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian fails to explicitly disclose further comprising removing at least part of the carbon monoxide and the carbon dioxide from the chamber. However, Spurlin ‘127 teaches in (Para [0045]) a flow rate of the inert reducing gas in the chamber (610) and further, in (Para [0046]), teaches a pump down step to reduce the chamber pressure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that a flow rate of inert reducing gas in the chamber and a pump down step of the chamber necessitates removing at least part of the carbon monoxide, the carbon dioxide, and the noble gas from the chamber. With respect to Claim 11 Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, but Spurlin ‘127 does not directly disclose wherein the temperature in the chamber during the reacting is in a temperature range from 10 to 28 degrees Celsius. However, Spurlin ‘127 does teach wherein the temperature in the chamber (temperature of chamber) during the reacting (Step 320) is in a temperature range from 10 to 500 degrees Celsius (Para [0046] discloses chamber temperature between 10°C-500°C) which overlaps the range of 10 to 28°C of the instant application. MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” With respect to Claim 12 Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, wherein the metal layer (119) comprises one of or any combination of copper, cobalt, ruthenium, molybdenum, and tungsten (Para [0031] discloses 119 as copper) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2,3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spurlin ‘127 in view of Derderian ‘375 in further view of Satake et al. (US 2017/0194560 A1, hereinafter Satake ‘560), in view of the following arguments . With respect to Claim 2 Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, and Spurlin ‘127 further discloses wherein the reacting (Step 320) comprises: flowing a noble gas (Para [0045] discloses using inert gases of neon (Ne), krypton (Kr), xenon (Xe), radon (Rn), and argon (Ar), hereinafter noble gas) into the chamber (610) ; and exposing the surface layer (surface layer of MO x ) to the plasma (Step 315) to reduce the oxidized metal (MO x ) of the surface layer (surface layer of MO x )(Para [0043 and 0045] discloses the result of the plasma process of Step 315 is the conversion of the MO x layer to metal) . But Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 fails to explicitly disclose generating a plasma from the noble gas in the chamber. Nevertheless in a related endeavor (Fig 2 of Satake ‘560) , Satake ‘560 teaches generating a plasma from the noble gas in the chamber (Para [0014 and 0050] and Fig 2 teaches generating plasma from a noble gas mixed with CO and Para [0063] teaches that plasma and CO can be used in a reducing step to lower the oxidation state of an oxidized metal in a processing chamber). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Satake ‘560’s teaching of generating a plasma from the noble gas in the chamber into Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375’s method. Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using a plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide. Satake ‘560 also teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide and provides details of using the noble gas to generate a plasma. Therefore the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 in the manner set forth above, at least, because, as Satake ‘560 teaches in Para [0050] the plasma formed from the noble gas can aid in etching the oxide from the surface of the metal oxide. As incorporated, the teaching of Satake ‘560 in generating a plasma from the noble gas would be used in method of Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 such that the noble gas of Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 (as described above) would be used to generate a plasma. With respect to Claim 3 Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 and further modified by Satake ‘560 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 2, but Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 and further modified by Satake ‘560 fails to explicitly discloses further comprising removing at least part of the carbon monoxide, the carbon dioxide, and the noble gas from the chamber. However, Spurlin ‘127 further teaches in (Para [0045]) a flow rate of the inert reducing gas in the chamber (610) and further, in (Para [0046]), teaches a pump down step to reduce the chamber pressure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that a flow rate of inert reducing gas in the chamber and a pump down step of the chamber necessitates removing at least part of the carbon monoxide, the carbon dioxide, and the noble gas from the chamber. With respect to Claim 5 Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 and further modified by Satake ‘560 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 2, and Spurlin ‘127 further discloses wherein generating the plasma (Step 315) comprises providing radio frequency (RF) power (radio frequency power for plasma disclosed in Para [0078 and 0079], hereinafter RF) to an electrode (660, Para [0077 - 0079] discloses providing a RF to plasma generator 655/660 as shown in Fig 6) of the plasma chamber (610) , the RF power (RF) ; wherein the RF power (RF) having a radio frequency range of 13.56MHz to 300MHz (Para 0079] discloses RF has a frequency of 13.56 MHz) ; Spurlin ‘127 does not directly discloses wherein the temperature in the chamber during the reacting is in a temperature range from 0 to 28 degrees Celsius. However, Spurlin ‘127 does teach wherein the temperature in the chamber (temperature of chamber) during the reacting (Step 320) is in a temperature range from 10 to 500 degrees Celsius (Para [0046] discloses chamber temperature between 10°C-500°C) which overlaps the range of 0 to 28°C of the instant application. MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” Spurlin ‘127 does not directly discloses wherein the RF power being in a power range between 50 and 500 watts. However, Spurlin ‘127 does teach wherein the RF power (RF), in Para [0079] “may be operated at any suitable power to form a plasma of a desired composition of radical species” may be operated at any suitable power to form a plasma of a desired composition of radical species” and further teaches examples of suitable power is in a range of 300W to 1500W) which overlaps the range of between 50 and 500W of the instant application. MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” Spurlin ‘127 does not directly discloses wherein a first flow rate range for the flowing of the carbon monoxide is 1 to 2000 sccm; and However, Spurlin ‘127 does teach wherein a first flow rate range for the flowing of the carbon monoxide is 10 sccm – 100,000 sccm in (Table 1 and Para [0045]), which overlaps the range of 1 to 2000 sccm of the instant application. Spurlin ‘127 further teaches in Para [0045] that the flow rate of the reducing gas species can vary depending on the size of the wafer. MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” Spurlin ‘127 does not directly discloses wherein a second flow rate range for the flowing of the noble gas is 1 to 500 sccm. However, Spurlin ‘127 does teach wherein a second flow rate range for the flowing of the noble gas is 10 sccm – 100,000 sccm in (Table 1 and Para [0045]), which overlaps the range of 1 to 500 sccm of the instant application. MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” With respect to Claim 6 Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 and further modified by Satake ‘560 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 2, and Spurlin ‘127 further discloses wherein the noble gas comprises one of or any combination of argon, helium, neon, krypton, and xenon (Para [0045] discloses inert gases of neon (Ne), krypton (Kr), xenon (Xe), radon (Rn), and argon (Ar)) . With respect to Claim 7 Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 and further modified by Satake ‘560 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 2, and Spurlin ‘127 further discloses wherein the metal layer (119) contains copper (Para [0031] discloses 119 as copper) , and wherein the noble gas contains argon (Para [0045] discloses inert gases as argon (Ar)) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spurlin ‘127 in view of Derderian ‘375 in view of Satake ‘560 and in further view of Kostamo et al. (US 2005/0208754 A1, hereinafter Kostamo ‘754), in view of the following arguments . With respect to Claim 4 Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 and further modified by Satake ‘560 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 3, but Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 and further modified by Satake ‘560 fails to explicitly disclose further comprising sequentially repeating the flowing of the carbon monoxide and the reacting. However, in a related endeavor (Fig 1 and 4-10 of Kostamo ‘754) , Kostamo ‘754 teaches further comprising sequentially repeating the flowing of the carbon monoxide and the reacting (Para [0155] and Fig 7 of Kostamo ‘754 teaches multiple cycles (Fig 7 discloses 1000 cycles) of reduction time exposure) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Kostamo ‘754’s teaching of repeating the flowing of the carbon monoxide and the reacting into Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 and further modified by Satake ‘560’s method. Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 and further modified by Satake ‘560 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced. Kostamo ‘754 also teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced and further teaches a metho that includes conducting additional cycles of reduction. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 and further modified by Satake ‘560 in the manner set forth above, at least, because as Kostamo ‘754 teaches in Fig 7, running additional reduction cycles results in a lowering of sheet resistance of the surface. As incorporated, the teaching of Kostamo ‘754 of using multiple reduction cycles would be used in method of Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 and further modified by Satake ‘560 in the reacting step . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spurlin ‘127 in view of Derderian ‘375 in further view of Kostamo ‘754, in view of the following arguments . With respect to Claim 9 Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 8, but Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 fails to explicitly disclose further comprising, after the removing, sequentially repeating the flowing of the carbon monoxide, the reacting, and the removing. However, in a related endeavor (Fig 1 and 4-10 of Kostamo ‘754) , Kostamo ‘754 teaches further comprising sequentially repeating the flowing of the carbon monoxide and the reacting (Para [0155] and Fig 7 of Kostamo ‘754 teaches multiple cycles (Fig 7 discloses 1000 cycles) of reduction time exposure) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Kostamo ‘754’s teaching of repeating the flowing of the carbon monoxide and the reacting into Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375’s method. Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced. Kostamo ‘754 also teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced and further teaches a metho that includes conducting additional cycles of reduction. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 in the manner set forth above, at least, because as Kostamo ‘754 teaches in Fig 7, running additional reduction cycles results in a lowering of sheet resistance of the surface. As incorporated, the teaching of Kostamo ‘754 of using multiple reduction cycles would be used in method of Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 so that the cycle of flowing of the carbon monoxide, the reacting, and the removing would be repeated. With respect to Claim 10 Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, but Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the surface layer of the oxidized metal has a thickness of three monolayers or less. Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1 and 4-10 of Kostamo ‘754) , Kostamo ‘754 teaches wherein the surface layer (surface layer of 116) of oxidized metal (Para [0080] discloses 116 having an oxide layer) has a thickness of three monolayers or less (Para [0118] discloses three or less monolayers of metal oxide) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Kostamo ‘754’s surface layer of the oxidized metal has a thickness of three monolayers or less into Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375’s method. Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced. Kostamo ‘754 also teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced and further teaches details on the oxide layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 in the manner set forth above, at least, because, a Kostamo ‘754 teaches in Para [0118] multiple thinner layers of oxide are more susceptible to reduction than a single thicker layer. As incorporated, Kostamo ‘754’s teaching of the surface layer (surface layer of 116) of oxidized metal having a thickness of three monolayers or less would be used for the thickness of (surface layer of MO x ) of Spurlin ‘127 as modified by Derderian ‘375 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostamo 754 in view of Satake ‘560 in further view of Spurlin ‘127, in view of the following arguments . With respect to Claim 13 Kostamo ‘754 discloses a method for making a semiconductor device (Fig 1 and 4-10) , the method comprising: receiving a substrate (substrate of 100, Fig 1, disclosed in Para [0080]) having a metal layer therein (116, Fig 1, Para [0080]) , wherein an exposed surface (surface of 116) of the metal layer (116) includes a surface layer (surface layer of 116) of oxidized metal (Para [0080] discloses 116 having an oxide layer) ; flowing carbon monoxide (flowing carbon monoxide disclosed in Para [0114 and 0124]) into a chamber (reaction space disclosed in Para [0116]) containing the substrate (substrate of 100) and onto the surface layer (Para [0116] discloses carbon monoxide in reaction space over substrate and surface of metal oxide film) ; and after stopping the flowing of the carbon monoxide (Para [0116] discloses flow of carbon monoxide stops as a purge step is implemented) into the chamber (reaction space) and exposing the substrate (substrate of 100) to a plasma (plasma exposure disclosed in Para [0125]) to reduce the oxidized metal (Para [0125] discloses plasma used in reducing the oxide film) . But Kostamo ‘754 fails to explicitly disclose a plasma formed from an inert gas to reduce the oxidized metal. Nevertheless in a related endeavor (Fig 2 of Satake ‘560) , Satake ‘560 teaches a plasma formed from an inert gas to reduce the oxidized metal (Para [0014 and 0050] and Fig 2 teaches generating plasma from a noble gas mixed with CO and Para [0063] teaches that plasma and CO can be used in a reducing step to lower the oxidation state of an oxidized metal in a processing chamber). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Satake ‘560’s teaching of generating a plasma from the noble gas in the chamber into Kostamo ‘754’s method. Kostamo ‘754 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using a plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide. Satake ‘560 also teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide and provides details of using the noble gas to generate a plasma. Therefore the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kostamo ‘754 in the manner set forth above, at least, because, as Satake ‘560 teaches in Para [0050] the plasma formed from the noble gas can aid in etching the oxide from the surface of the metal oxide. As incorporated, the teaching of Satake ‘560 in generating a plasma from the noble gas would be used in method of Kostamo ‘754 such that the plasma of Kostamo ‘754 (as described above) would be generated from a noble gas. Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 does not directly discloses maintaining the substrate at a temperature between 10 to 40 degrees Celsius. However, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-11 of Spurlin ‘127) , Spurlin ‘127 teaches maintaining the substrate (109, Fig 1B, Para [0028]) at a temperature between 10 to 500 degrees Celsius (Table 1 of Spurlin ‘127 discloses a substrate pedestal temperature between -10°C-150°C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Spurlin ‘127’s teaching of maintaining the substrate at a temperature between 10 to 40 degrees Celsius into Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560’s method. Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using a plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide and Kostamo ‘754 discloses in Para [0117] that the reduction process should be carried out at low temperatures to avoid agglomeration. So Kostamo ‘754 is open to a low substrate temperature during processing. Spurlin ‘127 also teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide and provides details on substrate temperatures in the process. Therefore the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 in the manner set forth above, at least, because, as Spurlin ‘127 teaches in Para [0005] that maintaining a low substrate temperature can avoid agglomeration of the metal seed layer. Further, while Spurlin ‘127 teaches a substrate temperature range between -10 to 150 degrees Celsius, this overlaps the recited range of 10 to 40°C. MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” As incorporated, the teaching of Spurlin ‘127 of maintaining the substrate at a temperature between 10 to 40 degrees Celsius would be used in method of Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 such that the (substrate of 100 of Kostamo ‘754) would be maintained at a temperature between 10 to 40 degree Celsius after stopping the flow of CO in the chamber. With respect to Claim 14 Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 13, and Kostamo ‘754 further teaches wherein the plasma is a remote plasma (Para [0125] discloses generating plasma remotely and transporting to reaction space) . With respect to Claim 15 Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 13, and Kostamo ‘754 further discloses wherein the plasma is generated in the chamber (Para [0125] of Kostamo ‘754 discloses using H and He to form plasma in-situ in the chamber (reaction space)). With respect to Claim 16 Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 13, and Kostamo ‘754 further discloses wherein reducing the oxidized metal (116) comprises reacting the carbon monoxide with the oxidized metal of the surface layer to form carbon dioxide and non-oxidized metal at the surface layer by removing oxygen from the oxidized metal of the surface layer (Para [0115] discloses reducing agent (carbon monoxide as described above) ,“ The gaseous reducing agent is capable of taking away the oxygen that was bound to the metal oxide and thus an elemental metal is left on the substrate surface. For example, hydrogen forms water (H.sub.2O) molecules and carbon monoxide forms carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2) molecules ”) . With respect to Claim 17 Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 13, and Kostamo ‘754 further discloses wherein exposing the substrate (substrate of 100) to the plasma (plasma exposure disclosed in Para [0125] as modified by Satake ‘560 as described above) comprises: flowing a noble gas (He, Para [0123 and 0125] disclose using He) into the chamber (reaction space) ; generating the plasma (plasma generation disclosed in Para [0125] as modified by Satake ‘560 as described above) in the chamber (reaction space) ; and accelerating ions (Para [0049-0051] disclose using plasma to generate ions and that the ions etch the oxide layer of the metal oxide) of the noble gas (He) to the surface layer (surface layer of 116) . With respect to Claim 18 Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 13, and Kostamo ‘754 discloses further comprising sequentially repeating the flowing of the carbon monoxide and the exposing to the plasma. (Para [0155], Table 1 and Fig 7 of Kostamo ‘754 teaches multiple cycles (Fig 7 discloses 1000 cycles) of reduction time exposure) . With respect to Claim 19 Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 13, and Kostamo ‘754 further discloses wherein the surface layer (surface layer of 116) of oxidized metal (Para [0080] discloses 116 having an oxide layer) has a thickness of three monolayers or less (Para [0118] discloses three or less monolayers of metal oxide) ; wherein the metal layer (116) comprises one of or any combination of copper, cobalt, ruthenium, molybdenum, and tungsten (Para [0132] discloses 116 (seed layer) as copper) ; wherein the noble gas comprises one of or any combination of argon, helium, neon, krypton, and xenon (Para [0123 and 0125] disclose noble gas as He) ; and, Spurlin ‘127 further teaches wherein the temperature (temperature of chamber 610) in the chamber (610, Fig 6 of Spurlin ‘127, Para [0075] discloses chamber and Para [0042] discloses the use of carbon monoxide as reducing gas) during the reacting (Note Examiner’s interpretation of “the reacting” as “a reaction”) (Step 320, Fig 3 of Spurlin ‘127, Para [0044]) is in a temperature range from 10 to 28 degrees Celsius (Para [0046] of Spurlin ‘127 discloses chamber temperature between 10°C-500°C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Spurlin ‘127’s teaching of wherein the temperature in the chamber during a rection is in a temperature range from 10 to 28 degrees Celsius into Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127’s method. Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using a plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide and Kostamo ‘754 discloses in Para [0117] that the reduction process should be carried out at low temperatures to avoid agglomeration. So Kostamo ‘754 is open to a low substrate temperature during processing. Spurlin ‘127 also teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide and provides details on substrate temperatures in the process. Therefore the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 in the manner set forth above, at least, because, as Spurlin ‘127 teaches in Para [0005] that maintaining a low substrate temperature can avoid agglomeration of the metal seed layer. Further, while Spurlin ‘127 teaches a substrate temperature range between 10 to 500 degrees Celsius, this overlaps the recited range of 10 to 28°C. MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” As incorporated, the teaching of Spurlin ‘127 of the temperature in the chamber during a reaction is in a range between 10 to 28 degrees Celsius would be used in method of Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 such that the chamber (reaction space of Kostamo ‘754) would be in a range between 10 to 28 degrees Celsius. With respect to Claim 20 Kostamo ‘754 discloses a method for making a semiconductor device (Fig 1 and 4-10) , the method comprising: receiving a substrate (substrate of 100, Fig 1, disclosed in Para [0080]) comprising an exposed surface (surface of 116, Fig 1) , the exposed surface (surface of 116) comprising a metal layer (Para [0080] disclosed 116 as metal layer) , wherein the metal layer (116) includes a surface layer (surface of 116) of oxidized metal (Para [0080] disclosed 116 having an oxide layer) ; and performing, in a chamber (reaction space disclosed in Para [0116]) containing the substrate (substrate of 100) , a cyclic surface preparation process, each cycle of the cyclic surface preparation process comprising (Para [0155] and Fig 7 of Kostamo ‘754 teaches multiple cycles (Fig 7 discloses 1000 cycles) of reduction time exposure) flowing carbon monoxide (flowing carbon monoxide disclosed in Para [0114]) into the chamber (reaction space) and onto the surface layer (surface of 116) , after stopping the flowing of the carbon monoxide (Para [0116] discloses flow of carbon monoxide stops as a purge step is implemented) , flowing an inert gas (He, Para [0123 and 0125] disclose using He) into the chamber (reaction space) , igniting a plasma (plasma generation disclosed in Para [0125]) within the chamber (reaction space) , exposing the surface layer (surface of 116) to the plasma (plasma generation disclosed in Para [0125]) , the exposing reducing the oxygen content in the surface layer (surface of 116) (Para [0125] discloses plasma used in reducing the oxide film) , and But Kostamo ‘754 fails to explicitly disclose the plasma being generated from the inert gas. Nevertheless in a related endeavor (Fig 2 of Satake ‘560) , Satake ‘560 teaches the plasma being generated from the inert gas (Para [0014 and 0050] and Fig 2 teaches generating plasma from an inert gas mixed with CO and Para [0063] teaches that plasma and CO can be used in a reducing step to lower the oxidation state of an oxidized metal in a processing chamber). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Satake ‘560’s teaching of the plasma being generated from the inert gas into Kostamo ‘754’s method. Kostamo ‘754 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using a plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide. Satake ‘560 also teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide and provides details of using the noble gas to generate a plasma. Therefore the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kostamo ‘754 in the manner set forth above, at least, because, as Satake ‘560 teaches in Para [0050] the plasma formed from the noble gas can aid in etching the oxide from the surface of the metal oxide. As incorporated, the teaching of Satake ‘560 in generating a plasma from the inert gas would be used in method of Kostamo ‘754 such that the inert gas of Kostamo ‘754 (as described above) would be used to generate a plasma. But Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 fails to explicitly disclose after the exposing, stopping the power to the plasma and stopping the flow of the inert gas. Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-10 of Spurlin ‘127) , Spurlin ‘127 teaches after the exposing, stopping the power to the plasma and stopping the flow of the inert gas (Para [0053-0054] and Table 1 of Spurlin ‘127 teaches the reduction exposing process lasts 1 second to 60 minutes and Para [0056] teaches the substrate is then transferred at ambient conditions so plasma and inert would be off to reach ambient conditions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Spurlin ‘127’s teaching of after the exposing, stopping the power to the plasma and stopping the flow of the inert gas into Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560’s method. Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using a plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide. Spurlin ‘127 also teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide and provides details on the exposure cycle time. Therefore the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 in the manner set forth above, at least, because, as Spurlin ‘127 provides timing for ending the reduction process that can help in the manufacturing process. As incorporated, the teaching of Spurlin ‘127 of after the exposing, stopping the power to the plasma and stopping the flow of the inert gas would be used in method of Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560. With respect to Claim 21 Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 20, and Kostamo ‘754 discloses further wherein the exposing comprises reacting the carbon monoxide with the oxidized metal of the surface layer to form carbon dioxide and non-oxidized metal at the surface layer by removing oxygen from the oxidized metal of the surface layer (Para [0115] discloses carbon monoxide reacts with oxidized metal and result is carbon dioxide and elemental metal on the substrate) . With respect to Claim 22 Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 20, and Kostamo ‘754 further discloses wherein the surface layer (surface layer of 116) of oxidized metal (Para [0080] discloses 116 having an oxide layer) has a thickness of three monolayers or less (Para [0118] discloses three or less monolayers of metal oxide) ; wherein the metal layer (116) contains copper (Para [0132] discloses 116 (seed layer) as copper) ; But Kostamo ‘754 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plasma is generated by powering an electrode of the chamber with radio frequency (RF) power of 50 to 500 Watts at a frequency of 30 MHz to 100 MHz; However, Spurlin ‘127 further teaches wherein the plasma is generated by an electrode (660, Para [0077 - 0079] discloses providing a RF to plasma generator 655/660 as shown in Fig 6) of the chamber (610, Fig 6 of Spurlin ‘127, Para [0075]) with radio frequency (RF) power ((RF), in Para [0079] of Spurlin ‘127 discloses, “may be operated at any suitable power to form a plasma of a desired composition of radical species” may be operated at any suitable power to form a plasma of a desired composition of radical species” and further teaches examples of suitable power is in a range of 300W to 1500W). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Spurlin ‘127’s further teaching wherein the plasma is generated by an electrode of the chamber with radio frequency (RF) power into Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127’s method. While Spurlin ‘127 teaches a radio frequency (RF) power of 300W to 1500W, this overlaps the recited range of 50 to 500 Watts. MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 fails to expressly disclose generating power at a frequency of 30 MHz to 100 MHz. However, the examiner notes that in the applicants disclosure (Para [0040]) teaches wherein the recited frequency has the advantage of generating electric field power to achieve the reduction reaction. Having this mind, Spurlin ‘127 teaches in (Para [0079]) and RF frequency of 13.56 MHz to generate RF power in the chamber to achieve the reduction reaction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the recited limitation of generating power at a frequency of 30 MHz to 100 MHz through routine optimization, to obtain the well-known advantage of using a frequency to generate RF power to achieve the reduction reaction. See MPEP§2144.05 (II)(A),(B). and, Spurlin ‘127 further teaches wherein the temperature (temperature of chamber 610) in the chamber (610, Fig 6 of Spurlin ‘127, Para [0075] discloses chamber and Para [0042] discloses the use of carbon monoxide as reducing gas) during the reacting (Note Examiner’s interpretation of “the reacting” as “a reaction”) (Step 320, Fig 3 of Spurlin ‘127, Para [0044]) is in a range from 10 to 30 degrees Celsius (Para [0046] of Spurlin ‘127 discloses chamber temperature between 10°C-500°C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Spurlin ‘127’s further teaching of wherein the temperature in the chamber during a rection is in a range from 10 to 30 degrees Celsius into Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127’s method. Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using a plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide and Kostamo ‘754 discloses in Para [0117] that the reduction process should be carried out at low temperatures to avoid agglomeration. So Kostamo ‘754 is open to a low substrate temperature during processing. Spurlin ‘127 also teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device wherein an oxide layer on a metal layer is reduced using plasma, a noble gas and carbon dioxide and provides details on substrate temperatures in the process. Therefore the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 and further modified by Spurlin ‘127 in the manner set forth above, at least, because, as Spurlin ‘127 teaches in Para [0005] that maintaining a low substrate temperature can avoid agglomeration of the metal seed layer. Further, while Spurlin ‘127 teaches a substrate temperature range between 10 to 500 degrees Celsius, this overlaps the recited range of 10 to 28°C. MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” As incorporated, the teaching of Spurlin ‘127 of the temperature in the chamber during a reaction is in a range between 10 to 30 degrees Celsius would be used in method of Kostamo ‘754 as modified by Satake ‘560 as modified by Spurlin ‘127 such that the chamber (reaction space of Kostamo ‘754) would be in a range between 10 to 30 degrees Celsius. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAUL A. BERRY whose telephone number is (703)756-5637. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julio Maldonado can be reached at 571-272-1864. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PAUL A BERRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 2 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 4 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 5 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 6 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 7 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 8 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 9 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 10 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 11 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 12 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 13 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 14 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 15 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 16 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 17 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 18 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 19 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 20 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 21 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 22 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/611,527 Page 23 Art Unit: 2898