DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17, line 2, the phrase “a semiconductor device comprising.” Is unclear. What is it comprising?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wengert et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,093,252).
Regarding claim 1, Wengert et al. teach a substrate processing device comprising a substrate holding tool (susceptor 84) that holds a substrate; a reaction chamber (chamber 10) that accommodates the holding tool therein; a heating unit (lamps 146) the is disposed around the periphery of the reaction chamber; an exhaust unit (outlet component 100 provided with an exhaust conduit 114) configured so as to be able to accommodate a first temperature measurement unit (thermocouple 102) that is disposed on the lateral side of the reaction chamber in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate held by the substrate holding tool; and a processing gas inlet 98. (Fig. 8; Column 10 lines 46-67; Column 11 lines 1-67)
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okajima et al. (WO 2021/176505 A1 - U.S. PGPUB. 2022/0356580 A1 for translational purposes).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Okajima et al. teach a substrate processing apparatus comprising:
a reaction chamber (130) that accommodates a substrate (101) held by a substrate holder (140);
a heater (110) disposed around the reaction chamber (130; and an exhauster disposed laterally to the reaction chamber and configured to accommodate a first temperature measurer disposed extending in a direction parallel to a surface of the substrate held by the substrate holder from an outside of the reaction chamber toward an inside of the reaction chamber. (Fig. 15; space lateral to the reaction chamber 130 including the exhaust port 121) (Paragraphs 0133-0170)
In comparison to Applicant’s invention:
It appears that the exhauster is a lateral space connect to an exhaust which Okajima teaches as discussed above in the form of a lateral space connected to an exhaust 121.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
Regarding claim 2, Okajima et al. teach wherein the first temperature measurer includes a tube incorporating a temperature sensor. (Paragraph 0058)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 3:
Regarding claim 3, Okajima et al. teach wherein the tube is disposed to be slidable back and forth with respect to the exhauster. (Fig. 15; Figs. 6, 7)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
Regarding claim 4, Okajima et al. teach wherein the substrate holder is configured to hold a plurality of substrates. (Fig. 15)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
Regarding claim 5, Okajima et al. teach wherein the first temperature measurer is positioned between the plurality of substrates held by the substrate holder. (Fig. 15)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 6:
Regarding claim 6, Okajima et al. teach wherein the heater includes a plurality of zone heaters corresponding to different positions in a height direction of the reaction chamber. (Paragraph 0028; Fig. 15)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
Regarding claim 7, Okajima et al. teach wherein the first temperature measurer is disposed at a position corresponding to a height of each of the plurality of zone heaters. (Fig. 15)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 10:
Regarding claim 10, Okajima et al. teach wherein the first temperature measurer includes a plurality of tubes incorporating a plurality of temperature sensors, and the plurality of tubes is disposed at positions corresponding to respective heights of the plurality of zone heaters of the
exhauster. (Paragraph 0058; Fig. 6; Fig. 15)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 11:
Regarding claim 11, Okajima et al. teach wherein the first temperature measurer simultaneously measures temperatures at a plurality of positions corresponding to the
plurality of zone heaters by the plurality of temperature sensors incorporated in the tubes. (Paragraph 0063; Fig. 8)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 12:
Regarding claim 12, Okajima et al. teach comprising a controller, wherein the controller is configured to control the plurality of zone heaters on a basis of data of temperature distributions at a plurality of points at the positions corresponding to the plurality of zone heaters measured by the first temperature measurer. (Claims 8, 9, Paragraphs 0066-0075, 0093, 0098-0099, 0128-0129, 0133)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 13:
Regarding claim 13, Okajima et al. teach wherein the first temperature measurer is disposed at a position where temperature of the substrate is measured during processing of the substrates. (Fig. 15)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 14:
Regarding claim 14, Okajima et al. teach wherein the first temperature measurer is disposed between the substrate and the exhauster. (See Fig. 15)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 16:
Regarding claim 16, Okajima et al. teach a method of processing a substrate comprising:
accommodating a substrate holder in a reaction chamber; heating the reaction chamber;
inserting a first temperature measurer, which is located in an exhauster laterally to the reaction chamber, into the reaction chamber, and measuring a temperature of a substrate held by the substrate holder by the first temperature measurer; adjusting a position of the first temperature measurer to a position near the substrate; supplying a gas into the reaction chamber; and
heating and processing the substrate on a basis of the temperature of the substrate measured by the first temperature measurer. (Claims 8, 9, Paragraphs 0066-0075, 0093, 0098-0099, 0128-0165)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 17:
Regarding claim 17, Okajima et al. teach whereby the substrate comprises a semiconductor device comprising. (Paragraph 0002)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 18:
Regarding claim 18, Okajima et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes, by a computer, a substrate processing
apparatus to perform: accommodating a substrate holder in a reaction chamber; heating the reaction chamber; inserting a first temperature measurer, which is located in an exhauster laterally to the reaction chamber, into the reaction chamber, and causing the first temperature measurer to measure a temperature of a substrate held by the substrate holder; adjusting a position of the first temperature measurer to a position near the substrate;
supplying a gas into the reaction chamber; and heating and processing the substrate on a basis of a result of measuring the temperature of the substrate by the first temperature measurer. (Claims 8, 9, Paragraphs 0066-0075, 0093, 0098-0099, 0128-0129, 0133)
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
July 22, 2026