DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicants’ election of species I drawn to claims 1-15 and 18-20 and Figure 5 are acknowledged. Claims 16-17, drawn to an unelected species are thus withdrawn from further examination. Claims 1-15 and 18-20 are examined herein.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/17/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I, claims 1-15 & 18-20, and Figure 5 in the reply filed on 06/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897).
Regarding claim 1, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) teaches A display panel (display panel 10, Figure 4A, Abstract) comprising: a substrate (substrate 100, Figure 4A, col 7, lines 15-26, teaches The substrate may include glass or a polymer resin. The polymer resin may include any suitable polymer resin material, for example, polyethersulfone (PES), polyarylate, polyetherimide (PEI), polyacrylate, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyarylate, polyimide (PI), polycarbonate (PC), cellulose tri acetate (TAC), and cellulose acetate propionate (CAP). The substrate 100 including the polymer resin may be flexible, rollable, or bendable. The substrate may have a multi-layered structure including a layer including the above polymer resin and an inorganic layer) comprising: a transmission area (component area OA, Figure 4A, col 5, lines 61-67, teaches The display device may include a component area, for example, located within, or at least partially within the display area. That is, the component area may be at least partially surrounded by the display area. For example, as shown in FIG. 1, according to some example embodiments, the component area may be entirely surrounded by the display area); and a display area (display area DA, Figure 4A, col 5, lines 66-67, teaches the component area may be entirely surrounded by the display area) surrounding the transmission area; a plurality of pixel circuits (pixel P + pixel circuit PC, Figure 8A, col 10, lines 17-29, teaches the display panel may include a plurality of pixels arranged in the display area. Each pixel may include a display element such as an organic light-emitting diode. Each pixel may emit, for example, red, green, blue, or white light through an organic light-emitting diode. In the present specification, a pixel may be a sub-pixel that emits red, green, blue, or white light as described above. As shown in FIG. 5, a pixel may include a pixel circuit and an organic light-emitting diode OLED electrically connected to the pixel circuit. The pixel circuit may include a plurality of thin film transistors and a storage capacitor) in the display area, and comprising: a first pixel circuit (Figure 8A); and a second pixel circuit (Figure 8A) at a same row as that of the first pixel circuit, and spaced from the first pixel circuit in a first direction with the transmission area therebetween; a first horizontal conductive line (previous scan line SL1, Figure 8A) extending in the first direction, and spaced from the transmission area in a second direction crossing the first direction; a second horizontal conductive line (emission control line EL1, Figure 8A) comprising: a first portion (Figure 8A) extending in the first direction, and overlapping with the first pixel circuit; and a second portion (Figure 8A) extending in the first direction, spaced from the first portion with the transmission area therebetween, and overlapping with the second pixel circuit; a first vertical conductive line (data line DL0 or driving voltage line PL0, Figure 8A) extending in the second direction, overlapping with the first pixel circuit, and electrically connected to the first horizontal conductive line and the first portion of the second horizontal conductive line; and a second vertical conductive line (data line DL7 or driving voltage line PL7, Figure 8A) extending in the second direction, overlapping with the second pixel circuit, and electrically connected to the first horizontal conductive line and the second portion of the second horizontal conductive line, as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) teaches the display panel of claim 1, as claimed. Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) further teaches wherein the first horizontal conductive line and the first vertical conductive line are located at different layers from each other (Figure 7A + 8A, col 16 lines 20-24 + col 16 lines 58-62 + col 17 lines 39-43, teaches A gate insulating layer (see FIG. 7A) may be arranged on the semiconductor layer. The scan line, the previous scan line, the emission control line, and the driving gate electrode may be arranged on the gate insulating layer...An electrode voltage line and the initialization voltage line may be arranged over the scan line, the previous scan line, the emission control line, and the driving gate electrode with a first interlayer insulating layer (see FIG. 7A) including an inorganic material therebetween...The data line, the driving voltage line, the initialization connection line, the node connection line, and a first connection metal may be arranged over the second storage capacitor plate and the electrode voltage line with a second interlayer insulating layer), as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) teaches the display panel of claim 2, as claimed. Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) further teaches further comprising an insulating layer (gate insulating layer IL2 or first interlayer insulating layer IL3, Figure 7A + 8A, col 16, lines 20-24 + 58-62, teaches A gate insulating layer (see FIG. 7A) may be arranged on the semiconductor layer. The scan line, the previous scan line, the emission control line, and the driving gate electrode may be arranged on the gate insulating layer...An electrode voltage line and the initialization voltage line may be arranged over the scan line, the previous scan line, the emission control line, and the driving gate electrode with a first interlayer insulating layer (see FIG. 7A) including an inorganic material therebetween) between the first horizontal conductive line and the first vertical conductive line, wherein the first horizontal conductive line is located below the insulating layer, and the first vertical conductive line is located above the insulating layer, as claimed.
Regarding claim 18, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) teach the display panel of claim 1, as claimed. Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) further teaches wherein the plurality of pixel circuits further comprises: a sixth pixel circuit (pixel P, Figure 8A); and a seventh pixel circuit (pixel P, Figure 8A) spaced from the sixth pixel circuit in the second direction with the transmission area therebetween, and wherein the display panel further comprises a fifth vertical conductive line (driving voltage line 1 - driving voltage line 6, Figure 8A) comprising: a first portion (Figure 8A) extending in the second direction, and overlapping with the sixth pixel circuit; and a second portion (Figure 8A) spaced from the first portion of the fifth vertical conductive line with the transmission area therebetween, extending in the second direction, and overlapping with the seventh pixel circuit, as claimed.
Regarding claim 19, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) teaches A display panel (display panel 10, Figure 4A, Abstract) comprising: a substrate (substrate 100, Figure 4A, col 7, lines 15-26, teaches The substrate may include glass or a polymer resin. The polymer resin may include any suitable polymer resin material, for example, polyethersulfone (PES), polyarylate, polyetherimide (PEI), polyacrylate, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyarylate, polyimide (PI), polycarbonate (PC), cellulose tri acetate (TAC), and cellulose acetate propionate (CAP). The substrate 100 including the polymer resin may be flexible, rollable, or bendable. The substrate may have a multi-layered structure including a layer including the above polymer resin and an inorganic layer) comprising: a transmission area (component area OA, Figure 4A, col 5, lines 61-67, teaches The display device may include a component area, for example, located within, or at least partially within the display area. That is, the component area may be at least partially surrounded by the display area. For example, as shown in FIG. 1, according to some example embodiments, the component area may be entirely surrounded by the display area); and a display area (display area DA, Figure 4A, col 5, lines 66-67, teaches the component area may be entirely surrounded by the display area) surrounding the transmission area; an array of a plurality of pixel circuits (pixel P + pixel circuit PC, Figure 8A, col 10, lines 17-29, teaches the display panel may include a plurality of pixels arranged in the display area. Each pixel may include a display element such as an organic light-emitting diode. Each pixel may emit, for example, red, green, blue, or white light through an organic light-emitting diode. In the present specification, a pixel may be a sub-pixel that emits red, green, blue, or white light as described above. As shown in FIG. 5, a pixel may include a pixel circuit and an organic light-emitting diode OLED electrically connected to the pixel circuit. The pixel circuit may include a plurality of thin film transistors and a storage capacitor) in the display area in a matrix form along a first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction; horizontal conductive lines (voltage initialization lines VL + scan lines SL + emission control lines EL, Figure 8A) extending in the first direction, and located along the second direction; and vertical conductive lines (driving voltage lines PL + data lines DL, Figure 8A) extending in the second direction, and located along the first direction, wherein a first horizontal conductive line (voltage initialization lines VL0 or scan lines SL0 or emission control lines EL0, Figure 8A) configured to transmit a first voltage and a second horizontal conductive line (voltage initialization lines VL0 or scan lines SL0 or emission control lines EL0, Figure 8A) configured to transmit a second voltage from among the horizontal conductive lines overlap with a first row of the array that is spaced from the transmission area in the second direction, wherein a third horizontal conductive line (voltage initialization lines VL1 or scan lines SL1 or emission control lines EL1, Figure 8A) configured to transmit the first voltage and a fourth horizontal conductive line (voltage initialization lines VL1 or scan lines SL1 or emission control lines EL1, Figure 8A) configured to transmit the second voltage from among the horizontal conductive lines overlap with a second row of the array that overlaps with the transmission area, the third horizontal conductive line and the fourth horizontal conductive line each comprising: a first portion (Figure 8A); and a second portion (Figure 8A) spaced from the first portion in the first direction with the transmission area therebetween, wherein a first vertical conductive line (data line DL0 or driving voltage line PL0, Figure 8A) from among the vertical conductive lines overlaps with a first column of the array, is spaced from the transmission area in the first direction, and is electrically connected to the first horizontal conductive line and the first portion of the third horizontal conductive line, wherein a second vertical conductive line (data line DL1 or driving voltage line PL1, Figure 8A) from among the vertical conductive lines overlaps with a second column of the array between the first column and the transmission area, and is electrically connected to the second horizontal conductive line and the first portion of the fourth horizontal conductive line, wherein a third vertical conductive line (data line DL6 or driving voltage line PL6, Figure 8A) from among the vertical conductive lines overlaps with a third column that is spaced from the first column with the transmission area therebetween, and is electrically connected to the first horizontal conductive line and the second portion of the third horizontal conductive line, and wherein a fourth vertical conductive line (data line DL7 or driving voltage line PL7, Figure 8A) from among the vertical conductive lines overlaps with a fourth column that is spaced from the second column with the transmission area therebetween, and is electrically connected to the second horizontal conductive line and the second portion of the fourth horizontal conductive line, as claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) teaches An electronic apparatus (display device 1, Figure 1, col 5, lines 56-67, teaches the display device may include a display area that emits light and a non-display area that does not emit light. The display device may display an image by using light emitted from a plurality of pixels arranged in the display area. The display device may include a component area, for example, located within, or at least partially within the display area. That is, the component area may be at least partially surrounded by the display area. For example, as shown in FIG. 1, according to some example embodiments, the component area may be entirely surrounded by the display area) comprising: a display panel (display panel 10, Figure 4A, Abstract) comprising: a transmission area (component area OA, Figure 4A, col 5, lines 61-67, teaches The display device may include a component area, for example, located within, or at least partially within the display area. That is, the component area may be at least partially surrounded by the display area. For example, as shown in FIG. 1, according to some example embodiments, the component area may be entirely surrounded by the display area); and a display area (display area DA, Figure 4A, col 5, lines 66-67, teaches the component area may be entirely surrounded by the display area) surrounding the transmission area; and a component (component 20, Figure 2A-3C, col 7 line 59 - col 8 line 2, teaches The component may be located in the component area. The component may be an electronic element that uses light or sound. For example, an electronic element may be a sensor such as an infrared sensor that emits and/or receives light, a camera that receives light and captures an image, a sensor that outputs and senses light or sound to measure a distance or recognize a fingerprint, a small lamp that outputs light, or a speaker that outputs sound. An electronic element that uses light may use light in various wavelength bands such as visible light, infrared light, and ultraviolet light) on a back surface of the display panel, and corresponding to the transmission area, wherein the display panel further comprises: a plurality of pixel circuits (pixel P + pixel circuit PC, Figure 8A, col 10, lines 17-29, teaches the display panel may include a plurality of pixels arranged in the display area. Each pixel may include a display element such as an organic light-emitting diode. Each pixel may emit, for example, red, green, blue, or white light through an organic light-emitting diode. In the present specification, a pixel may be a sub-pixel that emits red, green, blue, or white light as described above. As shown in FIG. 5, a pixel may include a pixel circuit and an organic light-emitting diode OLED electrically connected to the pixel circuit. The pixel circuit may include a plurality of thin film transistors and a storage capacitor) in the display area, and comprising: a first pixel circuit (Figure 8A); and a second pixel circuit (Figure 8A) located in a same row as that of the first pixel circuit, and spaced from the first pixel circuit in a first direction with the transmission area therebetween; a first horizontal conductive line (previous scan line SL1, Figure 8A) extending in the first direction, and spaced from the transmission area in a second direction crossing the first direction; a second horizontal conductive line (emission control line EL1, Figure 8A) comprising: a first portion (Figure 8A) extending in the first direction, and overlapping with the first pixel circuit; and a second portion (Figure 8A) spaced from the first portion with the transmission area therebetween, extending in the first direction, and overlapping with the second pixel circuit; a first vertical conductive line (data line DL0 or driving voltage line PL0, Figure 8A) extending in the second direction, overlapping with the first pixel circuit, and electrically connected to the first horizontal conductive line and the first portion of the second horizontal conductive line; and a second vertical conductive line (data line DL7 or driving voltage line PL7, Figure 8A) extending in the second direction, overlapping with the second pixel circuit, and electrically connected to the first horizontal conductive line and the second portion of the second horizontal conductive line, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-8, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) in view of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0220840A1).
Regarding claim 4, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) teach the display panel of claim 1, as claimed. Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) further teaches wherein the plurality of pixel circuits further comprises: a third pixel circuit at the same row as that of the first pixel circuit and the second pixel circuit (pixel P + pixel circuit PC, Figure 8A, teaches while not explicitly shown it is understood that additional pixels exist extending in the same row, and other rows, beyond the 0th and 7th column surrounding the component area in the display area. MPEP 2144.01 states, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) (A process for catalytically producing carbon disulfide by reacting sulfur vapor and methane in the presence of charcoal at a temperature of "about 750-830°C" was found to be met by a reference which expressly taught the same process at 700°C because the reference recognized the possibility of using temperatures greater than 750°C. The reference disclosed that catalytic processes for converting methane with sulfur vapors into carbon disulfide at temperatures greater than 750°C (albeit without charcoal) was known, and that 700°C was "much lower than had previously proved feasible."); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) (Reference disclosure of a compound where the R-S-R' portion has "at least one methylene group attached to the sulfur atom" implies that the other R group attached to the sulfur atom can be other than methylene and therefore suggests asymmetric dialkyl moieties.)); and a fourth pixel circuit (pixel P + pixel circuit PC, Figure 8A, teaches while not explicitly shown it is understood that additional pixels exist extending in the same row, and other rows, beyond the 0th and 7th column around the component area in the display area. MPEP 2144.01 states, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) (A process for catalytically producing carbon disulfide by reacting sulfur vapor and methane in the presence of charcoal at a temperature of "about 750-830°C" was found to be met by a reference which expressly taught the same process at 700°C because the reference recognized the possibility of using temperatures greater than 750°C. The reference disclosed that catalytic processes for converting methane with sulfur vapors into carbon disulfide at temperatures greater than 750°C (albeit without charcoal) was known, and that 700°C was "much lower than had previously proved feasible."); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) (Reference disclosure of a compound where the R-S-R' portion has "at least one methylene group attached to the sulfur atom" implies that the other R group attached to the sulfur atom can be other than methylene and therefore suggests asymmetric dialkyl moieties.)) at the same row as that of the first pixel circuit and the second pixel circuit, and spaced from the third pixel circuit in the first direction with the transmission area therebetween; a third vertical conductive line (data line DL or driving voltage line PL, Figure 8A, teaches while not explicitly shown it is understood that additional vertical lines extending in the second direction to connect pixels in the same column exist with similar properties to the other data or driving voltage lines. MPEP 2144.01 states, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) (A process for catalytically producing carbon disulfide by reacting sulfur vapor and methane in the presence of charcoal at a temperature of "about 750-830°C" was found to be met by a reference which expressly taught the same process at 700°C because the reference recognized the possibility of using temperatures greater than 750°C. The reference disclosed that catalytic processes for converting methane with sulfur vapors into carbon disulfide at temperatures greater than 750°C (albeit without charcoal) was known, and that 700°C was "much lower than had previously proved feasible."); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) (Reference disclosure of a compound where the R-S-R' portion has "at least one methylene group attached to the sulfur atom" implies that the other R group attached to the sulfur atom can be other than methylene and therefore suggests asymmetric dialkyl moieties.)) extending in the second direction, overlapping with the third pixel circuit, and electrically connected to the third horizontal conductive line and the first portion of the fourth horizontal conductive line; and a fourth vertical conductive line (data line DL or driving voltage line PL, Figure 8A, teaches while not explicitly shown it is understood that additional vertical lines extending in the second direction to connect pixels in the same column exist with similar properties to the other data or driving voltage lines. MPEP 2144.01 states, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) (A process for catalytically producing carbon disulfide by reacting sulfur vapor and methane in the presence of charcoal at a temperature of "about 750-830°C" was found to be met by a reference which expressly taught the same process at 700°C because the reference recognized the possibility of using temperatures greater than 750°C. The reference disclosed that catalytic processes for converting methane with sulfur vapors into carbon disulfide at temperatures greater than 750°C (albeit without charcoal) was known, and that 700°C was "much lower than had previously proved feasible."); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) (Reference disclosure of a compound where the R-S-R' portion has "at least one methylene group attached to the sulfur atom" implies that the other R group attached to the sulfur atom can be other than methylene and therefore suggests asymmetric dialkyl moieties.)) extending in the second direction, overlapping with the fourth pixel circuit, and electrically connected to the third horizontal conductive line and the second portion of the fourth horizontal conductive line.
Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) are silent to teach wherein the display panel further comprises: a third horizontal conductive line extending in the first direction, and spaced from the transmission area in the second direction; a fourth horizontal conductive line comprising: a first portion extending in the first direction, and overlapping with the third pixel circuit; and a second portion spaced from the first portion of the fourth horizontal conductive line with the transmission area therebetween, extending in the first direction, and overlapping with the fourth pixel circuit.
In an analogous art, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0220840A1) teaches wherein the display panel further comprises: a third horizontal conductive line (first voltage wirings VL_2n+1, Figure 7) extending in the first direction, and spaced from the transmission area (transmission area TA, Figure 7) in the second direction; a fourth horizontal conductive line (first voltage wirings VL_2n+2 + second voltage wiring VL'_2n+2, Figure 7) comprising: a first portion (second voltage wiring VL'_2n+2, Figure 7) extending in the first direction, and overlapping with the third pixel circuit; and a second portion (second voltage wiring VL_2n+2, Figure 7) spaced from the first portion of the fourth horizontal conductive line with the transmission area therebetween, extending in the first direction, and overlapping with the fourth pixel circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) with the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0220840A1) thereby having a wiring arrangement connecting additional pixels to common voltage sources and not in the transmission area.
Regarding claim 5, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) and Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0220840A1) teach the display panel of claim 4, as claimed. Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) further teaches wherein the third vertical conductive line (Figure 8A, teaches while not explicitly shown it is understood that additional vertical lines extending in the second direction to connect pixels in the same column exist with a similar configuration to the other data or driving voltage lines. MPEP 2144.01 states, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) (A process for catalytically producing carbon disulfide by reacting sulfur vapor and methane in the presence of charcoal at a temperature of "about 750-830°C" was found to be met by a reference which expressly taught the same process at 700°C because the reference recognized the possibility of using temperatures greater than 750°C. The reference disclosed that catalytic processes for converting methane with sulfur vapors into carbon disulfide at temperatures greater than 750°C (albeit without charcoal) was known, and that 700°C was "much lower than had previously proved feasible."); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) (Reference disclosure of a compound where the R-S-R' portion has "at least one methylene group attached to the sulfur atom" implies that the other R group attached to the sulfur atom can be other than methylene and therefore suggests asymmetric dialkyl moieties.)) does not overlap with the first pixel circuit, and the fourth vertical conductive line does not overlap with the second pixel circuit, as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) and Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0220840A1) teach the display panel of claim 4, as claimed. Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) and Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0220840A1) further teaches wherein the third horizontal conductive line and the third vertical conductive line are located at different layers from each other (Figure 7A + 8A, col 16 lines 20-24 + col 16 lines 58-62 + col 17, lines 39-43, teaches A gate insulating layer (see FIG. 7A) may be arranged on the semiconductor layer. The scan line, the previous scan line, the emission control line, and the driving gate electrode may be arranged on the gate insulating layer...An electrode voltage line and the initialization voltage line may be arranged over the scan line, the previous scan line, the emission control line, and the driving gate electrode with a first interlayer insulating layer (see FIG. 7A) including an inorganic material therebetween...The data line, the driving voltage line, the initialization connection line, the node connection line, and a first connection metal may be arranged over the second storage capacitor plate and the electrode voltage line with a second interlayer insulating layer. While not explicitly shown it is understood that additional vertical lines extending in the second direction to connect pixels in the same column exist with a similar configuration to the other data or driving voltage lines. MPEP 2144.01 states, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) (A process for catalytically producing carbon disulfide by reacting sulfur vapor and methane in the presence of charcoal at a temperature of "about 750-830°C" was found to be met by a reference which expressly taught the same process at 700°C because the reference recognized the possibility of using temperatures greater than 750°C. The reference disclosed that catalytic processes for converting methane with sulfur vapors into carbon disulfide at temperatures greater than 750°C (albeit without charcoal) was known, and that 700°C was "much lower than had previously proved feasible."); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) (Reference disclosure of a compound where the R-S-R' portion has "at least one methylene group attached to the sulfur atom" implies that the other R group attached to the sulfur atom can be other than methylene and therefore suggests asymmetric dialkyl moieties.)), as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) and Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0220840A1) teach the display panel of claim 4, as claimed. Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) further teaches wherein the third vertical conductive line is located at a same layer as that of the first vertical conductive line (Figure 7B + 8A, teaches a pixel with a driving voltage line located in a single layer; while not explicitly shown for every pixel it is understood that all pixels share similar properties and configurations. MPEP 2144.01 states, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) (A process for catalytically producing carbon disulfide by reacting sulfur vapor and methane in the presence of charcoal at a temperature of "about 750-830°C" was found to be met by a reference which expressly taught the same process at 700°C because the reference recognized the possibility of using temperatures greater than 750°C. The reference disclosed that catalytic processes for converting methane with sulfur vapors into carbon disulfide at temperatures greater than 750°C (albeit without charcoal) was known, and that 700°C was "much lower than had previously proved feasible."); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) (Reference disclosure of a compound where the R-S-R' portion has "at least one methylene group attached to the sulfur atom" implies that the other R group attached to the sulfur atom can be other than methylene and therefore suggests asymmetric dialkyl moieties.)), as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) and Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0220840A1) teach the display panel of claim 4, as claimed. Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) further teaches wherein the plurality of pixel circuits further comprises a fifth pixel circuit (pixel P + pixel circuit PC, Figure 8A, teaches while not explicitly shown it is understood that additional pixels exist extending in the same row, and other rows, beyond the 0th and 7th column surrounding the component area in the display area. MPEP 2144.01 states, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) (A process for catalytically producing carbon disulfide by reacting sulfur vapor and methane in the presence of charcoal at a temperature of "about 750-830°C" was found to be met by a reference which expressly taught the same process at 700°C because the reference recognized the possibility of using temperatures greater than 750°C. The reference disclosed that catalytic processes for converting methane with sulfur vapors into carbon disulfide at temperatures greater than 750°C (albeit without charcoal) was known, and that 700°C was "much lower than had previously proved feasible."); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) (Reference disclosure of a compound where the R-S-R' portion has "at least one methylene group attached to the sulfur atom" implies that the other R group attached to the sulfur atom can be other than methylene and therefore suggests asymmetric dialkyl moieties.)) between the first pixel circuit and the third pixel circuit, and wherein the display panel further comprises a common voltage line (data line DL or driving voltage line PL, Figure 8A, teaches while not explicitly shown it is understood that additional vertical lines extending in the second direction to connect pixels in the same column exist with similar properties and configuration to the other data or driving voltage lines. MPEP 2144.01 states, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) (A process for catalytically producing carbon disulfide by reacting sulfur vapor and methane in the presence of charcoal at a temperature of "about 750-830°C" was found to be met by a reference which expressly taught the same process at 700°C because the reference recognized the possibility of using temperatures greater than 750°C. The reference disclosed that catalytic processes for converting methane with sulfur vapors into carbon disulfide at temperatures greater than 750°C (albeit without charcoal) was known, and that 700°C was "much lower than had previously proved feasible."); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) (Reference disclosure of a compound where the R-S-R' portion has "at least one methylene group attached to the sulfur atom" implies that the other R group attached to the sulfur atom can be other than methylene and therefore suggests asymmetric dialkyl moieties.)) extending in the second direction, and overlapping with the fifth pixel circuit, as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) and Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0220840A1) teach the display panel of claim 12, as claimed. Cha (US Patent No 11,257,897) further teaches wherein the common voltage line is located at a same layer as that of the first vertical conductive line and the third vertical conductive line (Figure 7B + 8A, teaches a pixel with a driving voltage line located in a single layer; while not explicitly shown for every pixel it is understood that all pixels share similar properties and configurations. MPEP 2144.01 states, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) (A process for catalytically producing carbon disulfide by reacting sulfur vapor and methane in the presence of charcoal at a temperature of "about 750-830°C" was found to be met by a reference which expressly taught the same process at 700°C because the reference recognized the possibility of using temperatures greater than 750°C. The reference disclosed that catalytic processes for converting methane with sulfur vapors into carbon disulfide at temperatures greater than 750°C (albeit without charcoal) was known, and that 700°C was "much lower than had previously proved feasible."); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) (Reference disclosure of a compound where the R-S-R' portion has "at least one methylene group attached to the sulfur atom" implies that the other R group attached to the sulfur atom can be other than methylene and therefore suggests asymmetric dialkyl moieties.)), as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 9-11, and 14-15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the combination of the second horizontal conductive line being configured to transmit a bias voltage to the first to fourth pixel circuits, and the fourth horizontal conductive line being configured to transmit an initialization voltage to the first to fourth pixel circuits in claim 6.
The first portion of the second horizontal conductive line overlaps with the first vertical conductive line and the third vertical conductive line, is electrically connected to the first vertical conductive line, and is electrically isolated from the third vertical conductive line, and wherein the first portion of the fourth horizontal conductive line overlaps with the first vertical conductive line and the third vertical conductive line, is electrically isolated from the first vertical conductive line, and is electrically connected to the third vertical conductive line in claim 9
The first vertical conductive line comprising: a first protrusion overlapping with the first horizontal conductive line; and a second protrusion overlapping with the third horizontal conductive line, wherein the first vertical conductive line is electrically connected to the first horizontal conductive line through a contact hole located directly below the first protrusion of the first vertical conductive line, and wherein a contact hole is not located directly below the second protrusion of the first vertical conductive line in claim 10
The third vertical conductive line comprising: a first protrusion overlapping with the first horizontal conductive line; and a second protrusion overlapping with the third horizontal conductive line, wherein the third vertical conductive line is electrically connected to the third horizontal conductive line through a contact hole located directly below the second protrusion of the third vertical conductive line, and wherein a contact hole is not located directly below the first protrusion of the third vertical conductive line in claim 11.
The common voltage line overlaps with the first portion of the second horizontal conductive line and the first portion of the fourth horizontal conductive line, and is electrically isolated from the first portion of the second horizontal conductive line and the first portion of the fourth horizontal conductive line in claim 14.
The common voltage line comprising: a first protrusion overlapping with the first horizontal conductive line; and a second protrusion overlapping with the third horizontal conductive line, and wherein a contact hole is not located directly below the first protrusion and the second protrusion of the common voltage line in claim 15.
Conclusion
/KAREEM M MOHAMED-ALY/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898