Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's amendment/arguments filed on 7/6/26 as being acknowledged and entered. By this amendment claims 8, 14, 17, and 20 are canceled, claims 23-24 have been added and claims 1-7, 9-13, 15-16, 18-19 and 21-24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teh et al. (US Patent 9,190,380).
Claim 1: Teh teaches (Fig. 4A-4G; 6A-6E) a method of forming a package structure, comprising: providing a first die (102A) and a second die (102B); forming a dielectric layer (108A) on the first die and the second die, and patterning the dielectric layer to form a connector opening (128A); electrically connecting a bridge to the first die and the second die through connectors (116A-D) disposed in the connector opening; after electrically connecting the bridge to the first die and the second die, forming an underfill (118) layer in the connector opening between the first die and the bridge as well as between the second die and the bridge to encapsulates the connectors; forming an encapsulant (108B/108C) on the dielectric layer and laterally encapsulating the bridge; and forming a redistribution layer (RDL) structure (Fig. 4G/6E) over the encapsulant and the bridge.
Claim 2: Teh teaches (Fig. 6A-6E) a top surface of the bridge is in contact with the RDL structure.
Claim 3: Teh teaches (Fig. 4A-4G; 6A-6E) the encapsulant is sandwiched between the dielectric layer and the RDL structure.
Claim 4: Teh teaches (Fig. 4A-4G; 6A-6E) wherein the encapsulant and the bridge are sandwiched between the dielectric layer and the RDL structure.
Claim 5: Teh teaches (Fig. 4A-4G; 6A-6E) patterning the dielectric layer to form a first opening (124) and a second opening (124) aside the connector opening, wherein the first opening exposes a first connector of the first die, and the second opening exposes a second connector of the second die.
Claim 9: Teh teaches (Fig. 4A-4G; 6A-6E) the underfill layer separates the connectors from the dielectric layer
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach the physical relationship between the underfill, encapsulant and dielectric layer described in these claims. The prior art of record does not teach the claimed combination of the dielectric layer, underfill, and encapsulant and they relationship to the die and bridge.
Claims 11-13, 15-16, 18-19 and 21-24 are allowable over the prior art. Regarding, both claims, added underlined limitations in conjunction with the previously presented subject matter are not taught by the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814