DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MASUDA et al. (WO 2013118734 A1, “MASUDA”).
Regarding claim 1, MASUDA discloses (Fig. 1) a conductive sheet (1), comprising a conductive sheet body, the conductive sheet body having a flat ribbon structure (See Fig. 1), and the conductive sheet body satisfying the following condition: ω∈{[1+(б–б0)/б]б0/k(δ+8)], 50[1+(б–б0)/б]б0/k(δ+8)]} wherein ω represents a width of the conductive sheet body, measured in mm; δ represents a thickness of the conductive sheet body, measured in mm; б represents a standard conductivity percentage of a pure copper material, and has a value of 100% IACS; б0 represents a conductivity percentage of the conductive sheet body, measured in % International Annealed Copper Standard, IACS; k is about 1.07% IACS/mm2 (see Fig.1 and description: "aluminum alloy sheet', "conductivity: 45% IACS or more ... preferably 60% !ACS or less", "a strip-shaped test piece (test piece thickness: 2mm) having a width of 10 mm"; applying the formula to an aluminum busbar with a thickness of 2 mm and a conductivity of 60% IACS, a width range of 7.85 mm to 392.52 mm is obtained, which includes the disclosed value of 10 mm); and the conductivity percentage of the conductive sheet body is about 55% IACS to about 80% IACS (See the abstract).
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dawson et al. (US 20210134480 A1, “Dawson”)
Regarding claim 1, Dawson discloses (Fig. 3B, 7A-F) a conductive sheet (20, 1000, 68a, 100), comprising a conductive sheet body, the conductive sheet body having a flat ribbon structure (See Fig. 3B and 7F), and the conductive sheet body satisfying the following condition: ω∈{[1+(б–б0)/б]б0/k(δ+8)], 50[1+(б–б0)/б]б0/k(δ+8)]} wherein ω represents a width of the conductive sheet body, measured in mm; δ represents a thickness of the conductive sheet body, measured in mm; б represents a standard conductivity percentage of a pure copper material, and has a value of 100% IACS; б0 represents a conductivity percentage of the conductive sheet body, measured in % International Annealed Copper Standard, IACS; k is about 1.07% IACS/mm2 (Fig.3B, Fig.7F and description, paragraph 0029: "the busbar model 100 from a single material ... aluminum" and 0135: "the conductors contained within the exemplary non-engineering busbar models ... may be solid, have a substantially constant thickness of 0.01 inches or .254 mms ... and a width that is .78 inches or 20 mm"; applying the formula to an aluminum busbar with a thickness of 0.254 mm and a conductivity of 61 % IACS (corresponding to aluminum), a width range of 7 mm to 327 mm is obtained, which includes the disclosed value of 20 mm;) and the conductivity percentage of the conductive sheet body is about 55% IACS to about 80% IACS (See para [0131] – [0132]).
Regarding claim 2, Dawson discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 1, wherein the conductive sheet body (20, 1000, 68a, 100) is a ribbon structure extending along a straight line or a ribbon structure extending along a broken line (See Fig. 13B, 7F para [0138]).
Regarding claim 3, Dawson discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 1, wherein the conductive sheet body comprises a first terminal connection section, an extension section, a transition section, and a second terminal connection section that are integrally formed (See annotated Figure below), the first terminal connection section is located at one end of the extension section, the first terminal connection section and the extension section are connected at an angle of about 45° to about 135°, the second terminal connection section and the extension section are arranged side by side in a staggered manner, the transition section is connected between an end of the second terminal connection section and another end of the extension section, and the transition section and the extension section are connected at an angle of about 45° to about 135° (See annotated Figure below).
Regarding claim 4, Dawson discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 3, wherein connection positions between the first terminal connection section, the extension section, the transition section, and the second terminal connection section are all arranged as rounded corners (See annotated Figure above).
Regarding claim 13, Dawson discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 1, wherein the conductive sheet body is selected from one or more of aluminum, aluminum alloy, magnesium, magnesium alloy, iron, ferroalloy, nickel, or nickel alloy (See para [0131]).
Regarding claim 17, Dawson discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 2, wherein the conductive sheet body comprises a first terminal connection section, an extension section, a transition section, and a second terminal connection section that are integrally formed (See annotated Figure below), the first terminal connection section is located at one end of the extension section, the first terminal connection section and the extension section are connected at an angle of about 45° to about 135°, the second terminal connection section and the extension section are arranged side by side in a staggered manner, the transition section is connected between an end of the second terminal connection section and another end of the extension section, and the transition section and the extension section are connected at an angle of about 45° to about 135° (See annotated Figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawson et al. (US 20210134480 A1, “Dawson”) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2015/0303027).
Regarding claim 6, 19, Dawson et al. does not disclose wherein a positioning groove is provided on a side of the second terminal connection section. However, Kobayashi et al. discloses a positioning groove(fig 2, 16) is provided on the side of the second terminal connection section((Fig 2, 18a, 18b) It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art a the time of the invention to use a positioning groove on a side of the second terminal connection section as shown by Kobayashi et al, with the conductive bar of Dawson et al. since as shown by Kobayashi et al. using a positioning groove on a side of the second terminal connection section is commonly used for aligning conductive member to ensure a proper electrical connection,
Claim(s) 5, 15 – 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawson et al. (US 20210134480 A1, “Dawson”)
Regarding claim 5, Dawson discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 3, Dawson is silent in this embodiment on wherein the extension section is provided with a positioning hole, the first terminal connection section is provided with a first connecting hole, and the second terminal connection section is provided with a second connecting hole.
However, Dawson discloses (Fig. 1A and 1B) wherein the extension section is provided with a positioning hole, the first terminal connection section is provided with a first connecting hole, and the second terminal connection section is provided with a second connecting hole (these are just slight constructional changes which come within the scope of the customary practice followed by persons skilled in the art, especially as the advantages thus achieved (to facilitate the fixation and connection of the conductor) can be readily contemplated in advance.)
Regarding claim 15, A conductive strip, obtained by bending the conductive sheet according to claim 1 (Dawson discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 1, Dawson also discloses that the conductive sheet can be bent (see para [0138]), hence, form a conductive strip).
Regarding claim 16, Dawson discloses an electrical connector for a vehicle, comprising: one or more conductive strips according to claim 15, configured for connection between electrical devices inside the vehicle (See para [0128]).
Regarding claim 18, Dawson discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 4,
Dawson is silent in this embodiment on wherein the extension section is provided with a positioning hole, the first terminal connection section is provided with a first connecting hole, and the second terminal connection section is provided with a second connecting hole.
However, Dawson discloses (Fig. 1A and 1B) wherein the extension section is provided with a positioning hole, the first terminal connection section is provided with a first connecting hole, and the second terminal connection section is provided with a second connecting hole (these are just slight constructional changes which come within the scope of the customary practice followed by persons skilled in the art, especially as the advantages thus achieved (to facilitate the fixation and connection of the conductor) can be readily contemplated in advance.)
Claim(s) 7 – 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawson et al. (US 20210134480 A1, “Dawson”) in view of AL-BADANI (US 20240195023 A1, “AL-BADANI”).
Regarding claim 7, Dawson discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 1, wherein the surface of the conductive sheet body is provided with a copper layer (See para [0132]) and a nickel layer, the copper layer is located on a surface of the conductive sheet body (See para [0132]),
Dawson is silent on a nickel layer and the nickel layer is located on a surface of the copper layer that faces away from the conductive sheet body.
However, AL-BADANI discloses a nickel layer and the nickel layer is located on a surface of the copper layer that faces away from the conductive sheet body (See para [0027], [0086] and [0091]).
Dawson and AL-BADANI are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of conductive sheet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dawson to incorporate the teachings of AL-BADANI and provide a nickel layer and the nickel layer is located on a surface of the copper layer that faces away from the conductive sheet body (See para [0027], [0086] and [0091]). Doing so would prevent oxidation (para [0091]).
Regarding claim 8, Dawson in view of AL-BADANI discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 7, wherein the copper layer has a thickness of about 10
μ
m
to about 30
μ
m
, and AL-BADANI further discloses the nickel layer has a thickness of about 4
μ
m
to about 20
μ
m
(See para [0026] and [0065]).
REF A discloses the claimed invention except for “the copper layer has a thickness of about 10
μ
m
to about 30
μ
m
” . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (?), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, para [0018] and [0072] applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 9, Dawson in view of AL-BADANI discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 7, wherein the copper layer (Discloses by Dawson para [0132]) and the nickel layer (Discloses by AL-BADANI para [0086])are applied on the conductive sheet body through electroplating.
Regarding claim 10, Dawson in view of AL-BADANI discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 7, wherein the nickel layer has a conductivity percentage greater than about 58% and a peel strength of about 30 N/mm (The prior arts provide the same material with the same thickness range, inherently will have the same property).
Regarding claim 20, Dawson discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 6, wherein the surface of the conductive sheet body is provided with a copper layer (See para [0132]) and a nickel layer, the copper layer is located on a surface of the conductive sheet body (See para [0132]),
Dawson is silent on a nickel layer and the nickel layer is located on a surface of the copper layer that faces away from the conductive sheet body.
However, AL-BADANI discloses a nickel layer and the nickel layer is located on a surface of the copper layer that faces away from the conductive sheet body (See para [0027], [0086] and [0091]).
Dawson and AL-BADANI are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of conductive sheet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dawson to incorporate the teachings of AL-BADANI and provide a nickel layer and the nickel layer is located on a surface of the copper layer that faces away from the conductive sheet body (See para [0027], [0086] and [0091]). Doing so would prevent oxidation (para [0091]).
Claim(s) 11 – 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawson et al. (US 20210134480 A1, “Dawson”) in view of AL-BADANI (US 20240195023 A1, “AL-BADANI”) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Abe et al. (US 20200227897 A1, “Abe”)
.
Regarding claim 11, Dawson in view of AL-BADANI discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 7,
Dawson in view of AL-BADANI is silent on wherein the surface of the conductive sheet body further comprises an insulating coating, and the insulating coating is located on a surface of the nickel layer that faces away from the conductive sheet body.
However, Abe discloses (Fig. 1 and 2) wherein the surface of the conductive sheet body (10) further comprises an insulating coating (20), and the insulating coating is located on a surface of the nickel layer that faces away from the conductive sheet body (See Fig. 2).
Dawson in view of AL-BADANI and Abe are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of conductive sheet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dawson in view of AL-BADANI to incorporate the teachings of Abe and provide wherein the surface of the conductive sheet body (10) further comprises an insulating coating (20), and the insulating coating is located on a surface of the nickel layer that faces away from the conductive sheet body (See Fig. 2). Doing so would provide protection and insulates the conductive body (para [0024], [0038] and [0039]).
Regarding claim 12, Dawson in view of AL-BADANI and Abe discloses the conductive sheet according to claim 11, wherein Abe further discloses a thickness of the insulating coating is about 0.2 mm to about 0.7 mm (See para [0024]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847