DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 12-13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0096900, hereinafter referred to as Bao).
As to claim 1, Bao teaches 1. A device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate; a first semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a first work function metal (WFM) structure disposed over the first semiconductor fin structure, wherein the first WFM structure has a first thickness and has a first number of sub-layers; a second semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; and a second WFM structure disposed over the second semiconductor fin structure, wherein the second WFM structure has a second thickness and has a second number of sub-layers; wherein: the first thickness is different from the second thickness; or the second number of sub-layers is different from the first number of sub-layers. [see Fig. 5 for example; ¶0020~0024]
As to claim 2, Bao teaches 2. The device of claim 1, wherein: the first semiconductor fin structure includes a p-type channel; and the second semiconductor fin structure includes an n-type channel. [see 166 and 168 in Fig. 5 for example]
As to claim 3, Bao teaches 3. The device of claim 2, wherein the first thickness is less than the second thickness. [see Fig. 5 for example]
As to claim 4, Bao teaches 4. The device of claim 2, wherein the first number of sub-layers is less than the second number of sub-layers. [see Fig. 5 for example]
As to claim 5, Bao teaches 5. The device of claim 4, wherein: the second WFM structure includes a first sub-layer and a second sub-layer; and the first WFM structure includes the first sub-layer but not the second sub-layer. [see Fig. 5 for example]
As to claim 6, Bao teaches 6. The device of claim 5, wherein: the first sub-layer is a p-type WFM sub-layer; and the second sub-layer is an n-type WFM sub-layer. [see Fig. 5 for example]
As to claim 12, Bao teaches 12. The device of claim 1, further comprising a fill metal structure disposed over both the first WFM structure and the second WFM structure. [see 156 in Fig. 5 for example]
As to claim 13, Bao teaches 13. A device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate; a first channel that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a first work function metal (WFM) structure disposed over the first channel, wherein the first WFM structure includes a p-type WFM layer; a second channel that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a second WFM structure disposed over the second channel, wherein the second channel includes the p-type WFM layer and an n-type WFM layer, and wherein no portion of the n-type WFM layer is located in the first WFM structure; and a fill metal structure disposed over both the first WFM structure and the second WFM structure. [see Fig. 5 for example]
As to claim 17, Bao teaches 17. The device of claim 13, wherein: the fill metal structure is in direct contact with the p-type WFM layer; and the n-type WFM layer is disposed below the p-type WFM layer. [see 156 in Fig. 5 for example]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Claim 7-11, 14-16, 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bao in view of Lin et al. (U.S. Patent 9,530,778, hereinafter referred to as Lin)
As to claim 7, Bao may not explicitly teach 7. The device of claim 1, further comprising: a third semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; and a third work WFM structure disposed over the third semiconductor fin structure, wherein: the third WFM structure has a third thickness and has a third number of sub-layers; the third thickness is different from the second thickness and the first thickness; or the third number of sub-layers is different from the second number of sub-layers and the second number of sub-layers.
Lin teaches this limitation [see 110, 120, 130, 140, and 150 in Fig. 12 for example]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Bao and Lin to “use different metal layers associated to provide different threshold voltages for FET devices " in Bao according to Lin, for the further advantage of “improving functionalities and performances without increasing process complexity”. […According to the semiconductors having metal gate and manufacturing method thereof provided by the present invention, different metal layers are associated to provide different threshold voltages for FET devices of the same conductivity type and thus requirement for different functions is complied. Furthermore, the semiconductor devices having metal gate and manufacturing method thereof provided by the present invention can be integrated with not only planar FET device fabrication process but also non-planar FET device fabrication process. Briefly speaking, the semiconductors having metal gate and manufacturing method thereof provided by the present invention is able to improve functionalities and performances without increasing process complexity…c9 L54~67]
As to claim 8, Bao and Lin teaches 8. The device of claim 7, wherein the third thickness is greater than the second thickness and the first thickness. [see 110, 120, 130, 140, and 150 in Fig. 12 for example; Lin]
As to claim 9, Bao and Lin teaches 9. The device of claim 7, wherein the third number of sub-layers is greater than the second number of sub-layers and the first number of sub-layers. [see 110, 120, 130, 140, and 150 in Fig. 12 for example; Lin]
As to claim 10, Bao and Lin teaches 10. The device of claim 7, wherein: the first WFM structure, the second WFM structure, and the third WFM structure each contains a first p-type WFM sub-layer; the third WFM structure and the second WFM structure, but not the first WFM structure, each contains an n-type WFM sub-layer; and the third WFM structure, but not the first WFM structure or the second WFM structure, contains a second p-type WFM sub-layer different from the first p-type WFM sub-layer. [see 110, 120, 130, 140, and 150 in Fig. 12 for example; Lin]
As to claim 11, Bao and Lin teaches 11. The device of claim 7, wherein the third semiconductor fin structure has a same type of conductivity as the second semiconductor fin structure but a different type of conductivity than the first semiconductor fin structure. [see 110, 120, 130, 140, and 150 in Fig. 12 for example; Lin]
As to claim 14, Bao and Lin teaches 14. The device of claim 13, wherein the p-type WFM layer is a first p-type WFM layer, and wherein the device further comprises: a third channel that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a third WFM structure disposed over the third channel, wherein the third channel includes the first p-type WFM layer, the n-type WFM layer, and a second p-type WFM layer different from the first p-type WFM layer, and wherein no portion of the second p-type WFM layer is located in the first WFM structure or in the second WFM structure. [see 110, 120, 130, 140, and 150 in Fig. 12 for example; Lin]
As to claim 15, Bao and Lin teaches 15. The device of claim 14, wherein: the first channel is a p-type channel; and the second channel and the third channel are n-type channels. [see 110, 120, 130, 140, and 150 in Fig. 12 for example; Lin]
As to claim 16, Bao and Lin teaches 16. The device of claim 14, wherein the third channel is located between the first channel and the second channel in a cross-sectional side view. [see 110, 120, 130, 140, and 150 in Fig. 12 for example; Lin]
As to claim 18, Bao and Lin teaches 18. A device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate; a first semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a first work function metal (WFM) structure disposed over the first semiconductor fin structure, wherein the first WFM structure has a first thickness and has a first number of sub-layers; a second semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a second WFM structure disposed over the second semiconductor fin structure, wherein the second WFM structure has a second thickness and has a second number of sub-layers; a third semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a third WFM structure disposed over the second semiconductor fin structure, wherein the third WFM structure has a third thickness and has a third number of sub-layers; wherein: the third thickness is greater than the second thickness; the second thickness is greater than the first thickness; the third number of sub-layers is greater than the second number of sub-layers; and the second number of sub-layers is greater than the first number of sub-layers. [see Fig. 5 for example; ¶0020~0024; Bao and see 110, 120, 130, 140, and 150 in Fig. 12 for example; Lin]
As to claim 19, Bao and Lin teaches 19. The device of claim 18, wherein an n-type WFM layer is implemented in the second WFM structure and the third WFM structure, but not in the first WFM structure. [see 110, 120, 130, 140, and 150 in Fig. 12 for example; Lin]
As to claim 20, Bao and Lin teaches 20. The device of claim 18, wherein a glue metal layer is implemented as a topmost one of the sub-layers in each of the first WFM structure, the second WFM structure, and the third WFM structure. [see 110, 120, 130, 140, and 150 in Fig. 12 for example; Lin]
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected as explained above.
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAEHWAN OH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899