DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0118888, hereinafter referred to as Bao).
As to claim 1, Bao teaches 1. A device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate; a first semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a first work function metal (WFM) structure disposed over the first semiconductor fin structure, wherein the first WFM structure has a first thickness and has a first number of sub-layers; a second semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; and a second WFM structure disposed over the second semiconductor fin structure, wherein the second WFM structure has a second thickness and has a second number of sub-layers; wherein: the first thickness is different from the second thickness; or the second number of sub-layers is different from the first number of sub-layers. [see Fig. 15 for example; ¶0050~0053]
As to claim 2, Bao teaches 2. The device of claim 1, wherein: the first semiconductor fin structure includes a p-type channel; and the second semiconductor fin structure includes an n-type channel. [see 210 and 240 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 3, Bao teaches 3. The device of claim 2, wherein the first thickness is less than the second thickness. [see 210 and 240 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 4, Bao teaches 4. The device of claim 2, wherein the first number of sub-layers is less than the second number of sub-layers. [see 210 and 240 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 5, Bao teaches 5. The device of claim 4, wherein: the second WFM structure includes a first sub-layer and a second sub-layer; and the first WFM structure includes the first sub-layer but not the second sub-layer. [see 210 and 240 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 6, Bao teaches 6. The device of claim 5, wherein: the first sub-layer is a p-type WFM sub-layer; and the second sub-layer is an n-type WFM sub-layer. [see 210 and 240 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 7, Bao teaches 7. The device of claim 1, further comprising: a third semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; and a third work WFM structure disposed over the third semiconductor fin structure, wherein: the third WFM structure has a third thickness and has a third number of sub-layers; the third thickness is different from the second thickness and the first thickness; or the third number of sub-layers is different from the second number of sub-layers and the second number of sub-layers. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 8, Bao teaches 8. The device of claim 7, wherein the third thickness is greater than the second thickness and the first thickness. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 9, Bao teaches 9. The device of claim 7, wherein the third number of sub-layers is greater than the second number of sub-layers and the first number of sub-layers. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 10, Bao teaches 10. The device of claim 7, wherein: the first WFM structure, the second WFM structure, and the third WFM structure each contains a first p-type WFM sub-layer; the third WFM structure and the second WFM structure, but not the first WFM structure, each contains an n-type WFM sub-layer; and the third WFM structure, but not the first WFM structure or the second WFM structure, contains a second p-type WFM sub-layer different from the first p-type WFM sub-layer. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 11, Bao teaches 11. The device of claim 7, wherein the third semiconductor fin structure has a same type of conductivity as the second semiconductor fin structure but a different type of conductivity than the first semiconductor fin structure. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 12, Bao teaches 12. The device of claim 1, further comprising a fill metal structure disposed over both the first WFM structure and the second WFM structure. [see 1402A in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 13, Bao teaches 13. A device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate; a first channel that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a first work function metal (WFM) structure disposed over the first channel, wherein the first WFM structure includes a p-type WFM layer; a second channel that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a second WFM structure disposed over the second channel, wherein the second channel includes the p-type WFM layer and an n-type WFM layer, and wherein no portion of the n-type WFM layer is located in the first WFM structure; and a fill metal structure disposed over both the first WFM structure and the second WFM structure. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 14, Bao teaches 14. The device of claim 13, wherein the p-type WFM layer is a first p-type WFM layer, and wherein the device further comprises: a third channel that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a third WFM structure disposed over the third channel, wherein the third channel includes the first p-type WFM layer, the n-type WFM layer, and a second p-type WFM layer different from the first p-type WFM layer, and wherein no portion of the second p-type WFM layer is located in the first WFM structure or in the second WFM structure. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 15, Bao teaches 15. The device of claim 14, wherein: the first channel is a p-type channel; and the second channel and the third channel are n-type channels. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 16, Bao teaches 16. The device of claim 14, wherein the third channel is located between the first channel and the second channel in a cross-sectional side view. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 17, Bao teaches 17. The device of claim 13, wherein: the fill metal structure is in direct contact with the p-type WFM layer; and the n-type WFM layer is disposed below the p-type WFM layer. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 18, Bao teaches 18. A device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate; a first semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a first work function metal (WFM) structure disposed over the first semiconductor fin structure, wherein the first WFM structure has a first thickness and has a first number of sub-layers; a second semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a second WFM structure disposed over the second semiconductor fin structure, wherein the second WFM structure has a second thickness and has a second number of sub-layers; a third semiconductor fin structure that protrudes vertically out of the substrate; a third WFM structure disposed over the second semiconductor fin structure, wherein the third WFM structure has a third thickness and has a third number of sub-layers; wherein: the third thickness is greater than the second thickness; the second thickness is greater than the first thickness; the third number of sub-layers is greater than the second number of sub-layers; and the second number of sub-layers is greater than the first number of sub-layers. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 19, Bao teaches 19. The device of claim 18, wherein an n-type WFM layer is implemented in the second WFM structure and the third WFM structure, but not in the first WFM structure. [see 220, 230, 250 and 260 in Fig. 15 for example]
As to claim 20, Bao teaches 20. The device of claim 18, wherein a glue metal layer is implemented as a topmost one of the sub-layers in each of the first WFM structure, the second WFM structure, and the third WFM structure. [see 1402A in Fig. 15 for example]
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected as explained above.
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAEHWAN OH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899