DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received 7/13/26. Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 16 were amended, claim 3 was cancelled in the amendment received 7/13/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/26 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection..
Specification
The objection to the specification has been withdrawn in light of the amendment received 7/13/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication No 2018/0358547) hereinafter referred to as Yang.
Per Claim 16 Yang discloses a device, comprising (see figure 20A)
a first metallization layer (192) comprising a first conductive feature;
a second metallization layer (126) comprising a second conductive feature; and
a third metallization layer (212/102’/202/204/200) between the first metallization layer and the second metallization layer, the third metallization layer comprising:
a first electrode (212) connected to the first conductive feature;
a second electrode (124/128) connected to the second conductive feature, the second electrode having a greater resistance than the first electrode; and
a magnetic tunnel junction (202/204/200) stack between the second electrode and the first electrode.
Yang does not disclose the second electrode having a greater thickness than the first electrode.
Notwithstanding, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited relative thickness dimensions through routine experimentation and optimization. Applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Per Claim 18 Yang discloses the device of claim 16 including where (see figure 20A) the second electrode (124/128) comprises more layers than the first electrode (212).
Per Claim 20 Yang discloses the device of claim 16 including where (see figure 20A) a width of the second electrode (124/128) is less than a width of the first electrode (212). (note that 124 is less wide than 212, see figure 20A)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 1-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The closest prior art appears to be Yang (previously cited) which teaches an analogous device including a device, comprising a first memory cell comprising: (see figure 20A) a first bottom electrode (212); a first magnetic tunnel junction stack (202/204/200) over the first bottom electrode; and a first top electrode (102’) comprising first conductive layers (124, 126) and a first dielectric layer (128) between the first conductive layers: (see Fig 20A)
Yang does not disclose a second memory cell comprising: a second bottom electrode; a second magnetic tunnel junction stack over the second bottom electrode; and a second top electrode over the second magnetic tunnel junction stack, the second top electrode comprising second conductive layers, however this limitation would have been found obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art since its simple the duplication of parts.
Yang does not disclose the second conductive layers physically contacting one another, the first top electrode having a greater resistance than the second top electrode, as recited by independent claim 8, in combination with the other elements/steps of the claim. No prior art was found that taught the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818