DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-4, in the reply filed on 03/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected process, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/23/2026
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claim 5 is currently withdrawn.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0050]-[0051], [0054]: Flow path is referenced as 32c in paragraphs [0050]-[0051], and as 31c in [0054]. Figure 3 displays callout 31c and no callout 32c.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umezawa (US 20180337025 A1) in view of Yoshimoto (JP 2005142436 A, using attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Umezawa teaches a plasma etching apparatus (Umezawa, Fig. 1, [0038], plasma processing apparatus 10), comprising:
a chamber (Umezawa, Fig. 1, [0038], processing container 12);
a support body provided inside the chamber and configured to hold a substrate (Umezawa, Fig. 1, [0040], holding structure 18 supports wafer W and is accommodated in container 12);
a plasma generator including a plasma source and configured to generate plasma inside the chamber (Umezawa, Fig. 1, [0042], plasma source 16 is configured to excite the gas in container 12); and
a controller (Umezawa, Fig. 1, [0052], control unit Cnt),
wherein the support body has a placement surface on which the substrate is placed (Umezawa, Fig. 2, [0080], wafer W is held on upper surface 32a of holding structure 18), and is configured to rotate the substrate about a perpendicular line passing through a center of an upper surface of the substrate placed on the placement surface (Umezawa, Fig. 2, [0043], holding structure 18 is configured to rotate the wafer W about a second axis AX2 orthogonal to surface FS of wafer W), and the support body is configured such that the placement surface is tilted with respect to a horizontal plane (Umezawa, Figs. 1 and 2, [0044]-[0046], upper surface 32a is tilted with respect to XY plane FA1 when holding structure 18 is rotated), the perpendicular line passes through a center of the plasma source only when the placement surface is not tilted with respect to the horizontal plane (Umezawa, Figs. 1 and 2, [0044]-[0046], axis PX passes through center of plasma source 16 and coincides with axis AX2 when holding structure 18 is not rotated, and axis AX2 does not coincide with axis PX when holding structure 18 is rotated), and
wherein the controller performs a first control so that during a plasma etching, the placement surface is tilted with respect to the horizontal plane and the substrate placed on the placement surface is rotated about the perpendicular line (Umezawa, Figs. 1-2, [0125]-[0127], plasma etching process MT includes steps where the holding structure 18 is inclined with respect to horizontal reference plane FA1 and rotated.
While Umezawa teaches in the inclined rotation states, the workpiece is rotated about a central axis thereof over a predetermined process time (Umezawa, [0006], Umezawa fails to explicitly teach a second control so that a total number of the rotations of the substrate placed on the placement surface about the perpendicular line during the plasma etching becomes a predetermined value.
However, Yoshimoto teaches a second control so that a total number of the rotations of the substrate placed on the placement surface about the perpendicular line during the plasma etching becomes a predetermined value (Yoshimoto, [0117], substrate holder 47 is inclined and rotated such that the number of rotations during plasma processing is controlled by the control means to be 360° x integer).
Yoshimoto is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have controlled the number of rotations during processing in the manner taught by Yoshimoto as doing so can make the plasma processing amount and the plasma processing characteristic uniform of the main surface of the substrate (Yoshimoto, [0117]).
Regarding claim 2, Umezawa fails to teach wherein the predetermined value is a natural number.
However, Yoshimoto teaches wherein the predetermined value is a natural number (Yoshimoto, [0117], substrate holder 47 is inclined and rotated such that the number of rotations during plasma processing is controlled by the control means to be 360° x integer).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have controlled the number of rotations during processing in the manner taught by Yoshimoto as doing so can make the plasma processing amount and the plasma processing characteristic uniform of the main surface of the substrate (Yoshimoto, [0117]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentableover Umezawa (US 20180337025 A1) in view of Yoshimoto (JP 2005142436 A), as applied in claims 1-2, and further in view of Kodaira (US 20150090583 A1).
The limitations of claims 1-2 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 3, modified Umezawa fails to teach wherein the controller performs a third control so that the substrate placed on the placement surface is rotated at a rotational speed determined in a predetermined range based on a time required for the plasma etching so that the total number of the rotations becomes the predetermined value.
However, Kodaira teaches wherein the controller performs a third control so that the substrate placed on the placement surface is rotated at a rotational speed determined in a predetermined range based on a time required for the plasma etching so that the total number of the rotations becomes the predetermined value (Kodaira, Fig. 6 – 7B, [0063], holder rotation control unit 21 controls the rotational speed of the substrate 11 to values stored in the target rotational speed map, which is created in advance).
Kodaira is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have controlled the rotational speed of the substrate in the manner taught by Kodaira as doing so would allow one to have the capability to set the speed of the rotation such that, in one revolution, the etching rate can be different in different directions with respect to the plane of the substrate, as necessitated by the process requirements (Kodaira, [0078]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Umezawa fails to teach wherein the controller performs a third control so that the substrate placed on the placement surface is rotated at a rotational speed determined in a predetermined range based on a time required for the plasma etching so that the total number of the rotations becomes the predetermined value.
However, Kodaira teaches wherein the controller performs a third control so that the substrate placed on the placement surface is rotated at a rotational speed determined in a predetermined range based on a time required for the plasma etching so that the total number of the rotations becomes the predetermined value (Kodaira, Fig. 6 – 7B, [0063], holder rotation control unit 21 controls the rotational speed of the substrate 11 to values stored in the target rotational speed map, which is created in advance).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have controlled the rotational speed of the substrate in the manner taught by Kodaira as doing so would allow one to have the capability to set the speed of the rotation such that, in one revolution, the etching rate can be different in different directions with respect to the plane of the substrate, as necessitated by the process requirements (Kodaira, [0078]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yokohara (US 20220336194 A1) teaches the other aspects and components of the system similar to the instant invention.
Mori (US 20220051876 A1) teaches slip ring and magnetic fluid seal for tilted rotating electrode.
/TODD M SEOANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718