The applicant has been assigned to a new examiner. The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejection of the previous action not repeated below are withdrawn based upon the amendment and arguments of the applicant. Responses to the arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to.
Claims 10-18,20-26,28 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is not clear if nitrogen can be the dopant (nitrogen doped metal silicide would be a nitridated metal silicide). The does not limit the pellicle to a doped nitridated metal silicide.
In claims 18 and 26 “molybdenum silicon nitride” should read - - molybdenum silicide nitride- - .
In claims 32, the claims should recite capping layer on each side of the nitridated
Claims 10-15,18,23-26,28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by KR 20120119987.
KR 20120119987 (machine translation attached) in example 1 describes a MoSiN film coated on a glass/quartz 6025 substrate by sputtering from a Mo:Si (1:9) substrate in a nitrogen atmosphere [0067-0070]. Example 2 and 3 are similar, but use different nitrogen gas and sputtering conditions.
While this would not be suitable for EUV (and some other exposure wavelengths), ), the substrate with the MoSiN layer would be suitable as a pellicle which physically prevents dust and other foreign materials from being deposited on a surface below it (such as a mask surface within the focal/image plane). See Okada et al. JP 2001-133961 cited as of interest below, where a quartz plate is used as a pellicle. The examiner has interpreted the claims as embracing embodiments where nitrogen is the dopant. The glass substrate is a capping layer. The composition will inherently have regions which are stoichiometric and those which are non-stoichiometric and so will have both stoichiometric and non-stoichiometric values. Neither, the location (between 0.1-10 nm capping layers, see prepub at [0046]) or the form (ie membrane, see prepub at [0085] or freestanding [0014]) of the nitridated metal silicide is recited.
Claims 10-15,18,23-26,28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Sasaki et al. 20110171568
Sasaki et al. 20110171568 in example 6 coats a 7 nm MoSiON antireflection layer on a glass/quartz substrate using a MoSi target with 21% Mo [0134].
While this would not be suitable for EUV (and some other exposure wavelengths), the substrate with the MoSiON layer would be suitable as a pellicle which physically prevents dust and other foreign materials from being deposited on the mask surface (which is within the focal/image plane). The examiner has interpreted the claims as embracing embodiments where oxygen and nitrogen is the dopant. The glass substrate is a capping layer. The composition will inherently have regions which are stoichiometric and those which are non-stoichiometric and so will have both stoichiometric and non-stoichiometric values.
Claims 10-15,18,23-26,28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Nam et al. KR 20110056209.
Nam et al. KR 20110056209 (machine translation attached) in example 2, prepares a quartz/glass substrate and then coats this with a 88.9 nm of MoSiN [0066].
While this would not be suitable for EUV (and some other exposure wavelengths), ), the substrate with the MoSiN layer would be suitable as a pellicle which physically prevents dust and other foreign materials from being deposited on the mask surface (which is within the focal/image plane). See Okada et al. JP 2001-133961 cited as of interest below, where a quartz plate is used as a pellicle. The examiner has interpreted the claims as embracing embodiments where nitrogen is the dopant. The glass substrate is a capping layer. The composition will inherently have regions which are stoichiometric and those which are non-stoichiometric and so will have both stoichiometric and non-stoichiometric values.
Claims 10-15,18,23-26,28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Nam et al. KR 20160024204.
Nam et al. KR 20160024204 (machine translation attached) provides a transparent substrate with an 80 nm MoSiN film [0046-0047]. The metal film 204 may be made of molybdenum silicide MoSi or may be formed of a metal such as oxygen (O), nitrogen (N), carbon (C), boron (B) And fluorine (F). The metal film 204 has a molybdenum (Mo) content of 0.1 at% to 30 at%, a silicon (Si) content of 30 at% to 80 at%, and a light element content of 0 to 50 at%. The metal film 204 is composed of a monolayer film made of molybdenum silicide (MoSi) or a compound thin film thereof, or a multilayer film including at least one thin film made of molybdenum silicide (MoSi) or a compound thereof [0205].
While this would not be suitable for EUV (and some other exposure wavelengths), ), the substrate with the MoSiN layer would be suitable as a pellicle which physically prevents dust and other foreign materials from being deposited on the mask surface (which is within the focal/image plane). See Okada et al. JP 2001-133961 cited as of interest below, where a quartz plate is used as a pellicle. The examiner has interpreted the claims as embracing embodiments where nitrogen is the dopant. The glass substrate is a capping layer. The composition will inherently have regions which are stoichiometric and those which are non-stoichiometric and so will have both stoichiometric and non-stoichiometric values.
Claims 10-15,18,19,23-28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. KR 20160024204.
Nam et al. KR 20160024204 does not exemplify a MoSiN film also including boron.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the cited example by forming a MoSiBN film with a reasonable expectation of forming a composite which filters light and can physically prevent dust and other foreign materials from depositing on a surface below it.
Claims 10-15,18,23-26,28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bae KR 20140008037.
Bae KR 20140008037 (machine translation attached) discloses a photomask, which includes a filter layer (310) and an anti-reflection film (340) [0032-0033]. Examples of the material of the antireflection film made of a molybdenum silicide compound containing at least one of oxygen and nitrogen include MoSiON, MoSiO, MoSiN, MoSiOC, MoSiOCN, and the like. Among these, MoSiO and MoSiON are preferable from the viewpoint of chemical resistance and heat resistance, and MoSiON is preferable from the viewpoint of blank defect quality In the antireflective films MoSiON, MoSiO, MoSiN, MoSiOC, MoSiOCN, and the like, increasing Mo reduces the resistance to washing, especially alkali (such as ammonia water) or hot water. From this point of view, it is preferable to reduce Mo as much as possible in the antireflection layers MoSiON, MoSiO, MoSiN, MoSiOC, MoSiOCN and the like [0033-0035]. The material of the filter film 310 may include a material for preventing reflection of the irradiation light. For example, the material of the filter film 310 may include a molybdenum silicide compound including at least one of oxygen and nitrogen [0025-0027]
Neither, the location (between 0.1-10 nm capping layers, see prepub at [0046]) or the form (ie membrane, see prepub at [0085] or freestanding [0014]) of the nitridated metal silicide is recited.
The antireflection layer materials recited includes MoSiON, MoSiO, MoSiN, MoSiOC, MoSiOCN, 60% of these comprise MoSiN.
The examiner holds that one reading the reference would immediately envision the embodiment where the antireflection film is one of MoSiN, MoSiON or MoSiOCN, which comprise MoSiN and are doped with nitrogen alone or together with oxygen and carbon, thereby anticipating the invention.
If this position is not upheld the examiner holds that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the mask where the antireflection film is one of MoSiN, MoSiON or MoSiOCN, which comprise MoSiN and are doped with nitrogen alone or together with oxygen and carbon with a reasonable expectation of forming a composite which filters light and can physically prevent dust and other foreign materials from depositing on a surface below it.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the mask where the filter layer is one of MoSiN or MoSiON as taught at [0025-027],which comprise MoSiN and are doped with nitrogen alone or with oxygen with a reasonable expectation of forming a composite which filters light and can physically prevent dust and other foreign materials from depositing on a surface below it.
Claims 10-15,18,23-26,28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nam et al. 20180259845.
Nam et al. 20180259845 (pgpub of previously applied 10768523) describes a pellicle including those illustrated in figure 4B (reproduced below) where the pellicle layer 106 is materialized by a silicon layer having monocrystalline, amorphous and polycrystalline properties. To improve mechanical and thermal characteristics, the pellicle layer 106 may include one or more materials among boron (B), phosphorus (P), arsenic (As), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb) and molybdenum (Mo). The pellicle layer 106 is impregnated with these materials by doping, and a doping concentration at a doping process may be 10.sup.10 ions/cm.sup.3 [0058]. The heat dissipation layer (112) can be at least one material among chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru), ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La, etc. to Ru, B.sub.4C, and SiC; or a silicide material including silicon (Si) in addition to the material; or one or more materials among oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and carbon (C) in addition to the one or more material and the silicide material [0015]. The heat dissipation layer 112 may have a thickness of 1 nm˜20 nm, and preferably a thickness of 1 nm˜10 nm. The heat dissipation layer 112 restrains temperature increase on the surface of the pellicle for the extreme ultraviolet lithography at the EUV exposure process and thus lowers temperature, thereby improving thermal properties of the pellicle 100. The reinforcement layer (110) may include at least one material among chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru), ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La, etc. to Ru, B.sub.4C, SiC, SiO.sub.2, Si.sub.xN.sub.y (where, x and y are integers), graphene, and carbon nano tube (CNT); or a silicide material including silicon (Si) in addition to the material; or one or more materials among oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and carbon (C) in addition to the one or more material and the silicide material [0017,0030]. The auxiliary layer (not illustrated) may include at least one material among chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru), ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La, etc. to Ru, B.sub.4C, SiC, SiO.sub.2, Si.sub.xN.sub.y (where, x and y are integers), graphene, carbon nano tube (CNT); or a silicide material including silicon (Si) in addition to the material; or one or more materials among oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and carbon (C) in addition to the one or more material and the silicide material [0025]. The method may further include, before the b), doping the pellicle layer with one or more materials among boron (B), phosphorus (P), arsenic (As), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb) and molybdenum (Mo) [0031]. The pellicle layer 106 is materialized by a silicon layer having monocrystalline, amorphous and polycrystalline properties. To improve mechanical and thermal characteristics, the pellicle layer 106 may include one or more materials among boron (B), phosphorus (P), arsenic (As), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb) and molybdenum (Mo). The pellicle layer 106 is impregnated with these materials by doping, and a doping concentration at a doping process may be 10.sup.10 ions/cm.sup.3 [0058]. Referring to FIG. 5A, an SOI substrate, which includes the support layer 102, the buried oxide layer 104 and the pellicle layer 106, is prepared as a base for fabricating the pellicle 200 for the extreme ultraviolet lithography according to the present disclosure. Here, the pellicle layer 106 may include one or more materials among boron (B), phosphorus (P), arsenic (As), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb) and molybdenum (Mo) by a doping or ion implant process to maintain a proper temperature or below at the EUV exposure light process. At the doping process, a doping concentration is equal to or higher than 10.sup.10 ions/cm.sup.3. After the pellicle layer 106 is subjected to the doping and ion implant processes to contain the impurities, the monocrystalline silicon layer is changed to have amorphous or polycrystalline properties and thus improves mechanical characteristics in a specific orientation [0081].
Nam et al. 20180259845 teaches that the heat dissipation layer (112) can be silicides of chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), or ruthenium (Ru) and may also include C, N or oxygen at [0015].
Nam et al. 20180259845 teaches that the reinforcement layer (110) can be silicides of chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), or ruthenium (Ru) and may also include C, N or oxygen at [0017,0030].
Nam et al. 20180259845 teaches that the auxiliary layer can be silicides of chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), or ruthenium (Ru) and may also include C, N or oxygen at [0025].
Nam et al. 20180259845 does not exemplify a pellicle including a nitride metal silicide.
With respect to claims 10-15,17,18,20-26,28 and 30-31 it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to for a pellicle as illustrated in figure 4B (reproduced above) by forming the heat dissipation layers (112) of silicides of aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), or ruthenium (Ru) which also include nitrogen as taught at [0015] with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle. In this case, the dopant is nitrogen.
With respect to claims 10-15,17,18,20-26,28 and 30-31, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to for a pellicle as illustrated in figure 4B (reproduced above) by forming the heat dissipation layers (112) of silicides of aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), or ruthenium (Ru) which also include nitrogen together with oxygen or carbon as taught at [0015] with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle. In this case, the dopant is nitrogen and oxygen and/or carbon.
With respect to claims 10-15,17,18,20-26,28 and 30-32 it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to for a pellicle as illustrated in figure 4B (reproduced above) by forming the reinforcement layer (110) of silicides of aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), or ruthenium (Ru) which also include nitrogen as taught at [0015] with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle. In this case, the dopant is nitrogen. Note that the reinforcement layer is between the heat dissipation layers (112) and so is “in a central portion”.
With respect to claims 10-18,20-26,28 and 30-32 it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to for a pellicle as illustrated in figure 4B (reproduced above) by forming the reinforcement layer (110) of silicides of aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), or ruthenium (Ru) which also include nitrogen as taught at [0017,0030] and the heat dissipation layers are layers are 1-10 nm [0063 of boron (B), ruthenium (Ru), nitrides of boron (boron and nitrogen) or carbides of boron (boron and carbon) as taught at [0061,0015]with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle. In this case, the dopant is nitrogen. Note that the reinforcement layer is between the heat dissipation layers (112) and so is “in a central portion”.
With respect to claims 10-18,20-26,28 and 30-32 it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to for a pellicle as illustrated in figure 4B (reproduced above) by forming the reinforcement layer (110) of silicides of aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), or ruthenium (Ru) which also include nitrogen and oxygen and/or carbon as taught at [0017,0030] and the heat dissipation layers are layers are 1-10 nm [0063 of boron (B), ruthenium (Ru), nitrides of boron (boron and nitrogen) or carbides of boron (boron and carbon) as taught at [0061,0015] with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle. In this case, the dopant is nitrogen and carbon or oxygen. Note that the reinforcement layer is between the heat dissipation layers (112) and so is “in a central portion”.
In the response of 10/30/2025, the applicant argues that Nam et al. has a later effective filing date. The examiner notes that the doping only for nitrogen in the applicant’s priority documents 17200069.7 and 18179205.2, so the embodiment where the pellicle is doped with boron or an element other than nitrogen not accorded these dates. The first discussion of the doping/diffusion of boron (from the TEOS layer into the membrane during annealing) appears in the PCT filing of 11/05/2018 at [00096-00098,000105,000109-000100,000138-000139], and the spectral purity filter is discussed at [000139]. This issue was raised in earlier/parent applications.
The examiner attached a copy of the Korean priority document 10-2017-0030731 which describes the addition of Si, O, N and C at <37> and the pellicle film (106 including B, P, As, Y, Zr, Nb and/or Mo at <39>.
The examiner attached a copy of the Korean priority document 10-2017-0159821 which describes the layers having chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru), ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La, etc. to Ru, B.sub.4C, SiC, SiO.sub.2, Si.sub.xN.sub.y (where, x and y are integers), graphene, carbon nano tube (CNT); or a silicide material including silicon (Si) in addition to the material; or one or more materials among oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and carbon (C) in addition to the one or more material and the silicide material at <16-18>, <26>, <31>,<55>,<59>,<74>.
The Korean priority document 10-2017-0030731 describes layers (105) and (106) including Y, Zr, Nb and/or Mo combined with Si, O, N and C at <37-39>. There does seem to be a basis for priority to the earlier date. If the applicant has a translation of this priority document made, the examiner would appreciate a copy for the record.
Claims 10-15,18,23-26,28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486, in view of Nam et al. 20180259845, Lee et al. KR 101624078 and Yamazaki 5012320.
Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486 teaches a pellicle where the base layers can be one or more of yttrium silicide, zirconium silicide, lanthanum silicide, niobium silicide or MoSi, RuSi, ScSi, MoB2, ZrB2, RuB2,TiB2, LaB2 or ZrC [0016,0083-0097]. The base layer 60 comprises a compound comprising a second metal and an additional element. The additional element is selected from the group consisting of Si, B, C and N [00764]. In the base layer the compound comprising the second metal and the additional element consists of the second metal and the additional element (i.e. there are no other elements in the compound, except, optionally, dopants) [0082]. In an alternative embodiment, a membrane 40 is provided with a base layer 60 comprising one or more of the following: YSi.sub.2, ZrSi.sub.2, LaSi.sub.2 and NbSi.sub.2. Each of these four materials is even more transparent to EUV than MoSi.sub.2. YSi.sub.2 and ZrSi.sub.2 are particularly effective, providing EUV transparencies that are up to twice the EUV transparency of MoSi.sub.2. The emissivity and thermo-mechanical properties of the four materials are similar to MoSi.sub.2. The high emissivity means that no additional emissive metal layers are needed. The thermo- mechanical properties mean that the base layer 60 can be made substantially thinner than a polysilicon alternative, which also helps to promote high EUV transmissivity. A base layer 60 formed from YSi.sub.2, ZrSi.sub.2, LaSi.sub.2 or NbSi.sub.2 will not be stable against oxidation, so a capping layer 430 may be provided to provide protection against oxidation [00164]. When ΔΗ .sup.zys.sub.r of Reaction 2 is less negative than ΔΗ .sup.zys.sub.r of Reaction 1 the protective silica scale formation is thermodynamically favored. The table shows that the silicides for which the silica scale forms most favorably are RuSi.sub.2 and MoSi.sub.2. Moreover, the inventors have found by analyzing the kinetics of oxidation that MoSi.sub.2 has the highest activation energy and is thus the most difficult to oxidize (favoring formation of a stable protective layer rather than oxidation of the MoSi.sub.2 itself). [00112] Figure 5 depicts an embodiment in which the first capping layer 70 comprises a first capping layer first sub-layer 71 and a first capping layer second sub-layer 72. The first capping layer first sub-layer 71 comprises the oxide of the first metal. The first capping layer second sub-layer 72 comprises a first capping layer deposited oxide. The first capping layer second sub-layer 72 is positioned between the first capping layer first sub-layer 71 and the base layer 60. The first capping layer deposited oxide may be deposited on the base layer 60 to provide protection similar to that which would be provided by a native oxide such as silica formed on the compound comprising the second metal and the additional element in the base layer 60 (as in the base layer first sub-layer 61 and the base layer third sub-layer 63 in the embodiment discussed above with reference to Figure 4). The first capping layer deposited oxide may be provided in the case where a native oxide does not form easily or stably (e.g. at high temperature) on the compound comprising the second metal and the additional element. In an embodiment, a native oxide may have a low melting point, for example, which could cause instabilities or failure in use. In such a case, the native oxide may be removed before depositing the first capping layer deposited oxide. In an embodiment, the first capping layer deposited oxide comprises an oxide of silicon (e.g. silica). In an embodiment the second capping layer 80 is configured in a corresponding manner. In such an embodiment the second capping layer 80 comprises a second capping layer first sub-layer 81 and a second capping layer second sub-layer 82. The second capping layer first sub-layer 81 comprises the oxide of the third metal. The second capping layer second sub-layer 82 comprises a second capping layer deposited oxide. The second capping layer second sub-layer 82 is positioned between the second capping layer first sub-layer 81 and the base layer 60. In an embodiment, the second capping layer deposited oxide comprises an oxide of silicon (e.g. silica). Figure 6 depicts a membrane 40 corresponding to a combination of the embodiments of Figures 4 and 5. In this membrane 40, the base layer 60 comprises a base layer first sub-layer 61, a base layer second sub-layer 62, and a base layer third sub-layer 63, as described above with reference to Figure 4. Additionally, the membrane 40 comprises a first capping layer 70 with a first capping layer first sub-layer 71 and a first capping layer second sub-layer 72 as described above with reference to Figure 5. Additionally, the membrane 40 comprises a second capping layer 80 with a second capping layer first sublayer 81 and a second capping layer second sub-layer 82 as described above with reference to Figure 5. The additional layers relative to the embodiments of Figures 4 and 5 may increase the robustness of the membrane 40 by providing improved protection of the portion of the base layer 60 comprising the compound comprising the second metal and the additional element (the emissive part of the base layer 60 in the base layer second sub-layer 62) [00111-00114].
The base layer 60 is thicker than each of the first capping layer 70 and the second capping layer 80, optionally at least five times thicker, optionally at least 10 times thicker. In an embodiment, the base layer 60 has a thickness of at least 8nm, optionally at least lOnm, optionally at least 15nm, optionally at least 20nm, optionally at least 25nm. In an embodiment, each of the first capping layer 70 and the second capping layer 80 has a thickness of less than 5nm, optionally less than 4nm, optionally less than 3nm, optionally less than 2nm, optionally less than l nm. In an embodiment the membrane comprises a membrane base layer, e.g. a polysilicon layer, with barrier layers (e.g. SiN layers) on which an emissivity layer and a protective capping layer OLT are added [0075]
Lee et al. KR 101624078 (machine translation attached) teaches the nitrogen addition to s silicon layer to form a low stress Si3N4 [0038].
Yamazaki 5012320 teaches that the doping of titanium silicide with boron atoms reduces thermal stress (col. 1/line 45-2/2)
Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486 does not exemplify a pellicle including a nitride metal silicide.
With respect to claims 10-15,17-28 and 30-32, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form pellicles illustrated in Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486, where base layers of yttrium silicide, zirconium silicide, lanthanum silicide, niobium silicide or MoSi, RuSi, ScSi exemplified have been doped with boron and nitrogen based upon the disclosure of the combination of metals and silicon in Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486 at [0082-0089], the combination of metals and boron in Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486 at [0090-0095] , the discussion of the addition of an additional element selected from Si, B, N, and C [0074] of Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486, the addition of dopants at [0082,00171] of Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486 and the use of dopants including boron in the core layer of Nam et al. 2018025985, noting that silicides layers are known to be highly stressed as evidenced in Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486 at [00198], which can result in membrane failure noting that the reduction in stress in silicides by doping/addition of nitrogen and boron as taught in Lee et al. KR 101624078 and Yamazaki 5012320 with a reasonable expectation forming a useful pellicle film having spectral filtering properties.
With respect to claims 10-28 and 30-32, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form pellicles illustrated in Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486, where base layers of yttrium silicide, zirconium silicide, lanthanum silicide, niobium silicide or MoSi, RuSi, ScSi exemplified have been doped with boron and nitrogen based upon the disclosure of the combination of metals and silicon in Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486 at [0082-0089], the combination of metals and boron in Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486 at [0090-0095] , the discussion of the addition of an additional element selected from Si, B, N, and C [0074] of Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486, the addition of dopants at [0082,00171] of Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486 and the use of dopants including boron in the core layer of Nam et al. 2018025985, noting that silicides layers are known to be highly stressed as evidenced in Nasalevich et al. WO 2017186486 at [00198], which can result in membrane failure noting that the reduction in stress in silicides by doping/addition of nitrogen and boron as taught in Lee et al. KR 101624078 and Yamazaki 5012320 and adding heat dissipation layers are layers are 1-10 nm [0063 of boron (B), ruthenium (Ru), nitrides of boron (boron and nitrogen) or carbides of boron (boron and carbon) as taught at [0061,0015] of Nam et al. 2018025985 with a reasonable expectation forming a useful pellicle film having spectral filtering properties
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okada et al. JP 2001-133961 (machine translation attached) teaches in the example a 122mm x 149mm anodized aluminum frame (1) which is 2mm thick and 5 mm high with 0.5 mm holes for a gas inlet (1) and gas outlet (2) with a synthetic quartz pellicle film (4) adhered via an epoxy adhesive (4). This is mounted onto a mask (5) using an acrylic adhesive (7). As nitrogen was introduced into the space defined by the mask and pellicle, the oxygen concentration was measured [0027-0031]. Figure 2 shows the mounting the check valve (8) to the gas inlet port (1) and the adhesive layers (4/7)
Nam et al. 20190146324 teaches a pellicle where the core can be one or more materials among boron (B), phosphorus (P), arsenic (As), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb) and molybdenum (Mo) in addition to a monocrystalline, amorphous or polycrystalline silicon layer; or one or more metal silicide materials among molybdenum silicide (MoSi), tungsten silicide (WSi), zirconium silicide (ZrSi) and tantalum silicide (TaSi) [0012,0040]
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737