DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konno (US 2010/0248167; IDS, 08/18/2025).
Konno discloses a pattern-forming method includes selectively exposing a resist layer formed using a positive-tone radiation-sensitive resin composition including a resin component and an acid generator. Konno discloses the first step of the pattern-forming method comprises applying a positive-tone radiation-sensitive resin composition (hereinafter may be referred to as "positive-tone resist composition" or "resist composition") to a substrate (e.g., silicon wafer), on which an organic lower-layer film is formed, by an appropriate application method (e.g., rotational coating, cast coating, or roll coating). (Para, 0022). Konno discloses a resist layer is thus formed of the resist composition and it may optionally be prebaked (PB) to vaporize the solvent at a temperature appropriate for the composition of the resist composition, but is normally 30 to 200C, and preferably 50 to 150C. (Para, 0022). Konno also discloses the positive-tone resist composition used in the embodiment of the invention includes the acid generator which is decomposed upon exposure. (Para, 0072).
Konno discloses a given area of the resist layer thus formed is exposed by applying radiation through a mask having a given pattern, for example, to form a pattern latent image area (i.e., post-exposure alkali-insoluble area). (Para, 0024). Konno discloses radiation used for exposure is appropriately selected from visible rays, ultraviolet rays, deep ultraviolet rays, X-rays, electron beams, charged particle rays, and the like depending on the type of acid generator included in the resist composition. (Para, 0024). Konno discloses it is preferable to use deep ultraviolet rays such as ArF excimer laser light (wavelength: 193 nm) and KrF excimer laser light (wavelength: 248 nm), with ArF excimer laser light (wavelength: 193 nm) being particularly preferable. (Para, 0024). Konno discloses it is preferable to perform post-exposure bake (PEB) after exposure so that an acid-dissociable group included in the resin component smoothly dissociates due to PEB, which is selected depending on the composition of the resist composition, but is normally 30 to 200C, and preferably 50 to 170C. (Para, 0024). Konno discloses the exposed resist layer is developed so that the pattern latent image area is exposed. (Para, 0025; Fig.1). Konno discloses a positive-tone first pattern 1 that has a given line width L1 (i.e., has a given space area) is thus formed on a substrate 10 through an organic lower-layer film 3. (Para, 0025). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘A method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: patterning a photoresist deposited over the substrate to form a plurality of mandrels…’ and the limitation of claim 16, ‘ A method of double patterning, the method comprising: forming a first relief pattern comprising a mandrel over a substrate…’
Konno discloses a developer that may be used for development is preferably an alkaline aqueous solution prepared by dissolving at least one alkaline compound (e.g., sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide, sodium carbonate, sodium silicate, sodium metasilicate, aqueous ammonia, ethylamine, n-propylamine, diethylamine, di-n-propylamine, triethylamine, methyldiethylamine, ethyldimethylamine, triethanolamine, tetramethylammonium hydroxide, pyrrole, piperidine, choline, 1,8-diazabicyclo-[5.4.0]-7-undecene, or 1,5-diazabicyclo-[4.3.0]-5-nonene) in water. (Para, 0026). This disclosure teaches the limitation of claim 5. Konno discloses an organic solvent may be added to the alkaline aqueous solution (developer) including ketones such as acetone, methyl ethyl ketone, methyl i-butyl ketone, cyclopentanone, cyclohexanone, 3-methylcyclopentanone, and 2,6-dimethylcyclohexanone; alcohols such as methylalcohol, ethylalcohol, n-propylalcohol, i-propylalcohol, n-butylalcohol, t-butylalcohol, cyclopentanol, cyclohexanol, 1,4-hexanediol, and 1,4-hexanedimethylol; ethers such as tetrahydrofuran and dioxane; esters such as ethyl acetate, n-butyl acetate, and i-amyl acetate; aromatic hydrocarbons such as toluene and xylene; phenol, acetonylacetone, dimethylformamide, and the like. (Para, 0026).
Konno discloses next a pattern-forming resin composition is applied to the first pattern using an appropriate application method (e.g., rotational coating, cast coating, or roll coating) to cover the first pattern. (Para, 0029; Fig.2). Konno discloses, after applying the pattern-forming resin composition, the applied composition is normally baked to form an uncrosslinked embedded section 7 that is formed of a pattern-forming resin composition 5 and positioned between the adjacent areas of the first pattern 1. (Para, 0029; Fig.2). Konno explains the heating temperature when heating the pattern-forming resin composition applied to the first pattern is appropriately selected depending on the composition of the pattern-forming resin composition, but is normally 50 to 200C, and preferably 80 to 180C. (Para, 0030). Konno also discloses when using a pattern-forming resin composition that includes a crosslinking agent, it is preferable to appropriately set the heating temperature depending on the type and the content of the crosslinking agent. (Para, 0030). These disclosures and illustrations teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘A method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: …spin coating an overcoat material over the plurality of mandrels…’ the limitation of claim 16, ‘A method of double patterning, the method comprising: …spin coating an overcoat material over the mandrel, the overcoat material comprising a crosslinker…’ and the limitation of claim 3.
Konno discloses the next step includes crosslinking the uncrosslinked embedded section 7 in an area around the interface with the first pattern 1. (Para, 0032; Fig.3). Konno discloses the uncrosslinked embedded section 7 is formed of the pattern-forming resin composition that can be crosslinked due to an acid generated from the acid generator; therefore, the uncrosslinked embedded section 7 is crosslinked only in an area around the interface with the first pattern 1. (Para, 0032; Fig.3). Konno discloses the uncrosslinked embedded section 7 may be crosslinked by applying light or heat. (Para, 0032; Fig.3). Konno discloses an array structure 15, illustrated in Figure 4 results from these process steps to form the first pattern 1, a first crosslinked section 11, the uncrosslinked embedded section 7, and a second crosslinked section 12 being repeatedly arranged in the array structure 15. (Para, 0032; Fig.4). Konno explains the uncrosslinked embedded section 7 is crosslinked due to the acid generator included in the resist composition that forms the first pattern 1, the line width of the first crosslinked section 11 and the second crosslinked section 12 may be adjusted to a certain extent by appropriately adjusting the irradiation or heating conditions. (Para, 0032). These disclosures and illustrations and the limitations of Konno as discussed above teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘A method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: …exposing the substrate to an ultraviolet (UV) irradiation to generate acid in the plurality of mandrels; diffusing the acid into a portion of the overcoat material, the diffused acid inducing a crosslinking reaction in the portion to form a crosslinked portion of the overcoat material…’ the limitation of claim 16, ‘A method of double patterning, the method comprising: …exposing the substrate to an ultraviolet (UV) irradiation to generate acid in the mandrel; diffusing the acid into portions of the overcoat material, the diffused acid inducing a crosslinking or de-crosslinking reaction in the portions…’ and the limitation of claims 6-8.
Konno discloses the next process step includes removing the first pattern 1 and the uncrosslinked embedded section 7. (Para, 0034). Konno discloses the first pattern 1 and the uncrosslinked embedded section 7 may be removed two methods. (Para, 0035). Konno discloses when using the second method, the entire surface of the array structure 15 is exposed. (Para, 0037; Fig.4). Konno discloses the first pattern 1 thus becomes soluble in the developer or the like and since the first crosslinked section 11 and the second crosslinked section 12 are scarcely soluble in the developer or the like, a stable state is maintained. (Para, 0037). Konno discloses the array structure 15 is then developed using the developer to simultaneously remove the first pattern 1 that has become soluble in the developer upon exposure and the uncrosslinked embedded section 7 that is soluble in the developer. (Para, 0037). Konno illustrates the resulting pattern in FIG. 6, which includes the first crosslinked section 11 and the second crosslinked section 12. (Para, 0037). Konno discloses the line widths L2 to L4 of the second pattern 2 thus formed are smaller than a line width L1 of the first pattern 1. (Para, 0039; Fig. 1, 6). Konno explains the line width L1 may be set to 95 to 155 nm, and the line widths L2 to L4 may be set to 20 to 80 nm. (Para, 0039; Fig.1, 6). Konno discloses a fine pattern having a line width as small as 40nm or less can be formed and used in semiconductor device fabrication. (Para, 0039). These disclosures and illustrations teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘A method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: …and performing a developing process using a developing solution to remove the plurality of mandrels and the overcoat material except the crosslinked portion of the overcoat material.’ Moreover, these disclosures and illustrations teach the limitation of claim 16, ‘ A method of double patterning, the method comprising: …and performing a development process to form a second relief pattern defined by the portions, a pitch size of the second relief pattern is less than that of the first relief pattern.’ Furthermore, these disclosures also teach the limitation of claims 17 and 19-20.
Therefore, claims 1, 3, 5-8, 16-17 and 19-20 are anticipated by the disclosures and illustrations of Konno as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konno.
The disclosures and illustrations of Konno as discussed above fail to explicitly teach the limitation of claim 2, ‘ The method of claim 1, further comprising, performing a post-exposure bake process after exposing to the UV irradiation.’ However, the disclosures of Konno as discussed above do contemplate this limitation of claim 2.
As discussed above, the disclosures of Konno teaches that the crosslinking step may be carried out by light or heat. (Para, 0032). One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that both light and heat could also be used for the crosslinking step, which is typically with resin based materials that are formed via spin coating. Therefore, the disclosures of Konno contemplate the limitation of claim 2. Moreover, while the disclosures of Konno do not specify if the substrate exposure step performed as part of the crosslinking step is performed using a photomask, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a masked exposure can be carried out so that a more precise pattern is formed during the crosslinking step. Therefore, the disclosures of Konno also contemplate the limitation of claim 4. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that step (iv) of the process whereby the substrate is exposed to light which activates the photoacid in the remaining resist pattern which will then diffuse into the overcoating layer can reasonably be performed before the overcoat layer is deposited onto the resist pattern followed by a step of simultaneously developing the structure to remove non-crosslinked overcoat layer and the remaining resist pattern. Therefore, Konno also contemplates the limitation of claim 9.
While the disclosures of Konno as discussed in paragraph 3 above do not explicitly teach the limitations of claims 2, 4 and 9, the disclosures of Konno do provide one of ordinary skill in the art a reasonable expectation of successfully forming a pattern having a smaller line width size than normally achieved using UV radiation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the disclosures of Konno as discussed in paragraphs 3 and 6 above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 18, ‘The method of claim 16, further comprising, prior to the acid diffusion, crosslinking all of the overcoat material, wherein the diffused acid incudes the de-crosslinking reaction, and wherein the development process removes the portions.’ The prior art fails to provide other relevant disclosures which cure the deficiency of Konno to teach the limitation of claim 18. Therefore, claim 18 includes allowable subject matter.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The disclosures of Konno as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 10, ‘A method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: patterning a photoresist deposited over the substrate to form a plurality of mandrels; spin coating an overcoat material over the plurality of mandrels; inducing a crosslinking reaction in the overcoat material; exposing the substrate to an ultraviolet (UV) irradiation to generate acid in the plurality of mandrels; diffusing the acid into a portion of the…overcoat material, …and performing a developing process using a developing solution to selectively remove the portion of the overcoat material.’ Still, the disclosures and illustrations of Konno as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 10, ‘A method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: … diffusing the acid into a portion of the crosslinked overcoat material, inducing a de-crosslinking reaction…selectively removing the de-crosslinked portion…’ While Moon et al. (IDS, 08/18/2025) discloses a PHS based resist composition comprising a vinyl ether as a crosslinking agent and a photoacid generator, which when irradiated with UV followed by a PEB step is de-crosslinked to become a positive working photoresist layer soluble in an alkaline developer, these disclosures still fall short of curing the deficiency of Konno to teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 10, ‘A method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: … diffusing the acid into a portion of the crosslinked overcoat material, inducing a de-crosslinking reaction…selectively removing the de-crosslinked portion…’ The prior art fails to provide other relevant disclosures which cure the deficiencies of Konno and Moon to teach the limitations of claim 10. Therefore, independent claim 10 and claims 11-15 depending therefrom are allowable.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899