CTNF 18/617,457 CTNF 84714 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-16, 18, 21, 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 8, 10, 18, 21, 24, 25 recite the limitaiton SiNx. This limitaiton renders the claims indefinite because x is not defined. Claims 2-16, and 25-28 are indefinite due to their dependance on indefinite claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0085121) in view of Kim’283 (US 2022/0140283) and Kim’661 (US 2021/0066661) . Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic device, comprising: a base layer (Fig.7B, numeral “BL”); a circuit layer (“DP-CL”) disposed on the base layer (“BL”) and including a transistor (Fig. 6C, “T1”), a plurality of inorganic films (L10, L20), and a plurality of organic films (L40; L50); a display element layer (DP-OLED) disposed on the circuit layer (“DP-CL”); an encapsulation layer (“TFL”)disposed on the display element layer (“DP-OLED”) (Fig.5B); and an input sensor (“UM” [0086]) (Fig.4B) and including a sensor base layer (UN-1). Kim does not disclose (1) that the input sensor disposed on the encapsulation layer a sensor conductive layer disposed on the sensor base layer, and a sensor insulating layer disposed on the sensor base layer, the sensor insulating layer including silicon nitride (SiNx), wherein the sensor base layer includes: a buffer insulating layer including silicon (Si) and oxygen (O), (2) wherein an atomic percent of oxygen (O) within the buffer insulating layer is within a range of from 2 at% to 67 at%. Regarding claim element (1), Kim’283 discloses that an input sensor disposed on encapsulation layer ([0054]) and a sensor conductive layer (Figs. 4-6, numeral 210) disposed on the sensor base layer (205) ([0079]), and a sensor insulating layer (215) disposed on the sensor base layer (205), the sensor insulating layer including silicon nitride (SiNx) ([0085]), wherein the sensor base layer includes: a buffer insulating layer including silicon (Si) and oxygen (O) ([0080]). It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim with Kim’283 to have the input sensor disposed on the encapsulation layer a sensor conductive layer disposed on the sensor base layer, and a sensor insulating layer disposed on the sensor base layer, the sensor insulating layer including silicon nitride (SiNx), wherein the sensor base layer includes: a buffer insulating layer including silicon (Si) and oxygen (O) for the purpose of forming a display device with improved light emission efficiency (Kim’283, [0004]). Regarding element (2), Kim’661 however discloses wherein an atomic percent of oxygen (O) within the buffer insulating layer is within a range of from 2 at% to 67 at% ([0099]). It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim with Kim’661 to atomic percent of oxygen to be in the claimed range for the purpose of optimization properties of the buffer layer. Regarding claim 2 , Kim’283 discloses wherein the sensor base layer further includes: a base insulating layer including silicon nitride (SiNx), and wherein the base insulating layer is disposed directly on the buffer insulating layer ([0079]; [0080]). Regarding claim 4 , Kim does not disclose wherein the sensor base layer has a thickness ranging from 1000 Å to 3000 Å, and wherein the buffer insulating layer has a thickness ranging from 150 Å to 3000 Å . Kim’283 however discloses that the buffer insulating layer protects the sensor conductive layer ([0079]). It would have been thereof obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the thicknesses of the layers to be in the claimed range to improve protection of the conductive sensor layer. Regarding claim 5 , Kim ‘283 discloses wherein the base insulating layer and the buffer insulating layer are each formed through a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) scheme, and wherein a first power used to form the buffer insulating layer is 35% or less of a second power used to form the base insulating layer ([0079]; note the recitation “formed by chemical vapor deposition…” is a product-by-process limitaiton. And according to MPEP 2113, I "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)). Regarding claim 7, Kim does not disclose wherein the sensor base layer is a single layer of the buffer insulating layer including silicon dioxide (SiO 2 ). Kim’283 however discloses that the sensor base layer includes silicon oxide ([0080]). It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the sensor base layer is a single layer of the buffer insulating layer including silicon dioxide (SiO 2 ) because this is a typical silicon oxide material for forming base insulating layers. Regarding claim 8, Kim’282 discloses wherein the sensor base layer is a single layer of the buffer insulating layer including the silicon nitride (SiN X ) and oxygen (O) ([0080]). Regarding claim 14 , Kim’661 discloses a first inorganic layer (Fig. 2, numeral 320) sequentially stacked on the display element layer (OLED); an organic layer (330) disposed on the first inorganic layer (320); a second inorganic layer (340a) disposed on the organic layer (330) ([0068]; [0104])) and including silicon nitride (SiNx) ([0115]); and an intermediate layer (340b) interposed directly between the organic layer (330) and the second inorganic layer (340a) (Fig.3) and including silicon (Si), nitrogen (N), oxygen (O), and carbon (C) ([0112]). Regarding claim 15 , Kim does not disclose wherein the second inorganic layer further includes oxygen (O) and carbon (C), wherein the atomic percent of oxygen (O) in the intermediate layer is within a range of 2 times to 100 times the atomic percent of oxygen (O) in the second inorganic layer, and wherein the atomic percent of carbon (C) in the intermediate layer is within a range of 2 times to 100 times the atomic percent of carbon (C) in the second inorganic layer. Kim’661 however discloses that composition of inorganic films can be adjusted to optimization encapsulation layers properties ([0106]). It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify composition of the first and the second inorganic films to be in the claimed range for the purpose of optimization encapsulation layers properties. Regarding claim 16 , Kim’283 discloses wherein the sensor base layer (Fig.3, “TSL”) is disposed directly on the second inorganic layer (ENL) . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 AIA Claim s 3, 6, and 9-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 07-43-01 AIA Claim s 24-28 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 17-23 are allowed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest the base insulating layer further includes oxygen (O), and the buffer insulating layer further includes nitrogen (N), and wherein an atomic percent of oxygen (O) in the buffer insulating layer is within a range of 2 times to 100 times of an atomic percent of oxygen (O) in the base insulating layer as required by claim 3. The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest wherein the buffer insulating layer has a porosity that is higher than a porosity of the base insulating layer as required by claim 6. The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest the inorganic film pattern has a groove defined therein, wherein the signal line is disposed in the groove as required by claim 9. The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest the circuit layer including an inorganic film pattern having a groove defined in, a signal line disposed in the groove, and an organic film pattern covering an edge of the signal line and exposing a portion of a top surface of the inorganic film pattern as required by claim 17. The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest wherein the buffer insulating layer has a porosity that is higher than a porosity of the sensor insulating layer as required by claim 24 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JULIA SLUTSKER whose telephone number is (571)270-3849. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 9 am-6 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Landau can be reached at 571-272-1731. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JULIA SLUTSKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/617,457 Page 2 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/617,457 Page 3 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/617,457 Page 4 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/617,457 Page 5 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/617,457 Page 6 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/617,457 Page 7 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/617,457 Page 8 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/617,457 Page 9 Art Unit: 2891