CTFR 18/618,761 CTFR 91275 DETAILED ACTION This is in response to the Amendment filed 4/14/2025 wherein 6, 13, and 19 are canceled, and claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-18, and 19-23 are presented for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Election/Restrictions 08-05 AIA Claim s 8-12, 14-18, and 20-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/30/2024 . Claims 1-5 and 7 are examined . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites “a gearbox configured to selectively switch between engaging the electric compressor stage shaft to drive the electric compressor stage and disengaging the electric compressor stage shaft from driving the electric compressor stage to enable the low-speed shaft to drive the low-pressure compressor stage responsive to air flow speed through the gas turbine engine”. Although Applicant’s specification states “Once the air flowing through the gas turbine engine 100 at a quick enough speed or enough time has passed, the gear box 120 can switch driving of the electric compressor stage shaft 111 to the low-speed shaft 110. For the rest of the operation, the electric compressor stage 132 can operate with the low-pressure compressor 116”, Applicant’s specification does not describe and the drawings do not show selectively switching between engaging and disengaging the electric compressor stage shaft. Therefore, the claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one having ordinary skill in the art that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 1 recites the limitation " the low-pressure compressor stage " in lines 13-14 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-5 and 7 are rejected for the same reason above based on their dependency to claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibbach et al. (US 2022/0252008) in view of Valois et al. (US 2022/0074349) . Regarding Independent Claim 1, Sibbach teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (10) comprising: a compressor section (40, 45, 27) including a low-pressure compressor (45), a high-pressure compressor (27), and an electric compressor stage (40; see Paragraph 0048); a turbine section (29, 50) including a low-pressure turbine (50) and a high-pressure turbine (29); a low-speed shaft (25) interconnecting (see Figures 1 and 3) the low-pressure compressor (45) and the low-pressure turbine (50); a high-speed shaft (26) interconnecting (see Figures 1 and 3) the high-pressure compressor (27) and the high-pressure turbine (29); and an electric motor (52) configured to drive (see Paragraph 0067, Figure 1, and Figure 3) the electric compressor stage (40). Sibbach does not teach that an electric compressor stage shaft connected to the electric compressor stage, wherein the electric motor is configured to drive the electric compressor stage shaft, and a gear box configured to selectively switch between engaging the electric compressor stage shaft to drive the electric compressor stage and disengaging the electric compressor stage shaft from driving the electric compressor stage to enable the low-speed shaft to drive the low-pressure compressor stage responsive to air flow speed through the gas turbine engine. Valois teaches (Figures 1-11C) a gas turbine engine (title) having an electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d; see Figures 1 and 7-9 and Paragraph 0047) connected to the electric compressor stage (26, 126), wherein the electric motor (36, 136) is configured to drive (see Figures 1, 7-9, and Paragraph 0047) the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d), and a gear box (140, 150) configured to selectively switch (see Figures 2, 6, and Paragraph 0051) between engaging the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d) to drive the electric compressor stage (26, 126) and disengaging the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d) from driving the electric compressor stage (26, 126) to enable the low-speed shaft 38d, 138d) to drive the low-pressure compressor stage (a stage within 26, 126) responsive to air flow speed (from 112) through the gas turbine engine (110). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sibbach to have the electric compressor stage shaft be connected to the electric compressor stage, wherein the electric motor is configured to drive the electric compressor stage shaft, and a gear box configured to selectively switch between engaging the electric compressor stage shaft to drive the electric compressor stage and disengaging the electric compressor stage shaft from driving the electric compressor stage to enable the low-speed shaft to drive the low-pressure compressor stage responsive to air flow speed through the gas turbine engine, as taught by Valois, in order to disengage the clutch to decouple the electric motor from the compressor in operating conditions where little to no boost from the compressor is required, thus reducing the drag of driving the compressor, and to re-engage to recouple the electric motor to the compressor as conditions dictate (Paragraph 0051 of Valois). Regarding Claim 2, Sibbach in view of Valois teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Sibbach further teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the electric compressor stage (40) is decoupled from (see Figure 3) the low-pressure compressor (45). Valois teaches (Figures 1-11C) an electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d; see Figures 1 and 7-9 and Paragraph 0047) connected to the electric compressor stage (26, 126) and an electric motor (36, 136) configured to drive (see Figures 1, 7-9, and Paragraph 0047) the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sibbach in view of Valois to include an electric compressor stage shaft connected to the electric compressor stage, wherein the electric motor is configured to drive the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Valois, in order to have the electric motor drive the compressor (Paragraph 0053 of Valois). Regarding Claim 3, Sibbach in view of Valois teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Sibbach further teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the electric compressor stage (40) is decoupled from (see Figure 3) the high-pressure compressor (27). Valois teaches (Figures 1-11C) an electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d; see Figures 1 and 7-9 and Paragraph 0047) connected to the electric compressor stage (26, 126) and an electric motor (36, 136) configured to drive (see Figures 1, 7-9, and Paragraph 0047) the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sibbach in view of Valois to include an electric compressor stage shaft connected to the electric compressor stage, wherein the electric motor is configured to drive the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Valois, in order to have the electric motor drive the compressor (Paragraph 0053 of Valois). Regarding Claim 7, Sibbach in view of Valois teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Sibbach further teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the electric motor (52) does not drive (see Figure 3) the low-speed shaft (25) and the high-speed shaft (26) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibbach et al. (US 2022/0252008) in view of Valois et al. (US 2022/0074349) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Robic et al. (US 2017/0226934) . Regarding Claim 4, Sibbach in view of Kupratis teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Sibbach in view of Kupratis does not teach, as discussed so far, a fan connected to the electric compressor stage shaft. Robic teaches (Figures 1-7) a fan (S) connected to (see Figures 3-5) the electric compressor stage shaft (10, powered electrically by 8; see Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sibbach in view of Valois to have the fan connected to the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Robic, in order to apply power mechanically to the fan shaft (Paragraphs 0038-0039 of Robic). Regarding Claim 5, Sibbach in view of Kupratis and Robic teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Sibbach in view of Valois and Robic does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the gearbox is connected to the fan via the electric compressor stage shaft. Valois teaches (Figures 1-11C) a gearbox (140, 150) connected to (see Figures 2 and 6) the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sibbach in view of Valois and Robic to have the gearbox be connected to the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Valois, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1. Sibbach in view of Valois and Robic does not teach, as discussed so far, that the fan is connected to the electric compressor stage shaft. Robic teaches (Figures 1-7) a fan (S) connected to (see Figures 3-5) the electric compressor stage shaft (10, powered electrically by 8; see Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sibbach in view of Valois to have the fan connected to the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Robic, in order to apply power mechanically to the fan shaft (Paragraphs 0038-0039 of Robic). Response to Arguments Applicant argues that withdrawal of the previous claims 5 and 6 was inappropriate. As discussed in the previous office action mailed 10/16/2024 and the communication mailed 2/20/2025, Applicant’s elected species (Figure 2) clearly shows that the electric compressor stage shaft is decoupled from both the low-pressure compressor and the high pressure compressor. Further, Applicant’s specification states that the fan 114 is not connected to the low-speed shaft 110 through the electric compressor stage shaft 113 and gear box 120 and “The electric compressor stage shaft 113 can be ONLY CONNECTED to the electric motor 128, the electric compressor stage 132, and the fan 114” in Paragraph 0019 (emphasis added). Therefore, the gearbox of the elected species (Figure 2) cannot be connected to both the low-speed shaft and the fan via the electric compressor stage shaft, as required by previously presented claim 6 and new claims 21-23. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being applied in this office action. However, to the extent possible, the arguments are addressed in the body of the rejection above, at the appropriate locations. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THOMAS P BURKE whose telephone number is (571)270-5407. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30-5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Devon Kramer can be reached on (571) 272-7118. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/618,761 Page 2 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/618,761 Page 4 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/618,761 Page 5 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/618,761 Page 6 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/618,761 Page 7 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/618,761 Page 8 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/618,761 Page 9 Art Unit: 3741