DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Republic of Korea on 8/21/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0109028 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 2022/0165815 A1, hereinafter “Han”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Figures 1-6 of Han disclose a display device comprising:
a support substrate 101 (“substrate”- ¶0058) including a main area including a display area AA (“display area”- ¶0053) in which light emitting areas are arranged, a hole area CH (“hole”- ¶0053) surrounded by the main area, and a hole peripheral area (i.e., the area around CH) between the hole area CH and the main area;
a circuit layer (i.e., collectively the layers between 101 and 150) on the support substrate 101;
an element layer 150 (“light emitting element”- ¶0071) on the circuit layer;
a capping layer 171 (“insulating film”- ¶0078) on the element layer 150;
an encapsulation substrate 173 (“insulating film”- ¶0078) on the capping layer 171 and bonded to the support substrate 101;
a first hole peripheral dam 301 (“dam”- ¶0080) in the hole peripheral area and surrounding a periphery of the hole area CH;
a second hole peripheral dam 302 (“dam”- ¶0080) in the hole peripheral area and surrounding a periphery of the first hole peripheral dam 301; and
an auxiliary dam 214 (“structure”- ¶0082) in a valley area of the hole peripheral area between the first hole peripheral dam 301 and the second hole peripheral dam 302.
Regarding claim 2, Figures 1-6 of Han disclose wherein the second hole peripheral dam 302 is adjacent to the main area, and the auxiliary dam 214 is closer to the second hole peripheral dam 302 among the first hole peripheral dam 301 and the second hole peripheral dam 302.
Regarding claim 3, Figures 1-6 of Han disclose wherein the first hole peripheral dam 301 is arranged in a ring shape surrounding the periphery of the hole area CH, the auxiliary dam 214 is arranged in a ring shape surrounding the periphery of the first hole peripheral dam 301, and the second hole peripheral dam 302 is arranged in a ring shape surrounding a periphery of the auxiliary dam 214.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record including Han, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “wherein the auxiliary dam includes dot-shaped pillars arranged along the periphery of the first hole peripheral dam and spaced apart from each other”.
Regarding claim 5 (which claims 6-11 depend from), the prior art of record including Han, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “[the] display device… further comprising: a light transmitting hole in the hole area and penetrating through the circuit layer, the element layer, and the capping layer; and a hole filling layer in an area surrounded by the first hole peripheral dam and filling the light transmitting hole”.
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
Regarding independent claim 12, Figures 1-6 of Han disclose a display device comprising:
a support substrate 101 (“substrate”- ¶0058) including a main area including a display area AA (“display area”- ¶0053) in which light emitting areas are arranged, a hole area CH (“hole”- ¶0053) surrounded by the main area, and a hole peripheral area (i.e., the area around CH) between the hole area CH and the main area;
a circuit layer (i.e., collectively the layers between 101 and 150) on the support substrate 101;
an element layer 150 (“light emitting element”- ¶0071) on the circuit layer;
a capping layer 171 (“insulating film”- ¶0078) on the element layer 150;
an encapsulation substrate 173 (“insulating film”- ¶0078) on the capping layer 171 and bonded to the support substrate 101;
a first hole peripheral dam 301 (“dam”- ¶0080) in the hole peripheral area and surrounding a periphery of the hole area CH;
a second hole peripheral dam 302 (“dam”- ¶0080) in the hole peripheral area and surrounding a periphery of the first hole peripheral dam 301; and
an auxiliary dam 214 (“structure”- ¶0082) in a valley area of the hole peripheral area between the first hole peripheral dam 301 and the second hole peripheral dam 302.
Han does not expressly disclose a light transmitting hole in the hole area and penetrating through the circuit layer, the element layer, and the capping layer, and a hole filling layer in an area surrounded by the first hole peripheral dam and filling the light transmitting hole.
Thus, regarding independent claim 12, the claim is allowed, because the prior art of record including Han, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “a light transmitting hole in the hole area and penetrating through the circuit layer, the element layer, and the capping layer” and “a hole filling layer in an area surrounded by the first hole peripheral dam and filling the light transmitting hole”.
Claims 13-20 are allowed as being dependent on allowed claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Han et al. (US 2023/0146897 A1), which discloses a display device comprising multiple dam structures surrounding a hole area.
/JAY C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817