DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Gas distributor (showerhead, para. [0023]) in at least claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20180096821 to Lubomirsky.
Claim 1: Lubomirsky discloses a process chamber (200 [etch chamber], Fig. 2), comprising a chamber body (200) having a processing volume (284 [first chamber region]); a substrate support (250 [chuck]) comprising a powered electrode (249 [mesh]), the substrate support (250) disposed in the chamber body (200) and partially defining the processing volume (284); a gas distributor (215/210 [flow distributor]/second showerhead]) disposed above the chamber body (200) and facing the substrate support (250, Fig. 2), wherein the gas distributor (215/210) is electrically insulated from the chamber body (200, para. [0040]);
a RF power source (252/253 [first/second RF generator], Fig. 2) configured to apply a RF power to the powered electrode (249) to generate and maintain a plasma in the processing volume between the powered electrode (249) and a grounded electrode (225 or 205/210/215, para. [0040]); and a grounding plate (225 [first showerhead]) disposed between the chamber body (200) and the gas distributor (215/210) and partially defining the processing volume (284), wherein the grounding plate (225) is coupled to an electrical ground (para. [0037]), comprises a plurality of passages (282 [apertures]) extending therethrough (para. [0039]), and is configured to operate as at least part of the grounded electrode (225 or 205/210/215) for generating and maintaining the plasma in the processing volume (para. [0040]).
Claim 2: Lubomirsky discloses wherein a grounded surface area of the grounded electrode (225 or 210/215/205, Fig. 2, Lubomirsky) comprises a surface area of the grounding plate (surface area of 225) and an interior surface area of the chamber body (interior surface of 200) at least partially defining the processing volume (284).
Claim 4: Lubomirsky discloses wherein the plasma generated by the RF power source (252/253, Fig. 2, Lubomirsky) in the processing volume (284) is a capacitively coupled plasma (para. [0035]).
Claim 5: The apparatus of Lubomirsky discloses discloses wherein the processing volume (284, Fig. 2, Lubomirsky) is defined by the grounding plate (225), the substrate support (250), and the chamber body (200).
Claim 6: The apparatus of Lubomirsky discloses further comprising a spacer (230 [dielectric spacer], Fig. 2) disposed between the chamber body (200) and the grounding plate (225) and partially defining the processing volume (284), and wherein a grounded surface area of the grounded electrode (surface of 225) comprises a surface area of the grounding plate (surface of 225) and an interior surface area of the spacer (interior surface of 230, Fig. 2).
Claim 7: The apparatus of Lubomirsky discloses wherein the grounding plate (225, Fig. 2, Lubomirsky) is conductively coupled with the chamber body (200).
Claim 8: The apparatus of Lubomirsky discloses wherein the plurality of passages (282 [apertures], Fig. 2, Lubomirsky) is configured to fluidly connect the gas distributor (210/215) and the processing volume (284).
Claim 9: The apparatus of Lubomirsky discloses further comprising an inductively coupled plasma source (coils, para. [0061], similar embodiment) disposed on a lid assembly (502/509/515/510) coupled to and above the chamber body (above 503, para. [0061]), the lid assembly comprising the gas distributor (523) and a ceramic material (510 [spacer]) to provide a dielectric break between the inductively coupled plasma source and the chamber body (para. [0055]).
Claim 10: The apparatus of Lubomirsky discloses wherein when the RF power applied is greater than about 550W (para. [0062], Fig. 2, Lubomirsky) and the grounding plate (225) coupled with the chamber body (200) is configured as the grounded electrode (225) to generate a capacitively coupled plasma in the processing volume (284).
Regarding the limitation, the grounding plate increases a sheath voltage of the powered electrode by about 30%, the apparatus of Lubomirsky is capable to perform as necessary with the structure provided. The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claim 11: The apparatus of Lubomirsky discloses wherein when the grounding plate (225, Fig. 2, Lubomirsky) is used as the grounded electrode (225) to generate a capacitively coupled plasma in the processing volume (para. [0037]), the grounding plate (225) provides enhanced ion bombardment of a substrate disposed on the substrate support (para. [0035, 0037]).
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20180096821 to Lubomirsky.
Claim 12: Lubomirsky discloses a process chamber (200 or 500 [etch chamber], Fig. 2 or 5), comprising a lid assembly (502/509/515/510); an inductively coupled plasma source (coils, para. [0061], [0050]) disposed on the lid assembly (para. [0061); a chamber body (503 [chamber housing]) coupled to the lid assembly (502/509/515/510), wherein the lid assembly (502/509/515/510) and the chamber body (503) defines a chamber volume (560 [processing region]), and the lid assembly (502/509/515/510) comprises a non-conductive material (510) for providing a dielectric break between the inductively coupled plasma source (coils) and the chamber body (503);
a substrate support (565 [pedestal]) comprising a powered electrode (not shown but disclosed, para. [0060]), the substrate support (565) disposed in the chamber volume (560) and partially defining a processing volume (560) in the chamber volume (560); and a grounding plate (523 [faceplate]) coupled to an electrical ground (534 [electrical ground]) and disposed between the lid assembly (502/509/515/510) and the chamber body (503), wherein the grounding plate (523) is configured to operate as part of a grounded electrode (523) for generating a plasma in the processing volume between the powered electrode (para. [0060]) and the grounded electrode (523), and a grounded surface area of the grounded electrode (surface area of 523) comprises a surface area of the grounding plate (surface area of 523) and an interior surface area of the chamber body (interior surface of 503).
Claim 13: Lubomirsky discloses further comprising a first RF power source (not shown but disclosed, para. [0050], Fig. 5, Lubomirsky) for powering the inductively coupled plasma source (para. [0050]).
Claim 14: Lubomirsky discloses further comprising a second RF power source (554 [electrical source], Fig. 5, Lubomirsky) for providing a RF power to the powered electrode (para. [0060]) for generating and maintaining the plasma in the processing volume (560).
Claim 15: Lubomirsky discloses wherein the lid assembly (502/509/515/510, Fig. 5, Lubomirsky) comprises a gas distributor (509/515 [faceplate]/[showerhead]) for providing a processing gas from a gas source (para. [0039]), and the grounding plate (523) comprises a plurality of passages (524 [apertures]) to fluidly connect the gas distributor (509/515) and the processing volume (560).
Claim 16: Lubomirsky discloses further comprising a spacer (not shown but disclosed, para. [0058], Fig. 5, Lubomirsky) disposed between the grounding plate (523) and the substrate support (565), and wherein the processing volume (560) is defined by the grounding plate (523), the spacer (not shown, para. [0058]), and the substrate support (565).
Claim(s) 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20180096821 to Lubomirsky.
Claim 17: Lubomirsky discloses a process chamber (200 or 500 [etch chamber], Fig. 2 or 5), comprising a lid assembly (502/509/515/510); an inductively coupled plasma source (coils, para. [0061], [0050]) disposed on the lid assembly (para. [0061), a chamber body (503 [chamber housing]) coupled to the lid assembly (502/509/515/510), wherein the lid assembly (502/509/515/510) and the chamber body (503) defines a chamber volume (560 [processing region]) and the lid assembly is electrically insulated from the chamber body and the lid assembly (502/509/515/510) is electrically insulated from the chamber body (503);
a substrate support (565 [pedestal]) comprising a powered electrode (not shown but disclosed, para. [0060]), the substrate support (565) disposed in the chamber volume (560) and partially defining a processing volume (560) in the chamber volume (560); and a grounding plate (523 [faceplate]) coupled to an electrical ground (534 [electrical ground]) and disposed between the lid assembly (502/509/515/510) and the chamber body (503);
wherein the grounding plate (523) comprises: a plate body (523) configured to be coupled with the chamber body (503) and partially defining the processing volume (560); a plurality of passages (524 [apertures]) extending through the plate body (523); and a grounding surface facing the processing volume (Fig. 5) and the substrate support (565) when the plate body (523) is coupled to the chamber body (503), wherein:
the plate body (523) is configured to operate as part of a grounded electrode (523) for generating a capacitvely coupled plasma in the processing volume between the powered electrode (not-shown electrode coupled to 554) and the grounded electrode (523); and a grounded surface area of the grounded electrode (surface of 523) comprises a surface area of the plate body (surface of 523) and an interior surface area of the chamber body (interior surface of 503) at least partially defining the processing volume (560) when the plate body (523) is coupled to the chamber body (503).
Claim 19: Lubomirsky discloses wherein the plate body (523, Fig. 5, Lubomirsky) comprises an electrically conductive metallic material (para. [0047]).
Claim 20: Lubomirsky discloses wherein when the plate body (523, Fig. 5, Lubomirsky) is coupled to the chamber body of the process chamber (503 of 500), the plurality of passages (524) is configured to fluidly connect a gas distributor 509/515 [faceplate]/[showerhead]) of the process chamber (500) to the processing volume (506).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lubomirsky as applied to claims 1-2, 4-11 above, and further in view of US 20110174606 to Funk.
Claim 3: The apparatus of Lubomirsky does not disclose wherein the grounding plate increases the grounded surface area of the grounded electrode by about 2.5X.
However Funk teaches wherein a grounding plate (317/347 [ground electrode], Fig. 3) increases the grounded surface area of the grounded electrode (317/347) as necessary (para. [0088]) for the purpose of attaining desirability to comprise a large contact area with a plasma to lower the plasma potential (para. [0088]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of surface area size with motivation to attain desirability to comprise a large contact area with a plasma to lower the plasma potential.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lubomirsky as applied to claims 17, 19-20 above.
Claim 18: The apparatus of Lubomirsky does not disclose wherein a thickness of the plate body is between about .2 inches and about 1 inch.
Yet Lubomirsky teaches that the faceplate can have a variety of thicknesses (para. [0047]) for the purpose of suppressing migration of ionically-charged species out of a plasma chamber region while allowing uncharged neutral or radical species to pass through into an activated gas delivery region downstream of the ion suppressor (para. [0049]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of thickness of the plate body (faceplate) as taught by Lubomirsky with motivation to suppress migration of ionically-charged species out of a plasma chamber region while allowing uncharged neutral or radical species to pass through into an activated gas delivery region downstream of the ion suppressor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20240068096 discloses a spacer (142 [lower isolator], Fig. 1) under a grounded plate (146 [ion filter) above a pedestal (112) by same assignee.
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718