Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 5/13/2026 traverses the 112 rejection which is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-11, 13-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Karhade” (US 2022/0199574) in view of “Sylvestre” (US 2007/0267735).
Regarding claim 1, Karhade discloses 1. A component carrier comprising: a stack comprising a plurality of electrically conductive layer structures and at least one electrically insulating layer structure (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the microelectric assembly 150 which comprises a substrate 102 comprising electrically conductive layer structures and at least one electrically insulating layer structure),
a component provided in and/or on the stack, said component comprising at least one electrically conductive surface connected to an electrically conductive connecting element, said connecting element extending from said electrically conductive surface away from the stack and configured to be connected to at least one external component to be mounted on the component carrier when at least one connecting surface provided in/on the external component is faced to the electrically conductive surface of the component (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the bridge component 110 is provided on the substrate 102, comprises a conductive surface that is electrically connected to the solder 106 and the conductive contact 135 extending away from the substrate 102 and connects to the microelectric component 130-1),
wherein the connecting element is made of a heterogeneous conductive structure that is arranged to permanently compensate for a relative movement between said electrically conductive surface of the component and said connecting surface of the external component (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the solder 106 and the conductive contact 135 are different materials and are arranged to permanently compensate for relative movement between the bridge component 110 and the connecting surface of the microelectric component 130-1).
Karhade does not disclose the heterogeneous conductive structure comprising different materials in different states of aggregation.
Sylvestre discloses a heterogeneous conductive structure comprising different materials in different states of aggregation (Fig. 5, col. 5, line 55-col. 6, line 24; the pads 512 are in a solid state and the solder joints 514 are in a liquid state).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Karhade’s component carrier with Sylvestre’s conductive structure in order to be resilient to mechanical stresses and shocks that could damage tin-based solder joints of prior art devices, as suggested by Sylvestre at col. 5, lines 65-67.
Regarding claim 5, Karhade in view of` Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Karhade does not disclose the limitations of claim 5.
Sylvestre discloses 5. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the heterogeneous structure comprises a liquid metal structure connected to the electrically conductive surface (Fig. 5, col. 5, line 55-col. 6, line 24; the solder joints 514 are in a liquid state).
Regarding claim 7, Karhade in view of` Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Karhade discloses 7. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the stack comprises at least one exposed electrically conductive surface on the main surface where the component is exposed, said at least one exposed electrically conductive surface being connected to an external conductive structure extending from the at least one exposed electrically conductive surface and configured to expose a surface at a higher vertical level than that of the at least one exposed electrically conductive surface (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the substrate 102 comprises an exposed conductive surface where the bridge component 110 is exposed and is connected to an external conductive structure to expose a surface at a higher vertical level than the exposed conductive surface).
Regarding claim 8, Karhade in view of` Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Karhade discloses 8. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein a damping structure is provided between the component and the stack (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the solder 106 is a damping structure between the bridge component and the substrate 102).
Regarding claim 9, Karhade discloses 9. A package, comprising: a stack comprising a plurality of electrically conductive layer structures and at least one electrically insulating layer structure (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the microelectric assembly 150 which comprises a substrate 102 comprising electrically conductive layer structures and at least one electrically insulating layer structure),
a component provided in and/or on the stack, said component comprising at least one electrically conductive surface, at least one external component, said external component comprising at least one connecting surface, wherein said component and said at least one external component are electrically connected to each other, with the at least one electrically conductive surface of the component and the at least one connecting surface of the external component facing each other, by at least one connecting element (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the bridge component 110 is provided on the substrate 102, comprises a conductive surface that is electrically connected to the solder 106 and the conductive contact 135 extending away from the substrate 102 and connects to the microelectric component 130-1),
wherein the at least one connecting element is made of a heterogeneous conductive structure that is arranged to permanently compensate for a relative movement between said electrically conductive surface of the component and said connecting surface of the external component (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the solder 106 and the conductive contact 135 are different materials and are arranged to permanently compensate for relative movement between the bridge component 110 and the connecting surface of the microelectric component 130-1).
Karhade does not disclose the heterogeneous conductive structure comprising different materials in different states of aggregation.
Sylvestre discloses a heterogeneous conductive structure comprising different materials in different states of aggregation (Fig. 5, col. 5, line 55-col. 6, line 24; the pads 512 are in a solid state and the solder joints 514 are in a liquid state).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Karhade’s component carrier with Sylvestre’s conductive structure in order to be resilient to mechanical stresses and shocks that could damage tin-based solder joints of prior art devices, as suggested by Sylvestre at col. 5, lines 65-67.
Regarding claim 10, Karhade in view of` Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 9, above.
Karhade discloses 10. The package according to claim 9, wherein the connecting element comprises: a first element connected to the at least one electrically conductive surface of the component, and a second element connected to the at least one connecting surface of the external component (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the connecting element comprises the solder 106 connected to the surface of the bridge component 110 and the solder 106 connected to the surface of the microelectric component 130-1),
wherein the first element and second element are connected to each other providing the electrical connection between the at least one electrically conductive surface of the component with the at least one connecting surface of the external component (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the two solder 106 elements are connected to the conductive contact 135).
Regarding claim 11, Karhade in view of` Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 10, above.
Karhade discloses 11. The package according to claim 10, wherein the first element and the second element are connected to each other through their mutual frontal contact, said frontal contact is provided by the extremity of each element opposed to the extremity in contact/associated with the at least one electrically conductive surface of the component or the at least one connecting surface of the external component (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the two solder 106 elements are connected to each other through their mutual frontal contact, the frontal contact is provided by the extremity of each solder 106 element opposed to the extremity in contact/associated with the at least one electrically conductive surface of the bridge component 110 or the at least one connecting surface of the microelectric component 130-1).
Regarding claim 13, Karhade in view of` Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 10, above.
Karhade discloses 13. The package according to claim 9, wherein the connecting element and/or the first element and/or the second element is deformed at the contact portion with the respective at least one electrically conductive surface or at least one connecting surface or the opposing first or second element (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the solder 106 changes shape and is deformed at the contact portion during the manufacturing process).
Regarding claim 14, Karhade in view of` Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 10, above.
Karhade discloses 14. The package according to claim 9, wherein the connecting element and/or the first element and/or the second element are at least partially covered by a protecting material (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the mold material 144 covers the connecting element).
Regarding claim 15, Karhade in view of` Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 9, above.
Karhade discloses 15. The package according to claim 9, wherein the component is configured to be connected to at least two external components (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the bridge component 110 is connected to the microelectric components 130-1 and 130-2).
Regarding claim 16, Karhade in view of` Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 15, above.
Karhade discloses 16. The package according to claim 15, wherein the component has a bridge function (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the bridge component 110 has a bridge function).
Regarding claim 18, Karhade in view of` Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 10, above.
Karhade discloses 18. The package according to claim 11, wherein said frontal contact is provided by the extremity of each element opposed to the extremity in contact/associated with the at least one electrically conductive surface of the component or the at least one connecting surface of the external component (Fig. 14, [0050]-[0062]; the frontal contact is provided by the extremity of each of the two solder 106 elements opposed to the extremity in contact/associated with the electrically conductive surface of the bridge component 110 or the connecting surface of the microelectric component 130-1).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karhade in view of Sylvestre and “Imahigashi” (US 2021/0376564).
Regarding claim 2, Karhade in view of Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Karhade does not disclose the limitations of claim 2.
Imahigashi discloses 2. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the heterogeneous structure of the connecting element comprises a solid electrically conductive material with voids inside (Fig. 1, [0041]; the porous metal layer 41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Karhade’s component carrier, as modified by Sylvestre, with Imahigashi’s porous metal layer in order to produce a height ratio between the porous metal layer 41 and the bumps 4 to improve the reliability as compared to a case where a bump made of solder is used, as suggested by Imahigashi at [0041].
Regarding claim 4, Karhade in view of Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Karhade does not disclose the limitations of claim 4.
Imahigashi discloses 4. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the heterogeneous structure comprises an electrically conductive porous material connected to the electrically conductive surface (Fig. 1, [0041]; the porous metal layer 41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Karhade’s component carrier, as modified by Sylvestre, with Imahigashi’s porous metal layer in order to produce a height ratio between the porous metal layer 41 and the bumps 4 to improve the reliability as compared to a case where a bump made of solder is used, as suggested by Imahigashi at [0041].
Claims 3, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karhade in view of Sylvestre and “Awano” (US 2007/0267735).
Regarding claim 3, Karhade in view of Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Karhade does not disclose the limitations of claim 3.
Awano discloses 3. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the heterogeneous structure comprises a plurality of electrically conductive nanowires spaced apart from each other, connected to the electrically conductive surface and extending away from the stack (Figs. 9A, 9B, [0051]-[0052]; conductive nanotubes 12 are spaced apart from each other and connected to the conductive surface extending away from the substrate 30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Karhade’s component carrier, as modified by Sylvestre, with Awano’s conductive nanotubes in order to provide a semiconductor device capable of easily dismounting semiconductor chips once mounted on a mounting board, as suggested by Awano at [0013].
Regarding claim 12, Karhade in view of Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 11, above.
Karhade does not disclose the limitations of claim 12.
Awano discloses 12. The package according to claim 11, wherein the heterogeneous structure comprises a plurality of electrically conductive nanowires distanced spaced apart to each other, one group of the plurality of electrically conductive nanowires being connected to the electrically conductive surface of the stack and extended extending away from the stack and another group of the plurality of electrically conductive nanowires being connected to the electrically conductive surface of the external component, with the respective pluralities of electrically conductive nanowires of the opposing groups being connected one to each other by an at least partial intertangle of the respective nanowires of the opposing groups (Figs. 9A, 9B, [0051]-[0052]; conductive nanotubes 12 are spaced apart from each other and connected to the conductive surface extending away from the substrate 30, the opposing groups being connected one to each other by the at least partial intertangle of the respective conductive nanotubes 12 of the opposing groups).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Karhade’s component carrier, as modified by Sylvestre, with Awano’s conductive nanotubes in order to provide a semiconductor device capable of easily dismounting semiconductor chips once mounted on a mounting board, as suggested by Awano at [0013].
Regarding claim 17, Karhade in view of Sylvestre and Awano discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 3, above.
Karhade does not disclose the limitations of claim 17.
Awano discloses 17. The component carrier according to claim 3, wherein each one of said plurality of nanowires is connected to and/or bonded to and/or monolithically merged from the electrically conductive surface (Figs. 9A, 9B, [0051]-[0052]; conductive nanotubes 12 are connected to and/or bonded to and/or monolithically merged from the conductive surface).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karhade in view of Sylvestre and “Korea Electronics” (KR 102375410. Examiner’s note: Korea Electronics is included in the IDS filed on 9/11/2025.).
Regarding claim 6, Karhade in view of Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Karhade does not disclose the limitations of claim 6.
Korea Electronics discloses 6. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the heterogeneous structure comprises a solder bump with rubber particles inside ([0025]; the solder paste contains rubber particles).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Karhade’s component carrier, as modified by Sylvestre, with Korea Electronics’ conductive structure in order to include rubber particles that give stress relief properties of the solder joint, as suggested by Korea Electronics at [0026].
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karhade in view of Sylvestre and “Oster” (US 2015/0163921).
Regarding claim 19, Karhade in view of Sylvestre discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 15, above.
Karhade does not disclose the limitations of claim 19.
Oster discloses the component, the first external component and the second external component are enclosed in an overmold structure (Figs. 3A, 4A, 4B, [0035]-[0036]; the component stacks 402 are enclosed in the overmold 414A and 414B structures).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Karhade’s component carrier, as modified by Sylvestre, with Oster’s overmold structure in order to encapsulate and substantially protect the component stacks and flexible base structure, as suggested by Oster at [0036].
Karhade does not explicitly disclose a first external component that is misaligned along a vertical direction extending perpendicular to a main surface of the component with respect to a second external component.
It would have been an obvious matter of common sense or common knowledge to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a component that is misaligned since claim 19 does not specify any degree of misalignment. It is noted that Applicant’s Figure 13 illustrates that the external component 16 seems to be tilted at an angle of approximately 5 degrees as compared to the alignment of the external component 17, which appears to have zero tilt. However, claim 19 does not define a degree of misalignment, and therefore claim 19 is construed as the external component may have any angle of tilt that is greater than zero, including components that are mounted with a very minimal tilt and are within manufacturing tolerances of the tilt.
Regarding claim 20, Karhade in view of Sylvestre and Oster discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 19, above.
Karhade does not disclose the limitations of claim 20.
It would have been an obvious matter of common sense or common knowledge to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a main surface of the first external component is not parallel with a main surface of the second external component since claim 20 does not specify any degree of what is meant by “not parallel.” It is noted that Applicant’s Figure 13 illustrates that the external component 16 seems to be tilted at an angle of approximately 5 degrees as compared to the alignment of the external component 17, which appears to have zero tilt. However, claim 20 does not define a degree of tilt, and therefore claim 20 is construed as the external component may have any angle of tilt that is greater than zero, including components that are mounted with a very minimal tilt and are within manufacturing tolerances of the tilt.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Regarding claims 19-20, “Brunner” (US 2004/0188697, [0071]) discloses manufacturing tolerances in the encapsulation with molding material leading to the tilting of an electronic component during mounting.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847