DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinterberger et al. DE 102019125236 A1 in view of Kawai et al. US 2010/0308834 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kawai).
Regarding claim 1, Hinterberger discloses a battery cell (fig. 3, battery cell 14, par. [41]), comprising: a casing (fig.1, 3, battery cell housing 16, 18, electrically conductive housing section is preferred 18th as a housing cover, par. [28], [41]), comprising a wall part (fig. 1, elm. 16, par. [42]) and an accommodating cavity enclosed and formed by the wall part, the casing being electrically conductive; (fig.1, 3, battery cell housing 16, 18, electrically conductive housing section is preferred 18th as a housing cover, par. [28], [41]), an electrode assembly (fig. 3, galvanic cell 20, par. [42]), located in the accommodating cavity (fig. 3, interior 22, par. [42]), and connected with a first electrode terminal (fig. 3, second voltage tap 30, par. [42]), and a second electrode terminal (fig. 3, first voltage tap 28, par. [42]), the first electrode terminal being a negative electrode terminal (fig. 3, negative electrode, par. [42]); a third electrode (see fig. 3, at least temporarily the housing section 18 as a reference electrode, par. [41], [50]), arranged on the wall part (see fig. 3), the third electrode being electrically (fig.1, 3, electrically conductive housing section 18, par. [28], [41]), connected to the casing (see fig. 1-3); a signal line (see fig. 3, connecting lines), comprising a first signal line connected with the third electrode and the first electrode terminal, and a second signal line connected with the third electrode and the second electrode terminal (see fig. 3, connecting line); and a processing unit (fig. 3, diagnostic unit 32, par. [42]),
Hinterberger does not disclose configured to obtain a first voltage difference between the first electrode terminal and the third electrode within a predetermined time period during which the battery cell is not in a charging-and-discharging state, and to determine that corrosion of the casing occurs when the first voltage difference decreases within the predetermined time period.
Kawai discloses configured to obtain a first voltage difference (fig. 2, potential VN, par. [0049]) (fig. 10, DELTA.VP, S202, par. [0082]) between the first electrode terminal (fig. 2, 72, par. [0042]) and the third electrode (fig. 2, casing 50, par. [0042]) within a predetermined time period (fig. 10, DELTA.VP per unit time, S202, par. [0082]) during which the battery cell (fig. 2, casing 10, par. [0041]) is not in a charging-and-discharging state (fig. 10, steps S200-S120 S206-S120, do not include charging or discharging, par. [0081-[0084]) , and to determine that corrosion (abnormal) of the casing occurs when the first voltage difference decreases within the predetermined time period (fig. 10, variation of a potential difference of the electrode per unit time, S120, par. [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an apparatus for detecting a state of a secondary battery, detecting the variation of the potential difference of the electrode respect to the casing per unit time to determine abnormality of positive plate and the negative plate, as taught in Kawai in modifying the apparatus of Hinterberger. The motivation would be the need for reference electrode is eliminated so that the cost of the secondary battery state detection apparatus is reduced (see Kawai: par. [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Hinterberger, and Kawai discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, Hinterberger discloses wherein the casing (fig. 3, battery cell housing 16, 18, par. [41]) comprises a conductive material (electrically conductive housing section, par. [41]) and is multiplexed as the third electrode (see fig. 3), the first signal line is connected with the casing and the first electrode terminal (see fig. 3, second voltage tap 30, par. [42]), and the second signal line is connected with the casing (see fig. 3) and the second electrode terminal (fig. 3, first voltage tap 28, par. [42]).
Regarding claim 3, Hinterberger, and Kawai discloses the battery cell according to claim 2, Hinterberger discloses wherein the wall part comprises a casing body (fig. 3, battery cell housing 16, par. [41]) with an opening and an end cover covering the opening (see fig. 3) the end cover is multiplexed as the third electrode (fig. 3, housing section 18, par. [41]) the first signal line is connected with the end cover (see fig. 3) and the first electrode terminal (see fig. 3, second voltage tap 30, par. [42]), and the second signal line is connected with the end cover (see fig. 3) and the second electrode terminal (fig. 3, first voltage tap 28, par. [42]).
Regarding claim 4, Hinterberger, and Kawai discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, Hinterberger discloses wherein the wall part comprises a casing body (fig. 3, battery cell housing 16, par. [41]) with an opening and an end cover covering the opening, and the third electrode (see fig. 3, housing section 18, par. [41]) is located on a side of the end cover away from the accommodating cavity (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Hinterberger discloses a detecting method for a battery cell, comprising: providing a battery cell (fig. 3, battery cell 14, par. [41]), comprising an electrode assembly (fig. 3, galvanic cell 20, par. [42]), and a third electrode (see fig. 3, housing section 18, par. [41]), the electrode assembly comprising a first electrode terminal (see fig. 3, second voltage tap 30, par. [42]), and a second electrode terminal (fig. 3, first voltage tap 28, par. [42]) and the first electrode terminal (see fig. 3, second voltage tap 30 connected to anode 26, par. [43]) being a negative electrode terminal, the battery cell further comprising a casing (fig.1, 3, battery cell housing 16, 18, electrically conductive housing section is preferred 18th as a housing cover, par. [28], [41]), that is electrically conductive the third electrode being electrically connected to the casing (see fig. 3); obtaining a voltage difference (anode 26 potential difference 50, par. [43]) between the first electrode terminal and the third electrode (fig. 3, housing section 18 and anode 26 of the fig. 1 for a voltage measurement of the anode potential difference 50, par. [43]).
Hinterberger does not disclose obtaining a first voltage difference between the first electrode terminal and the third electrode within a predetermined time period during which the battery cell is not in a charging- and-discharging state; and determining that corrosion of the casing occurs in response to the first voltage difference decreasing within the predetermined time period.
Kawai discloses configured to obtain a first voltage difference (fig. 2, potential VN, par. [0049]) (fig. 10, DELTA.VP, S202, par. [0082]) between the first electrode terminal (fig. 2, 72, par. [0042]) and the third electrode (fig. 2, casing 50, par. [0042]) within a predetermined time period (fig. 10, DELTA.VP per unit time, S202, par. [0082]) during which the battery cell (fig. 2, casing 10, par. [0041]) is not in a charging and discharging state (fig. 10, steps S200-S120 S206-S120, do not include charging or discharging, par. [0081-[0084]), and to determine that corrosion (fig. 10, abnormal, steps S200-S120 S206-S120, par. [0081-[0084]), of the casing occurs when the first voltage difference decreases within the predetermined time period (fig. 10, variation of a potential difference of the electrode per unit time, S120, par. [0084]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Hinterberger and Kawai discloses the method according to claim 5, Hinterberger discloses wherein: the electrode assembly (fig. 3, galvanic cell 20, par. [42]), is located in the casing (fig. 3, battery cell housing 16, 18, par. [41]), and the casing serves as the third electrode (see fig. 3, housing section 18, par. [41]); and obtaining the first voltage difference (cathode potential difference 48, par. [44]) between the first electrode terminal (see fig. 3, second voltage tap 30, par. [42]) and the third electrode comprises obtaining the first voltage difference between the first electrode terminal and the casing (fig. 3, housing section 18 and anode 26 of the fig.1 for a voltage measurement of the anode potential difference 50, par. [43]).
Regarding claim 9, Hinterberger discloses a detecting module (fig. 3, diagnostic unit 32) for a battery cell, wherein the battery cell (fig. 3, battery cell 14, par. [41]) comprises an electrode assembly (fig. 3, galvanic cell 20, par. [42]) and a third electrode (see fig. 3, housing section 18, par. [41]) the electrode assembly comprises a first electrode terminal (fig. 3, second voltage tap 30, par. [42]) and a second electrode terminal (fig. 3, first voltage tap 28, par. [42]) the first electrode terminal is a negative electrode terminal (see fig. 3, second voltage tap 30 connected to anode 26, par. [43]), the battery cell further comprises a casing that is electrically conductive (fig.1, 3, battery cell housing 16, 18, electrically conductive housing section is preferred 18th as a housing cover, par. [28], [41]), the third electrode (see fig.1, 3, , electrically conductive housing section 18, par. [28], [41]), is electrically connected to the casing, and the detecting module (fig. 1, diagnostic unit 32, par. [0042]) comprises: an obtaining unit (voltmeter, par. [48]), configured to obtain a voltage difference (anode potential difference 50, par. [43]) between the first electrode terminal and the third electrode (fig. 4, housing section 18 and anode 26 of the fig.1 for a voltage measurement of the anode potential difference 50, par. [43]); and a processing unit (fig. 3, diagnostic unit 32, par. [41]).
Hinterberger does not disclose configured to obtain a first voltage difference between the first electrode terminal and the third electrode within a predetermined time period during which the battery cell is not in a charging-and-discharging state, and to determine that corrosion of the casing occurs when the first voltage difference decreases within the predetermined time period.
Kawai discloses configured to obtain a first voltage difference (fig. 2, potential VN, par. [0049]) (fig. 10, DELTA.VP, S202, par. [0082]) between the first electrode terminal(fig. 2, 72, par. [0042]) and the third electrode (fig. 2, casing 50, par. [0042]) within a predetermined time period (fig. 10, DELTA.VP per unit time, S202, par. [0082]) during which the battery cell (fig. 2, casing 10, par. [0041]) is not in a charging-and-discharging state (fig. 10, steps S200-S120 S206-S120, do not include charging or discharging, par. [0081-[0084]), and to determine that corrosion (abnormal) of the casing occurs when the first voltage difference decreases within the predetermined time period (fig. 10, variation of a potential difference of the electrode per unit time, S120, par. [0084]).
Regarding claim 10, Hinterberger and Kawai discloses the detecting module according to claim 9, Hinterberger discloses wherein: the battery cell (fig. 3, battery cell 14, par. [41]) further comprises a casing (fig. 3, battery cell housing 16, par. [41]), the electrode assembly (fig. 3, galvanic cell 20, par. [42]), is located in the casing, and the casing is multiplexed as the third electrode (see fig. 3, housing section 18, par. [41]); the obtaining unit (voltmeter, par. [48]) is configured to obtain the first voltage difference (anode potential difference 50, par. [43]) between the first electrode terminal (see fig. 3, second voltage tap 30 connected to anode 26, par. [43]) and the casing of the battery cell.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinterberger in view of Kawai as applied to claim 6 and 9 above, and further in view of Smyrl US 2015/0198519 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Hinterberger and Kawai discloses the method according to claim 6, Kawai discloses further comprising: determining that the corrosion of the casing (fig. 10, abnormal, steps S200-S120 S206-S120, par. [0081-[0084]), when the first voltage difference is less than or equal to a first voltage threshold (fig. 10, step S120, par. [0084]) within the predetermined time period (fig. 10, per unit time, par. [0084]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Smyrl discloses determining that the corrosion is severe and sending an alarm signal (par. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a warning that the critical conditions for corrosion have been detected at the location of the battery-sensor, as taught in Smyrl in modifying the apparatus of Hinterberger, and Kawai. The motivation would be to provide user the severity of corrosion. (see Smyrl: par. [0007]).
Regarding claim 8, Hinterberger and Kawai discloses the method according to claim 5, Hinterberger discloses wherein: obtaining the voltage difference between the first electrode terminal and the third electrode difference (anode potential difference 50, par. [43]).
Hinterberger and Kawai do not disclose comprises obtaining a second voltage difference between the first electrode terminal and the third electrode in a charging state; and the method further comprises determining the setting parameter of the battery cell according to the voltage difference comprises determining that lithium precipitation of the first electrode terminal occurs when the second voltage difference is less than or equal to a second voltage threshold.
Nagakura discloses comprises obtaining a second voltage difference between the first electrode terminal and the third electrode in a charging state (fig. 1, total terminal voltage, par. [0014]); and determining the setting parameter of the battery cell (fig. 1, cell 2, par. [0013]); according to the voltage difference (fig. 3, terminal voltage, par. [0025]) comprises determining that lithium precipitation (par. [0025]) of the first electrode terminal (fig. 1, negative electrode plate, par. [0025]); occurs when the second voltage difference is less than or equal to a second voltage threshold (fig. 3, threshold voltage, par. [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a battery charging apparatus to calculate a lithium deposition threshold voltage value battery charging apparatus and compares the terminal voltage with the calculated lithium deposition threshold voltage value, as taught in Nagakura in modifying the apparatus of Hinterberger and Kawai. The motivation would be to prevent the deposition of lithium in a cell of a battery. (see Nagakura: par. [0003]-[006]).
Regarding claim 11, Hinterberger and Kawai discloses the detecting module according to claim 10, Kawai discloses wherein the processing unit (fig. 1, elm. 40, par. [0036]) is further configured to determine that the corrosion of the casing (fig. 10, abnormal, steps S200-S120 S206-S120, par. [0081-[0084]) is severe when the first voltage difference is less than or equal to a first voltage threshold (fig. 10, step S120, par. [0084]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Hinterberger and Kawai do not disclose send an alarm signal.
Smyrl discloses send an alarm signal (par. [0050]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 12, Hinterberger and Kawai discloses the detecting module according to claim 9, Hinterberger discloses wherein the obtaining unit is further configured to obtain (voltmeter, par. [48])
Hinterberger and Kawai and Wang do not disclose a second voltage difference between the first electrode terminal and the third electrode of the battery cell in a charging state, and the processing unit is further configured to determine that lithium precipitation of the first electrode terminal occurs when the second voltage difference is less than or equal to a second voltage threshold.
Nagakura discloses a second voltage difference between the first electrode terminal and the third electrode (fig. 1, total terminal voltage, par. [0014]) of the battery cell (fig. 1, cell 2, par. [0013]) in a charging state, and the processing unit is further configured to determine that lithium precipitation (par. [0025]) of the first electrode terminal (fig. 1, negative electrode plate, par. [0025]) occurs when the second voltage difference (fig. 3, terminal voltage, par. [0025]) is less than or equal to a second voltage threshold (fig. 3, threshold voltage, par. [0025])..
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
7/22/2026