DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the battery under test" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (US PGPUB 2024/0125867) in view of Alber et al. (US Pat. 5,744,962).
Regarding claim 1, KUMAR teaches a system for testing a rechargeable battery, the system comprising: a power cycler (106); a rechargeable battery (302) comprising a negative terminal and a positive terminal (as shown in fig. 3), and an opposition battery (304) comprising a negative terminal and a positive terminal (as shown in fig. 3), wherein the positive terminal of the opposition battery (304) is connected to the positive terminal of the rechargeable battery (302) (as shown in fig. 3), and wherein the power cycler (106) is configured to inject a predetermined amount of current to the rechargeable battery (302) (as disclosed in para. 0058).
KUMAR fails to specifically teach a power cycler comprising a negative terminal and a positive terminal; wherein the negative terminal of the rechargeable battery is connected to the negative terminal of the power cycler; wherein the negative terminal of the opposition battery is connected to the positive terminal of the power cycler. Alber et al. teaches a power cycler comprising a negative terminal (56) and a positive terminal (58); wherein the negative terminal of the rechargeable battery (5) is connected to the negative terminal of the power cycler (10) (through V2 and other circuit parts, as shown in fig. 3); wherein the negative terminal of the opposition battery (6) is connected to the positive terminal of the power cycler (through V3 and other circuit parts, as shown in fig. 3).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the power cycler comprising a negative terminal and a positive terminal; wherein the negative terminal of the rechargeable battery is connected to the negative terminal of the power cycler; wherein the negative terminal of the opposition battery is connected to the positive terminal of the power cycler as taught by Alber et al. with the invention of KUMAR in order to accurately and efficiently monitor the reliability of the batteries.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, KUMAR teaches a plurality of sensors (308 and 306) configured to measure a performance of the battery under test when the predetermined amount of current is being injected to the rechargeable battery (302) (as disclosed in para. 0065).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (US PGPUB 2024/0125867) and Alber et al. (US Pat. 5,744,962) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ENGEL (CN 112526373A).
Regarding claims 2-3, the combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the power cycler is connected to a power grid and wherein the power cycler is configured to withdraw power from and recycle power back to the power grid. However, ENGEL teaches wherein the power cycler is connected to a power grid and wherein the power cycler is configured to withdraw power from and recycle power back to the power grid (see description section in translated document).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the power cycler connected to a power grid and wherein the power cycler is configured to withdraw power from and recycle power back to the power grid as taught by ENGEL with the invention of the combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. in order to provide the appropriate voltage for the batteries to effectively operate.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (US PGPUB 2024/0125867) and Alber et al. (US Pat. 5,744,962) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JUNGVID (EP 4047947A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. fails to specifically teach wherein a capacity of the opposition battery is at least five times of a capacity of the rechargeable battery. However, JUNGVID teaches wherein a capacity of the opposition battery is at least five times of a capacity of the rechargeable battery (as disclosed in para. 0058).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the capacity of the opposition battery at least five times of a capacity of the rechargeable battery as taught by JUNGVID with the invention of the combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. in order to have a lighter and more compact battery design.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (US PGPUB 2024/0125867) and Alber et al. (US Pat. 5,744,962) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SUR (RU 27668296C9).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the opposition battery has a lower voltage rating than the rechargeable battery. However, SUR teaches wherein the opposition battery (V2) has a lower voltage rating than the rechargeable battery (V1) (as disclosed in para. 0083).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the opposition battery have a lower voltage rating than the rechargeable battery as taught by SUR with the invention of the combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. in order to the opposition battery be the first to dissipate energy (SUR para. 0083).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (US PGPUB 2024/0125867) and Alber et al. (US Pat. 5,744,962) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of NGUYEN et al. (PG PUB 2022/0360091).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. fails to specifically teach wherein a capacity of the opposition battery is dynamically reconfigurable. However, NGUYEN et al. teaches wherein a capacity of the opposition battery is dynamically reconfigurable (as disclosed in para. 0049).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have wherein a capacity of the opposition battery is dynamically reconfigurable as taught by NGUYEN et al. with the invention of the combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. in order to achieve the desired waveform of output voltage or output current capacity based on charging or discharge characteristics of the battery cells, and on the state-of-health of the battery cells (NGUYEN et al. para. 0049).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (US PGPUB 2024/0125867) and Alber et al. (US Pat. 5,744,962) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Berger (CN 113138350A).
Regarding claims 7-8, the combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the predetermined amount of current comprises a pulse current representative of a sudden breaking of an electric vehicle and wherein the predetermined amount of current comprises a pulse current representative of a sudden acceleration of an electric vehicle. However, Berger teaches wherein the predetermined amount of current comprises a pulse current representative of a sudden breaking of an electric vehicle and wherein the predetermined amount of current comprises a pulse current representative of a sudden acceleration of an electric vehicle (see description section in translated document).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the predetermined amount of current comprise a pulse current representative of a sudden breaking of an electric vehicle and wherein the predetermined amount of current comprises a pulse current representative of a sudden acceleration of an electric vehicle as taught by Berger with the invention of the combination of KUMAR and Alber et al. in order to simulate actions that influence power consumption.
Conclusion
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858