DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18622318 application filed March 29, 2024. Claims 1-28 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 24-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang et al. (CN119626903A, also published as WO/2025/055588, which is referred to in this Office action), hereinafter “Zhang”, in view of Calafiore et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20200158943), hereinafter “Calafiore”, and Chen et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20240055352), hereinafter “Chen”.--Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6: Zhang teaches a method of etching a film on a sidewall of a hole having small diameter ([0067]), such as a through-silicon via, in a semiconductor device (abstract, [0052-0053]), comprisingforming an opening in a substrate, the opening has a preset film to be removed on its sidewall ([0007-0009, 0067], Fig. 1), wherein the preset film may be TiN ([0083]);directing an ion beam into the opening, wherein the ion beam has an incidence angle α of -90° to +90°, not including the endpoints, to the surface of the substrate ([0061]) while rotating the substrate at a speed 0-80 rpm, to etch the preset film ([0071]). Zhang further teaches that the etching is a ion beam etching, i.e. ion milling (IBE), reactive ion beam etching (RIBE) or chemically-assisted ion beam etching (CAIBE) ([0075]). Zhang fails to teach that the etching may use a gas cluster ion beam. Calafiore teaches that removing material from sidewall of a recess may be accomplished by using ion milling, reactive ion beam or gas cluster ion beam ([0034, 0040, 0050). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a gas cluster ion beam as an equivalent substitution for the ion beam or reactive ion beam, as taught by Calafiore, in the invention of Zhang. Zhang further teaches that the method is advantageously effective for holes with smaller diameter ([0003, 0052]), but fails to teach a hole having a diameter less than 50 nm. Chen, also directed to manufacturing a semiconductor device, teaches that the semiconductor device may comprise a contact hole or via hole having a diameter about 1-250 nm ([0021, 0034], Fig. 19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use the ion beam to etch a film in a hole or via having a size 1-250 nm, as taught by Chen, in the invention of Zhang. It is noted that TiN is a metal-containing material, and the ranges -90° to +90° and 1-250 nm overlaps the claimed ranges in claims 1, 2 and 7.--Claims 24, 25, 26: it is noted that the TiN preset film may be considered an undesired metal-containing material overhanging on the sidewall of the hole.--Claims 27, 28: Zhang further teaches that the etching may comprise at least one ion beam etching and a chemical assisted ion beam etching, and that the gas used in the ion beam is an inert gas ([0022]) and the gas used in the chemical assisted ion beam is a reactive gas
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang in view of Calafiore and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20210193511), hereinafter “Wang”:--Claim 3: Zhang modified by Calafiore and Chen teaches the invention as above. Zhang is silent about a depth of the hole.Wang, also directed to manufacturing a semiconductor device, teaches that a via hole may have a depth of less than 5 nm ([0092]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use the ion beam to etch a film in a hole or via having a depth less than 5 nm, as taught by Wang, in the invention of Zhang.
Claims 7-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang in view of Calafiore and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwak et al. (KR20230182550A, also published and referred here as U.S. PGPub. No. 20210193511), hereinafter “Kwak”:--Claims 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13: Zhang further teaches that the incidence angle may be determined by tan α = d/h, where d=width of the hole and h=distance of the region to be etched from the top of the hole ([0027-0028]), and that different ion beam angle may be selected based on different etch height ([0107]), and that, since there is a beam divergence of about ±5° ([0105]), the final incidence angle is decided by actual experiments ([0109]). Zhang further teaches that the slope of one side of the hole may be different than the opposite side, resulting in a poor matching y2 from the first side to the second side ([0089]). Zhang further teaches that when the first side is normal to the substrate and the second side has an angle of β° to the normal, the poor matching y2 is determined by y2 = (h/d)x + h –((cos β /sin (α +β)) (d+x), where x is the distance between the asymmetric sidewall of the opening and the ideal position and β is the included angle of the asymmetric sidewall of the opening relative to the ideal position ([0089]). It is obvious to one of skill in the art to determine the correct incidence angle for the ion beam etching on the second side by using the above equation while setting y2 to zero. Zhang further teaches that the hole may be a rectangular groove ([0091]), and the etching may comprise using the ion beam to etch a first side of the hole, stopping the etching, rotating the substrate then using the ion beam to etch the second side of the hole ([0103], Fig. 14 and 15). Zhang fails to teach changing the ion beam angle during etching. Kwak, also directed to using an ion beam to etch the sidewall of a hole (Fig. 1), teaches that the incidence angle of the ion beam may change during the etching ([0065-0067], Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to determine a first ion beam incident angle for a first side of the hole and a second ion beam incident angle, that has been adjusted for the deviation of angle of β° to the normal, for a second side of the hole by actual experiments, then perform the ion beam etching by using the ion beam apparatus taught by Kwak on the first side of the hole using the first incident angle, stop the etching, rotate the substrate, then perform the ion beam etching using the second ion beam angle. It is noted that the ranges -90° to +90° overlap all claimed ranges of angles in claims 7-9. Alternately, although Zhang fails to teach the specific angle values recited in claims 7-9, since Zhang teaches the incident angle is a result-effective variable, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the incident ion beam angle to such values because it’s been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).--Claims 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23: Kwak further teaches that, in addition to the rotation, the substrate may also moves about an axis perpendicular to a propagation direction of the ion beam to adjust an incidence angle ([0029], Fig. 1).--Claims 10, 16, 20: Zhang further teaches that the hole may be a circular hole, and the ion beam etching is continuous while rotating the substrate ([0069-0071]). However, due to the difference in the sidewall slope from one side of the hole to another side, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the ion beam incident angle from one side of the hole to the other side of the hole, as explained above.--Claims 24, 25, 26: Kwak further teaches that the ion beam may be used to remove conducting byproduct hanging on the sidewall of the hole (Fig. 3C, [0035-0037]), wherein the conductive material may be a metal ([0003]).
Conclusion
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713