DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 7/28/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 14-20 are canceled.
Claims 1-13 are examined in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung et al. (US 2021/0134614).
Re claim 1, Chung teaches, under BRI, Fig. 1, [0046-0047, 0050, 0051], an apparatus, comprising:
-a semiconductor structure holding device (substrate support unit 110) comprising a first face (top face of 113) and a second face (bottom face of 113) opposite the first face, and configured to hold a semiconductor structure (substrate W) on the first face of the semiconductor structure holding device (110); and
-a light projection device (laser irradiation unit 140) disposed facing the second face of the semiconductor structure holding device (110), and configured to generate a certain pattern of light (L),
wherein when the semiconductor structure holding device (110) is holding the semiconductor structure (W) on the first face of the semiconductor structure holding device (110), the light projection device (140) projects the certain pattern of light (L) onto the second face of the semiconductor structure holding device (110) to thereby generate a certain pattern of heat (based on material of 113, e.g., quartz or sapphire as thermal conductivity material), corresponding to the certain pattern of light (L), in the semiconductor structure holding device (110) such that the certain pattern of heat is applied to the semiconductor structure (W) via the first face of the semiconductor structure holding device (110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Albert et al. (US 2020/0135965).
The teachings of Chung have been discussed above.
Re claims 2 & 3, Chung does not teach wherein the semiconductor structure holding device is a gripper, wherein the gripper is a vacuum gripper.
Albert teaches a vacuum gripper (710) (Fig. 7, [0063]).
As taught by Albert, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a vacuum gripper as claimed, because it aids in reducing deformation of a growth substrate.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Albert in combination Chung due to above reason.
4. Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Lafarre et al. (CN 104081285 A, English translation previously attached).
The teachings of Chung have been discussed above.
Re claims 4 & 5, Chung does not explicitly teach wherein the gripper includes aluminum nitride (AlN); wherein the gripper includes siliconized silicon carbide (SiSiC).
Lafarre teaches wherein the gripper (e.g., holder 100) includes aluminum nitride (AlN); wherein the gripper includes siliconized silicon carbide (SiSiC) [0083].
As taught by Lafarre, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain AlN & SiSiC included in the gripper as claimed, because they are known in the art to provide better mechanical strength & high thermal conductivity and stability in manufacturing process.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Lafarre in combination Chung due to above reason.
5. Claims 6-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0319818).
The teachings of Chung have been discussed above.
Re claim 6, Chung does not explicitly teach wherein the light projection device includes a plurality of light projection units that are controlled to generate light independently.
Chen teaches, Fig. 3, the light projection device (202) includes a plurality of light projection units (202) that are controlled to generate light independently (e.g., by controller 251, [0039]).
As taught by Chen, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a plurality of light projection units that are controlled to generate light independently as claimed, because it aids in improving a control of temperature and achieving improved pattern density of the substrate.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Chen in combination Chung due to above reason.
Re claim 7, in combination cited above, Chen teaches, Fig. 3, [0036], wherein the light projection units (202) are arranged in a matrix.
Re claim 8, in combination cited above, Chung teaches wherein at least one of the light projection units includes one or more laser devices (laser irradiation unit 140, [0046]).
Re claim 11, in combination cited above, Chen teaches, [0038], wherein the at least one of the light projection units further includes a temperature sensor (117) that is configured to sense a temperature of the at least one of the light projection units.
6. Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung as modified by Chen as applied to claims 1 & 6 above, in view of Bergmann et al. (US 2021/0370088).
The teachings of Chung/Chen have been discussed above.
Re claims 9 & 10, Chung/Chen does not teach wherein at least one of the light projection units includes a digital light processor; wherein at least one of the light projection units includes an array of light pipes.
Bergmann teaches, [0126], “a light delivery structure 140 (e.g., a light pipe, a fiber, a diffuser, one or more lenses, a digital light processor, an index matching feature, etc.)”.
As taught by Bergman, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a digital light processor & an array of light pipes included in the light projection units as claimed, because they aid in achieving project light patterns with minimal light loss.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Bergmann in combination Chung/Chen due to above reason.
7. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung as modified by Chen as applied to claims 1, 6 & 11 above, in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2011/0064880).
The teachings of Chung/Chen have been discussed above.
Re claim 12, Chung/Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the temperature sensor includes a thermistor.
Yamamoto teaches “a temperature sensor such as a thermistor” [0092].
As taught by Yamamoto, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a thermistor as claimed, because it aids in allowing for precise and accurate temperature measurements.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Yamamoto in combination Chung/Chen due to above reason.
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung as modified by Chen as applied to claims 1 & 6 above, in view of Raring et al. (US 2020/0232611).
The teachings of Chung/Chen have been discussed above.
Re claim 13, Chung/Chen does not teach wherein the light projection device further includes a heat sink that is thermally coupled to the light projection unit.
Raring teaches, Fig. 28, [0346], the light projection device further includes a heat sink (2810) that is thermally coupled to the light projection unit (2802).
As taught by Raring, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a heatsink coupled to the light projection units as claimed, because it aids in reducing heat and improving performance of the light device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Raring in combination Chung/Chen due to above reason.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shin et al. (US 2021/0060625, Fig. 1) discloses a wafer cleaning apparatus including a spinner holding wafer W and a laser module located under the wafer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 8/4/26