DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 5/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim 1, 6-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2022/0319818).
Re claim 1, Chen teaches, under BRI, Fig. 3, [0026, 0028, 0036, 0038], an apparatus, comprising:
-a semiconductor structure holding device (chamber 108) configured to hold a semiconductor structure (substrate 105); and
-a light projection device (laser emitter 202) configured to generate a certain pattern of light,
wherein the light projection device (202) is integrated with the semiconductor structure holding device (108) such that when the semiconductor structure holding device (108) is holding the semiconductor structure (105), the certain pattern of light generated by the light projection device (202) is projected onto the semiconductor structure holding device (108) and a corresponding certain pattern of heat is generated and transferred through the semiconductor structure holding device (108) (e.g., temperature detected & fed back by temperature sensors 117) and applied to the semiconductor structure (105).
Re claim 6, Chen teaches wherein the light projection device (202) includes a plurality of light projection units (202) that are controlled to generate light independently (e.g., by controller 251, [0039]).
Re claim 7, Chen teaches, Fig. 3, [0036], wherein the light projection units (202) are arranged in a matrix.
Re claim 8, Chen teaches wherein at least one of the light projection units includes one or more laser devices (laser emitter 202).
Re claim 11, Chen teaches, [0038], wherein the at least one of the light projection units further includes a temperature sensor (117) that is configured to sense a temperature of the at least one of the light projection units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Albert et al. (US 2020/0135965).
The teachings of Chen have been discussed above.
Re claims 2 & 3, Chen does not teach wherein the semiconductor structure holding device is a gripper, wherein the gripper is a vacuum gripper.
Albert teaches a vacuum gripper (710) (Fig. 7, [0063]).
As taught by Albert, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a vacuum gripper as claimed, because it aids in reducing deformation of a growth substrate.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Albert in combination Chen due to above reason.
4. Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Lafarre et al. (CN 104081285 A, English translation attached).
The teachings of Chen have been discussed above.
Re claims 4 & 5, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the gripper includes aluminum nitride (AlN); wherein the gripper includes siliconized silicon carbide (SiSiC).
Lafarre teaches wherein the gripper (e.g., holder 100) includes aluminum nitride (AlN); wherein the gripper includes siliconized silicon carbide (SiSiC) [0083].
As taught by Lafarre, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain AlN & SiSic included in the gripper as claimed, because they are known in the art to provide better mechanical strength & high thermal conductivity and stability in manufacturing process.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Lafarre in combination Chen due to above reason.
5. Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Bergmann et al. (US 2021/0370088).
The teachings of Chen have been discussed above.
Re claims 9 & 10, Chen does not teach wherein at least one of the light projection units includes a digital light processor; wherein at least one of the light projection units includes an array of light pipes.
Bergmann teaches, [0126], “a light delivery structure 140 (e.g., a light pipe, a fiber, a diffuser, one or more lenses, a digital light processor, an index matching feature, etc.)”.
As taught by Bergman, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a digital light processor & an array of light pipes included in the light projection units as claimed, because they aid in achieving project light patterns with minimal light loss.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Bergmann in combination Chen due to above reason.
6. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2011/0064880).
The teachings of Chen have been discussed above.
Re claim 12, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the temperature sensor includes a thermistor.
Yamamoto teaches “a temperature sensor such as a thermistor” [0092].
As taught by Yamamoto, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a thermistor as claimed, because it aids in allowing for precise and accurate temperature measurements.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Yamamoto in combination Chen due to above reason.
7. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Raring et al. (US 2020/0232611).
The teachings of Chen have been discussed above.
Re claim 13, Chen does not teach wherein the light projection device further includes a heat sink that is thermally coupled to the light projection unit.
Raring teaches, Fig. 28, [0346], the light projection device further includes a heat sink (2810) that is thermally coupled to the light projection unit (2802).
As taught by Raring, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a heatsink coupled to the light projection units as claimed, because it aids in reducing heat and improving performance of the light device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Raring in combination Chen due to above reason.
8. Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 11 are, alternatively, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20070000612 A, English translation attached) in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0319818).
Re claim 1, Kim teaches, under BRI, Fig. 2, abstract, page 4, an apparatus, comprising:
-a semiconductor structure holding device (indicated) configured to hold a semiconductor structure (substrate W); and
-a light projection device (110, 120, 130) configured to generate a certain pattern of light,
wherein the light projection device (110, 120, 130) is integrated with the semiconductor structure holding device (indicated) such that when the semiconductor structure holding device is holding the semiconductor structure (W), the certain pattern of light generated by the light projection device (110, 120, 130) is projected onto the semiconductor structure holding device (indicated).
Kim does not explicitly teach a corresponding certain pattern of heat is generated and transferred through the semiconductor structure holding device and applied to the semiconductor structure.
Chen teaches, Fig. 3, [0028, 0038], a corresponding certain pattern of heat is generated and transferred through the semiconductor structure holding device and applied to the semiconductor structure (e.g. temperature detected/monitored and fed back by temperature sensor 117).
As taught by Chen, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Kim to obtain a corresponding certain pattern of heat is generated and transferred through the semiconductor structure holding device and applied to the semiconductor structure as claimed, because it aids in achieving improved pattern density & improving a control of temperature of the working substrate.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Chen in combination Kim due to above reason.
Re claims 2 & 3, Kim teaches wherein the semiconductor structure holding device is a gripper; wherein the gripper is a vacuum gripper (188) (page 6, 9th par.).
Re claim 6, in combination cited above, Chen teaches wherein the light projection device (202) includes a plurality of light projection units (202) that are controlled to generate light independently (e.g., by controller 251, [0039]).
Re claim 7, in combination cited above, Chen teaches, Fig. 3, [0036], wherein the light projection units (202) are arranged in a matrix.
Re claim 8, Kim teaches wherein at least one of the light projection units includes one or more laser devices (e.g., KrF laser) (page 4, 5th par.).
Re claim 11, in combination cited above, Chen teaches, [0038], wherein the at least one of the light projection units further includes a temperature sensor (117) that is configured to sense a temperature of the at least one of the light projection units.
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 5/29/26