DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species I in the reply filed on 08/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4 and 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-3 and 5-15 have been fully considered in Examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/26/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the base layer" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of “a base layer” in claim 11, or claim 9 on which claim 11 depends, rendering it unclear what “the base layer” refers to in claim 11. There is, however, “a substrate” introduced in claim 9, establishing support for “the substrate” thereafter. Therefore, for the purposes of Examination, Examiner has interpreted “the base layer” in claim 11 as --- the substrate --- however, this edit may be altered if Applicant intends otherwise.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the base layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of “a base layer” in claim 14, or claim 9 on which claim 14 depends, rendering it unclear what “the base layer” refers to in claim 14. There is, however, “a substrate” introduced in claim 9, establishing support for “the substrate” thereafter. Therefore, for the purposes of Examination, Examiner has interpreted “the base layer” in claim 14 as --- the substrate --- however, this edit may be altered if Applicant intends otherwise. Claim 15 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 14.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the base layer" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of “a base layer” in claim 15, or claim 14 or claim 9 on which claim 15 depends, rendering it unclear what “the base layer” refers to in claim 15. There is, however, “a substrate” introduced in claim 9, establishing support for “the substrate” thereafter. Therefore, for the purposes of Examination, Examiner has interpreted “the base layer” in claim 15 as --- the substrate --- however, this edit may be altered if Applicant intends otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0265348A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches a method [see figs. 1-9, 0030], comprising:
forming a plurality of layered stacks (left, right 102 stacks comprising 108, 110) figs. 1-2 [0034-0038, 0042] atop a base layer (104 with 106) fig. 1 [0031-0033], wherein a first layered stack (left 102) fig. 2 [0047] and a second layered stack (right 102) fig. 2 [0047] of the plurality of layered stacks (102’s comprising 108, 110) each comprises a plurality of alternating first layers (108) fig. 2 [0042] and second layers (110) fig. 2 [0042], and wherein the first layered stack (left 102) and the second layered stack (right 102) of the plurality of layered stacks (102’s comprising individual 108, 110 stacks) define a trench (gap between left, right 102 stacks);
forming a source/drain epitaxial layer (collective 302 material) fig. 3 [0050-0053] along a sidewall (inner sidewall bordering trench) of the first layered stack (left 102) and the second layered stack (right 102);
performing an implant [0053] by directing ions [0053] to the source/drain epitaxial layer (302), wherein the implant [see fig. 3, 0053] increases (“adds”) an ion concentration [0053] along an outer surface (dopants added to peripheral, exposed surface(s) [0053, 0104] of the source/drain epitaxial layer (302); and
performing a thermal process (RTA) [0104] on the plurality of layered stacks (102s) and the source/drain epitaxial layer (302) after performing the implant [0053, 0104] (ion implantation is followed by rapid thermal annealing (RTA) [0053, 0104]).
Regarding claim 2, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 1. Xie also teaches further comprising depositing a metal (902) fig. 9 [0079-0080] (bulk materials such as W/tungsten metal [0079]) over (at least partially above) the plurality of layered stacks (left, right 102 stacks comprising 108, 110) figs. 1-2 [0034-0038, 0042], including within the trench (gap between left and right 102), to form a contact (902) [0079-0080].
Regarding claim 3, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 1. Xie also teaches wherein the source/drain epitaxial layer (collective 302 material) fig. 3 [0050-0053] along the (inner sidewall bordering trench/302 material) sidewall of the first layered stack (left 102 stack comprising 108) fig. 3 [0034-0038, 0042] and the second layered stack (right 102 stack comprising 108) fig. 3 [0034-0038, 0042] comprises a plurality of alternating material formations (individual 302s) fig. 3 [0050-0051] and gaps (gaps between vertically adjacent of individual 302s).
Regarding claim 5, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 1. Xie also teaches
wherein performing the thermal process (RTA) [0104, 0053] comprises performing an anneal (rapid thermal anneal) [0104] immediately after the implant [see fig. 3, 0053, 0104] is performed (Xie explicitly discloses “ion implantation… followed .... by rapid thermal annealing (RTA)” [0104, 0053 Xie] – implying that the next step immediately following ion implantation is RTA, during the 302 implantation phase of the method [see fig. 3, 0053, 0104]).
Regarding claim 6, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 1. Xie also teaches
wherein performing the implant (of 302) [see fig. 3, 0053] comprises performing a plasma doping process (implantation and plasma doping) [0053].
Regarding claim 7, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 1. Xie also teaches
wherein forming the plurality of layered stacks (left, right 102 stacks comprising 108, 110) [0034-0038, 0042] atop the base layer (104 with 106) [0031-0033] comprises:
forming a lower portion (108, 110 with 208 below 202) fig. 2 [0042, 0048] of the plurality of alternating first layers (108) and second layers (110 with 208) [0048], wherein the implant [see fig. 3, 0053] is performed on the source/drain epitaxial layer (302) fig. 3 [0050-0053] formed along the (inner sidewalls) lower portion (lower half) of the plurality of alternating first layers (108) and second layers (110 with 208);
forming a middle dielectric layer (comprising 402 in middle of left, right 102 stacks) fig. 4 [0059] atop (on/supported by a top of) the lower portion (comprising 108, 110, 208 which are below 202) after the implant [see fig. 3, 0053] is performed on the lower portion (comprising 302 with 108);
forming (positioning), atop (on/supported by a top of) the middle dielectric layer (402), an upper portion (comprising 108, 110, 208 which are above 202) fig. 5 [0042] of the plurality of alternating first layers (comprising 108) and second layers (comprising 110); and
performing a second implant [0104] by directing ions (dopants/ions added [0060-0061] by implantation [0104]) to a second source/drain epitaxial layer (502) fig. 5 [0060-0062] formed along the (inner sidewalls of) upper portion of the plurality of alternating first layers (comprising 108) and second layers (comprising 110 with 208).
Regarding claim 9, Xie teaches a method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] for forming a gate-all-around (GAA) device (100) fig. 9 [0024, 0080], comprising:
forming a plurality of nanosheet (NS) stacks (stacks comprising 108 nanosheets) figs. 1-2 [0035-0036] atop a substrate (104 with 106) fig. 1 [0031-0033], wherein a first NS stack (left 102 stack comprising 108, 110) figs. 1-2 [0034-0038, 0042] and a second NS stack (right 102 stack comprising 108, 110) figs. 1-2 [0034-0038, 0042] of the plurality of NS stacks (left, right 102 stacks comprising individual stacks of 108s) each comprises a plurality of alternating first layers (108) fig. 2 [0034-0038, 0042] and second layers (110) fig. 2 [0034-0038, 0042], and wherein the first NS stack (left 102) and the second NS stack (right 102) of the plurality of layered stacks (102s) define a trench (gap between left and right 102’s) extending to an upper surface of the substrate (106 with 104);
forming a source/drain epitaxial layer (collective 302 material) fig. 3 [0050-0053] along a sidewall (inner sidewall of 108s bordering trench) of the first NS stack (left 102) and the second NS stack (right 102);
performing an implant [0053] by directing ions [0053] to the source/drain epitaxial layer (302), wherein the implant [see fig. 3, 0053] increases (“adds”) an ion concentration [0053] along an outer surface (dopants added to peripheral, exposed surface(s) [0053, 0104] of the source/drain epitaxial layer (302); and
performing a thermal process (RTA) [0104] on the plurality of NS stacks (102s) and the source/drain epitaxial layer (302) after performing the implant [0053, 0104] (ion implantation is followed by rapid thermal annealing (RTA) [0053, 0104]).
Regarding claim 10, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 9. Xie also teaches further comprising depositing a metal (902) fig. 9 [0079-0080] (bulk materials such as W/tungsten metal [0079]) over (at least partially above) the plurality of NS stacks (left, right 102 stacks comprising 108, 110) figs. 1-2 [0034-0038, 0042], including within the trench (gap between left and right 102), to form a contact (902) [0079-0080].
Regarding claim 11, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 9. Xie also teaches wherein the source/drain epitaxial layer (collective 302 material) fig. 3 [0050-0053] along the (inner sidewall bordering trench/302 material) sidewall of the first NS stack (left 102 stack comprising 108) fig. 3 [0034-0038, 0042] and the second NS stack (right 102 stack comprising 108) fig. 3 [0034-0038, 0042] comprises one of:
a plurality of alternating material formations (individual 302s) fig. 3 [0050-0051] and gaps (gaps between vertically adjacent of individual 302s).
Regarding claim 12, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 9. Xie also teaches
wherein performing the thermal process (RTA) [0104, 0053] comprises performing an anneal (rapid thermal anneal) [0104] immediately after the implant [see fig. 3, 0053, 0104] is performed (Xie explicitly discloses “ion implantation… followed .... by rapid thermal annealing (RTA)” [0104, 0053 Xie] – implying that the next step immediately following ion implantation is RTA, during the 302 implantation phase of the method [see fig. 3, 0053, 0104]).
Regarding claim 13, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 9. Xie also teaches
wherein performing the implant (of 302) [see fig. 3, 0053] comprises performing a plasma doping process (implantation and plasma doping) [0053].
Regarding claim 14, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 9. Xie also teaches
wherein forming the plurality of NS stacks (left, right 102 stacks comprising 108, 110) [0034-0038, 0042] atop the substrate (104 with 106) [0031-0033] comprises:
forming a lower portion (108, 110 with 208 below 202) fig. 2 [0042, 0048] of the plurality of alternating first layers (108) and second layers (110 with 208) [0048], wherein the implant [see fig. 3, 0053] is performed on the source/drain epitaxial layer (302) fig. 3 [0050-0053] formed along the (inner sidewalls) lower portion (lower half) of the plurality of alternating first layers (108) and second layers (110 with 208);
forming a middle dielectric layer (comprising 402 in middle of left, right 102 stacks) fig. 4 [0059] atop (on/supported by a top of) the lower portion (comprising 108, 110, 208 which are below 202) after the implant [see fig. 3, 0053] is performed on the lower portion (comprising 302 with 108);
forming (positioning), atop (on/supported by a top of) the middle dielectric layer (402), an upper portion (comprising 108, 110, 208 which are above 202) fig. 5 [0042] of the plurality of alternating first layers (comprising 108) and second layers (comprising 110); and
performing a second implant [0104] by directing ions (dopants/ions added [0060-0061] by implantation [0104]) to a second source/drain epitaxial layer (502) fig. 5 [0060-0062] formed along the (inner sidewalls of) upper portion of the plurality of alternating first layers (comprising 108) and second layers (comprising 110 with 208).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0265348A1), as applied in claims 7 and 14 above, in view of Huang (U.S. PG Pub No US2024/0355708A1).
Regarding claim 8, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 7. Xie also teaches further comprising:
forming a metal (906) fig. 9 [0079] (bulk metal of 906 such as tungsten W [0079]) over the upper portion (portion above 202) of the plurality of alternating first layers (108) fig. 9 [0042] and second layers (110 with 208) fig. 9 [0042, 0048] to form a frontside contact (contact 906, positioned on front side of device 100 comprising top/front side of 506) [0077, 0079].
However, Xie does not explicitly disclose forming a metal (902) fig. 9 [0079-0080] (bulk materials such as W/tungsten metal [0079]) over the lower portion (portion below 202) of the plurality of alternating first layers (comprising 108) and second layers (comprising 110) to form a backside contact through the base layer (104 with 106) fig. 9 [0031-0033] (backside contact through base layer not explicitly disclosed).
Huang teaches a method (100) figs. 1A-1B [0056] comprising forming a metal (391) fig. 23A [0053] over (over, in fig. 23A stage of method) the lower portion (shown in fig. 23A as upper half of stack of 204A layers [see fig. 14A, 0045 for label]) of the plurality of alternating first layers (comprising 205) fig. 23A [0045] (see fig. 14A for label) and second layers (comprising 308/309 layer(s)) fig. 23A [0044] (see fig. 14A for label) to form a backside contact (392 comprising 391) fig. 23A[0053] through the base layer (comprising 202) fig. 23A [0049-0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Xie to include the formation of a backside metal contact through the substrate base [0049-0050, 0053] in order to enhance the interconnectivity [0001] of the device package by facilitating connections with additional backside metal lines or traces [0053], thereby enhancing device shrinkage and reducing power consumption [0022], as taught by Huang.
Regarding claim 15, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 14. Xie also teaches
further comprising:
forming a metal (906) fig. 9 [0079] (bulk metal of 906 such as tungsten W [0079]) over the upper portion (portion above 202) of the plurality of alternating first layers (108) fig. 9 [0042] and second layers (110 with 208) fig. 9 [0042, 0048] to form a frontside contact (contact 906, positioned on front side of device 100 comprising top/front side of 506) [0077, 0079].
However, Xie does not explicitly disclose forming a metal (902) fig. 9 [0079-0080] (bulk materials such as W/tungsten metal [0079]) over the lower portion (portion below 202) of the plurality of alternating first layers (comprising 108) and second layers (comprising 110) to form a backside contact through the base layer (104 with 106) fig. 9 [0031-0033].
Huang teaches a method (100) figs. 1A-1B [0056] comprising forming a metal (391) fig. 23A [0053] over (over, in fig. 23A stage of method) the lower portion (shown in fig. 23A as upper half of stack of 204A layers [see fig. 14A, 0045 for label]) of the plurality of alternating first layers (comprising 205) fig. 23A [0045] (see fig. 14A for label) and second layers (comprising 308/309 layer(s)) fig. 23A [0044] (see fig. 14A for label) to form a backside contact (392 comprising 391) fig. 23A[0053] through the base layer (comprising 202) fig. 23A [0049-0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Xie to include the formation of a backside metal contact through the substrate base [0049-0050, 0053] in order to enhance the interconnectivity [0001] of the device package by facilitating connections with additional backside metal lines or traces [0053], thereby enhancing device shrinkage and reducing power consumption [0022], as taught by Huang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature nano-GAA transistor devices with doped source/drain features in trench(es).
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 10/31/2026