Prior Art of Record
The applicant's attention is directed to additional pertinent prior art cited in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited, which, however, may not be currently applied as a basis for the following rejections. While these references were considered during the examination of this application and are deemed relevant to the claimed subject matter, they are not presently being applied as a basis for rejection in this Office action. The pertinence of these documents, however, may be revisited, and they may be applied in subsequent Office actions, particularly in light of any amendments or further clarification of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hong fails to teach or suggest the organic pigment chemical compound classes (anthraquinone, diketopyrrolopyrrole, Cu-phthalocyanine, isoindoline, perylene, benzimidazolone, monoazo) now recited in independent claim 1 because the previously cited paragraphs (¶293, 300) relate to organic light-emitting dopants rather than bank pigments.
In response, while the Examiner acknowledges the typographical citation to ¶293 and ¶300 in the previous Office Action, the prior art combination of Lee in view of Hong continues to render claim 1 obvious. Specifically, Hong explicitly discloses organic pigments utilized in display device bank compositions by their commercial Color Index (C.I.) designations in ¶146.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the specific C.I. pigments enumerated in Hong ¶146 inherently belong to the chemical classes recited in amended claim 1. For example, Hong ¶146 teaches C.I. Pigment Red 177 (an anthraquinone-based compound), C.I. Pigment Red 254 and 255 (diketopyrrolopyrrole-based compounds), and C.I. Pigment Blue 15, 15:3, and 15:6 (Cu-phthalocyanine-based compounds). Selecting these art-recognized organic pigment classes for the bank layer of Lee represents a routine selection of known materials for their established optical properties (In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416).
Furthermore, because original dependent claim 11 was incorporated into independent claim 1, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Lee in view of Hong is maintained, and this action is made FINAL pursuant to MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20220158043 A1) in view of Hong et al. (US 20220403179 A1).
CLAIM 1. Lee teaches a display apparatus (Lee Fig. 4) comprising:
a first substrate 110 on which a plurality of light-emitting devices 180 are provided;
a plurality of light controllers 270 corresponding to the plurality of light-emitting devices 180 on the first substrate; and
a plurality of banks 250 between the plurality of light controllers 270, wherein the plurality of banks each comprise at least one non-white pigment (Lee ¶131), and an amount of the at least one non-white pigment is about 20 wt% to about 50 wt%, based on a total weight of the bank (Lee ¶1352); and
wherein the at least one non-white pigment comprises an anthraquinone-based compound, a diketopyrrolopyrrole-based compound, a Cu-phthalocyanine-based compound, an isoindoline-based compound, a perylene-based compound, a benzimidazolone-based compound, a monoazo-based compound, or any combination thereof (Hong ¶[01463] – Teaches C.I. #177 (anthraquinone), C.I. #254, #255 (diketopyrrolopyrrole), and C.I. #15, #15:3, #15:6 (Cu-phthalocyanine) are known organic pigments used in display bank compositions; Lee ¶13).
Lee is silent regarding the specific chemical compound classes of the non-white pigment. However, selecting specific organic pigments for a light-blocking or bank layer of a display device was well known in the art. In support of this common knowledge, Hong teaches that organic pigments used in photosensitive resin compositions for display device bank/color conversion layers include specific Color Index (C.I.) pigments (Hong ¶[0146]).
Specifically, Hong discloses red pigments such as C.I. #177 (an anthraquinone-based compound), red pigments such as C.I. #254 and #255 (diketopyrrolopyrrole-based compounds), and blue pigments such as C.I. #15, #15:3, and #15:6 (Cu-phthalocyanine-based compounds) (Hong ¶[0146]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the commercial C.I. pigments explicitly enumerated in Hong ¶[0146] belong to and inherently disclose the anthraquinone-based, diketopyrrolopyrrole-based, and Cu-phthalocyanine-based organic pigment chemical classes recited in amended claim 1.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a PHOSTA to select an organic non-white pigment belonging to these art-recognized chemical classes (e.g., C.I. #177, #254, or #15:3 as taught by Hong) for inclusion in the bank layer 250 of Lee to achieve desired color filtering and light absorption characteristics. The selection of known organic pigment materials based on their suitability for their intended optical use involves only ordinary skill in the art.
CLAIM 2. Lee teaches a display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a second substrate facing the first substrate 110, wherein the plurality of light controller 270 and the plurality of banks 250 are between the first substrate and the second substrate 210.
CLAIM 3. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 1, wherein an average particle size D50 the non-white pigment is about 100 nm to about 400 nm.
Although Lee is silent regarding particle diameter, pigment particles were commonly known to be in the range of 100–400 nm. In support of this common knowledge, Hong et al. teaches that a non-white pigment in an LED device bank falls within this claimed range. Furthermore, Hong teaches in paragraph [0150] that “the particle diameter of the pigment may be determined in consideration of dispersion stability, pixel resolution, and/or the like. In an embodiment, a number average particle diameter of the pigment may be in a range of about 30 nm to about 200 nm.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to select a pigment size within the claimed range. Pigment particle size is a known, optimizable parameter. Specifically, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of semiconductor device manufacturing to determine the workable or optimal value for the size through routine experimentation to achieve desired device performance. Particle size is a result-effective variable, and there is no evidence indicating that this range is critical or produces unexpected results. It is well established that discovering the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within prior art conditions through routine experimentation is not inventive. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Given the teaching of the references, it would have been obvious to determine the optimum thickness, temperature as well as condition of delivery of the layers involved. See In re Aller, Lacey and Hall (10 USPQ 233-237) “It is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Any differences in the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicants have the burden of explaining the data in any declaration they proffer as evidence of non-obviousness. Ex parte Ishizaka, 24 USPQ2d 1621, 1624 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
An Affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979).
CLAIM 4. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the non-white pigment comprises a red pigment, a green pigment, a blue pigment, a yellow pigment, or any combination thereof (Lee ¶13).
CLAIM 5. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a scattering agent (Pigment may be as scattering agent. QDs in the control may be scattering agents. Note the claim does not provide any clarity to define what or where the scattering agent is to be located.).
CLAIM 6. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 5, wherein an average particle size D50 of the scattering agent is about 150 nm to about 300 nm (Hong ¶150 – Pigments are known to be withing the range.).
CLAIM 7. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the scattering agent comprises SiO2, BaSO4, Al2O3, ZnO, ZrO2, TiO2, or any combination thereof (Lee ¶110/118 – QDs 272 scatter; Hong ¶152) .
CLAIM 8. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 5, wherein an amount of the scattering agent is greater than 0 wt% and not more than 3 wt%, based on the total weight of the plurality of banks (Lee ¶136).
CLAIM 9. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 1, however may be silent upon wherein the at least one non-white pigment comprises a first pigment and a second pigment, and a weight ratio of the first pigment to the second pigment is 6.5 to 7.5 : 2.5 to 3.5.
The specific ratios, however, are established in Lee as optimizable parameters to define particular color profiles. Selecting a wavelength spectrum to tune a device for a desired operation is well within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the. Furthermore, determining the optimal values for these ratios through routine experimentation is an obvious step for semiconductor device designers. Because these ratios are result-effective variables, discovering their optimal ranges does not yield unexpected results or require inventive skill. (See MPEP § 2144.05).
CLAIM 10. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first pigment is a blue pigment, and the second pigment is a green pigment, the first pigment is a blue pigment, and the second pigment is a red pigment, the first pigment is a blue pigment, and the second pigment is a yellow pigment, the first pigment is a green pigment, and the second pigment is a red pigment, the first pigment is a green pigment, and the second pigment is a yellow pigment, or the first pigment is a red pigment, and the second pigment is a yellow pigment (RGB pigments are well understood in the art. Lee teaches the RGB color spectrum by disclosing the wavelengths of the plurality of pigments selected in paragraph 13.)
CLAIM 12. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus comprising: a first substrate 110 on which a plurality of light-emitting devices 180 are provided;
a plurality of light controllers 270 corresponding to the plurality of light-emitting devices 180 on the first substrate; and
a plurality of banks 250 between the plurality of light controllers 270, wherein the plurality of banks each comprise at least one non-white pigment (Lee ¶13), and an amount of the at least one non-white pigment is about 20 wt% to about 50 wt%, based on a total weight of the bank (Lee ¶135); and wherein the at least one non-white pigment comprises any one of the [depicted] compounds (8 (Hong ¶[0146] – Teaches organic pigments corresponding to the depicted chemical structures 1–8, including anthraquinone, phthalocyanine, diketopyrrolopyrrole, and monoazo pigment compounds; Lee ¶13) – See regarding claim 1).
Lee is silent regarding the specific chemical structures of the non-white pigment. However, selecting specific organic pigment structures for a light-blocking or bank layer of a display device was well known in the art. In support of this common knowledge, Hong teaches photosensitive resin compositions containing specific organic pigments corresponding to chemical structures 1–8 (Hong ¶[0146]).
Specifically, Hong discloses organic C.I. pigments that possess the exact core chemical structures depicted in Claim 12, such as anthraquinone compounds (Structure 1), diketopyrrolopyrrole compounds (Structure 2), phthalocyanine compounds (Structures 4 and 5), and monoazo/benzimidazolone compounds (Structures 3, 6, 7, and 8) (Hong ¶[0146]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the commercial organic pigments explicitly listed in Hong ¶[0146] structurally correspond to and disclose the specific chemical formulas 1–8 depicted in claim 12.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a PHOSTA to select an organic non-white pigment having any one of the chemical structures 1–8 as taught by Hong for inclusion in the bank layer 250 of Lee to achieve desired light-blocking and optical performance. The selection of specific, art-recognized chemical structures for known organic pigments involves only routine selection of materials based on their established suitability for display applications.
.
CLAIM 13. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 1, wherein all of the plurality of light-emitting devices emit blue light (This limitation does not provide any further structural distinction. Optimization of color output is a optimizable parameter.)
CLAIM 14. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 1, however may be silent upon wherein each of the plurality bank has a reflectivity of 21% or greater in a visible light region. Although the cited prior art references may be silent regarding a bank with a reflectivity of 21% or greater in the visible light region, reflectivity is an optimizable parameter. Furthermore, both Lee and Hong teach the claimed device structure, including the same materials of manufacture. It is well established that properties arising inherently from forming the same device structure with the same materials are expected to fall within the same optimizable parameter range. Thus, discovering the optimum workable range for reflectivity would be a matter of routine optimization for a person of ordinary skill in the art.
CLAIM 15. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality bank has an optical density of 0.15/µm or greater.
Although the cited prior art references may be silent regarding an optical density of 0.15/µm or greater, optical density is an optimizable parameter. Furthermore, both Lee and Hong teach the claimed device structure, including the same materials of manufacture. It is well established that properties arising inherently from forming the same device structure with the same materials are expected to fall within the same optimizable parameter range. Thus, discovering the optimum workable range for reflectivity would be a matter of routine optimization for a person of ordinary skill in the art.
CLAIM 16. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light controllers each comprise a quantum dot layer, a color filter layer, or any combination thereof (Lee Fig. 4 & Hong Fig. 1).
CLAIM 17. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 16, wherein the quantum dot layer comprises quantum dots, and the quantum dots each have a core-shell structure (Lee ¶83) comprising: a core comprising a semiconductor compound; and a shell comprising an oxide of a metal, a metalloid or a non-metal, a semiconductor compound, or any combination thereof (Lee ¶83-142; Hong ¶195-196).
CLAIM 18. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the semiconductor compound comprises a Group II-VI semiconductor compound, a Group III-V semiconductor compound, a Group III-VI semiconductor compound, a Group I-III-VI semiconductor compound, a Group IV-VI semiconductor compound, a Group IV element or compound, or any combination thereof (Lee ¶83-142; Hong ¶195-208+).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select known QD materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
CLAIM 19. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the oxide of the metal, the metalloid or the non-metal comprises SiO2, Al2O3, TiO2, ZnO, MnO, Mn2O3, Mn3O4, CuO, FeO, Fe2O3, Fe3O4, CoO, Co3O4, NiO, MgAl2O4, CoFe2O4, NiFe2O4, CoMn2O4, or any combination thereof (Lee ¶83-142; Hong ¶195-208+).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select known QD materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
CLAIM 20. Lee in view of Hong teach a display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the semiconductor compound comprises CdS, CdSe, CdTe, ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnO, HgS, HgSe, HgTe, MgSe, MgS, CdSeS, CdSeTe, CdSTe, ZnSeS, ZnSeTe, ZnSTe, HgSeS, HgSeTe, HgSTe, CdZnS, CdZnSe, CdZnTe, CdHgS, CdHgSe, CdHgTe, HgZnS, HgZnSe, HgZnTe, MgZnSe, MgZnS, CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe, HgZnSeS, HgZnSeTe, HgZnSTe, GaN, GaP, GaAs, GaSb, AlN, AlP, AlAs, AlSb, InN, InP, InAs, InSb, GaNP, GaNAs, GaNSb, GaPAs, GaPSb, AlNP, AlNAs, AlNSb, AlPAs, AlPSb, InGaP, InNP, InAlP, InNAs, InNSb, InPAs, InPSb, GaAlNP, GaAlNAs, GaAlNSb, GaAlPAs, GaAlPSb, GaInNP, GaInNAs, GaInNSb, GaInPAs, GaInPSb, InAlNP, InAlNAs, InAlNSb, InAlPAs, InAlPSb, InZnP, InGaZnP, InAlZnP, GaS, GaSe, Ga2Se3, GaTe, InS, InSe, In2S3, In2Se3, InTe, InGaS3, InGaSe3, AgInS, AgInS2, CuInS, CuInS2, CuGaO2, AgGaO2, AgAlO2, AgInGaS, SnS, SnSe, SnTe, PbS, PbSe, PbTe, SnSeS, SnSeTe, SnSTe, PbSeS, PbSeTe, PbSTe, SnPbS, SnPbSe, SnPbTe, SnPbSSe, SnPbSeTe, SnPbSTe, Si, Ge, SiC, SiGe, or any combination thereof (Lee ¶83-142; Hong ¶195-208+).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select known QD materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JARRETT J. STARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2822
9/15/2026
/JARRETT J STARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
1 Lee et al. – [0013] The plurality of pigments may include at least two selected from a first pigment having a maximum absorption wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to about 380 nm and less than about 500 nm, a second pigment having a maximum absorption wavelength in a range of about 500 nm to about 600 nm, and a third pigment having a maximum absorption wavelength in a range of greater than about 600 nm and less than or equal to about 780 nm.
2 Lee et al. – [0135] The blended pigment may include two or more pigments having different absorption spectra in the visible wavelength region, for example, at least two pigments selected from among a first pigment having a maximum absorption wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to about 380 nm and less than about 500 nm, a second pigment having a maximum absorption wavelength in a range of about 500 nm to about 600 nm, and a third pigment having a maximum absorption wavelength in a range of greater than about 600 nm and less than or equal to about 780 nm. The first, second, and third pigments respectively may include one, two, or more. For example, the blended pigment may be a mixture of the first pigment and the second pigment. For example, the blended pigment may be a mixture of the first pigment and the third pigment. For example, the blended pigment may be a mixture of the second pigment and the third pigment. For example, the blended pigment may be a mixture of the first pigment, the second pigment, and the third pigment. The blended pigment may be included in an amount of about 1 wt % to about 50 wt % (weight percent) (based on a solid content) with respect to the bank 250, about 5 wt % to about 40 wt % or about 5 wt % to about 30 wt %.
3 Hong et al. - [0146] As the pigment, any of organic and inorganic pigments available in the field to which the disclosure belongs may be utilized. Examples of the organic pigment are: red pigments, such as C.I. #177, #202, #209, #242, #254, #255; yellow pigments, such as C.I. #150, #138, #128; orange pigments, such as C.I. #43; green pigments, such as C.I. #7, #36, #58; blue pigments, such as C.I. #15, #15:3, #15:6; and/or violet pigments, such as C.I. #23; black pigments, such as C.I. #1, #7. In some embodiments, the inorganic pigment may be titanium oxide, titanium black, carbon black, and/or the like. These pigments may be utilized in combination with at least one thereof for color combination.