CTNF 18/624,484 CTNF 86322 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 2, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(2) as being anticipated by Jain et al. ( US-20240222221-A1; Jain) . Regarding claim 1, Jain discloses a package structure, comprising: a first die (Fig. 4, 105; ¶25) over a substrate (Fig. 4, 150; ¶33); a lid structure (Fig. 4, 115; ¶25) over the first die; and a thermal interface material structure (Fig. 4, 110; ¶39) between the first die and the lid structure, wherein the thermal interface material structure comprises: a plurality of protruding structures (Fig. 4, 124; ¶39) connected to the first die; a plurality of additional protruding structures (Fig. 4, 124 not reaching chip; ¶39) connected to the lid structure; and a thermal conductivity material (Fig. 4, 122; ¶25) between the protruding structures and the additional protruding structures. Regarding claim 2, Jain discloses the package structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the protruding structures (Fig. 4, 124; ¶39) and the additional protruding structures (Fig. 4, 124 not reaching chip; ¶39) are alternatively stacked. Regarding claim 16, Jain discloses a method for forming a package structure, comprising: forming a first die (Fig. 4, 105; ¶25) on a substrate (Fig. 4, 152; ¶33); forming a plurality of protruding structures (Fig. 4, 124; ¶39) on the first die; disposing a lid structure (Fig. 4, 115; ¶25) over the first die; forming a plurality of additional protruding structures (Fig. 4, 124 not reaching chip; ¶39) below the lid structure, wherein the plurality of protruding structures are in parallel with the plurality of additional protruding structures; and forming a thermal interface material structure (Fig. 4, 122; ¶25) between the first die and the lid structure, wherein the plurality of protruding structures and the plurality of additional protruding structures are encapsulated by a thermal conductivity material to form the thermal interface material structure. The method claim is written broadly enough that as long as the structures are formed it discloses the claim . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. ( US-20240222221-A1; Jain) in view of Lee et al. (US-20210254910-A1; Lee ) . Regarding claim 3, Jain discloses the package structure as claimed in claim 1, but is silent on further comprising: an external cooling unit formed on the lid structure, wherein the first die is thermally connected to the external cooling unit by the thermal interface material structure. Lee discloses a package comprising an external cooling unit (Fig. 1, 2; ¶44) thermally on the lid (Fig. 1, 7; ¶44) and thermally connected to the die (Fig. 1,5; ¶44) by a thermal interface structure. (Fig. 1, 10; ¶44) Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to connect an external cooling unit (Heat sink) to the package for optimal heat dissipation from the die. Regarding claim 20, Jain discloses the method for forming the package structure as claimed in claim 16, but is silent on further comprising: forming an external cooling unit on the lid structure, wherein the first die is thermally connected to the external cooling unit by the thermal interface material structure. Lee discloses a package comprising an external cooling unit (Fig. 1, 2; ¶44) thermally on the lid (Fig. 1, 7; ¶44) and thermally connected to the die (Fig. 1,5; ¶44) by a thermal interface structure. (Fig. 1, 10; ¶44) Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to connect an external cooling unit (Heat sink) to the package for optimal heat dissipation from the die . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 5, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. ( US-20240222221-A1; Jain) in view of Mallik et al. (US-20200411464-A1; Mallik) . Regarding claim 4, Jain discloses the package structure as claimed in claim 1, but is silent on further comprising: a second die adjacent to the first die, wherein the protruding structures are connected to the second die. Jain discloses the claimed TIM structure comprising claimed protrusions. At issue is simply adding another die structure to be in contact with the claimed TIM structure. Mallik discloses a package comprising a thermal interface structure (Fig. 5, 550; ¶64) between a lid (Fig. 5, 515; ¶64) and first (Fig. 5, 505a; ¶64) and second die (Fig. 5, 505b; ¶64) comprising thermal interconnects (Fig. 5, 545; ¶64) and connected to the first and second die. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to connect a second die to the thermal interconnect structure for uniform heat dissipation from the package and forming a memory package comprising cpu and memory die. Also, a mere duplication of parts (die) has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 VI B Regarding claim 5, Jain discloses the package structure as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a second die adjacent to the first die; and second protruding structures connected to the second die, wherein the thermal interface material structure further comprises the second protruding structures. Jain discloses the claimed TIM structure comprising the claimed first and second protrusions. At issue is simply adding another die structure to be in contact with the TIM structure. It is known in the art that IC chips include multiple die configured into integrated circuits. Mallik discloses a package comprising a thermal interface structure (Fig. 5, 550; ¶64) between a lid (Fig. 5, 515; ¶64) and first (Fig. 5, 505a; ¶64) and second die (Fig. 5, 505b; ¶64) comprising thermal interconnects (Fig. 5, 545; ¶64) and connected to the first and second die. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to connect a second die to the thermal interconnect structure for uniform heat dissipation from the package and forming a memory package comprising cpu and memory die. Also, a mere duplication of parts (die) has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 VI B Regarding claim 19, Jain discloses the method for forming the package structure as claimed in claim 16, but is silent on wherein the thermal interface material structure has a first portion and a second portion, and the first portion is separated from the second portion by air. Mallik discloses a package comprising a thermal interface structure (Fig.3, 350; ¶59) between a lid (Fig.3,315; ¶59) comprising thermal interconnects (Fig. 3, 345/370; ¶58) and an air gap separating a first portion over a die from a second portion away from the die. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to separate the underfill portions by air gap as an added heat dissipation feature and so that the thermal interconnects can also function as coupling features . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. ( US-20240222221-A1; Jain) in view of Mardi (US-20230180379-A1; Mardi) . Regarding claim 9, Jain discloses the package structure as claimed in claim 1, but is silent on wherein the first die comprises an electronic die and an optical die, and the optical die comprises an optical component. Jain does not limit the type of devices that can be used with the TIM structure. Mardi discloses a package comprising a thermal management device wherein the die (Fig.1C, 112;¶25 ) included with optical devices (Fig.1C, 118;¶22 diodes). Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art for the IC die to include an electronic die and an optical die for the benefit of making a RF device. Regarding claim 17, Jain discloses the method for forming the package structure as claimed in claim 16, further comprising: forming an interposer (Fig. 4, 150; ¶33) between the first die (Fig. 4, 105; ¶25) and the substrate (Fig. 4, 152; ¶33), but is silent on wherein the interposer comprises a plurality of optical components. Mardi discloses a package comprising a thermal management device wherein the die (Fig.1C, 112;¶25 ) included with optical devices (Fig.1C, 118;¶22 diodes). Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art for the IC die to include an electronic die and an optical die for the benefit of making a RF device . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6- 8, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, which paraphrases and summarizes the claimed invention without intending to be limiting, wherein the legally defined scope of the claimed invention is defined by the allowed claims themselves in view of the written description under 35 USC 112. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14). The most relevant art cited in this rejection discloses a thermal interface material between a first die and a lid, wherein protrusions and additional protrusions are within the TIM. The art further discloses thermal interface materials separated and on separate chips or die. The art is silent on a thermal interface material comprising first and second protrusions where the art is separated by air. The art is silent on the limitations cited below in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations. Regarding claim 6, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: ", each of the second protruding structures has a second height, and the second height is greater than the first height.”, as recited in Claim 6, with the remaining features. Regarding claim 7, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " and a second portion between the second protruding structures and the additional protruding structures, wherein the first portion has a first thickness, the second portion has a second thickness, and the second thickness is greater than the first thickness.”, as recited in Claim 7, with the remaining features. Regarding claim 8, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " and an additional substrate over the memory dies, and the protruding structures are formed on the additional substrate of the first die.”, as recited in Claim 8, with the remaining features. Regarding claim 18, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " , and a hybrid bonding structure between the electronic die and the optical die.”, as recited in Claim 18, with the remaining features. Regarding claim 19, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " has a first portion and a second portion, and the first portion is separated from the second portion by air.”, as recited in Claim 19, with the remaining features. 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 10-15 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, which paraphrases and summarizes the claimed invention without intending to be limiting, wherein the legally defined scope of the claimed invention is defined by the allowed claims themselves in view of the written description under 35 USC 112. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14). The most relevant art cited in this rejection discloses a thermal interface material between a first die and a lid, wherein protrusions and additional protrusions are within the TIM. The art is silent on the limitations cited below in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations. Regarding claim 10, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " a plurality of second protruding structures extending upwardly from the second die”, as recited in Claim 10, with the remaining features. 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LAWRENCE C TYNES JR. whose telephone number is (571)270-7606. The examiner can normally be reached 9AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith can be reached at 571-272-2429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LAWRENCE C TYNES JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/624,484 Page 2 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/624,484 Page 3 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/624,484 Page 5 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/624,484 Page 6 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/624,484 Page 7 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/624,484 Page 8 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/624,484 Page 9 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/624,484 Page 10 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/624,484 Page 11 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/624,484 Page 12 Art Unit: 2899