DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 12/17/2025, which amended claims 1-3, 5-7, 14, 19, and 20, cancelled claim 4 and added new claim 21. Claims 1-3 and 5-21 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter “wherein the first fibers and the second fibers are offset from a center axis of the fiber structure” in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US PGPub 2019/0302570, Kumar hereinafter) in view of Oeguen et al. (US PGPub 2021/0364610, Oeguen hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Kumar discloses a lithography apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising:
an exposure tool configured to provide a light pattern to a first position (Fig. 1, paras. [0055]-[0060], [0065]-[0087], the lithographic apparatus exposes a pattern imparted to a radiation beam by a patterning device MA onto a substrate W positioned below projection system PL); and
a measurement tool (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0062], [0064], [0066], [0090]-[0095], [0098]-[0100], [0104]-[0106], [0118]-[0122], alignment system AS and topography measurement system TMS), comprising:
a light source (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0105]-[0106], [0112], [0122], [0130], light source 420);
a light receiver (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0098]-[0100], [0104]-[0106], [0118]-[0122], alignment system AS includes detectors 430A, 430B in detector arrangement 430); and
a fiber structure having first fibers, second fibers, a wall surrounding the first fibers and the second fibers (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0055]-[0061], [0104]-[0106], [0118], the alignment system AS with the fibres 442, 520A, 520B is within a frame MF), wherein a first end of the first fibers is optically coupled with the light source (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0106], [0122], optical fibres 442 direct light from source 420 to substrate W), a first end of the second fibers is optically coupled with the light receiver (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0118], fibres 520A and 520B direct light reflected from the substrate W to detectors 430A, 430B in detector arrangement 430), and a second end of the first fibers and a second end of the second fibers face a second position (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0062], [0064], [0066], [0090]-[0095], [0098]-[0100], [0104]-[0106], [0118]-[0122], the fibers 442, 520A, 520B have ends facing the position in the alignment sensor AS for measuring substrate W); and
a substrate table configured to support a substrate, wherein the substrate table is movable between the first position and the second position (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0055], [0062], [0064]-[0068], [0082], [0090]-[0095], [0098]-[0100], [0104]-[0106], [0118]-[0122], substrate tables WT1, WT2 support a substrate W and swap places). Kumar does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first fibers and the second fibers are alternately arranged in a ring.
Oeguen discloses first fibers, second fibers, a wall surrounding the first fibers and the second fibers (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0028], [0229], [0232], [0240], measurement head 110 with spacer device 124 includes optical receiving fibers 116 and optical illumination fibers 134), wherein the first fibers and the second fibers are alternately arranged in a ring (Figs. 4E, 4K, 4W, 4BB, 5E, 5K, 5W, 5BB, paras. [0240]-[0241], the optical illumination fibers 134 and optical receiving fibers 116 are arranged alternately in a ring within measurement head 110 having a spacer device 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first fibers and the second fibers are alternately arranged in a ring as taught by Oeguen in the fiber structure in the lithography apparatus as taught by Kumar since including wherein the first fibers and the second fibers are alternately arranged in a ring is commonly used to reliably detect a position of an object in harsh environments with low cost and resources in a design that enhances measurement robustness (Oeguen, paras. [0007], [0240]).
Regarding claim 3, Kumar as modified by Oeguen discloses wherein the first fibers and the second fibers are offset from a center axis of the fiber structure (Oeguen, Figs. 4E, 4K, 4W, 4BB, 5E, 5K, 5W, 5BB, paras. [0240]-[0241], the optical illumination fibers 134 and optical receiving fibers 116 are offset from the center axis of the measurement head 110).
Regarding claim 5, Kumar as modified by Oeguen discloses wherein the first fibers extend along a substantially straight line from the light source toward the substrate table (Kumar, Figs. 1-9, paras. [0106], [0122], optical fibres 442 extend in a substantially straight line to direct light from source 420 toward substrate W).
Regarding claim 6, Kumar as modified by Oeguen disclose wherein a bottom portion of the first fibers and a portion of the second fibers are surrounded by the wall, while a top portion of the first fibers and a top portion of the second fibers are not surrounded by the wall (Kumar, Figs. 1-9, paras. [0055]-[0061], [0104]-[0106], [0118], the alignment system AS with the fibres 442, 520A, 520B is within a frame MF, and as modified by Oeguen, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0028], [0229], [0232], [0240], measurement head 110 with spacer device 124 surrounds the bottom portions of optical receiving fibers 116 and optical illumination fibers 134, and spacer 124 does not surround the top portions of the fibers).
Regarding claim 7, Kumar discloses a method (Fig. 1), comprising:
placing a substrate over a substrate table (Fig. 1, paras. [0055]-[0060], [0065]-[0087], [0090]-[0095], the substrate W is placed on a substrate table WT1, WT2 in the lithographic apparatus);
measuring light data of the substrate when the substrate table is at a measurement station (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0062], [0064], [0066], [0090]-[0095], [0098]-[0100], [0104]-[0106], [0118]-[0122], alignment system AS and topography measurement system TMS measure the substrate W on the substrate table WT1, WT2), wherein measuring the light data of the substrate comprises:
using a first fiber of a fiber structure, directing a beam from a light source onto the substrate (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0106], [0122], optical fibres 442 direct light from source 420 to substrate W); and
using a second fiber of the fiber structure, directing a reflected beam from the substrate to a receiver (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0118], fibres 520A and 520B direct light reflected from the substrate W to detectors 430A, 430B in detector arrangement 430), wherein the fiber structure comprises a wall surrounding a portion of the first fiber and a portion of the second fiber (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0055]-[0061], [0104]-[0106], [0118], the alignment system AS with the fibres 442, 520A, 520B is within a frame MF). Kumar does not appear to explicitly describe a cladding material filling a space among the first fiber, the second fiber, and the wall and surrounding the first fiber and the second fiber, and wherein the cladding material has a lower refractive index than materials of the first fiber and the second fiber.
Oeguen discloses a cladding material filling a space among the first fiber, the second fiber, and the wall and surrounding the first fiber and the second fiber, and wherein the cladding material has a lower refractive index than materials of the first fiber and the second fiber (Figs. 1-4, 8, 11, paras. [0026], [0028], [0032], [0041], [0226], [0238], [0240]-[0241], [0251], the optical fibers are surrounded by fiber cladding and a spacer device 124 in measurement head 110. The fiber cladding layer has a lower index of refraction than the fiber core in the fibers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a cladding material filling a space among the first fiber, the second fiber, and the wall and surrounding the first fiber and the second fiber, and wherein the cladding material has a lower refractive index than materials of the first fiber and the second fiber as taught by Oeguen in the fiber structure in the method as taught by Kumar since including a cladding material filling a space among the first fiber, the second fiber, and the wall and surrounding the first fiber and the second fiber, and wherein the cladding material has a lower refractive index than materials of the first fiber and the second fiber is commonly used to guide light by total internal reflection (Oeguen, para. [0026]) for reliable position detection of an object in harsh environments with low cost and resources in a design that enhances measurement robustness (Oeguen, paras. [0007], [0240]).
Regarding claim 8, Kumar as modified by Oeguen discloses further comprising:
moving the substrate table to an exposure station (Kumar, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0055], [0064]-[0068], [0082], [0090]-[0095], substrate tables WT1, WT2 swap places so that the substrate table beneath the alignment system is moved beneath the lithography system); and
performing an exposure process on the substrate (Kumar, Fig. 1, paras. [0055]-[0060], [0065]-[0087], [0090]-[0095], the lithographic apparatus exposes a pattern imparted to a radiation beam by a patterning device MA onto a substrate W positioned below projection system PL).
Regarding claim 10, Kumar as modified by Oeguen discloses wherein measuring the light data of the substrate is performed before the exposure process (Kumar, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0062], [0064], [0066], [0090]-[0095], [0098]-[0100], [0104]-[0106], [0118]-[0122], alignment system AS and topography measurement system TMS measure the substrate W on the substrate table WT1, WT2 prior to the exposure).
Regarding claim 12, Kumar as modified by Oeguen discloses wherein the measured light data of the substrate is a light intensity (Kumar, Figs. 1-9, paras. [0062], [0064], [0066], [0090]-[0095], [0098]-[0100], [0104]-[0106], [0118]-[0122], alignment system AS includes a detector arrangement with detectors 430A, 430B that detect light intensity signals from the substrate to provide a position measurement).
Regarding claim 13, Kumar as modified by Oeguen discloses wherein the substrate is coated with a resist layer (Kumar, Figs. 1-9, paras. [0048], [0055]-[0061], [0186], the substrate W is coated with a resist layer).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar as modified by Oeguen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kimura (US Patent No. 5,844,239).
Regarding claim 2, Kumar as modified by Oeguen does not appear to explicitly describe wherein a diameter of the first fibers is different from a diameter of the second fibers.
Kimura discloses wherein a diameter of the first fibers is different from a diameter of the second fibers (Fig. 4, col. 5, lines 31-44, the light projecting optical fibers 14 and the photoreceiving optical fibers 16, 18 have different diameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein a diameter of the first fibers is different from a diameter of the second fibers as taught by Kimura as the diameters of the fibers in the lithography apparatus as taught by Kumar as modified by Oeguen since including wherein a diameter of the first fibers is different from a diameter of the second fibers is commonly used to increase the quantity of projected light (Kimura, col. 5, lines 31-44) as desired.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar as modified by Oeguen as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Dishon et al. (US PGPub 2014/0320837, Dishon hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, Kumar as modified by Oeguen discloses measuring the light data of the substrate is performed (Kumar, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0062], [0064], [0066], [0090]-[0095], [0098]-[0100], [0104]-[0106], [0118]-[0122], alignment system AS and topography measurement system TMS measure the substrate W on the substrate table WT1, WT2) and discloses the exposure process (Kumar, Fig. 1, paras. [0055]-[0060], [0065]-[0087], [0090]-[0095], the lithographic apparatus exposes a pattern imparted to a radiation beam by a patterning device MA onto a substrate W positioned below projection system PL), but Kumar as modified by Oeguen does not appear to explicitly describe wherein measuring the light data of the substrate is performed after the exposure process.
Dishon discloses wherein measuring the light data of the substrate is performed after the exposure process (Figs. 3-11, 16, 17, paras. [0121]-[0129], [0156], [0175], the wafer is exposed in an exposure station and is inspected after exposure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein measuring the light data of the substrate is performed after the exposure process as taught by Dishon with the measuring light data in the method as taught by Kumar as modified by Oeguen since including wherein measuring the light data of the substrate is performed after the exposure process is commonly used to provide integrated monitoring and process control of the exposure process to improve throughput in a compact design (Dishon, paras. [0069]-[0077], [0087]-[0098], [0124], [0129]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar as modified by Oeguen as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Tanaka (JP2000-180359).
Regarding claim 11, Kumar as modified by Oeguen does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the measured light data of the substrate is an interference spectrum.
Tanaka discloses wherein the measured light data of the substrate is an interference spectrum (Figs. 1-5, pages 4-5 of attached English translation, an optical interreference spectrum is obtained by the measuring device using optical fibers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the measured light data of the substrate is an interference spectrum as taught by Tanaka in the method as taught by Kumar as modified by Oeguen since including the measured light data of the substrate is an interference spectrum is commonly used to simultaneously obtain transmissivity and film thickness of a film on a substrate (Tanaka, abstract, page 5).
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US PGPub 2019/0302570, Kumar hereinafter) in view of Dishon et al. (US PGPub 2014/0320837, Dishon hereinafter) in view of Pandey (US PGPub 2020/0057387).
Regarding claim 14, Kumar discloses a method for performing a lithography process (Figs. 1-4), comprising:
loading the semiconductor substrate into a lithography apparatus (Fig. 1, paras. [0055]-[0060], [0065]-[0087], [0090]-[0095], the substrate W is placed on a substrate table WT1, WT2 in the lithographic apparatus);
exposing the resist layer over the semiconductor substrate with a light pattern at an exposure station (Fig. 1, paras. [0055]-[0060], [0065]-[0087], [0090]-[0095], the lithographic apparatus exposes a pattern imparted to a radiation beam by a patterning device MA onto the resist-coated substrate W positioned below projection system PL); and
inspecting the semiconductor substrate at a measurement station (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0062], [0064], [0066], [0090]-[0095], [0098]-[0100], [0104]-[0106], [0118]-[0122], alignment system AS and topography measurement system TMS measure the substrate W on the substrate table WT1, WT2), wherein inspecting the semiconductor substrate comprises directing a light beam to a first area of the semiconductor substrate through a first fiber, and the first fiber extends in a direction substantially perpendicular to a top surface of the semiconductor substrate (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0106], [0122], optical fibres 442 direct light from source 420 to substrate W from a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the substrate W). Kumar does not appear to explicitly describe coating a semiconductor substrate with a resist layer, and the light beam is incident directly onto the top surface of the semiconductor substrate from an end of the first fiber.
Dishon discloses coating a semiconductor substrate with a resist layer (Fig. 6, paras. [0122], [0124], [0130], a coating station CS coats the wafers with photoresist);
loading the semiconductor substrate into a lithography apparatus (Fig. 6, paras. [0122], the coated wafers are delivered to exposure station ES);
inspecting the semiconductor substrate at a measurement station (Figs. 3-11, 16, 17, paras. [0121]-[0129], [0156], [0175], the wafer is exposed in an exposure station and is inspected after exposure), wherein inspecting the semiconductor substrate comprises directing a light beam to a first area of the semiconductor substrate through a first fiber (Fig. 16, paras. [0121]-[0129], [0156], [0175], the measuring unit directs light from the source to the wafer via a fiber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included coating a semiconductor substrate with a resist layer as taught by Dishon in the method as taught by Kumar since including coating a semiconductor substrate with a resist layer is commonly used to provide exposable material to the substrate to form patterns for layers in the manufacture of semiconductor devices (Dishon, paras. [0003]-[0008], [0078]).
Kumar as modified by Dishon does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the light beam is incident directly onto the top surface of the semiconductor substrate from an end of the first fiber.
Pandey discloses wherein the light beam is incident directly onto the top surface of the semiconductor substrate from an end of the first fiber (Fig. 8, paras. [0087]-[0088], the optical fibers 30 direct light direct towards the target TT on the substrate W from tips 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the light beam is incident directly onto the top surface of the semiconductor substrate from an end of the first fiber Pandey as the arrangement of the first fiber in the inspecting in the method as taught by Kumar as modified by Dishon since including wherein the light beam is incident directly onto the top surface of the semiconductor substrate from an end of the first fiber is commonly used to provide a compact assembly of the fibers and optical system in the metrology apparatus (Pandey, para. [0087]).
Regarding claim 15, Kumar as modified by Dishon in view of Pandey discloses wherein exposing the resist layer is performed using extreme ultraviolet light (Kumar, Fig. 1, paras. [0055]-[0060], [0065]-[0087], [0090]-[0095], [0188], EUV radiation is used in lithographic apparatus).
Regarding claim 16, Kumar does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising: moving the semiconductor substrate from the exposure station to the measurement station.
Dishon discloses further comprising: moving the semiconductor substrate from the exposure station to the measurement station (Dishon, Figs. 3-11, 16, 17, paras. [0121]-[0129], [0156], [0175], the wafer is exposed in an exposure station and is moved to the monitoring station to be inspected after exposure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included further comprising: moving the semiconductor substrate from the exposure station to the measurement station as taught by Dishon in the method as taught by Kumar since including further comprising: moving the semiconductor substrate from the exposure station to the measurement station is commonly used to provide integrated monitoring and process control of the exposure process to improve throughput in a compact design (Dishon, paras. [0069]-[0077], [0087]-[0098], [0124], [0129]).
Regarding claim 17, Kumar as modified by Dishon in view of Pandey discloses wherein exposing the resist layer over the semiconductor substrate with the light pattern at the exposure station is performed after inspecting the semiconductor substrate at the measurement station (Kumar, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0062], [0064], [0066], [0090]-[0095], [0098]-[0100], [0104]-[0106], [0118]-[0122], alignment system AS and topography measurement system TMS measure the substrate W on the substrate table WT1, WT2 prior to the exposure).
Regarding claim 18, Kumar does not appear to explicitly describe wherein exposing the resist layer over the semiconductor substrate with the light pattern at the exposure station is performed before inspecting the semiconductor substrate at the measurement station.
Dishon discloses wherein exposing the resist layer over the semiconductor substrate with the light pattern at the exposure station is performed before inspecting the semiconductor substrate at the measurement station (Dishon, Figs. 3-11, 16, 17, paras. [0121]-[0129], [0156], [0175], the wafer is exposed in an exposure station and is moved to the monitoring station to be inspected after exposure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein exposing the resist layer over the semiconductor substrate with the light pattern at the exposure station is performed before inspecting the semiconductor substrate at the measurement station as taught by Dishon in the method as taught by Kumar since including wherein exposing the resist layer over the semiconductor substrate with the light pattern at the exposure station is performed before inspecting the semiconductor substrate at the measurement station is commonly used to provide integrated monitoring and process control of the exposure process to improve throughput in a compact design (Dishon, paras. [0069]-[0077], [0087]-[0098], [0124], [0129]).
Regarding claim 19, Kumar as modified by Dishon in view of Pandey discloses wherein inspecting the semiconductor substrate further comprises directing a light beam reflected by the first area of the semiconductor substrate to a receiver through a second fiber (Kumar, Figs. 1-9, paras. [0118], fibres 520A and 520B direct light reflected from the substrate W to detectors 430A, 430B in detector arrangement 430).
Regarding claim 20, Kumar as modified by Dishon in view of Pandey discloses wherein inspecting the semiconductor substrate further comprises directing the light beam to a second area of the semiconductor substrate through the first fiber (Kumar, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0068], [0082], [0090]-[0091], [0093], [0097]-[0098], [0102]-[0103], [0109], alignment marks, such as 202 and 204, formed in different locations on the substrate W are measured by the alignment system with optical fibres 442, and as modified by Pandey, Fig. 8, paras. [0087]-[0088], the optical fibers 30 direct light direct towards the target TT on the substrate W from tips 40).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar as modified by Dishon and Pandey as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kusunose et al. (US PGPub 2013/0188251, Kusunose hereinafter).
Regarding claim 21, although Kumar as modified by Dishon and Pandey discloses inspecting the semiconductor substrate is configured to determine a defect on the semiconductor substrate (Pandey, para. [0146]), Kumar as modified by Dishon and Pandey does not appear to explicitly describe wherein inspecting the semiconductor substrate is configured to determine a particle in a recess of the semiconductor substrate.
Kusunose discloses wherein inspecting the semiconductor substrate is configured to determine a particle in a recess of the semiconductor substrate (Figs. 1-3, 5, paras. [0061], [0078]-[0080], the defects 34 of the foreign substance in a contact hole 32b is detected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein inspecting the semiconductor substrate is configured to determine a particle in a recess of the semiconductor substrate as taught by Kusunose in the method as taught by Kumar as modified by Dishon and Pandey since including wherein inspecting the semiconductor substrate is configured to determine a particle in a recess of the semiconductor substrate is commonly used to accurately detect defective columnar transistors to improve yield (Kusunose, paras. [0004], [0009]-[0012], [0045], [0080]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to the objections to claims 4, 7, 14, 19, and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendments to claims 7, 14, 19, and 20 and the cancellation of claim 4. The objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 6 have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendments to claim 6. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 6 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882