Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCutcheon et al. (US 2011/0308739, hereinafter McCutcheon) in view of Horstkemper et al. (US 2013/0062011, hereinafter Horstkemper).
With respect to claim 1, McCutcheon discloses a method for treating a first substrate (12 of Fig. 7) and a second substrate (22), comprising: bonding a first substrate with a second substrate to obtain a substrate assembly with a surrounding clearance between a first surrounding edge of the first substrate and a second surrounding edge of the second substrate (Fig. 7; Para 0060 – clearance between an edge of 12 and an edge of 22), the first surrounding edge having a first region and a second region which are located in a first part and a second part of the surrounding clearance, respectively (inner side can be a first region and outer side can be a second part); and rotating the substrate assembly while dispensing a filling material to the surrounding clearance (Para 0060 – structure is rotated until peripheral regions are filled with the bonding material).
McCutcheon does not explicitly disclose in a first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the filling material being dispensed to the first part and the second part at a first dispensed rate and a second dispensed rate, respectively, the first dispensed rate being greater than the second dispensed rate.
In an analogous art, Horstkemper discloses in a first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the filling material being dispensed to the first part and the second part at a first dispensed rate and a second dispensed rate, respectively, the first dispensed rate being greater than the second dispensed rate (Para 0082-0083 and 0088).It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon’s method/system by having Horstkemper’s disclosure in order to control the thickness of the bonding layer to have stronger bond between different components of a semiconductor device to reduce failures.
With respect to claim 8, McCutcheon discloses performing a heating treatment on the filling material in the surrounding clearance (Para 0068; 0073); and after the heating treatment, performing a planarization process on a surface of the second substrate of the substrate assembly opposite to the first substrate (Para 0006; and 00075-0076).
With respect to claim 9, McCutcheon/Horstkemper discloses the method according to claim 1.
McCutcheon does not explicitly disclose wherein, in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the second dispensed rate is zero.
In an analogous art, Horstkemper discloses wherein, in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the second dispensed rate is zero.(Para 0082-0083 and 0088 – dispense rate can be adjusted).It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon’s method/system by having Horstkemper’s disclosure in order to control the thickness of the bonding layer to have stronger bond between different components of a semiconductor device to reduce failures.
With respect to claim 10, McCutcheon does not explicitly disclose wherein, in a second turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the filling material is dispensed in the first part at a third dispensed rate, and the filling material is dispensed in the second part at a fourth dispensed rate, the third dispensed rate being less than the fourth dispensed rate.
In an analogous art, Horstkemper discloses wherein, in a second turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the filling material is dispensed in the first part at a third dispensed rate, and the filling material is dispensed in the second part at a fourth dispensed rate, the third dispensed rate being less than the fourth dispensed rate (Para 0082-0083 and 0088).It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon’s method/system by having Horstkemper’s disclosure in order to control the thickness of the bonding layer to have stronger bond between different components of a semiconductor device to reduce failures.
With respect to claim 11, McCutcheon/Horstkemper discloses the method according to claim 10.
McCutcheon does not explicitly disclose wherein, in the second turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the third dispensed rate is zero.
In an analogous art, Horstkemper discloses wherein, in the second turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the third dispensed rate is zero (Para 0082-0083 and 0088 – dispense rate can be adjusted).It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon’s method/system by having Horstkemper’s disclosure in order to control the thickness of the bonding layer to have stronger bond between different components of a semiconductor device to reduce failures.
With respect to claim 12, McCutcheon/Horstkemper discloses the method according to claim 1.
McCutcheon discloses wherein the first region has first sections which are angularly displaced from each other, and the second region has second sections which are angularly displaced from each other such that the second sections angularly alternate with the first sections (Fig. 7-10 – different regions which are angularly displace from each other).
With respect to claim 13, McCutcheon discloses a method for treating a first substrate (12 of Fig. 7) and a second substrate (22), comprising: bonding the first substrate with the second substrate to obtain a substrate assembly with a surrounding clearance between a first surrounding edge of the first substrate and a second surrounding edge of the second substrate (Fig. 7; Para 0060 – clearance between an edge of 12 and an edge of 22), the first surrounding edge having a first region and a second region which are angularly displaced form each other and which are respectively located in a first part and a second part of the surrounding clearance (inner side can be a first region and outer side can be a second part); and rotating the substrate assembly around an axis while dispensing a filling mater to the surrounding clearance along a perimeter path around the axis (Para 0060 – structure is rotated until peripheral regions are filled with the bonding material).
McCutcheon does not explicitly disclose rotating the substrate around the axis in a manner that in one turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, an amount of the filling material dispensed to the first part per degree of the perimeter path is greater than an amount of the filling material dispensed to the second part per degree of the perimeter path.
In an analogous art, Horstkemper discloses rotating the substrate around the axis in a manner that in one turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, an amount of the filling material dispensed to the first part per degree of the perimeter path is greater than an amount of the filling material dispensed to the second part per degree of the perimeter path (Para 0082-0083 and 0088 – different rates of dispensing at different regions wherein the regions can be circular, its obvious to one any ordinary skilled in the art that circular region has perimeter – perimeter of different regions can have different rate of dispensed fluid ).It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon’s method/system by having Horstkemper’s disclosure in order to control the thickness of the bonding layer to have stronger bond between different components of a semiconductor device to reduce failures.
With respect to claim 17, McCutcheon discloses performing a heating treatment on the filling material in the surrounding clearance after the one turn of rotation of the substrate assembly (Para 0068; 0073).
With respect to claim 18, McCutcheon discloses wherein a volume of the first part is larger than a volume of the second part (Fig. 10 -the first and second parts can be sections with different sizes).
Claims 2-7 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCutcheon/Horstkemper in view of Hooge et al. (US 2021/0132637, hereinafter Hooge).
With respect to claim 2, McCutcheon discloses wherein the substrate assembly is disposed on a substrate holder (Para 0007 – 0008; carrier).
McCutcheon/Horstkemper does not explicitly disclose that the substrate is rotated by a substrate holder, and a dispenser valve is disposed aside the substrate holder to dispense the filling material to the surrounding clearance.
In an analogous art, Hooge discloses that the substrate is rotated by a substrate holder (Para 0007; the substrate holder is rotated at a controlled speed by a spin motor), and a dispenser valve is disposed aside the substrate holder to dispense the filling material to the surrounding clearance (Para 0008; 0055; 0066; 0080 - valve). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon/Horstkemper’s method/system by having Hooge’s disclosure in order to control the flow rate to minimize the defects during manufacturing process of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 3, McCutcheon/Horstkemper/Hooge discloses the method according to claim 2.
McCutcheon/Horstkemper does not explicitly disclose wherein, in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the first region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve at a first speed, and the second region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve at a second speed that is faster than the first speed.
In an analogous art, Hooge discloses wherein, in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the first region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve at a first speed, and the second region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve at a second speed that is faster than the first speed (Para 0055; 0066-0067; 0070 and 0082; controlling rotating speed – it’s obvious to adjust speed for different regions to achieve the desired thickness of a layer). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon/Horstkemper’s method/system by having Hooge’s disclosure in order to control the flow rate to minimize the defects during manufacturing process of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 4, McCutcheon/Horstkemper/Hooge discloses the method according to claim 3.
McCutcheon/Horstkemper does not explicitly disclose wherein, in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, an on-off frequency of the dispenser valve is kept constant.
In an analogous art, Hooge discloses wherein, in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, an on-off frequency of the dispenser valve is kept constant (Para 0010; 0059). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon/Horstkemper’s method/system by having Hooge’s disclosure in order to control the flow rate to minimize the defects during manufacturing process of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 5, McCutcheon/Horstkemper/Hooge discloses the method according to claim 3.
McCutcheon/Horstkemper does not explicitly disclose wherein, in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the dispenser valve is controlled at a first on-off frequency when the first region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, and is controlled at a second on-off frequency when the second region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, the first on-off frequency being greater than the second on-off frequency.
In an analogous art, Hooge discloses wherein, in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the dispenser valve is controlled at a first on-off frequency when
the first region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, and is controlled at a second on-off frequency when the second region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, the first on-off frequency being greater than the second on-off frequency (Para 0055; 0066-0067; 0070 and 0082; controlling rotating speed – it’s obvious to adjust speed for different regions to achieve the desired thickness of a layer). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon/Horstkemper’s method/system by having Hooge’s disclosure in order to control the flow rate to minimize the defects during manufacturing process of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 6, McCutcheon/Horstkemper/Hooge discloses the method according to claim 2.
McCutcheon/Horstkemper does not explicitly disclose wherein, in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the dispenser valve is controlled at a first on-off frequency when the first region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, and is controlled at a second on-off frequency when the second region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, the first on-off frequency being greater than the second on-off frequency.
In an analogous art, Hooge discloses wherein, in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the dispenser valve is controlled at a first on-off frequency when the first region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, and is controlled at a second on-off frequency when the second region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, the first on-off frequency being greater than the second on-off frequency (Para 0055; 0066-0067; 0070 and 0082; controlling rotating speed – it’s obvious to adjust speed for different regions to achieve the desired thickness of a layer). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon/Horstkemper’s method/system by having Hooge’s disclosure in order to control the flow rate to minimize the defects during manufacturing process of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 7, McCutcheon/Horstkemper/Hooge discloses the method according to claim 6.
McCutcheon/Horstkemper does not explicitly disclose wherein in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the substrate assembly is rotated at a constant speed.
In an analogous art, Hooge3 discloses wherein in the first turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the substrate assembly is rotated at a constant speed (Para 0010 and 0082 – rotation rate is set to a selected level which means speed can be constant). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon/Horstkemper’s method/system by having Hooge’s disclosure in order to control the flow rate to minimize the defects during manufacturing process of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 14, McCutcheon discloses wherein the substrate assembly is disposed on a substrate holder (Para 0007 – 0008; carrier).
McCutcheon/Horstkemper does not explicitly disclose that the substrate is rotated by a substrate holder, and a dispenser valve is disposed aside the substrate holder to dispense the filling material to the surrounding clearance.
In an analogous art, Hooge discloses that the substrate is rotated by a substrate holder (Para 0007; the substrate holder is rotated at a controlled speed by a spin motor), and a dispenser valve is disposed aside the substrate holder to dispense the filling material to the surrounding clearance (Para 0008; 0055; 0066; 0080 - valve). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon/Horstkemper’s method/system by having Hooge’s disclosure in order to control the flow rate to minimize the defects during manufacturing process of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 15, McCutcheon/Horstkemper/Hooge discloses the method according to claim 14.
McCutcheon/Horstkemper does not explicitly disclose wherein, in the one turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the first region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve at a first speed, and the second region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve at a second speed that is faster than the first speed.
In an analogous art, Hooge discloses wherein, in the one turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the first region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve at a first speed, and the second region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve at a second speed that is faster than the first speed (Para 0055; 0066-0067; 0070 and 0082; controlling rotating speed – it’s obvious to adjust speed for different regions to achieve the desired thickness of a layer). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon/Horstkemper’s method/system by having Hooge’s disclosure in order to control the flow rate to minimize the defects during manufacturing process of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 16, McCutcheon/Horstkemper/Hooge discloses the method according to claim 14.
McCutcheon/Horstkemper does not explicitly disclose wherein, in the one turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the dispenser valve is controlled at a first on-off frequency when the first region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, and is controlled at a second on-off frequency when the second region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, the first on-off frequency being greater than the second on-off frequency.
In an analogous art, Hooge discloses wherein, in the one turn of rotation of the substrate assembly, the dispenser valve is controlled at a first on-off frequency when the first region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, and is controlled at a second on-off frequency when the second region of the first surrounding edge is swept over the dispenser valve, the first on-off frequency being greater than the second on-off frequency (Para 0055; 0066-0067; 0070 and 0082; controlling rotating speed – it’s obvious to adjust speed for different regions to achieve the desired thickness of a layer). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon/Horstkemper’s method/system by having Hooge’s disclosure in order to control the flow rate to minimize the defects during manufacturing process of a semiconductor device.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCutcheon in view of Hooge et al. (US 2021/0132637, hereinafter Hooge).
With respect to claim 19, McCutcheon discloses a semiconductor apparatus (Para 0008), comprising: a substrate holder for retaining a substrate assembly thereon (Para 0008 – carrier to hold a substrate), the substrate assembly having a first substrate (12 of Fig. 7) and a second substrate (22), and being formed with a surrounding clearance between the first substrate and the second substrate (Fig. 7; Para 0060 – clearance between an edge of 12 and an edge of 22).
McCutcheon does not explicitly disclose a rotating controller coupled to the substrate holder to control rotation speed of the substrate holder; and a dispenser valve disposed aside the substrate holder to dispense a filling material to the surrounding clearance.
In an analogous art, Hooge discloses a rotating controller coupled to the substrate holder to control rotation speed of the substrate holder (Para 0007; the substrate holder is rotated at a controlled speed by a spin motor); and a dispenser valve disposed aside the substrate holder to dispense a filling material to the surrounding clearance (Para 0008; 0055; 0066; 0080 - valve). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon’s method/system by having Hooge’s disclosure in order to control the flow rate to minimize the defects during manufacturing process of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 20, McCutcheon does not explicitly disclose a dispensing controller coupled to the dispenser valve to control an on-off frequency of the dispenser valve.
In an analogous art, Hooge discloses a dispensing controller coupled to the dispenser valve to control an on-off frequency of the dispenser valve. (Para 0004; 0007-0008; 0055; 0066; 0080 - valve). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCutcheon’s method/system by having Hooge’s disclosure in order to control the flow rate to minimize the defects during manufacturing process of a semiconductor device.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899