DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 5 and 6 repeat the same limitation c) in claim 1 and claims 8 and 9 repeat the limitation d) in claim 1. It appears that these limitations from claims 5, 6, 8, and 9 have been incorporated into claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eun et al. (US 2008/0254593A1) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 113517296A).
With respect to claims 1, 5-9 Eun teaches a method comprising providing a substrate 100 in which a recess is formed and having exposed HDP oxide 114, formed from silane and oxygen gas, which provide silicon oxide layer 114 (fig. 3; para 6, 7, 24, 25)
; generating a plasma from a gas mixture comprising fluorine-containing gas and hydrogen (H2) gas (para 27); repeating the deposition and etching step four or more time to fill the gap with the HDP oxide, which would provide claimed forming a silicon oxide in the recess after etching and repeating the etching and forming the silicon oxide in the recess.
Unlike claimed invention, Eun doesn’t teach etching the HDP oxide with plasma mixture using gas mixture including trifluoromethane and oxygen-containing gas. Zhang teaches that fluorine containing gas including trifluoromethane and oxygen are known for selectively etching silicon oxide (page 9). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add trifluoromethane and oxygen into the etching gas mixture, in light of Zhang, because he teaches gas mixture including trifluoromethane, oxygen, and hydrogen has been successfully facilitating the selective etching of the silicon oxide, especially in the present of silicon substrate (page 9, 10).
With respect to claims 2 and 3, figures 3 and 4 show the recess has a certain depth and the etching removing the HDP oxide 114 to create a target shape wherein the hydrogen flow rate is set from 50 to 150 sccm (para 27), in which the flow rate must be set according to a depth and targeted shape by removing a portion of the HDP oxide as shown in fig. 4 for the next deposition step
.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eun/Zhang, and further in view of Sung et al. (US 2021/0066047A1).
With respect to claim 10, Eun and Zhang describe an etching method including the steps of claim 10, see rejection of claim 1 above. Unlike claimed invention, Eun doesn’t teach using an apparatus having a vacuum chamber, a gas supply that supplies a gas to the vacuum chamber and a controller is configured to the etching steps. Sung teaches an etching apparatus having chamber interior 125 with a gas exhaust port 516 to evacuating as gas from the chamber or claimed a vacuum chamber (para 39, 51); a gas supply 150 (para 33, 58); “a controller configured to control the gas delivery system, the inductive element, and the bias source to implement a spacer open process. The spacer open process may include operations” (para 6, 54; fig. 4).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to use an apparatus such as one taught by Sung because using known element without changes in its functions, in this case using the apparatus for the same purpose of providing a plasma for Eun’s etching process, would enable one skilled in the art to provide a plasma for the etching process with expected results.
With respect to claim 11, Eun shows in figure 4, the HDP oxide 114 is exposed in the recess and etched
.
With respect to claim 12. Figure 4 from Sung shows each gas is supplied from a separate source. Therefore, it would have been obvious and within the knowledge of one skilled in the art to provide the gases from their respective sources in order to provide the gases for the silicon oxide etching with expected results.
/DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713
9/21/2026