DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-12 are pending. claims 1-6, 10-12 are rejected under prior arts. Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 7,696,099 B2) and further in view of Heinecke (US 3,940,506).
With respect to claim 1, Yamada teaches a method comprising: providing a substrate in which a recess 120 is formed and having exposed silicon oxide film 102 (fig. 5; col. 5, lines 51-55)
; etching the silicon oxide film 102 with a mixture of CHF3, and O2 (col. 6, line 65-col. 7, line 5; fig. 6)
Unlike claimed invention, Yamada doesn’t teach the etching gas comprises of a hydrogen-containing gas different from the trifluoromethane gas. Heinecke teaches a plasma etching method for silica or silicon dioxide and silicon where hydrogen gas is added to control etching rate between the silica and the silicon (col. 2 ,lines 25-35). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add hydrogen gas to the etching gas because Heinecke teaches that adding hydrogen would enable one skilled in the art to control relative etching rate between silicon dioxide and the silica with an etching rate ratio such as 2:1 to 1:5 depending upon a number of parameters (col. 2, lines 25-35) and also reduce etching rate of the photoresist (col. 3, lines 1-5), which in this case, it would help to reduce the etching of the photoresist 104 used by Yamada so that the silicon oxide film 102 and the substrate can be etched with expected results.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, figure 5 from Yamada above shows the supplied gas mixture including the CH3 gas, O2, and hydrogen-containing gas would have to be set so that it is able to penetrate through the top layers or according a depth of the recess above the silicon oxide film 102 in order to reach and excessively etch the silicon oxide 102 and to provide rounded corners as shown in fig. 6 (col. 6, line 65-col. 7, line 5) or a targeted etching shape
.
With respect to claim 11, the silicon oxide film 102 is exposed and etched in the recess as shown in fig 5 and 6 above.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada and Heinecke as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 113517296A).
With respect to claims 4-6, Yamada doesn’t teach forming a silicon oxide film in the recess after etching the silicon film 102. However, he teaches the process is for forming shallow trench isolation where “a shallow trench is formed to bury an insulation film” (col. 1, line 10-15). Zhang further teaches a method for forming shallow trench isolation wherein he describes forming a silicon oxide layer 406 in the recess after etching the pad silicon oxide 401 (pages 8-9; fig. 5)
. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a silicon oxide film in the recess or trench in light of Zhang in order to form shallow trench isolation, which is desired by Yamada, with expected results.
Claim(s) 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 7,696,099 B2) and Heinecke (US 3,940,506), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sung et al. (US 2021/0066047A1).
With respect to claim 10, Yamada describes an etching method including the steps of claim 10, see rejection of claim 1 above. Unlike claimed invention, he doesn’t teach using an apparatus having a vacuum chamber, a gas supply that supplies a gas to the vacuum chamber and a controller is configured to the etching steps. Sung teaches an etching apparatus having chamber interior 125 with a gas exhaust port 516 to evacuating as gas from the chamber or claimed a vacuum chamber (para 39, 51); a gas supply 150 (para 33, 58); “a controller configured to control the gas delivery system, the inductive element, and the bias source to implement a spacer open process. The spacer open process may include operations” (para 6, 54; fig. 4).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to use an apparatus such as one taught by Sung because using known element without changes in its functions, in this case using the apparatus for the same purpose of providing a plasma for Yamada’s etching process, would enable one skilled in the art to provide a plasma for the etching process with expected results.
With respect to claim 12. Figure 4 from Sung shows each gas is supplied from a separate source. Therefore, it would have been obvious and within the knowledge of one skilled in the art to provide the gases from their respective sources in order to provide the gases for the silicon oxide etching with expected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7-9 are allowed over the applied prior art because neither Yamada nor Zhang, further teaches repeating the etching step or claimed step b) of the silicon oxide film with trifluoromethane gas, an oxygen-containing gas, and a hydrogen-containing gas and the step of forming the silicon oxide in the recess or claimed step c).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1-6, 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections based on Yamada, Heinecke, and Sung as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713
6/26/2026