CTNF 18/627,561 CTNF 89731 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 11 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims initially recite the limitation “protruding portion” and subsequently refers to the same element as “protrusion portion” afterwards. For consistency and to avoid ambiguity, the same terminology should be used throughout the claims of the application . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Brandenburg et al. [US PGPUB 20050040518] (hereinafter Brandenburg) . Regarding claim 16, Brandenburg teaches an integrated circuit (IC) package assembly, comprising: a package substrate (14, Para 14); a die (see annotated Fig. 2) over the package substrate (Fig. 1); surface mount (SMT) components (12, Para 14) mounted on a backside of the package substrate (Fig. 2); and a back plate (20, Para 15) under the package substrate (Fig. 2), wherein the back plate includes a base portion (see annotated Fig. 2) and a protruding portion (23, Para 20, Fig. 2), wherein the protrusion portion protrudes from the base portion and presses against a back side of the package substrate (Fig. 2), wherein the protrusion portion is below the die and presses against the backside of the package substrate without contacting the SMT components (Fig. 2). PNG media_image1.png 340 736 media_image1.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 2 Regarding claim 17, Brandenburg teaches an IC package assembly wherein the protrusion portion lands between the SMT components (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 18, Brandenburg teaches an IC package assembly wherein the protrusion portion includes a plurality of stubs, or a plurality of springs (Fig. 2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzono et al. [US PGPUB 20130083504] in view of Mori et al. [US PGPUB 20170242057] (hereinafter Fukuzono and Mori) . Regarding claim 1, Fukuzono teaches an integrated circuit (IC) package assembly, comprising: a board (PCB) (3, Para 57); a packaged IC structure (5, Para 57) mounted on a top surface of the board (Fig. 25); a heat sink structure (6, Para 57) disposed over the packaged IC structure (Fig. 25); and a back plate (2, Para 57) secured on a bottom surface of the board (Fig. 25), wherein the back plate includes a base portion (portion of plate 2 excluding structures 16 and 17) and a protruding portion (16, Para 59, Fig. 25), wherein the protrusion portion protrudes from the base portion and a portion of the board is below the packaged IC structure (Fig. 25), wherein a lateral width of the protrusion portion is smaller than a lateral width of the base portion (Fig. 25). Fukuzono does not specifically disclose that the board is a printed circuit board (PCB). However, it is noted that Fukuzono discloses that the board is a main board such as a wiring board. Referring to the invention of Mori, Mori discloses that a main board 10 is a wiring board adapted to be detachably attached to a prober (not illustrated), for example, a disk-shaped printed circuit board … (Para 29). In view of such teaching by Mori, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the main board of Fukuzono referred to as a printed circuit board (PCB) based on the teaching of Mori, at least based on the rationale of relying on teachings, suggestions, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention (MPEP 2143.I.G). Regarding claim 4, Fukuzono teaches an IC package assembly further comprising: fasteners (7, Para 57) that secure the heat sink structure to the back plate (Fig. 25), wherein the fasteners apply a mechanical pressure onto the packaged IC structure by being bolted onto a top surface of the back plate (Para 67). Regarding claim 7, the modified invention of Fukuzono as implemented in the rejection of claim 1 teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends. The modified invention of Fukuzono does not specifically teach an integrated circuit wherein the protrusion portion of the back plate is a leaf spring arm, a plurality of stubs, or a plurality of springs. Referring to the embodiment of Fig. 15, Fukuzono teaches a back plate, wherein the back plate comprises a protrusion portion (24, Para 73), and the protrusion portion is a plurality of stubs (Fig. 15). In view of such teaching by Fukuzono according to the embodiment of Fig. 15, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Fukuzono’s embodiment of Fig. 25 have plurality of studs at least based on the rationale of simple substitution of one known element/structure with a suitable another to obtain predictable results or improve the device in a same way (MPEP 2143.I.B. Regarding claim 8, Fukuzono teaches an IC package assembly wherein the heat sink structure includes cooling fans, cooling plates, or combinations thereof (in view of the fins of heat sink structure 6 wherein each fin is structurally capable of being referred to as a cooling plate) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzono in view of Mori fand further in view of Cromwell [US Patent 6198630] . Regarding claim 2, Fukuzono teaches an IC package assembly wherein the packaged IC structure includes: a die (9, Para 57, Fig. 25); and a metal lid (10, Para 61) disposed on a top surface of the die, wherein the protrusion portion is configured to generate a pre-pressure force onto a back side of the PCB, and the pre-pressure force is transferred to a projected area of the die (Para 57). The modified invention of Fukuzono does not specifically disclose a thermal interface material (TIM) layer disposed on a top surface the die; and that the metal lid is disposed on a top surface of the TIM layer. Referring to the invention of Cromwell, Cromwell discloses that in a semiconductor package, heat sink 120 includes the heat sink base 121 that is thermally connected to the VLSI module 102, and heat fins 127 that divert heat from the VLSI module 102 by moving heat to a space where there is sufficient air flow to cool the system. Further, an optional thermal pad 118 may be sandwiched between the heat sink 120 and the VLSI module 102… (Col.4 lines 66-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-5). In view of such teaching by Cromwell, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Fukuzono comprises a thermal interface material (TIM) layer between die 9 and metal lid 10, such that, thermal interface material (TIM) layer is disposed on a top surface the die; and that the metal lid is disposed on a top surface of the TIM layer, in order to enhance heat dissipation in the device. In view of such implementation of Cromwell’s teachings in the modified invention, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art that the limitation “a thermal interface material (TIM) layer disposed on a top surface the die; and that the metal lid is disposed on a top surface of the TIM layer” would be met. Regarding claim 3, the modified invention of Fukuzono in view of Cromwell teaches an IC package assembly wherein the pre-pressure force squeezes the die against the metal lid such that the TIM layer is substantially free of air gaps and delamination (in view of Fukuzono’s disclosure of how the fixing unit 7 is used in the package, Para 64) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzono in view of Mori and further in view of Schroeder et al. [US Patent 20190230820] (hereinafter Schroeder) . Regarding claim 5, the modified invention of Fukuzono teaches the limitation of claim 4 upon which it depends. Fukuzono does not specifically disclose an IC package assembly wherein the applied mechanical pressure is about equal to 10 to 50 PSI. Referring to the invention of Schroeder, Schroeder discloses a device packaging wherein setscrews can be adjusted during assembly to a pre-determined pressure (e.g., about 20 psi) (Para 45). In view of such teaching by Schroeder, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device of Fukuzono comprise the teachings of Schroeder in order to help eliminate or reduce the effects of the manufacturing variances in the gap between the heat source and the heatsink . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzono in view of Mori and further in view of Brandenburg et al. [US PGPUB 20050040518] and Turturro [US Patent 5883783] (hereinafter Brandenburg) . Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Fukuzono teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which claim 6 depends. The modified invention does not specifically disclose the limitation of claim 6. Referring to the invention of Brandenburg, Brandenburg teaches an IC package assembly further comprising: an pad (adhesive 24, Para 14, Fig. 2) that interface between protrusion portions 23/24 of back plate 20 and the bottom surface of the PCB 14 (Fig. 2). In view of such teaching by Brandenburg, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pad layer of Brandenburg introduce in the modified invention of Fukuzono at least based on the rationale of using known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way using (MPEP 2143.I.C), such as effectively bonding/adhering the PCB to the backplate. Brandenburg does not specifically disclose that adhesive 24 is an elastomer pad. Referring to the invention of Turturro, Turturro teaches using elastomer material 34 to bond back plate 28 to PCB 14 (Col. 3 lines 50-51). In view of such teaching by Turturro, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pad layer of Brandenburg (combine with the modified invention) be and elastomer in order to protect the PCB from direct contact which, thus, reducing the chance of damage to the PCB . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzono in view of Mori and further in view of Brandenburg . Regarding claim 9, the modified invention of Fukuzono teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which claim 9 depends. The modified invention does not specifically disclose the limitation of claim 9. Referring to the invention of Brandenburg, Brandenburg teaches an integrated circuit wherein PCB 14 (Para 14) includes surface mount (SMT) components 12 on front and back side of the PCB, and wherein the back plate 20 comprise protrusion portion 26 (Fig. 2) which presses against the SMT components (Fig. 2, Para 14). In view of such teaching by Brandenburg, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Fukuzono comprise the teachings of Brandenburg at least to increase the packaged device’s functionality. Regarding claim 10, the modified invention of Fukuzono teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which claim 10 depends. The modified invention does not specifically disclose the limitation of claim 10. Referring to the invention of Brandenburg, Brandenburg teaches an integrated circuit wherein PCB 14 (Para 14) includes surface mount (SMT) components 12 on front and back side of the PCB, and wherein the back plate 20 comprise protrusion portion 23 (Fig. 2) which avoids pressing against the SMT components (Fig. 2, Para 14). In view of such teaching by Brandenburg, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Fukuzono comprise the teachings of Brandenburg at least to increase the packaged device’s functionality . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandenburg in view of Turturro [US Patent 5883783] . Regarding claim 19, Brandenburg teaches an IC package assembly further comprising: pads (24, Para 14, Fig. 2) disposed on a top surface of the protruding portion (Fig. 2), and the pads directly contact the backside of the package substrate (Fig. 2). Brandenburg does not specifically disclose that adhesive 24 is an elastomer pad. Referring to the invention of Turturro, Turturro teaches using elastomer material 34 to bond back plate 28 to PCB 14 (Col. 3 lines 50-51). In view of such teaching by Turturro, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pad layer of Brandenburg be and elastomer in order to protect the PCB from direct contact which, thus, preventing reducing the chance of damage to the PCB. Brandenburg does not specifically disclose that adhesive 24 is an elastomer pad . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzono in view of Cromwel, Brandenburg and Turturro . Regarding claim 11, Fukuzono teaches an integrated circuit (IC) package assembly, comprising: a package substrate (3, Para 57, Fig. 25); a die (9, Para 57, Fig. 2) over the package substrate (Fig. 25); a metal lid (10, Para 61, Fig. 25); a second TIM layer (thermally conductive material, Para 63) over the metal lid; a heat sink structure (6, Para 63) over the second TIM layer (Para 63, Fig. 25); and a back plate (2, Para 73, Fig. 25) under the package substrate, wherein the back plate includes a base portion (structure of plate 2 exclude regions 16/17, Fig. 25), a protruding portion (16/17, Para 59, Fig. 29), wherein the protrusion portion protrudes from the base portion (Fig. 25), wherein the protrusion portion is below the die (Fig. 25; i.e., at a level lower than the position of the die). Fukuzono does not specifically disclose a first thermal interface material (TIM) layer over the die; the metal lid over the TIM layer; and and an elastomer pad interposed between the protrusion portion and the package substrate. Referring to the invention of Cromwell, Cromwell discloses that in a semiconductor package, heat sink 120 includes the heat sink base 121 that is thermally connected to the VLSI module 102, and heat fins 127 that divert heat from the VLSI module 102 by moving heat to a space where there is sufficient air flow to cool the system. Further, an optional thermal pad 118 may be sandwiched between the heat sink 120 and the VLSI module 102… (Col.4 lines 66-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-5). In view of such teaching by Cromwell, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Fukuzono comprises a thermal interface material (TIM) layer between die 9 and metal lid 10, such that, thermal interface material (TIM) layer is disposed on a top surface the die; and that the metal lid is disposed on a top surface of the TIM layer, in order to enhance heat dissipation in the device. In view of such implementation of Cromwell’s teachings in the modified invention, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art that the limitation “a first thermal interface material (TIM) layer over the die; and the metal lid over the TIM layer” would be met. Referring to the invention of Brandenburg, Brandenburg teaches an IC package assembly further comprising: an pad (adhesive 24, Para 14, Fig. 2) that interface between protrusion portions 23/24 of back plate 20 and the bottom surface of the PCB 14 (Fig. 2). In view of such teaching by Brandenburg, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pad layer of Brandenburg introduce in the modified invention of Fukuzono at least based on the rationale of using known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way using (MPEP 2143.I.C), such as effectively bonding/adhering the PCB to the backplate. Brandenburg does not specifically disclose that adhesive 24 is an elastomer pad. Referring to the invention of Turturro, Turturro teaches using elastomer material 34 to bond back plate 28 to PCB 14 (Col. 3 lines 50-51). In view of such teaching by Turturro, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pad layer of Brandenburg (combine with the modified invention) be and elastomer in order to protect the PCB from direct contact which, thus, reducing the chance of damage to the PCB. Regarding claim 12, Fukuzono teaches an IC package assembly further comprising: fasteners (7, Para 57) that secure the heat sink structure to the back plate (Fig. 25), wherein the fasteners are configured to apply a force against a top surface of the metal lid (in view of Fukuzono’s disclosure of how the fixing unit 7 is used in the package, Para 64). Regarding claim 13, Fukuzono teaches an IC package assembly wherein the base portion spans a first width (Fig. 16/25, i.e., width at the level of the base portion), the protrusion portion spans a second width (Fig. 16/25, i.e., width at the level of the protrusion portion”), and a ratio of the second width to the first width ranges between about 0.8 to about 1.2 (Fig. 16/25, i.e., 1). Regarding claim 14, Fukuzono teaches an IC package assembly wherein the protrusion portion vertically overlaps an entire width of the die (Fig. 25). Regarding claim 15, Fukuzono teaches an IC package assembly wherein the protrusion portion includes a plurality protrusion features (16 and 17, Fig. 28), and each protrusion feature is distanced away from each other (Fig. 25) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzono in view of Brandenburg . Regarding claim 16, Fukuzono teaches an integrated circuit (IC) package assembly, comprising: a package substrate (3, Para 57, Fig. 25); a die (9, Para 57) over the package substrate (Fig. 25); a back plate (2, Para 57) under the package substrate (Fig. 25), wherein the back plate includes a base portion (Fig. 25; i.e., structure 2 but excluding portion 16 and 17) and a protruding portion (16/17, Para 57, Fig. 28), wherein the protrusion portion protrudes from the base portion and presses against a back side of the package substrate (Fig. 25, Para 64), wherein the protrusion portion is below the die and presses against the backside of the package substrate (Fig. 25). Fukuzono does not specifically disclose surface mount (SMT) components mounted on a backside of the package substrate; and wherein the protrusion portion presses against the backside of the package substrate without contacting the SMT components. Referring to the invention of Brandenburg, Brandenburg teaches an integrated circuit wherein PCB 14 (Para 14) includes surface mount (SMT) components 12 on front and back side of the PCB, and wherein the back plate 20 comprise protrusion portion 23 (Fig. 2) presses against the backside of the package substrate without contacting the SMT components (Fig. 2, Para 14). In view of such teaching by Brandenburg, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Fukuzono comprise the teachings of Brandenburg at least to increase the packaged device’s functionality. Regarding claim 17, the modified invention specifically in view of Brandenburg teaches an IC package assembly wherein the protrusion portion lands between the SMT components (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 18, the modified invention specifically in view of Brandenburg teaches an IC package assembly wherein the protrusion portion includes a plurality of stubs, or a plurality of springs (Fig. 2, i.e., studs). Regarding claim 20, Fukuzono teaches an IC package assembly further comprising: a metal lid (10, Para 61); a heat sink structure (6, Para 57) over the metal lid (Fig. 25); and fasteners (6, Para 57) that secure the heat sink structure to the back plate (Fig. 25), wherein the fasteners apply a force against a top surface of the metal lid (Para 64). Fukuzono does not specifically disclose a thermal interface material (TIM) layer over the die; and a metal lid over the TIM layer. Referring to the invention of Cromwell, Cromwell discloses that in a semiconductor package, heat sink 120 includes the heat sink base 121 that is thermally connected to the VLSI module 102, and heat fins 127 that divert heat from the VLSI module 102 by moving heat to a space where there is sufficient air flow to cool the system. Further, an optional thermal pad 118 may be sandwiched between the heat sink 120 and the VLSI module 102… (Col.4 lines 66-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-5). In view of such teaching by Cromwell, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Fukuzono comprises a thermal interface material (TIM) layer between die 9 and metal lid 10, such that, thermal interface material (TIM) layer is disposed on a top surface the die; and that the metal lid is disposed on a top surface of the TIM layer, in order to enhance heat dissipation in the device. In view of such implementation of Cromwell’s teachings in the modified invention, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art that the limitation “a first thermal interface material (TIM) layer over the die; and the metal lid over the TIM layer” would be met . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzono in view of Brandenburg and Turturro . Regarding claim 19, Fukuzono teaches an IC package assembly further comprising: pads (24, Para 21) disposed on a top surface of the protruding portion (Fig. 2), and the pads directly contact the backside of the package substrate. The modified invention does not specifically disclose that the pads are elastomer pads. Referring to the invention of Turturro, Turturro teaches using elastomer material 34 to bond back plate 28 to PCB 14 (Col. 3 lines 50-51). In view of such teaching by Turturro, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pad layer of Brandenburg (combine with the modified invention) be and elastomer in order to protect the PCB from direct contact which, thus, reducing the chance of damage to the PCB. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ISMAIL A MUSE whose telephone number is (571)272-1470. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 AM-5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Partridge can be reached at (571)270-1402. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ISMAIL A MUSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 9 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 10 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 11 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 13 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 14 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/627,561 Page 15 Art Unit: 2812