DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 26-45 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11980203 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to a pasta product comprising a cooked pasta and a composition reconstituted to provide a cheese product or cheese analog comprising: at least one cheese component or cheese analog; and a color composition comprising: from about 49.7% to about 87.1% curcumin compounds by weight based on a total amount of a color portion of the color composition; from about 2.1% to about 42.8% annatto carotenoids by weight based on the total amount of the color portion of the color composition; and from about 7.5% to about 10.8% paprika carotenoids by weight based on the total amount of the color portion of the color composition, wherein the curcumin compounds are present in an amount from about 2 to about 15 times the amount of annatto carotenoids by weight, and the annatto carotenoids comprise greater than about 51% norbixin by weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for cheese sauce, does not reasonably provide enablement for any sauce. Pasta sauces include various types based on their composition. Pasta sauces are diverse, ranging from light olive oil, savory herb, and fresh tomato bases to rich cream, cheese, and hearty meat sauces. Tomato-Based Sauces include:
--Marinara: A simple, quick-cooked sauce with tomatoes, garlic, herbs, and olive oil.
--Pomodoro: A traditional, smooth tomato sauce.
--Arrabbiata: A spicy tomato sauce made with dried red chili peppers.
--Amatriciana: A savory sauce featuring cured pork (guanciale), tomato, and Pecorino cheese.
--Vodka Sauce: A tangy, creamy tomato-based sauce.
Cream & Cheese Sauces include:
--Alfredo: A rich blend of butter, parmesan cheese, and cream.
--Carbonara: A silky sauce made with eggs, cheese, pork, and black pepper.
--Béchamel: A white sauce made from milk, butter, and flour, used as a base for many dishes.
--Cacio e Pepe: A simple, zesty sauce made with black pepper and Pecorino Romano cheese.
--Truffle Cream: A luxurious, earthy cream-based sauce.
Herb & Oil-Based Sauces include:
--Pesto: A fresh, uncooked sauce featuring basil, garlic, pine nuts, Parmesan, and olive oil.
--Aglio e Olio: A simple, flavorful combination of garlic and olive oil.
--Meat & Specialty Sauces:
--Bolognese (Ragù): A slow-cooked, hearty meat sauce.
--Clam Sauce: Either a white (oil/garlic) or red (tomato) sauce based on clams.
--Fra Diavolo: A spicy, tomato-based sauce often paired with seafood.
The instant specification only refers to cheese sauce.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Case law holds that applicant's specification must be "commensurately enabling [regarding the scope of the claims]" Ex parte Kung, 17 USPQ2d 1545, 1547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1989) otherwise undue experimentation would be involved in determining how to practice and use applicant's invention. Although the statute itself does not use the phrase "undue experimentation", it has been interpreted to require that the claimed invention be enabled so that any person skilled in the art can make and use the invention without undue experimentation as stated in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546, 547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1986) and in In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Specifically, in In re Wands the Court set forth a non-exhaustive list of factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation would be involved in making and/or using the claimed invention. These factors include, but are not limited to: (a) the breadth of the claims; (b) the nature of the invention; (c) the state of the prior art; (d) the level of one of ordinary skill; (e) the level of predictability in the art; (f) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (g) the existence of working examples; and (h) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. Applying these factors to claims 26-45:
(A) The breadth of the claims
The claims are broad in the scope in the sense that it encompasses any pasta sauce.
(B) The nature of the invention
The invention relates to pasta comprising cheese sauce containing natural colors derived from curcumin, annatto and paprika.
(C) - (E) State of the prior art/The level of ordinary skill/The level of predictability
Preparation of pasta sauces is an old art. However, the art is not without uncertainty. Production of cheese sauce containing natural colors derived from curcumin, annatto and paprika lies somewhere between a predictable art and an unpredictable art. However, when the skilled artisan attempts to calculate all the pasta sauce compositions, predictability is lost due to the complexity of art.
F. The amount of direction provided by the inventor
The entirety of the direction offered by the specification relates to cheese sauce. There is no direction provided for any other type of sauce.
G. The existence of working examples
The specification provides working examples relate to cheese powder.
H. The quantity of experimentation
A large amount of experimentation, on the order of a number of man-years would be necessary to practice the invention within the full scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson (Watson, E. 2012. “Open Innovation: What is Kraft Foods looking for from potential partners?” Downloaded September 19, 2019, from https://www.foodnavigator-usa.com/Article/2012/06/08/Open-innovation-What-is-Kraft-Foods-looking-for-from-partners#) in view of Wilson (Wilson, J. 2013. “Kraft removing artificial dyes from some mac and cheese.” Cited on IDS filed 8/1/2019) with evidence provided by Dairiki et al. (US 2009/0069386).
Regarding claims 26-45, Watson teaches that Kraft is seeking a clean-label “colorant to replace artificial color Yellow 5 & 6 in dry cheese powder in its Macaroni and Cheese.” Therefore, Watson is considered to teach a dry powdered composition that may be reconstituted to provide a cheese product or a cheese analog comprising at least one cheese component. Watson goes on to state that the “desired natural colorant” must “match current cheese powder color profiles” (p. 2).
Watson is silent as to the components that make up the color composition.
Wilson teaches that Kraft Macaroni & Cheese is changing its coloring from artificial coloring agents to a coloring composition that will likely comprise paprika, annatto and turmeric. Dairiki et al. provide evidence that turmeric colorant comprises curcumin [0127].
Neither Wilson nor Watson teach amounts of the color components. However, as Wilson is combining the same components as claimed, and Watson teaches that the intent is to match the color provided by dyes Yellow 5 and Yellow 6, which are the same dyes as in the “Control” sample in the instant invention, the instant claims are considered to be obvious over the prior art. There would have been some experimentation involved in order to have arrived at a color composition that matches the color profile of the commercial product. However, where the objective was to match the color of the synthetic dyes using natural dyes instead, the claims are considered to be obvious over the teachings of the prior art. That is, one of ordinary skill, starting from Watson with the stated objective of replacing Yellow 5 and Yellow 6 with natural colorants, and with Wilson where the natural colorants were taught to be paprika, turmeric, which comprises curcumin, and annatto, would have been able to have arrived at the claimed composition through no more than routine experimentation.
Regarding claims 29 and 39, where the color composition is “free” of synthetically derived colorants, given that Watson teaches that the natural colorants are “to replace” artificial colors, the dry powdered composition is considered to be “free” of synthetically derived colorants.
Regarding claims 35 and 45, Dairiki et al. provide evidence that annatto colorant comprises bixin and norbixin [0126].
Conclusion
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791