DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the RCE filed 13 May 2026. Claims 4-23 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive; the rejections of the claims have been modified in response to Applicant's amendments to the claims. The amended limitations (and Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended limitations) are addressed by the modified rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2011054637 A to Inoue (citations refer to the English machine translation attached; hereinafter “Inoue”).
Regarding independent claim 4, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated version below) discloses a semiconductor element comprising:
a first elongate conductive layer (Fig. 2 below; p. 4, para. 8) embedded in a non-conductive layer 41 (p. 4, para. 8), the first elongate conductive layer having a thickness measured from a bonding side (top side) of the semiconductor element and a back side (bottom) of the semiconductor element opposite the bonding side, wherein the thickness varies along a length of the first elongate conductive layer (Fig. 2 - thickness as measured at A varies from thickness as measured at B at a point spaced in length from A) between a maximum thickness and another thickness between 10% and 90% of the maximum thickness (Fig. 2 below);
a second elongate conductive layer (Fig. 2 below; p. 4, para. 8) embedded in the non-conductive layer 41; and
an integrated device 23 (p. 5, 5th para. From bottom), the first and second elongate conductive layers disposed around the integrated device (p. 5, 5th para. from bottom), wherein at least a portion of the non-conductive layer 41 is disposed over the back side (bottom) of the first elongate conductive layer (Fig. 2),
wherein the length of the first elongate conductive layer extends along a first direction parallel to the bonding side (direction going into the figure), wherein a width of the first elongate conductive layer extends in a second direction parallel to the bonding side and perpendicular to the first direction (direction from left to right of figure), wherein the thickness of the first elongate conductive layer extends in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (direction from top to bottom of figure), and wherein the length is longer than the width (see Fig. 1, top view).
Regarding claim 5, Inoue (Fig. 2) discloses the semiconductor element of claim 4, wherein the first or second elongate conductive layer comprises a plurality of elongate conductive layers (p. 5, 5th para. from bottom).
Regarding claim 6, Inoue (Fig. 2) discloses the semiconductor element of claim 4, wherein a width of a portion of the non-conductive layer 41 disposed between the first and second elongate conductive layers is less than 5 times a width of one of the first and second elongate conductive layers (Fig. 2).
Regarding independent claim 7, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated version above) discloses a semiconductor element 21 (p. 4, para. 8), comprising:
an integrated device 23 (p. 5, 5th para. From bottom);
a non-conductive feature 41/51 (p. 4, paras. 8, 12) comprising a trench (Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer” disposed therein) extending at least partially around the integrated device (p. 5, 5th para. from bottom), wherein the integrated device 23 is disposed in or on the semiconductor element, and wherein the trench comprises a first depth at a first location (Fig. 2 - first depth measured at location A), and a second depth at a second location spaced from the first location along a length of the trench (Fig. 2 - second depth measured at location B, spaced along a length of the trench), the first depth being greater than the second depth (Examiner also notes that due to variation that would naturally result from manufacturing imperfections the trench depth would vary, and as such would have first and second locations that would also read upon the above recited limitations);
a conductive material (Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer”, p. 4, para. 8) disposed in the trench; and
a hybrid bonding surface (Fig. 2 - top surface of “first elongate conductive layer” and 41/51, comprising different materials and thus considered “hybrid”), wherein the hybrid bonding surface comprises a surface of the non-conductive feature 41/51 and a surface of the conductive material (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) discloses the semiconductor element of Claim 7, wherein the second depth (Fig. 2 - second depth measured at location B, spaced along a length of the trench from A) is in a range between 10% and 90% of the first depth (Fig. 2 - first depth measured at location A).
Regarding claim 9, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) discloses the semiconductor element of Claim 7, wherein the second depth (Fig. 2 - second depth measured at location B, spaced along a length of the trench from A) is in a range between 20% and 80% of the first depth (Fig. 2 - first depth measured at location A).
Regarding claim 10, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) discloses the semiconductor element of Claim 7, wherein the trench (Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer” disposed therein) extends completely around the integrated device 23 to laterally enclose the integrated device (p. 5, 5th para. from bottom).
Regarding claim 11, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) discloses the semiconductor element of Claim 10, wherein the trench (Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer” disposed therein) comprises an annular or closed profile (p. 5, 5th para. from bottom).
Regarding claim 12, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) discloses the semiconductor element of Claim 7, wherein the conductive material (Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer”) in the trench comprises a continuous ring (p. 5, 5th para. from bottom).
Regarding claim 13, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) discloses the semiconductor element of Claim 7, further comprising a barrier layer (p. 5, para. 3 - “insulating film formed at least on the side surface of the through groove 25 penetrating the insulating film 41”), wherein the conductive material is disposed over the barrier layer (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) discloses the semiconductor element of Claim 7, wherein the bonding surface (Fig. 2 - top surface of “first elongate conductive layer” and 41/51) comprises a planarized surface (Fig. 2 - bonding surface is planar). The limitation "planarized surface" is merely a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Regarding claim 15, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) discloses the semiconductor element of Claim 7, wherein the conductive material (Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer”) in the trench defines an elongate conductive feature (Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer”; p. 4, para. 8) that includes a first thickness and a second thickness, a difference between the first thickness and the second thickness corresponding to a difference between the first depth and the second depth (Fig. 2 - first depth measured at location A, second depth measured at location B, spaced along a length of the trench; additionally, Examiner notes that due to variation that would naturally result from manufacturing imperfections the trench depth would vary, conductive material formed therein would also reflect said variation in thickness and would fit within the scope of this limitation).
Regarding claim 16, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) discloses a bonded structure, comprising: the semiconductor element 21 of Claim 7; and a second element 11 (p. 4, para. 7), wherein the semiconductor element is bonded to the second element (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) discloses the bonded structure of Claim 16, wherein
the second element 11 comprises a second bonding surface having a surface of a second non-conductive feature 31 (p. 4, para. 7) and a surface of a second conductive material 32 (p. 4, para. 7), the bonding surface and the second bonding surfaced directly bonded to on another such that the surfaces of the non-conductive feature 41/51 and the second non-conductive feature 31 are directly bonded to one another and the surfaces of the conductive material (Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer”) and the second conductive material 32 are directly bonded to one another (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of US 2008/0157284 A1 to Chang et al. (hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding independent claim 18, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) discloses a semiconductor element 21 (p. 4, para. 8) comprising:
a trench (Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer” disposed therein) located in a non-conductive feature 41/51 (p. 4, paras. 8, 12), wherein the trench extends at least partially around an integrated device 23 (p. 5, 5th para. from bottom) disposed in or on the semiconductor element (Fig. 2);
a conductive material (Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer”, p. 4, para. 8) disposed in the trench; and a hybrid bonding surface (Fig. 2 - top surface of “first elongate conductive layer” and 41/51; comprising different materials and thus considered “hybrid”) comprising a surface of the non-conductive feature 41/51 and a surface of the conductive material (Fig. 2).
Inoue fails to expressly disclose: wherein the conductive material comprises a cavity; a dielectric material disposed in the cavity; and a hybrid bonding surface comprising a surface of the dielectric material. In the same field of endeavor, Chang (Fig. 2A) discloses a trench (226 disposed therein) located in a non-conductive feature 256 (¶ 0034), a conductive material 226 (¶ 0033) disposed in the trench, wherein the conductive material 226 comprises a cavity (portion of 256/266 disposed therein); a dielectric material 256/266 disposed in the cavity (Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the conductive material and trench of Inoue with the teachings of Chang for the purpose of providing a guard ring structure that provides protection from environmental stressors (¶ 0033), the combination of Inoue and Chang thus teaching the bonding surface also comprising a surface of the dielectric material.
Regarding claim 19, Inoue (Fig. 2 - annotated above) and Chang disclose the semiconductor element of Claim 18, wherein the trench (Inoue, Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer” disposed therein) comprises an annularly continuous profile around the integrated device (Inoue, p. 5, 5th para. from bottom).
Regarding claim 20, Inoue and Chang disclose the semiconductor element of Claim 18, wherein the conductive material (Inoue, Fig. 2 - “first elongate conductive layer”, p. 4, para. 8) comprises a metal, and wherein the metal fills the trench (Inoue, p. 5, para. 3).
Regarding claim 21, Inoue and Chang discloses the semiconductor element of Claim 18, wherein the conductive material comprises a second cavity (Chang, Fig. 2A, portion of 256/266 disposed therein), wherein the second cavity is spaced from the cavity along a length of the trench (Chang, Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 22, Inoue and Chang disclose the semiconductor element of Claim 18, wherein the non-conductive feature 256/266 (Chang, Fig. 2A) and the dielectric material 256/266 comprise a same material (Chang, Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 23, Inoue (Fig. 2) and Chang disclose a bonded structure, comprising: the semiconductor element 21 of Claim 18; and a second element 11 (Inoue, p. 4, para. 8), wherein the semiconductor element is hybrid bonded to the second element (Inoue, Fig. 2). The limitation "hybrid bonded" is merely a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Conclusion
CANDICE Y. CHAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
23 June 2026
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813