DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group-I (Claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 07/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US PGpub: 2020/0264468 A1), herein after PARK, in view of PENUMATCHA ( or, Sharma et al. (US PGpub: 2020/0091156 A1).
Regarding claim 1, PARK teaches a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising:
forming a pad part (BM, FIG. 7) on an upper surface of a substrate (300 and 450 constitutes substrate);
forming a lower electrode (124) on a lower surface of the substrate;
connecting the lower electrode (124) and a flexible circuit board (170, 123, 130) to each other;
disposing, on a side surface of the substrate, a conductive material (400) for electrically connecting the pad part and the lower electrode to each other (FIG. 8).
PARK does not explicitly teach forming a side surface connection line (440 and 500, 510, 600) by an electromagnetic wave output device irradiating an electromagnetic wave (A laser (Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission of Radiation) produces light through stimulated emission of electromagnetic radiation) having a wavelength onto the conductive material on the side surface of the substrate in the same embodiment.
However, it is obvious to the skilled person from PARK’s teaching that a side-bonded portion of the first lateral side of the display panel 10 to which plasma washing is performed is heated with a laser L (S200). In this instance, the laser L may generate pulse-type first laser beams with 1 W energy. The first lateral side of the display panel 10 may be heated by applying the pulse-type first laser beams. The heating may be repeated eight times. When the pulse-type first laser beams are applied as described above, the residue of the organic material on the lateral side of the display panel 10 is firstly removed. As the number of applications of the pulse-type laser beams increases, a recess portion R is formed on the first lateral side of the display panel 10. In this instance, various shapes of recess portions (R) may be formed by controlling a source of the laser L shown in FIG. 11 and description.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use PARK’s method of manufacturing a display device with other teaching from PARK so that various shapes of recess portions (R) may be formed by controlling a source of the laser L in order to meet the device need.
Regarding claim 2, PARK teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave is in a range of about 1 mm to about 1 m (patterning laser beams may be a pulse-type as described in S200. However, differing from step S200, beams may be applied with energy greater than the energy applied in S200, for example, with 3 W energy. In a like manner as the recess portion R forming process (S200), various shapes of the conductive pad 400 may be etched by controlling the source of the laser beam. Lasers can operate at fixed or tunable wavelengths. Fixed-wavelength lasers, like CO₂ lasers, emit at a stable wavelength (e.g., 10.6 µm), while tunable lasers, such as Titanium-sapphire (Ti:sapphire), can emit across a range (e.g., 650–1100 nm), frequency conversion techniques can also produce harmonics, such as Nd:YAG lasers emitting at 1064 nm, 532 nm (frequency-doubled), or 355 nm (frequency-tripled)).
Regarding claim 3, PARK teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the side surface connection line includes one of silver, molybdenum, aluminum, chromium, gold, titanium, nickel, neodymium, and copper, and an alloy thereof (the conductive pad 400 may be formed on the first lateral side of the display panel 10 by the laser patterning, corresponding to the shape of the recess portion R. The conductive pad 400 may include a first pad 410 and a second pad 420. The first pad 410 may be formed on a portion corresponding to the first recess portion R1 and the second pad 420 may be formed on a portion corresponding to the second recess portion R2 . …..conductive pad are known to people skilled in the art to have copper, Ti etc.).
Regarding claim 4, PARK teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the upper surface and the lower surface are arranged parallel to a plane defined by a first direction and a second direction (DR2 and DR1 as in FIG. 4), which are perpendicular to each other, and the side surface connection line extends in a third direction (DR3 shown in FIG. 4 and FIG. 8) perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, and electrically connects the pad part and the lower electrode to each other (400 connects pad part and lower electrode together).
Regarding claim 5, PARK teaches the method of claim 4, wherein an induced current is formed in the third direction (DR3 in FIG. 8) by the electromagnetic wave in the side surface connection line (a conductive pad 400 is formed by patterning the hardened conductive paste (CP) with a laser (S500), Paragraph [0136]).
Regarding claim 6, PARK teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the electromagnetic wave output device includes at least one electromagnetic wave output unit, and the at least one electromagnetic wave output unit moves in the first direction or the second direction (Laser is moving to DR1 or DR2 to create display device 10) .
Regarding claim 7, PARK teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the at least one electromagnetic wave output unit irradiates the electromagnetic wave with a uniform intensity while moving in the first direction or the second direction (a side-bonded portion of the first lateral side of the display panel 10 to which plasma washing is performed is heated with a laser L (S200). In this instance, the laser L may generate pulse-type first laser beams with 1 W energy. The first lateral side of the display panel 10 may be heated by applying the pulse-type first laser beams. The heating may be repeated eight times. When the pulse-type first laser beams are applied as described above, the residue of the organic material on the lateral side of the display panel 10 is firstly removed. As the number of applications of the pulse-type laser beams increases, a recess portion R is formed on the first lateral side of the display panel 10. In this instance, various shapes of recess portions (R) may be formed by controlling a source of the laser L. The recess portion R includes a first recess portion R1 and a second recess portion).
Regarding claim 8, PARK teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the at least one electromagnetic wave output unit moves in the first direction along a side of the substrate and moves in the second direction along another side of the substrate (a laser L (S200). In this instance, the laser L may generate pulse-type first laser beams with 1 W energy. The first lateral side of the display panel 10 may be heated by applying the pulse-type first laser beams. The heating may be repeated eight times. When the pulse-type first laser beams are applied as described above, the residue of the organic material on the lateral side of the display panel 10 is firstly removed. As the number of applications of the pulse-type laser beams increases, a recess portion R is formed on the first lateral side of the display panel 10. In this instance, various shapes of recess portions (R) may be formed by controlling a source of the laser L. …. Referring to FIG. 12, a conductive paste (CP) is coated on the first lateral side of the display panel 10 in which the recess portion R is formed (S300). The conductive paste (CP) is printed in a predetermined region on the first lateral side S1 of the display panel 10 by a stamp method using a printing scheme, and may be integrally formed. In another way, the conductive paste (CP) may be integrally formed in the predetermined region by spraying the conductive paste (CP)…….Although not shown, the conductive paste (CP) coated on the first lateral side of the display panel 10 is heated with a laser (S400).).
Regarding claim 9, PARK teaches the method of claim 8, wherein a velocity at which the at least one electromagnetic wave output unit moves in the first direction and a velocity at which the at least one electromagnetic wave output unit moves in the second direction are same (the speed and velocity of the laser beams can be same or dissimilar as in step S200, S300 and S400 where lasers are added repeatedly).
Regarding claim 10, PARK teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the electromagnetic wave output device includes: a first electromagnetic wave output unit moving in the first direction along a side of the substrate; and a second electromagnetic wave output unit moving in the second direction along another side of the substrate (the speed and velocity of the laser beams can be same or dissimilar as in step S200, S300 and S400 where lasers are added repeatedly. Referring to FIG. 12, a conductive paste (CP) is coated on the first lateral side of the display panel 10 in which the recess portion R is formed (S300)….. Although not shown, the conductive paste (CP) coated on the first lateral side of the display panel 10 is heated with a laser (S400)).
Regarding claim 11, PARK teaches the method of claim 10, wherein moving velocities of the first electromagnetic wave output unit and the second electromagnetic wave output unit are same (Although not shown, the conductive paste (CP) coated on the first lateral side of the display panel 10 is heated with a laser (S400). As described, the conductive paste (CP) may be an Ag mixed solution including Ag, a hardener, and a resin, so when the conductive paste (CP) is heated with a laser, the hardener in the conductive paste (CP) may be hardened and the conductive paste (CP) may be fixed to the first lateral side of the display panel 10. The applied second laser beams in this instance may be, differing from step S200, not the pulse type of beams but continuous type of beams. The hardening laser beams may focus heat on required portions of the first lateral side of the display panel 10 to thus prevent a portion other than the predetermined region from being heated, and prevent other portions from being damaged. Through the hardening step of S400, a volatile material in the conductive paste (CP) is vaporized and a conductive material may remain. Further, the conductive paste (CP) may be firmly fixed on the first lateral side of the display panel 10, and surface rigidity may be improved.......Referring to FIG. 13, a conductive pad 400 is formed by patterning the hardened conductive paste (CP) with a laser (S500). The patterning laser beams may be a pulse-type as described in S200. However, differing from step S200, beams may be applied with energy greater than the energy applied in S200, for example, with 3 W energy. In a like manner as the recess portion R forming process (S200), various shapes of the conductive pad 400 may be etched by controlling the source of the laser beam)
Regarding claim 12, PARK teaches the method of claim 6, wherein a moving velocity of the at least one electromagnetic wave output unit is set according to a thickness of the side surface connection line (The patterning laser beams may be a pulse-type as described in S200. However, differing from step S200, beams may be applied with energy greater than the energy applied in S200, for example, with 3 W energy. In a like manner as the recess portion R forming process (S200), various shapes of the conductive pad 400 may be etched by controlling the source of the laser beam.).
Regarding claim 13, PARK teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the moving velocity of the at least one electromagnetic wave output unit is set in inverse proportion to the thickness of the side surface connection line (The patterning laser beams may be a pulse-type as described in S200. However, differing from step S200, beams may be applied with energy greater than the energy applied in S200, for example, with 3 W energy. In a like manner as the recess portion R forming process (S200), various shapes of the conductive pad 400 may be etched by controlling the source of the laser beam).
Regarding claim 14, PARK teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the side surface connection line includes a plane heating pattern (Although not shown, the conductive paste (CP) coated on the first lateral side of the display panel 10 is heated with a laser (S400). As described, the conductive paste (CP) may be an Ag mixed solution including Ag, a hardener, and a resin, so when the conductive paste (CP) is heated with a laser, the hardener in the conductive paste (CP) may be hardened and the conductive paste (CP) may be fixed to the first lateral side of the display panel 10. The applied second laser beams in this instance may be, differing from step S200, not the pulse type of beams but continuous type of beams. The hardening laser beams may focus heat on required portions of the first lateral side of the display panel 10 to thus prevent a portion other than the predetermined region from being heated, and prevent other portions from being damaged.)
Regarding claim 15, PARK teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conductive material is printed using a stamp method (Although not shown, the conductive paste (CP) coated on the first lateral side of the display panel 10 is heated with a laser (S400). As described, the conductive paste (CP) may be an Ag mixed solution including Ag, a hardener, and a resin, so when the conductive paste (CP) is heated with a laser, the hardener in the conductive paste (CP) may be hardened and the conductive paste (CP) may be fixed to the first lateral side of the display panel 10….. it is essentially stamp method. Laser stamping, often referred to as laser engraving or laser marking, is a process where a laser beam is used to etch, burn, or vaporize the surface of a material to create a permanent design or identifier).
Regarding claim 16, PARK teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic wave output device includes a magnetron that generates a microwave (A laser (Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission of Radiation) produces light through stimulated emission of electromagnetic radiation. This radiation is part of the broader category of electromagnetic radiation (EMR), which includes radio waves, microwaves, infrared, visible light, ultraviolet, X‑rays, and gamma rays as known to people skilled in the art)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/SHEIKH MARUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897