CTNF 18/629,732 CTNF 89876 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 7, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph , as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 7 recites the limitation “ the transmitter " in line 2 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 9 recites the limitation “ the transmitter " in line 3 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 14 recites the limitation “ the transmitter " in line 3 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 9 recites the limitation “ the computer " in line 7 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 14 recites the limitation “ the computer " in line 8 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 1 recites the limitation “ the third dielectric layer " in line 4 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of compact prosecution, “ the transmitter ” will be treated as if it were “ a transmitter .” For purpose of compact prosecution, “ the computer ” will be treated as if it were “ a computer .” Claims 10-13 are rejected as if it were depending on rejected claim 9. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1, 3-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1)/ 102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Yoshino et al. (WO 2022/163575 A1, hereinafter refer to Yoshino) . U.S. 2024/0089093 A1 (hereinafter refer to Yoshino) is relied upon solely for the English language translation of WO 2022/163575 A1. Regarding Claim 1: Yoshino discloses a device (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown below and ¶ [0001]), comprising: PNG media_image1.png 386 422 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 388 609 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 361 397 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 437 618 media_image4.png Greyscale one or more quantum phased arrays each (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]) comprising: an array of modulator elements ( 27 and/or 17 ), each of the modulator elements ( 27 ) (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]): comprising or coupled to an input to receive a component of an input quantum field in an input quantum state associated with one or more particles emitted from one or more particle sources ( 1 ) (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]), operable to apply a modulation to the component to form an output component (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]), and comprising or coupled to an output for the output component (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]); a control circuit ( 2 ) connected to the modulator elements ( 27 and/or 17 ), the control circuit ( 2 ) operable to set each of one or more weights, of the modulation applied by each of the modulators elements ( 27 and/or 17 ), to control an interference of the output components forming an engineered quantum field used to form a target quantum state (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 3: Yoshino discloses a device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Yoshino further teaches wherein the one or more quantum phased arrays comprising the particle sources ( 1 ), comprising an electron source, and an array of channels each comprising an electron waveguide ( 11 ) coupled to one of the modulator elements ( 27 and/or 17 ) comprising a magnetic modulator or a window to couple to a light beam (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]), or the one or more quantum phased arrays comprising a magneto optical trap operable to transfer gas to an array of gas channels in a controlled manner, and each of the gas channels coupled to a different one of the modulator elements comprising a magnetic modulator or a window to couple to a light beam, or the one or more quantum phased arrays comprising a polariton source and an array of channels each comprising a polariton waveguide coupled to one of the modulator elements comprising an electro-optic modulator or a thermo-optic modulator. Regarding Claim 4: Yoshino discloses a device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Yoshino further teaches a receiver ( 200 ) comprising the device of claim 1, wherein: one or more of the arrays each comprise an array of detectors ( PD ) positioned to detect the output components (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]), and the control circuit ( 2 ) is operable to set the weights to reconstruct the target quantum state from the output components outputted in response to the input quantum field transmitted after transmission through a propagation medium (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 5: Yoshino discloses a device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Yoshino further teaches a transmitter ( 100 ) and/or the receiver comprising the device of claim 1, wherein the control circuit ( 1 ) is coupled to a computer ( 3 ) configured to determine the weights from a protocol relating the input quantum state, the target quantum state, and a propagation of the engineered quantum field through a propagation medium (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 6: Yoshino discloses a device as set forth in claim 5 as above. Yoshino further teaches wherein the computer ( 3 ) determines the weights by associating the propagation with a Quantum Fourier Transform or diffraction of the engineered quantum field (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 7: Yoshino discloses a device as set forth in claim 4 as above. Yoshino further teaches wherein the computer ( 3 ) is configured to: for the transmitter ( 100 ), determine the weights to at least steer, modulate, encode, beam shape, multiplex, or quantum mechanically entangle the engineered quantum field, or correct for a distortion of the engineered quantum field caused by the propagation medium (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]), and for the receiver ( 200 ), determine the weights to at least correct for the distortion, filter, decode, de-multiplex, or demodulate the input quantum field comprising the engineered quantum field transmitted from the transmitter, so as to reconstruct the target quantum state (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 8: Yoshino discloses a device as set forth in claim 4 as above. Yoshino further teaches wherein the modulation ( 17 and/or 27 ) comprises a phase shift and the weights comprise a linear phase profile applied so that the phase of the output components varies linearly as a function of distance in a direction across the array, thereby steering the engineered quantum field (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 9: Yoshino discloses a device as set forth in claim 4 as above. Yoshino further teaches a quantum metrology system comprising the device of claim 4, wherein the transmitter ( 100 ) configured to apply the weights to steer the engineered quantum field through a propagation medium to a sample (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]); the receiver ( 200 ) configured to apply the weights to detect a change in the engineered quantum field resulting from an interaction with the sample (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]); and the computer ( 3 ) configured to determine, from the change, a property of the sample (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 10: Yoshino discloses a quantum metrology system as set forth in claim 9 as above. Yoshino further teaches wherein the transmitter ( 100 ) is configured to apply the weights to transmit the engineered quantum field comprising at least one of an entangled quantum state or a linear phase profile scanning the engineered quantum field, comprising the target quantum state, across the sample (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 11: Yoshino discloses a quantum metrology system as set forth in claim 9 as above. Yoshino further teaches wherein: the transmitter ( 100 ) is configured to apply the weights to modulate and transmit the engineered quantum field to the sample (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]), and the receiver ( 200 ) is configured to apply the weights demodulating the engineered quantum field received from the sample to detect information used to determine the property (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 12: Yoshino discloses a quantum metrology system as set forth in claim 9 as above. Yoshino further teaches wherein: the transmitter ( 100 ) is configured to apply the weights to spatio-temporally scan the sample with the engineered quantum field having the target quantum state (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]), and the receiver ( 200 ) is configured to apply the weights to filter quantum information in the engineered quantum field received from the sample and so as to obtain the property (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 13: Yoshino discloses a quantum metrology system as set forth in claim 9 as above. Yoshino further teaches wherein the receiver ( 200 ) applies the weights to determine timing information so that property is a range to the sample (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 14: Yoshino discloses a device as set forth in claim 4 as above. Yoshino further teaches a quantum communication system comprising the device of claim 4, further comprising: the transmitter ( 100 ) comprising a first one of the quantum phased arrays to transmit the engineered quantum field, comprising a signal comprising the target quantum state, through a propagation medium (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]); the receiver ( 200 ) comprising a second one of the quantum phased arrays to receive the engineered quantum field after transmission through the propagation medium (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]); and the computer ( 3 ) operable to determine the signal comprising the target quantum state from the output components detected on the detectors (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 15: Yoshino discloses a device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Yoshino further teaches a quantum simulator comprising the quantum phased arrays of claim 1 comprising a plurality of n quantum phased arrays cascaded so that, for 1<I ≤ n, the output components of the i th one of the arrays is inputted to the i+1 th phased array and the weights (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]): in at least a first one of the arrays are selected to prepare the target quantum state, in at least a second one arrays are selected to evolve the target quantum state according to an interaction in a quantum system (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]), and in at least a third one of the arrays are selected to measure the target quantum state after the interaction (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 16: Yoshino discloses a device as set forth in claim 4 as above. Yoshino further teaches a quantum computer comprising the device of claim 4, wherein the computer ( 3 ) is operable to determine the weights to generate the engineered quantum field comprising the target quantum state comprising an entangled state or superposition state comprising a quantum mode (see Yoshino, Figs.1-4 as shown above and ¶ [0037]- ¶ [0059]). Regarding Claim 17: Yoshino discloses a device (see Yoshino, Figs.5-10 as shown below and ¶ [0071]- ¶ [0105]), comprising: PNG media_image5.png 354 381 media_image5.png Greyscale PNG media_image6.png 392 691 media_image6.png Greyscale PNG media_image7.png 491 711 media_image7.png Greyscale PNG media_image8.png 480 672 media_image8.png Greyscale a photonic-electronic integrated circuit ( avalanche photodiode (APD) ) comprising a phased array receiver ( 400 ) comprising a plurality of inputs configured to receive electromagnetic radiation, the phased array receiver ( 400 ) operable to convert the electromagnetic radiation into a plurality of electrical signals comprising quantum information of the electromagnetic radiation so that a quantum state of the electromagnetic radiation can be reconstructed from the electrical signals (see Yoshino, Figs.5-10 as shown above and ¶ [0071]- ¶ [0105]). Regarding Claim 19: Yoshino discloses a quantum network, comprising: quantum phased array transmitters ( 300 ) (see Yoshino, Figs.5-10 as shown above and ¶ [0071]- ¶ [0105]); quantum phased array receivers ( 400 ) (see Yoshino, Figs.5-10 as shown above and ¶ [0071]- ¶ [0105]); and reconfigurable free-space point to point quantum links between the quantum phased array transmitters ( 300 ) and quantum phased array receivers ( 400 ) (see Yoshino, Figs.5-10 as shown above and ¶ [0071]- ¶ [0105]). Regarding Claim 20: Yoshino discloses a quantum network as set forth in claim 19 as above. Yoshino further teaches wherein the quantum phased array receivers ( 400 ) and transmitters ( 300 ) are located at different nodes in the quantum network, the network further comprising a control circuit ( 2 ) for configuring the quantum phased arrays to dynamically transfer quantum information between the nodes in a distributed quantum computing, metrology, or communications system comprising the quantum network (see Yoshino, Figs.5-10 as shown above and ¶ [0071]- ¶ [0105]). Regarding Claim 21: Yoshino discloses a quantum network as set forth in claim 19 as above. Yoshino further teaches wherein the quantum phased array receivers ( 400 ) and the quantum phased array receivers ( 400 ) are configured to at least generate, process, measure, or reconstruct quantum states for free-space quantum information processing (see Yoshino, Figs.5-10 as shown above and ¶ [0071]- ¶ [0105]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshino et al. (WO 2022/163575 A1, hereinafter refer to Yoshino) as applied to claim s 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Ashrafi (U.S. 2020/0118026 A1, hereinafter refer to Ashrafi) . U.S. 2024/0089093 A1 (hereinafter refer to Yoshino) is relied upon solely for the English language translation of WO 2022/163575 A1. Regarding Claim 2: Yoshino discloses a device as applied to claim 1 above. Yoshino is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the one or more quantum phased arrays comprise a photonic integrated circuit comprising: an array of channels each comprising: the input comprising a receiving antenna for receiving the input quantum field from a photon source, the output comprising a transmit antenna for outputting the output component, and one of the modulator elements connected between the transmit antenna and the receive antenna via a waveguide. For support see Ashrafi, which teaches wherein the one or more quantum phased arrays comprise a photonic integrated circuit ( photoconductive antenna ) (see Ashrafi, Figs.2 and 7 as shown below, ¶ [0001], ¶ [0100]- ¶ [0102], and ¶ [0126]) comprising: an array of channels each (see Ashrafi, Figs.2 and 7 as shown below, ¶ [0001], ¶ [0100]- ¶ [0102], and ¶ [0126]) comprising: the input comprising a receiving antenna for receiving the input quantum field from a photon source (see Ashrafi, Figs.2 and 7 as shown below, ¶ [0001], ¶ [0100]- ¶ [0102], and ¶ [0126]), the output comprising a transmit antenna for outputting the output component (see Ashrafi, Figs.2 and 7 as shown below, ¶ [0001], ¶ [0100]- ¶ [0102], and ¶ [0126]), and one of the modulator elements connected between the transmit antenna and the receive antenna via a waveguide (see Ashrafi, Figs.2 and 7 as shown below, ¶ [0001], ¶ [0100]- ¶ [0102], and ¶ [0126]). PNG media_image9.png 219 574 media_image9.png Greyscale PNG media_image10.png 244 651 media_image10.png Greyscale Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshino and Ashrafi to enable the Yoshino one or more quantum phased arrays to comprise a photonic integrated circuit comprising: an array of channels each comprising: the input comprising a receiving antenna for receiving the input quantum field from a photon source, the output comprising a transmit antenna for outputting the output component, and one of the modulator elements connected between the transmit antenna and the receive antenna via a waveguide as taught by Ashrafi in order to perform quantum secure direct communication using a high-dimensional quantum state based on polarization and phase information. Regarding Claim 18: Yoshino discloses a device as applied to claim 17 above. Yoshino further teaches wherein the receiver ( 400 ) comprises a plurality of channels each (see Yoshino, Figs.5-10 as shown above and ¶ [0071]- ¶ [0105]) comprising: the network of waveguides ( 11 ) coupled to one or more modulators ( 4A/4B ) and comprising one or more sections configured as one or more mixers configured to mix a mode of the signal electromagnetic field with a local oscillator (LO) electromagnetic field to form one or more mixed signals, and the photodetector ( PD ) configured to output one of the electrical signals in response to the mixed signals (see Yoshino, Figs.5-10 as shown above and ¶ [0071]- ¶ [0105]). Yoshino is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein an antenna configured to receive the electromagnetic radiation comprising a signal electromagnetic field; and a network of waveguides connecting the antenna to a photodetector. For support see Ashrafi, which teaches wherein an antenna configured to receive the electromagnetic radiation comprising a signal electromagnetic field (see Ashrafi, Figs.2 and 7 as shown above, ¶ [0001], ¶ [0100]- ¶ [0102], and ¶ [0126]); and a network of waveguides connecting the antenna to a photodetector (see Ashrafi, Figs.2 and 7 as shown above, ¶ [0001], ¶ [0100]- ¶ [0102], and ¶ [0126]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshino and Ashrafi to enable an antenna configured to receive the electromagnetic radiation comprising a signal electromagnetic field; and a network of waveguides connecting the antenna to a photodetector as taught by Ashrafi in order to perform quantum secure direct communication using a high-dimensional quantum state based on polarization and phase information. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BITEW A DINKE whose telephone number is (571)272-0534. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7 a.m. - 5 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davienne Monbleau can be reached at (571)272-1945. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 6 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 9 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 10 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 12 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 13 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/629,732 Page 14 Art Unit: 2812