DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/21/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-11, 14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eldridge et al. (US 7714603; hereinafter Eldridge).
Regarding claim 1, Eldridge discloses in figure(s) 1-26 a testing apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of devices under test (DUTs) (34; fig. 5); and
an advanced process control monitor (APCM) (30,32,36,38), comprising:
a switch circuit (32), comprising a plurality of switch devices (SW2) corresponding to the DUTs;
a control circuit (30), comprising a plurality of control devices corresponding to the switch devices, and configured to sequentially activate one of the switch devices during a test procedure of the testing apparatus (col. 6 lines 15-20 :- IC tester 30 controls auxiliary power supply 38 and the states of switches SW1 and SW2 so that capacitor C2 supplies additional charging current I3 to DUT 34 at the start of each test cycle);
a detection circuit (38,C2), configured to provide a first power supply voltage (+Vc/Vc2) to a first terminal of each of the plurality of switch devices; and
an auxiliary control circuit (36), configured to provide a second power supply voltage (Va/Vb) to a second terminal of each of the plurality of switch devices (SW2) deactivated by the control circuit (30).
Regarding claim 3, Eldridge discloses in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the second power supply voltage is higher than the first power supply voltage to compensate a voltage drop caused by a routing path from the auxiliary control circuit to each deactivated switch device (col. 2 lines 25-28 :- a temporary increase in voltage drop across R1 that in turn produces a temporary dip in supply voltage VC below its quiescent level VQ).
Regarding claim 7, Eldridge discloses in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 1, wherein each of the switch devices comprises a P-type transistor (Q2 fig. 12).
Regarding claim 8, Eldridge discloses in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 7, wherein the P-type transistor (Q2) comprises a gate terminal, electrically connected to a respective selection signal (CNT2) generated by the corresponding control device (30): the first terminal, electrically connected to the first power supply voltage (+Vc/Vc2): the second terminal, selectively connected to the second power supply voltage (Va) or a terminal (Vb) of the corresponding DUT based on the respective selection signal; and a bulk terminal (C2), electrically connected to the first power supply voltage (+Vc).
Regarding claim 9, Eldridge discloses in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 8, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are a source terminal (Q2 source) and a drain terminal (Q2 drain), respectively.
Regarding claim 10, Eldridge discloses in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 9, wherein the source terminal and the drain terminal are P-type doped regions formed on a carrier (col. 8 line 35 - transistors Q2 operated in their active regions).
Regarding claim 11, Eldridge discloses in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 10, wherein the carrier is an N-type substrate (Q2 - PNP transistor with N-substarte) or an N-type well formed on a P-type substrate.
Regarding claim 14, Eldridge discloses in figure(s) 1-26 a method, comprising:
providing a testing apparatus (testing apparatus of fig. 5) including a plurality of switch devices (SW2) and a plurality of devices under test (DUTs) (34);
sequentially activating (col. 1 lines 55-60 :- each pulse of the CLOCK signal, there is a temporary increase in the power supply current I1 input to each DUT 14 to provide the charging current necessary to change the switching states of various transistors within the DUT) each of the switch devices of the testing apparatus to test the respective DUT (col. 10 lines 5-10 :- producing output data sequences CNT1, CNT2 and CNT3 that are appropriate for transient current requirements of IC 80 for its expected sequence of states); and
in response to a specific switch device not being activated, applying a first power supply voltage (+Vc/Vc2) and a second power supply voltage (Va/Vb) to a first terminal and a second terminal of the specific switch device, respectively.
Regarding claim 17, Eldridge discloses in figure(s) 1-26 the method of Claim 14, wherein each of the switch devices comprises a P-type transistor (Q2 fig. 12).
Regarding claim 18, Eldridge discloses in figure(s) 1-26 a testing apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of devices under test (DUTs) (34; fig. 5); and
an advanced process control monitor (APCM), comprising:
a switch circuit, comprising a plurality of switch devices (SW2) corresponding to the DUTs;
a control circuit (30), comprising a plurality of control devices corresponding to the switch devices, and configured to sequentially activate one of the switch devices during a test procedure of the testing apparatus (col. 6 lines 15-20 :- IC tester 30 controls auxiliary power supply 38 and the states of switches SW1 and SW2 so that capacitor C2 supplies additional charging current I3 to DUT 34 at the start of each test cycle);
a detection circuit (38,C2), configured to provide a first power supply voltage (+Vc/Vc2) to a first terminal of each switch device, and to selectively provide a second power supply voltage (Va/Vb) to a second terminal of each switch device deactivated by the control circuit based on a selection signal (CNT2) from the control device (30) corresponding to each switch device (SW2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eldridge in view of Park et al. (US 20230402123).
Regarding claim(s) 2, 19, 15, Eldridge teaches in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 1, 18 and the method of claim 14, respectively.
Eldridge does not teach explicitly wherein the first power supply voltage is substantially equal to the second power supply voltage.
However, Park teaches in figure(s) 1-3 wherein the first power supply voltage is substantially equal to the second power supply voltage (external supply VDD and internal supply V_T substantially same in figs. 12,14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Eldridge by having wherein the first power supply voltage is substantially equal to the second power supply voltage as taught by Park in order to provide "a power manager between the first pad and an input terminal of the first regulator, and between the first pad and the test logic circuit and configured to provide a test power supply voltage to the test logic circuit. In the test mode, while a first target voltage level of the first regulator fluctuates, a second target voltage level of the power manager is maintained constant." (abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Eldridge teaches in figure(s) 1-26 the method of Claim 15, further comprising: in response to the specific switch device being activated, applying the first power supply voltage (+Vc/Vc2) and a voltage (Vb) from the DUT corresponding to the specific switch device (SW2) to the first terminal and the second terminal of the specific switch device, respectively.
Regarding claim 20, Eldridge teaches in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 19, wherein each of the switch devices comprises a P-type transistor (Q2) having a gate terminal, electrically connected to the selection signal (CNT2) from the control device corresponding to each switch device; the first terminal, electrically connected to the first power supply voltage (+Vc/Vc2); the second terminal, selectively connected to the second power supply voltage (Va) or a terminal (Vb) of the corresponding DUT based on the respective selection signal (C2); and a bulk terminal, electrically connected to the first power supply voltage (+Vc).
Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eldridge in view of Goh et al. (US 20150039956).
Regarding claim 4, Eldridge teaches in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 1,
Eldridge does not teach explicitly wherein each of the control devices comprises a D flip-flop, and the control devices are connected in series.
However, Goh teaches in figure(s) 1-2 wherein each of the control devices comprises a D flip-flop, and the control devices are connected in series (10*; fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Eldridge by having wherein each of the control devices comprises a D flip-flop, and the control devices are connected in series as taught by Goh in order to provide applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as evidenced by "flip-flop cell is configured to receive both a test signal and a data input signal and select one of the two to pass to the storage element based on a scan enable signal that indicates either a capture mode or a scan shift mode" (abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Eldridge teaches in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 4, wherein when the test procedure of the testing apparatus starts, an input data signal (CNT2) is delivered through the control devices every clock cycle of a clock signal to sequentially activate one of the switch devices (col. 8 lines 18-20 :- produces its output CNT1, CNT2, CNT3 data pattern in response to the same system clock (SYSCLK) that clocks operations of tester 58).
Regarding claim 6, Eldridge teaches in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 5, wherein upon the input data signal is delivered to a last one of the control devices, a report voltage signal is asserted (voltage @ fig. 11).
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eldridge in view of Wu et al. (US 6872583).
Regarding claim 12, Eldridge teaches in figure(s) 1-26 the testing apparatus of Claim 1,
Eldridge does not teach explicitly wherein the DUTs comprises a first portion and a second portion, and each DUT in the second portion is a dummy device having a particular feature.
However, Wu teaches in figure(s) 1-3 wherein the DUTs (205 fig. 2A) comprises a first portion (112-116; fig. 2A) and a second portion (122-126), and each DUT in the second portion is a dummy device having a particular feature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Eldridge by having wherein the DUTs comprises a first portion and a second portion, and each DUT in the second portion is a dummy device having a particular feature as taught by Wu in order to provide "Semiconductor chip design and analysis is enhanced by using a dummy structure for analyzing a test structure in a test chip" (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Eldridge in view of Wu teaches the testing apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the particular feature of each DUT in the second portion forms a particular feature pattern (pattern of 122-126 of Wu in fig. 2A).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the List of References cited in the US PT0-892.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858