DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2014/03683149).
Regarding claim 1, Kato teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a plurality of semiconductor dies (Fig. 1, dies 100-400), arranged in a stacked structure (Fig. 1),
wherein each semiconductor die comprises an identifier generation circuit (Fig. 2) electrically connected to the identifier generation circuits of other semiconductor dies (Fig. 2),
wherein in response to a first semiconductor die (200-400) not being a bottom semiconductor die within the stacked structure (Fig. 1-2), a first identifier generation circuit of the first semiconductor die is configured to automatically generate a first chip identifier for the first semiconductor die based on an input signal generated by a second identifier generation circuit of a second semiconductor die neighboring to and below the first semiconductor die (see paragraph [0043]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Kato teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the stacked structure is a three-dimensional stacked structure (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kato teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein in response to the second semiconductor die being the bottom semiconductor die within the stacked structure, the second identifier generation circuit of the second semiconductor die is configured to automatically generate a second chip identifier for the second semiconductor die using a preset value (see paragraphs [0036]-[0041], the bottom chip receives an input of a reference voltage from the interposer, and therefore knows it is the bottom chip and sets accordingly to a predetermined value such as 0 or 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kato teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 3, wherein the input signal of the first identifier generation circuit of the first semiconductor die is the second chip identifier generated by the second identifier generation circuit (see paragraphs [0043]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 19, Kato teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 4, wherein the first identifier generation circuit is electrically connected to the second identifier generation circuit through a plurality of through-silicon vias within the second semiconductor die (Kato claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Imai (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0025391)
Regarding claim 5, Kato teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 4, wherein the first chip identifier generated by the first identifier generation circuit is a bit-shifted value of the second chip identifier (Kato paragraph [0041], the first identifier is a bit-increased value of the second identifier).
Kato does not specifically teach that it is a bit-shifted value. However, Imai teaches that a bit shift register can be used to increase the value of a chip identifier in a stack (see Imai paragraph {0054]). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date that the bit increase of Kato could have been accomplished through a bit shift because it would have been a simple substitution of one known method of increasing a value for another with predictable results.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Hamada (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0110159).
Regarding claim 6, Kato teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 4, but does not specifically wherein the first chip identifier and the second chip identifier are different one-hot codes.
However, Hamada teaches that one-hot encoding can be used for chip identifiers (Hamada paragraph [0091]). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date that one-hot encoding could have been used as the identifier because it would have been a simple substitution one numbering system for another with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 7-13, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest wherein each first buffer circuit receives a corresponding bit of the second chip identifier from the corresponding first input port.
Regarding claims 14-18, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the plurality of second input ports of the second identifier generation circuit of the second semiconductor die are floating.
Conclusion
/EVAN G CLINTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899